O-7, r. 0.01 - Regulation respecting the acts that may be performed by optometric assistants

Table of contents
Full text
chapter O-7, r. 0.01
Regulation respecting the acts that may be performed by optometric assistants
OPTOMETRISTS — ASSISTANTS
Optometry Act
(chapitre O-7, s.10, 1st par., subpar. a).
O-7
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 95).
C-26
February 26 2015
1. The purpose of this Regulation is to determine, among the acts that may be performed by optometrists under section 16 of the Optometry Act (chapter O-7), those which, pursuant to certain prescribed conditions, may be performed by optometric assistants.
O.C. 43-2015, s. 1.
2. For the purposes of this regulation, “optometric assistant” means any person who is entered before 26 February 2017 in a register kept by the Ordre des optométristes du Québec after satisfying the conditions of paragraphs (1) or (2):
(1)  successful completion of the following training no later than during the year preceding his entry in the register:
(a)  a training program in fitting ophthalmic eyeglasses for optometric assistants that includes a minimum of 72 hours divided up as follows:
i.  not less than 20 hours of introductory optometric science, particularly concerning the anatomy and the physiology of the eye, refractive errors and their correction methods;
ii.  not less than 52 hours of fitting techniques, particularly concerning the parameters necessary for the execution of an optical prescription, the taking of measurements, the adjustment and adaptation of frames, the effects of fitting on patient vision and comfort, as well as the general activities engaged in when delivering ophthalmic eyeglasses;
(b)  a comprehensive test, which comprises a theoretical component and a practical component, of the subjects taught in the training program contemplated by subparagraph a.
(2)  acquisition of the equivalent of 3 years of full-time work experience under the supervision of an optometrist or a dispensing optician during the 5 years preceding his entry in the register and the successful completion of the test contemplated by subparagraph b of paragraph (1) no later than during the year preceding his entry in the register.
The Board of Directors of the Order approves a training program that meets the requirements contemplated by subparagraph a of paragraph (1).
O.C. 43-2015, s. 2.
3. Optometric assistants may perform the following acts:
(1)  make the final selection of glass frames with a patient, following the instructions of an optometrist or a dispensing optician;
(2)  take the measurements required for the purposes of ordering eyeglass frames or the lenses that will be inserted in them, provided these measurements are verified by an optometrist or a dispensing optician;
(3)  fit eyeglass frames containing lenses, following the instructions of an optometrist or a dispensing optician;
(4)  perform a basic verification of the visual and physical comfort of patients after a lens is inserted in eyeglass frames.
Whenever they perform these acts, optometric assistants must act under the supervision of an optometrist or a dispensing optician who is responsible for them and available on site to intervene with patients within a short period of time. Patients must also be informed of the identity of the responsible optometrist or dispensing optician and the possibility of consulting this professional at their request. They must also be informed of the identity of the optometric assistant.
O.C. 43-2015, s. 3.
4. Any person enrolled in a training program for optometric assistants or admitted to the test contemplated by section 2 may perform, pursuant to section 3, the acts that may be performed by optometric assistants, provided they are required for the purposes of completing the program or the test.
O.C. 43-2015, s. 4.
5. (Omitted).
O.C. 43-2015, s. 5.
REFERENCES
O.C. 43-2015, 2015 G.O. 2, 93

O-7, r. 0.01 - Règlement sur les actes qui peuvent être posés par un assistant optométrique

Texte complet
chapitre O-7, r. 0.01
Règlement sur les actes qui peuvent être posés par un assistant optométrique
OPTOMÉTRISTES — ASSISTANT
Loi sur l’optométrie
(chapitre O-7, a. 10, 1er al., par. a).
O-7
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 95).
C-26
26 février 2015
1. Le présent règlement vise à déterminer, parmi les actes qui peuvent être posés par les optométristes en vertu de l’article 16 de la Loi sur l’optométrie (chapitre O-7), ceux qui, suivant certaines conditions prescrites, peuvent être posés par un assistant optométrique.
D. 43-2015, a. 1.
2. Aux fins du présent règlement, on entend par «assistant optométrique», la personne inscrite avant le 26 février 2017 à un registre tenu par l’Ordre des optométristes du Québec après avoir satisfait aux exigences des paragraphes 1 ou 2:
1°  elle a complété avec succès la formation suivante au plus tard dans l’année qui précède son inscription à ce registre:
a)  un programme de formation en ajustement de lunettes ophtalmiques pour assistant en optométrie d’un minimum de 72 heures réparties comme suit:
i.  au moins 20 heures en introduction aux sciences optométriques, portant notamment sur l’anatomie et la physiologie de l’oeil, les problèmes de réfraction et leurs modes de correction;
ii.  au moins 52 heures en techniques d’ajustement, portant notamment sur les paramètres nécessaires à l’exécution d’une ordonnance optique, la prise de mesures, la modification et l’adaptation des montures, les effets de l’ajustement sur la vision et le confort du patient ainsi que les interventions généralement effectuées à l’occasion de la livraison de lunettes ophtalmiques;
b)  un test synthèse, composé d’un volet théorique et d’un volet pratique, portant sur les matières enseignées au programme de formation visé au sous-paragraphe a;
2°  elle a acquis une expérience de travail équivalente à 3 années à temps complet sous la supervision d’un optométriste ou d’un opticien d’ordonnances au cours des 5 années précédant son inscription à ce registre et, au plus tard dans l’année qui précède cette inscription, a complété avec succès le test visé au sous-paragraphe b du paragraphe 1.
Le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre approuve un programme de formation qui satisfait aux exigences visées au sous-paragraphe a du paragraphe 1.
D. 43-2015, a. 2.
3. Un assistant optométrique peut poser les actes suivants:
1°  le choix définitif de la monture de lunettes avec un patient, suivant les indications d’un optométriste ou d’un opticien d’ordonnances;
2°  la prise des mesures requises aux fins de la commande d’une monture de lunettes ou d’une lentille devant y être insérée, en autant que ces mesures soient vérifiées par un optométriste ou par un opticien d’ordonnances;
3°  l’ajustement d’une monture de lunettes contenant des lentilles, suivant les indications d’un optométriste ou d’un opticien d’ordonnances;
4°  la vérification sommaire du confort visuel et physique que le patient obtient avec une lentille insérée dans une monture de lunettes.
Lorsqu’il pose ces actes, l’assistant optométrique doit agir sous la supervision d’un optométriste ou d’un opticien d’ordonnances qui en est responsable et qui est disponible, sur place, pour une intervention auprès du patient dans un court délai. Le patient doit également être informé de l’identité de l’optométriste ou de l’opticien d’ordonnances responsable et de la possibilité de consulter ce dernier, à sa demande. Il doit aussi être informé de l’identité de l’assistant optométrique.
D. 43-2015, a. 3.
4. La personne inscrite au programme de formation d’assistant en optométrie ou admise au test visé à l’article 2, peut poser, conformément à l’article 3, les actes pouvant être posés par un assistant optométrique dans la mesure où ils sont requis aux fins de compléter ce programme ou ce test.
D. 43-2015, a. 4.
5. (Omis).
D. 43-2015, a. 5.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 43-2015, 2015 G.O. 2, 165