I-9, r. 5 - Regulation respecting the cessation of practice of a member of the Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec

Table of contents
Full text
chapter I-9, r. 5
Regulation respecting the cessation of practice of a member of the Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec
ENGINEERS — CESSATION OF PRACTICE
Engineers Act
(chapter I-9, s. 7).
I-9
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 91).
C-26
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
SCOPE
1. This Regulation applies to the disposal of the records, books, registers, products, substances, apparatus and equipment of a member of the Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec who ceases to practise.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, this Regulation does not apply to a member who is employed by a natural person, a legal person, a partnership or a government and who ceases to practise.
Nothing in this Regulation shall be interpreted as excluding the use of data processing or any other technical means for the preservation of records, provided that their confidentiality is ensured.
O.C. 53-94, s. 1.
2. A member, a Québec university, Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, Library and Archives Canada, the Canadian Centre for Architecture or, on the executive committee’s approval, any other agency or person may act as the transferee of the items referred to in section 1 where a member permanently ceases to practise.
O.C. 53-94, s. 2.
3. The executive committee of the Order shall determine the terms for the recovery, from the member or from the member’s successors, of the expenses incurred for the purposes of this Regulation.
O.C. 53-94, s. 3.
DIVISION II
PERMANENT CESSATION OF PRACTICE
4. A member who decides to permanently cease to practise shall, within 21 days before the date on which the cessation is to take effect, notify the secretary by registered mail of the date of cessation and of the name, address and telephone number of the transferee of the items referred to in section 1, and shall send a copy of the transfer agreement to the secretary.
Where the member has not been able to arrange for a transfer, the notice to the secretary shall indicate the date on which the member will hand over the items referred to in section 1 to the secretary.
O.C. 53-94, s. 4.
5. Where a member dies or is permanently struck off the roll, or where a member’s permit is revoked, the secretary shall take possession of the items referred to in section 1 within 15 days following the event, unless the member had arranged for a transfer, a copy of which shall be sent to the secretary within the same time.
O.C. 53-94, s. 5.
6. Where a transfer had been arranged for but cannot be carried out, the secretary shall take possession of the items referred to in section 1.
O.C. 53-94, s. 6.
7. Where a member permanently ceases to practise, the transferee or the secretary, as the case may be, shall, within 30 days following the date on which the transferee or secretary takes possession of the items referred to in section 1,
(1)  have a notice published twice, at a 10-day interval, in a newspaper serving the region in which the member practised; the notice shall state
(a)  the date of taking of possession and the reasons therefor;
(b)  the time that clients have to accept the transfer, to take back from the record the items that belong to them or to request that the items be transferred to another professional; and
(c)  the address and telephone number of the transferee or the secretary and the office hours during which that person can be reached; or
(2)  send a notice in writing to each client of the member who has ceased to practise, stating the information prescribed in subparagraph 1.
Where the notice has been published, a notice in writing stating the information prescribed in subparagraph 1 of the first paragraph shall also be sent to any client whose interests so warrant.
Where the notice is sent by the transferee, a copy shall likewise be sent to the secretary.
O.C. 53-94, s. 7.
8. Where a transferee or the secretary is in possession of the items referred to in section 1, that person shall take the necessary measures to safeguard the interests of the member’s clients.
O.C. 53-94, s. 8.
9. A transferee or the secretary, as the case may be, shall respect a person’s right to consult and obtain copies of documents concerning the person and contained in a record made in the person’s regard.
O.C. 53-94, s. 9.
10. Where a transferee or the secretary takes possession of items referred to in section 1, that person shall keep the items for a period of not less than 10 years.
During that period and after consulting the member, where applicable, the secretary may transfer the items referred to in section 1 to a transferee, in which case the transferee is bound by the requirements of section 7.
Upon the expiry of that period, the secretary may dispose of the items referred to in section 1 in the secretary’s possession or may turn them over to the member or to the member’s successors where requested to do so during the 3 months preceding the expiry of that period.
For the purposes of this section, the minimum 10-year period runs from the date of the last service rendered by the member or, where the project is carried out, from the date of completion of the work.
O.C. 53-94, s. 10.
DIVISION III
TEMPORARY CESSATION OF PRACTICE
11. A member who decides to temporarily cease to practise shall, within 21 days before the date on which the cessation is to take effect, notify the secretary by registered mail of the date and duration of cessation and of the name, address and telephone number of the member who has agreed to be the provisional custodian of the items referred to in section 1, and shall send a copy of the provisional custodianship agreement to the secretary.
Where the member has not been able to arrange for provisional custodianship, the member shall so inform the secretary, who shall then notify the member of the date on which the secretary or the provisional custodian appointed for that purpose by the executive committee will take possession of the items referred to in section 1.
O.C. 53-94, s. 11.
12. In the case of a member temporarily struck off the roll or under permit suspension, the secretary shall take possession of the items referred to in section 1 within 15 days of the event, unless the member had arranged for provisional custodianship, a copy of which shall be sent by the member to the secretary within the same time.
Where the member has not been able to arrange for provisional custodianship within that time, the secretary shall take possession of the items referred to in section 1, unless a provisional custodian has been appointed for that purpose by the executive committee.
O.C. 53-94, s. 12.
13. Where provisional custodianship had been arranged for but cannot be carried out, the secretary shall take possession of the items referred to in section 1.
O.C. 53-94, s. 13.
14. Sections 8 and 9 apply to a provisional custodian or to the secretary where that person takes possession of the items referred to in section 1 pursuant to this Division.
O.C. 53-94, s. 14.
15. Where a member is temporarily struck off the roll or is under practice suspension for more than 6 months, the provisional custodian or the secretary is bound by the requirements of section 7.
O.C. 53-94, s. 15.
DIVISION IV
RESTRICTION OF THE RIGHT TO PRACTISE
16. Where a decision has been made against a member restricting the member’s right to practise and determining the professional acts that the member is not authorized to perform, the member shall find a provisional custodian within 15 days of the date on which the restriction is to take effect for the items referred to in section 1 that relate to such unauthorized acts.
Where the member has not been able to arrange for provisional custodianship within that time, the provisional custodian appointed for that purpose by the executive committee or the secretary shall take possession of the items referred to in section 1 that relate to such unauthorized acts.
O.C. 53-94, s. 16.
17. Sections 8 and 9 apply to a provisional custodian or to the secretary where that person takes possession of the items referred to in section 1 pursuant to this Division.
O.C. 53-94, s. 17.
DIVISION V
FINAL
18. This Regulation replaces the Regulation respecting the records of an engineer who ceases to practise (R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-9, r. 4).
O.C. 53-94, s. 18.
19. (Omitted).
O.C. 53-94, s. 19.
REFERENCES
O.C. 53-94, 1994 G.O. 2, 683
S.Q. 2004, c. 25, s. 70
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, s. 212

I-9, r. 5 - Règlement sur la cessation d’exercice d’un membre de l’Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec

Texte complet
chapitre I-9, r. 5
Règlement sur la cessation d’exercice d’un membre de l’Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec
INGÉNIEURS — CESSATION D’EXERCICE
Loi sur les ingénieurs
(chapitre I-9, a. 7)
I-9
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 91)
C-26
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
CHAMP D’APPLICATION
1. Le présent règlement s’applique à la disposition des dossiers, livres et registres tenus et des produits, substances, appareils et équipements détenus par un membre de l’Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec qui cesse d’exercer sa profession.
Toutefois, le présent règlement ne s’applique pas à un membre qui cesse d’exercer sa profession alors qu’il est employé d’une personne physique ou morale, d’une société ou d’un gouvernement.
Rien dans le présent règlement ne doit être interprété comme excluant l’utilisation de l’informatique ou de toute autre technique pour la conservation des dossiers, pourvu que leur confidentialité soit assurée.
D. 53-94, a. 1.
2. Un membre, une université québécoise, Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec, Bibliothèque et Archives du Canada, le Centre Canadien d’Architecture ou, sur approbation du comité exécutif, tout autre organisme ou personne peuvent agir comme cessionnaires des éléments visés à l’article 1 d’un membre cessant définitivement d’exercer.
D. 53-94, a. 2.
3. Le comité exécutif de l’Ordre fixe les modalités de recouvrement auprès du membre ou de ses ayants cause, des frais engagés aux fins de l’application du présent règlement.
D. 53-94, a. 3.
SECTION II
CESSATION DÉFINITIVE D’EXERCICE
4. Lorsqu’un membre décide de cesser définitivement d’exercer sa profession, il doit dans les 21 jours de la date prévue pour la cessation d’exercice, aviser le secrétaire, par poste recommandée, de la date de cessation, des nom, adresse et numéro de téléphone du cessionnaire des éléments visés à l’article 1 et transmettre au secrétaire une copie de la convention de cession.
Si le membre n’a pu convenir d’une cession, l’avis au secrétaire doit alors indiquer la date à laquelle il le mettra en possession des éléments visés à l’article 1.
D. 53-94, a. 4; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
5. Lorsqu’un membre décède, est radié de façon permanente ou que son permis est révoqué, le secrétaire prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1 dans les 15 jours suivant la survenance de l’une de ces éventualités, sauf si le membre avait convenu d’une cession dont copie doit être transmise au secrétaire dans le même délai.
D. 53-94, a. 5.
6. Dans les cas où une cession avait été convenue et qu’elle ne peut être exécutée, le secrétaire prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1.
D. 53-94, a. 6.
7. Dans le cas d’une cessation définitive d’exercice, le cessionnaire ou le secrétaire, selon le cas, doit, dans les 30 jours qui suivent la date où il prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1, donner l’un ou l’autre des avis suivants:
1°  un avis publié 2 fois, à 10 jours d’intervalle, dans un journal desservant la région où exerçait le membre et qui donne les informations suivantes:
a)  la date et le motif de la prise de possession;
b)  le délai que les clients ont pour accepter la cession, reprendre les éléments du dossier qui leur appartiennent, ou en demander le transfert à un autre professionnel;
c)  les adresse, numéro de téléphone et heures de bureau où le cessionnaire ou le secrétaire peut être rejoint;
2°  un avis écrit qui donne à chaque client du membre qui a cessé d’exercer les informations prévues au paragraphe 1.
Lorsque l’avis a été publié et que l’intérêt d’un client le requiert, un avis écrit contenant les informations prévues au paragraphe 1 doit en outre lui être adressé.
Lorsque l’avis est donné par le cessionnaire, il doit en transmettre copie au secrétaire.
D. 53-94, a. 7.
8. Lorsqu’il est en possession des éléments visés à l’article 1, le cessionnaire ou le secrétaire doit prendre les mesures conservatoires nécessaires afin de sauvegarder les intérêts des clients de ce membre.
D. 53-94, a. 8.
9. Le cessionnaire ou le secrétaire, selon le cas, doit respecter le droit d’une personne de prendre connaissance des documents qui la concernent dans tout dossier constitué à son sujet et d’obtenir copie de ces documents.
D. 53-94, a. 9.
10. Le cessionnaire ou le secrétaire qui prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1 doit les conserver pendant une période d’au moins 10 ans.
Le secrétaire peut, durant cette période et après consultation du membre, le cas échéant, céder les éléments visés à l’article 1 à un cessionnaire mais ce dernier est alors assujetti aux obligations prévues à l’article 7.
À l’expiration de cette période, le secrétaire peut disposer des éléments visés à l’article 1 dont il a eu la garde ou les remettre au membre ou à ses ayants cause si demande lui en a été faite dans les 3 mois précédents l’expiration de cette période.
Pour les fins du présent article, la période minimale de 10 ans commence à courir à partir de la date du dernier service rendu par le membre ou, lorsque le projet est réalisé, à partir de la date de la fin des travaux.
D. 53-94, a. 10.
SECTION III
CESSATION TEMPORAIRE D’EXERCICE
11. Lorsqu’un membre décide de cesser temporairement d’exercer sa profession, il doit, dans les 21 jours de la date prévue pour la cessation d’exercice, aviser le secrétaire, par poste recommandée, de la date et de la durée de la cessation, des nom, adresse et numéro de téléphone du membre qui a accepté d’être le gardien provisoire des éléments visés à l’article 1 et transmettre au secrétaire une copie de la convention de garde provisoire.
Si le membre n’a pu convenir d’une garde provisoire, il en avise le secrétaire. Le secrétaire l’avise alors de la date à laquelle lui ou le gardien provisoire nommé par le comité exécutif à cette fin, prendra possession des éléments visés à l’article 1.
D. 53-94, a. 11; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
12. Lorsqu’un membre est radié de façon temporaire ou que son permis est suspendu, le secrétaire prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1 dans les 15 jours de la survenance de l’une de ces éventualités, sauf si ce membre avait convenu d’une garde provisoire dont il doit transmettre une copie au secrétaire dans le même délai.
Si le membre n’a pu convenir d’une garde provisoire dans ce délai, le secrétaire prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1, à moins qu’un gardien provisoire n’ait été nommé à cette fin par le comité exécutif.
D. 53-94, a. 12.
13. Dans les cas où une garde provisoire avait été convenue et qu’elle ne peut être exécutée, le secrétaire prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1.
D. 53-94, a. 13.
14. Les articles 8 et 9 s’appliquent au gardien provisoire ou au secrétaire qui prend possession d’éléments visés à l’article 1 conformément à la présente section.
D. 53-94, a. 14.
15. Dans le cas où la radiation temporaire ou la suspension du droit d’exercice est de plus de 6 mois, le gardien provisoire ou le secrétaire est alors assujetti aux obligations prévues à l’article 7.
D. 53-94, a. 15.
SECTION IV
LIMITATION DU DROIT D’EXERCICE
16. Lorsqu’une décision a été rendue contre un membre limitant son droit d’exercice et déterminant les actes professionnels qu’il n’est pas autorisé à poser, celui-ci doit trouver un gardien provisoire dans les 15 jours de prise d’effet de cette limitation pour les éléments visés à l’article 1 relatifs aux actes professionnels qu’il n’est pas autorisé à poser.
Si le membre n’a pu convenir d’une garde provisoire dans ce délai, le gardien provisoire nommé à cette fin par le comité exécutif ou le secrétaire prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1 relatifs aux actes professionnels que le membre n’est pas autorisé à poser.
D. 53-94, a. 16.
17. Les articles 8 et 9 s’appliquent au gardien provisoire ou au secrétaire qui prend possession d’éléments visés à l’article 1 conformément à la présente section.
D. 53-94, a. 17.
SECTION V
DISPOSITIONS FINALES
18. Le présent règlement remplace le Règlement concernant les dossiers d’un ingénieur cessant d’exercer (R.R.Q., 1981, c. I-9, r. 4).
D. 53-94, a. 18.
19. (Omis).
D. 53-94, a. 19.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 53-94, 1994 G.O. 2, 824
L.Q. 2004, c. 25, a. 70
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212