M-9, r. 1.1 - Regulation respecting certain surgical first assistance activities that may be engaged in by a nurse

Table of contents
Full text
chapter M-9, r. 1.1
Regulation respecting certain surgical first assistance activities that may be engaged in by a nurse
NURSE — SURGICAL FIRST ASSISTANCE ACTIVITIES
Medical Act
(chapter M-9, s. 19, 1st par., subpar. b).
M-9
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 94, par. h and s. 94.1).
C-26
September 1 2012
1. The purpose of this Regulation is to determine, among the professional activities that may be engaged in by physicians, those that, pursuant to the terms and conditions set out in the Regulation, may be engaged in by a surgical first assistant nurse.
O.C. 344-2012, s. 1.
2. A surgical first assistant nurse may, within the scope of providing surgical first assistance and according to a prescription, perform the following surgical techniques and clinical procedures during surgery:
(1)  using and installing various complex surgical instruments and devices within the surgical site;
(2)  incising, manipulating, dissecting and removing tissue;
(3)  performing certain steps of the surgical procedure within the surgical site;
(4)  choosing and using an in-depth hemostatic method;
(5)  suturing deep tissue of the surgical wound and ligating thoroughly.
O.C. 344-2012, s. 2.
3. To be authorized to engage in the activities referred to in section 2, nurses must
(1)  have a minimum of 24 months of experience in an operating suite during the last 5 years;
(2)  hold a certificate of 30 credits of nursing practice as surgical first assistant issued by a Québec university;
(3)  hold a bachelor’s degree in nursing;
(4)  hold a biennial attestation in advanced cardiac life support issued by an instructor trainer recognized by the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Québec, according to the standards of the Handbook of Emergency Cardiovascular Care for Healthcare Providers by the Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada;
(5)  engage in those activities in the following places:
(a)  a hospital centre operated by an institution within the meaning of the Act respecting health services and social services (chapter S-4.2) or the Act respecting health services and social services for Cree Native persons (chapter S-5);
(b)  a specialized medical centre within the meaning of the Act respecting health services and social services;
(c)  a private health facility within the scope of medical services provided as “associated medical clinics” within the meaning of those Acts;
(6)  engage in those activities in the presence of the surgeon responsible for the surgery, except for the opening or closing of the surgical wound where the surgeon must be present in the building and available at all times to intervene rapidly;
(7)  at no time practise simultaneously as a scrub nurse.
O.C. 344-2012, s. 3.
4. A nurse may engage in the activities referred to in section 2 if, before 3 May 2012, the nurse meets the requirements provided for in sections 2 and 4 of the Regulation respecting the activities contemplated in section 31 of the Medical Act which may be engaged in by classes of persons other than physicians (chapter M-9, r. 13).
O.C. 344-2012, s. 4.
5. A nurse who has been issued the following meets the training requirements provided for in paragraph 2 of section 3:
(1)  a registered nurse first assistant (RNFA) certificate upon completion of a program recognized by the Competency and Credential Institute (CCl);
(2)  a registered nurse first assistant (RNFA) certificate issued by the British Columbia Institute of Technology or by the Centre for Nursing Studies, Memorial University of Newfoundland.
O.C. 344-2012, s. 5.
6. A person registered in a training program leading to the certificate provided for in paragraph 2 of section 3 is authorized to engage in the activities referred to in section 2 for the purpose of completing the program, provided that the person complies with the other conditions provided for in this Regulation and engages in those activities in a hospital centre operated by an institution within the meaning of the Act respecting health services and social services (chapter S-4.2) or the Act respecting health services and social services for Cree Native persons (chapter S-5).
O.C. 344-2012, s. 6.
7. This Regulation replaces Division I of the Regulation respecting the activities contemplated in section 31 of the Medical Act which may be engaged in by classes of persons other than physicians (chapter M-9, r. 13) and strikes out “a nurse first surgical assistant,” in section 1 of that Regulation.
O.C. 344-2012, s. 7.
8. (Omitted).
O.C. 344-2012, s. 8.
REFERENCES
O.C. 344-2012, 2012 G.O. 2, 1137

M-9, r. 1.1 - Règlement sur certaines activités de première assistance chirurgicale pouvant être exercées par une infirmière

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre M-9, r. 1.1
Règlement sur certaines activités de première assistance chirurgicale pouvant être exercées par une infirmière
INFIRMIÈRES — ACTIVITÉS DE PREMIÈRE ASSISTANCE CHIRURGICALE
Loi médicale
(chapitre M-9, a. 19, 1er al., par. b)
M-9
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 94, par. h et a. 94.1)
C-26
1er septembre 2012
1. Le présent règlement a pour objet de déterminer, parmi les activités professionnelles que peuvent exercer les médecins celles qui, suivant les conditions et modalités qui y sont prescrites, peuvent l’être par une infirmière première assistante en chirurgie.
Le terme «infirmière», partout où il se trouve dans le présent règlement, désigne l’infirmière ou l’infirmier.
D. 344-2012, a. 1.
2. L’infirmière première assistante en chirurgie peut, dans le cadre de la première assistance chirurgicale et selon une ordonnance, exécuter les techniques chirurgicales et les actes cliniques suivants lors d’une intervention chirurgicale:
1°  utiliser et installer divers instruments et appareils chirurgicaux complexes à l’intérieur du site opératoire;
2°  inciser, manipuler, disséquer et prélever des tissus;
3°  exécuter certaines étapes de la procédure chirurgicale à l’intérieur du site opératoire;
4°  choisir et utiliser une méthode d’hémostase en profondeur;
5°  suturer des plans profonds de la plaie chirurgicale et ligaturer en profondeur.
D. 344-2012, a. 2.
3. Pour être autorisée à exercer les activités visées à l’article 2, l’infirmière doit respecter les conditions suivantes:
1°  elle détient un minimum de 24 mois d’expérience dans un bloc opératoire au cours des 5 dernières années;
2°  elle est titulaire d’un certificat de 30 crédits de pratique infirmière en première assistance chirurgicale délivré par une université québécoise;
3°  elle est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en sciences infirmières;
4°  elle est titulaire d’une attestation biennale en soins avancés en réanimation cardiovasculaire délivrée par un maître instructeur reconnu par la Fondation des maladies du coeur du Québec, selon les normes du Guide des soins d’urgence cardiovasculaire à l’intention des dispensateurs de soins, de la Fondation des maladies du coeur du Canada;
5°  elle exerce ces activités dans les lieux suivants:
a)  un centre hospitalier exploité par un établissement au sens de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (chapitre S-4.2) ou de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux pour les autochtones cris (chapitre S-5);
b)  un centre médical spécialisé au sens de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux;
c)  un cabinet privé de professionnels dans le cadre des services médicaux dispensés à titre de «clinique médicale associée» au sens de ces lois;
6°  elle exerce ces activités en présence du chirurgien responsable de l’intervention chirurgicale, sauf pour l’ouverture ou la fermeture de la plaie chirurgicale où le chirurgien doit être présent dans le bâtiment et disponible en tout temps pour une intervention rapide;
7°  elle n’exerce en aucun temps simultanément comme infirmière en service interne.
D. 344-2012, a. 3.
4. Une infirmière peut exercer les activités visées à l’article 2 si, avant le 3 mai 2012, elle satisfaisait aux exigences prévues aux articles 2 et 4 du Règlement sur les activités visées à l’article 31 de la Loi médicale qui peuvent être exercées par des classes de personnes autres que des médecins (chapitre M-9, r. 13).
D. 344-2012, a. 4.
5. Satisfait aux exigences de formation prévues au paragraphe 2 de l’article 3, l’infirmière qui a obtenu la délivrance, soit:
1°  d’un certificat d’infirmière première assistante (RNFA) délivré au terme d’un programme reconnu par le Competency and Credential Institute (CCl);
2°  d’un certificat d’infirmière première assistante (RNFA) délivré par le British Columbia Institute of Technology ou par le Centre for Nursing Studies, Memorial University of Newfoundland.
D. 344-2012, a. 5.
6. La personne inscrite à un programme de formation menant au certificat prévu au paragraphe 2 de l’article 3 est autorisée à exercer les activités visées à l’article 2 aux fins de compléter ce programme, pourvu qu’elle respecte les autres conditions prévues au présent règlement et qu’elle exerce ces activités dans un centre hospitalier exploité par un établissement au sens de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (chapitre S-4.2) ou de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux pour les autochtones cris (chapitre S-5).
D. 344-2012, a. 6.
7. Le présent règlement remplace la Section I du Règlement sur les activités visées à l’article 31 de la Loi médicale qui peuvent être exercées par des classes de personnes autres que des médecins (chapitre M-9, r. 13) et supprime, dans l’article 1 de ce règlement, «par l’infirmière première assistante en chirurgie,».
D. 344-2012, a. 7.
8. (Omis).
D. 344-2012, a. 8.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 344-2012, 2012 G.O. 2, 1861