I-8, r. 3 - Regulation respecting certain professional activities which may be engaged in by nursing assistants

Table of contents
Full text
chapter I-8, r. 3
Regulation respecting certain professional activities which may be engaged in by nursing assistants
NURSING ASSISTANTS — PROFESSIONAL CODE — PROFESSIONAL ACTIVITIES
Nurses Act
(chapter I-8, s. 3).
I-8
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 94).
C-26
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
GENERAL
1. The purpose of this Regulation is to determine which of the professional activities that may be performed by nurses may, following the issue of a prescription and in accordance with the other terms and conditions set out herein, be performed by:
(1)  nursing assistants;
(2)  students registered in a program of study leading to a diploma qualifying them for a permit issued by the Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec;
(3)  persons eligible by equivalence, that is, persons registered in a program of studies or a period of additional training required for purpose of obtaining training equivalence for the issue of a permit by the Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec;
(4)  candidates for the profession of nursing assistant, that is, persons who have successfully completed a program of studies leading to a diploma giving access to the permit of the Order or to whom the Order have granted a diploma equivalence or a training equivalence for purposes of issuing such a permit.
O.C. 418-2008, s. 1; O.C. 134-2016, s. 1.
DIVISION II
MAINTENANCE CARE OF A TRACHEOSTOMY CONNECTED TO A VENTILATOR
2. Nursing assistants may perform the following professional activities:
(1)  provide maintenance care of a tracheostomy connected to a ventilator, when the parameters of the ventilator are regulated;
(2)  open a device incorporated into the ventilation circuit in order to administer a metered-dose inhaler;
(3)  ventilate using a manual, self-inflating resuscitator, whether connected to an oxygen source or not;
(4)  reinstall the tracheal cannula in case of decannulation, in emergency situations, and in the absence of an authorized professional available to perform an immediate intervention.
O.C. 418-2008, s. 2.
3. In order to perform the professional activities set out in section 2, nursing assistants must meet the following conditions:
(1)  they must hold an attestation issued by the Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec, certifying that:
(a)  they have completed at least 7 hours of theoretical and practical training organized by the Order, in application of subparagraph j of the first paragraph of section 86 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), and which covers the following aspects:
i.  anatomy of the respiratory system;
ii.  complications and limitations associated with maintenance care of a tracheostomy connected to a ventilator;
iii.  techniques related to maintenance care of a tracheostomy connected to a ventilator;
iv.  the operation of a device incorporated into the ventilation circuit;
(b)  they have successfully performed each of the professional activities set out in paragraphs 1 to 3 of section 2 at least 3 times under the immediate supervision of a nurse or respiratory therapist, and such supervision has been recorded on a form bearing the date, location, as well as the name and signature of the nurse or respiratory therapist who has supervised them;
(2)  they must perform these professional activities in one of the following centres, operated by an institution within the meaning of the Act respecting health services and social services (chapter S-4.2) or the Act respecting health services and social services for Cree Native persons (chapter S-5):
(a)  a residential and long-term care centre;
(b)  a hospital centre, when the patient is in rehabilitation, lodging or long-term care;
(c)  a rehabilitation centre for persons with physical disabilities;
(3)  a nurse must be available on the premises, so that the latter may intervene with the patient quickly;
(4)  the user falls under a therapeutic nursing plan and his state of health is not in a critical or acute phase.
Provided the conditions set out in subparagraphs 2 to 4 of the first paragraph have been met, nursing assistants may, as part of the training set out in subparagraph b of subparagraph 1 of that paragraph, perform the professional activities set out in section 2 under the immediate supervision of a nurse or respiratory therapist.
O.C. 418-2008, s. 3.
DIVISION III
ASSISTANCE WITH THE ADMINISTRATION OF INTRAVENOUS THERAPY
4. Nursing assistants may perform the following professional activities:
(1)  install a short peripheral intravenous catheter, measuring less than 7.5 cm;
(2)  administer an intravenous solution without additives using a short peripheral intravenous catheter measuring less than 7.5 cm;
(3)  install and irrigate a short intermittent injection intravenous catheter, measuring less than 7.5 cm, with an isotonic solution.
O.C. 418-2008, s. 4.
5. In order to perform the professional activities set out in section 4, nursing assistants must meet the following conditions:
(1)  they must hold an attestation issued by the Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec, certifying that:
(a)  they have successfully completed at least 21 h of theoretical and practical training organized by the Order, in application of subparagraph j of the first paragraph of section 86 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), covering the following aspects:
i.  anatomy of the vascular system;
ii.  short peripheral intravenous catheter installation techniques;
iii.  administration of an intravenous solution without additives;
iv.  installation and irrigation of a short intermittent injection peripheral intravenous catheter;
v.  complications and limitations associated with the installation and irrigation of a short peripheral intravenous catheter;
vi.  complications and limitations associated with the administration of an intravenous solution without additives;
vii.  preventing infections related to the use of a short peripheral intravenous catheter;
(b)  they must have successfully performed each of these professional activities at least 3 times under the immediate supervision of a nurse, and such supervision must have been recorded on a form bearing the date, location, as well as the name and signature of the nurse who has supervised them;
(2)  these professional activities have been performed in a centre operated by an institution within the meaning of the Act respecting health services and social services (chapter S-4.2) or the Act respecting health services and social services for Cree Native persons (chapter S-5), except for the fields of pediatrics and neonatology;
(3)  the patient falls under a therapeutic nursing plan.
Provided that the conditions set out in subparagraphs 2 and 3 of the first paragraph have been met, nursing assistants may, as part of the training set out in subparagraph b of subparagraph 1 of that paragraph, perform the professional activities set out in section 4.
Subparagraph 1 of the first paragraph does not apply to nursing assistants:
(1)  who have completed the training set out therein as part of a program of study leading to a diploma qualifying them for a permit issued by the Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec;
(2)  who have been granted diploma or training equivalence by the Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec after the training set out in subparagraph 1 of the first paragraph has been incorporated into the program of study leading to a diploma qualifying them for a permit issued by the Order.
O.C. 418-2008, s. 5.
6. Nursing assistants may also perform the following professional activities:
(1)  check intravenous infusions and maintain the flow rate;
(2)  remove intravenous infusions if administered with a peripheral intravenous catheter measuring less than 7.5 cm;
(3)  remove a peripheral intravenous catheter measuring less than 7.5 cm.
In order to perform these professional activities, nursing assistants must meet the following conditions:
(1)  these professional activities are performed in a pediatric unit in a centre operated by an institution within the meaning of the Act respecting health services and social services (chapter S-4.2) or the Act respecting health services and social services for Cree Native persons (chapter S-5);
(2)  the patient falls under a therapeutic nursing plan.
O.C. 418-2008, s. 6.
7. Students registered in a program of study leading to a diploma qualifying them for a permit issued by the Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec may perform the professional activities set out in section 4 if they meet the conditions set out in subparagraphs 2 and 3 of the first paragraph of section 5, and to the extent that the performance of such activities is required in order for them to complete this program.
These students may also perform the professional activities set out in section 6 if they meet the conditions set out therein and to the extent that the performance of such activities is required in order for them to complete their programs.
O.C. 418-2008, s. 7.
8. Persons eligible by equivalence may perform the professional activities set out in section 4 if they meet the conditions set out in subparagraphs 2 and 3 of the first paragraph of section 5, and to the extent that the performance of such activities is required in order to obtain training equivalence.
Such persons may also perform the professional activities set out in section 6 if they meet the conditions set out therein and to the extent that the performance of such activities is required in order to obtain training equivalence.
O.C. 418-2008, s. 8.
8.1. Candidates for the profession of nursing assistant may perform the professional activities listed in section 4 if they meet the following conditions:
(1)  these professional activities are performed in a centre operated by a public or private institution under agreement within the meaning of the Act respecting health services and social services (chapter S-4.2) or the Act respecting health services and social services for Cree Native persons (chapter S-5), except in pediatrics or neonatology;
(2)  they perform these professionals activities under the supervision of a nurse or of a nursing assistant authorized to perform these activities who is present in the care unit concerned;
(3)  when the supervision is performed by a nursing assistant, a nurse is present in the care unit or in the building in the case of a long term care unit, in order to intervene with the patient rapidly or to respond rapidly to the candidate’s request;
(4)  the patient falls under a therapeutic nursing plan.
O.C. 134-2016, s. 2.
9. Nursing assistants who performed the professional activities set out in the first paragraph of section 6 before 29 May 2008 may continue to do so provided the following conditions have been met:
(1)  these professional activities are performed in a centre operated by an institution within the meaning of the Act respecting health services and social services (chapter S-4.2) or the Act respecting health services and social services for Cree Native persons (chapter S-5);
(2)  the patient falls under a therapeutic nursing plan.
This section will cease to be in effect on 29 May 2016.
O.C. 418-2008, s. 9; O.C. 266-2011, s. 1; O.C. 436-2013, s. 1.
DIVISION IV
FINAL
10. This Regulation replaces the Regulation respecting certain professional activities which may be engaged in by nursing assistants (O.C. 630-2007, 07-08-07).
O.C. 418-2008, s. 10.
11. (Omitted).
O.C. 418-2008, s. 11.
REFERENCES
O.C. 418-2008, 2008 G.O. 2, 1318
O.C. 66-2011, 2011 G.O. 2, 893
O.C. 436-2013, 2013 G.O. 2, 1102
O.C. 134-2016, 2016 G. O. 2, 1281

I-8, r. 3 - Règlement sur certaines activités professionnelles pouvant être exercées par une infirmière ou un infirmier auxiliaire

Texte complet
chapitre I-8, r. 3
Règlement sur certaines activités professionnelles pouvant être exercées par une infirmière ou un infirmier auxiliaire
INFIRMIÈRES ET INFIRMIERS AUXILIAIRES — CODE DES PROFESSIONS — ACTIVITÉS PROFESSIONNELLES
Loi sur les infirmières et les infirmiers
(chapitre I-8, a. 3)
I-8
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 94)
C-26
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
DISPOSITION GÉNÉRALE
1. Le présent règlement a pour objet de déterminer parmi les activités professionnelles que peuvent exercer les infirmières ou les infirmiers celles qui, à la suite d’une ordonnance et suivant les autres conditions et modalités qu’il détermine, peuvent l’être par les personnes suivantes:
1°  l’infirmière ou l’infirmier auxiliaire;
2°  l’étudiant inscrit dans un programme d’études conduisant à l’obtention d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis délivré par l’Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec;
3°  la personne admissible par équivalence, soit la personne inscrite à un programme d’études ou à une formation complémentaire afin que lui soit reconnue une équivalence de la formation aux fins de la délivrance d’un permis de l’Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec;
4°  le candidat à l’exercice de la profession d’infirmière ou d’infirmier auxiliaire, soit la personne qui a complété avec succès le programme d’études qui mène à l’obtention d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis de l’Ordre ou qui s’est vue reconnaître par l’Ordre une équivalence de diplôme ou de la formation aux fins de la délivrance d’un tel permis.
D. 418-2008, a. 1; D. 134-2016, a. 1.
SECTION II
ENTRETIEN D’UNE TRACHÉOSTOMIE RELIÉE À UN VENTILATEUR
2. L’infirmière ou l’infirmier auxiliaire peut exercer les activités professionnelles suivantes:
1°  prodiguer les soins d’entretien d’une trachéostomie reliée à un ventilateur lorsque les paramètres de ce ventilateur sont réglés;
2°  ouvrir un dispositif intégré dans le circuit ventilatoire en vue d’administrer un aérosoldoseur;
3°  ventiler avec un réanimateur manuel autogonflable relié ou non à une source d’oxygène;
4°  réinstaller, en situation d’urgence, la canule trachéale en cas de décanulation lorsqu’un professionnel habilité n’est pas disponible en vue d’une intervention immédiate.
D. 418-2008, a. 2.
3. Pour exercer les activités professionnelles prévues à l’article 2, l’infirmière ou l’infirmier auxiliaire doit respecter les conditions suivantes:
1°  elle ou il est titulaire d’une attestation délivrée par l’Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec suivant laquelle:
a)  elle ou il a réussi une formation théorique et pratique d’une durée d’au moins 7 heures organisée par l’Ordre en application du paragraphe j du premier alinéa de l’article 86 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) et qui porte sur les aspects suivants:
i.  l’anatomie du système respiratoire;
ii.  les complications et les limites associées aux soins d’entretien d’une trachéostomie reliée à un ventilateur;
iii.  la technique pour prodiguer les soins d’entretien d’une trachéostomie reliée à un ventilateur;
iv.  le fonctionnement du dispositif intégré dans le circuit ventilatoire;
b)  elle ou il a, au moins 3 fois, exercé avec succès chacune des activités professionnelles prévues aux paragraphes 1 à 3 de l’article 2 sous la supervision immédiate d’une infirmière, d’un infirmier ou d’un inhalothérapeute, ces supervisions étant constatées sur un document comportant les date et lieu ainsi que les nom et signature de l’infirmière, de l’infirmier ou de l’inhalothérapeute qui les a assurées;
2°  ces activités professionnelles sont exercées dans un des centres suivants exploités par un établissement au sens de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (chapitre S-4.2) ou de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux pour les autochtones cris (chapitre S-5):
a)  un centre d’hébergement et de soins de longue durée;
b)  un centre hospitalier, lorsque le patient est en réadaptation, en hébergement ou en soins de longue durée;
c)  un centre de réadaptation pour les personnes ayant une déficience physique;
3°  une infirmière ou un infirmier est disponible dans le bâtiment en vue d’une intervention rapide auprès du patient;
4°  le patient fait l’objet d’un plan thérapeutique infirmier et son état de santé n’est pas dans une phase critique ou aiguë.
Pourvu que soient respectées les conditions mentionnées aux paragraphes 2 à 4 du premier alinéa, l’infirmière ou l’infirmier auxiliaire peut, dans le cadre de la formation prévue au sous-paragraphe b du paragraphe 1 de cet alinéa, exercer les activités professionnelles prévues à l’article 2 sous la supervision immédiate d’une infirmière, d’un infirmier ou d’un inhalothérapeute.
D. 418-2008, a. 3.
SECTION III
CONTRIBUTION À LA THÉRAPIE INTRAVEINEUSE
4. L’infirmière ou l’infirmier auxiliaire peut exercer les activités professionnelles suivantes:
1°  installer un cathéter intraveineux périphérique court de moins de 7,5 cm;
2°  administrer une solution intraveineuse sans additif à partir d’un cathéter intraveineux périphérique court de moins de 7,5 cm;
3°  installer et irriguer, avec une solution isotonique, un cathéter intraveineux périphérique court de moins de 7,5 cm, à injection intermittente.
D. 418-2008, a. 4.
5. Pour exercer les activités professionnelles prévues à l’article 4, l’infirmière ou l’infirmier auxiliaire doit respecter les conditions suivantes:
1°  elle ou il est titulaire d’une attestation délivrée par l’Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec suivant laquelle:
a)  elle ou il a réussi une formation théorique et pratique d’une durée d’au moins 21 heures organisée par l’Ordre en application du paragraphe j du premier alinéa de l’article 86 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) et qui porte sur les aspects suivants:
i.  l’anatomie du système vasculaire;
ii.  la technique d’installation d’un cathéter périphérique court;
iii.  l’administration d’une solution intraveineuse sans additif;
iv.  la technique d’installation et d’irrigation d’un cathéter intraveineux périphérique court à injection intermittente;
v.  les complications et les limites associées à l’installation et à l’irrigation d’un cathéter intraveineux périphérique court;
vi.  les complications et les limites associées à l’administration d’une solution intraveineuse sans additif;
vii.  la prévention des infections en lien avec un cathéter intraveineux périphérique court;
b)  elle ou il a, au moins 3 fois, exercé avec succès chacune de ces activités professionnelles sous la supervision immédiate d’une infirmière ou d’un infirmier, ces supervisions étant constatées sur un document comportant les date et lieu ainsi que les nom et signature de l’infirmière ou de l’infirmier qui les a assurées;
2°  ces activités professionnelles sont exercées dans un centre exploité par un établissement au sens de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (chapitre S-4.2) ou de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux pour les autochtones cris (chapitre S-5), sauf en pédiatrie et en néonatalogie;
3°  le patient fait l’objet d’un plan thérapeutique infirmier.
Pourvu que soient respectées les conditions mentionnées aux paragraphes 2 et 3 du premier alinéa, l’infirmière ou l’infirmier auxiliaire peut, dans le cadre de la formation prévue au sous-paragraphe b du paragraphe 1 de cet alinéa, exercer les activités professionnelles prévues à l’article 4.
Le paragraphe 1 du premier alinéa ne s’applique pas à l’infirmière ou l’infirmier auxiliaire:
1°  qui a complété la formation qui y est prévue dans le cadre d’un programme d’études conduisant à l’obtention d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis délivré par l’Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec;
2°  à qui l’Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec a reconnu une équivalence de diplôme ou de la formation après l’intégration de la formation prévue au paragraphe 1 du premier alinéa au programme d’études conduisant à l’obtention d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis délivré par l’Ordre.
D. 418-2008, a. 5.
6. L’infirmière ou l’infirmier auxiliaire peut également exercer les activités professionnelles suivantes:
1°  surveiller une perfusion intraveineuse et en maintenir le débit;
2°  arrêter une perfusion intraveineuse si administrée à l’aide d’un cathéter intraveineux périphérique court de moins de 7,5 cm;
3°  retirer un cathéter intraveineux périphérique court de moins de 7,5 cm.
Pour exercer ces activités professionnelles, l’infirmière ou l’infirmier auxiliaire doit respecter les conditions suivantes:
1°  ces activités professionnelles sont exercées en pédiatrie dans un centre exploité par un établissement au sens de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (chapitre S-4.2) ou de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux pour les autochtones cris (chapitre S-5);
2°  le patient fait l’objet d’un plan thérapeutique infirmier.
D. 418-2008, a. 6.
7. L’étudiant inscrit dans un programme d’études conduisant à l’obtention d’un diplôme donnant ouverture au permis délivré par l’Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers auxiliaires du Québec peut exercer les activités professionnelles prévues à l’article 4 s’il respecte les conditions mentionnées aux paragraphes 2 et 3 du premier alinéa de l’article 5 et dans la mesure où l’exercice de ces activités professionnelles est requis aux fins de compléter ce programme.
Cet étudiant peut également exercer les activités professionnelles prévues à l’article 6 s’il respecte les conditions qui y sont mentionnées et dans la mesure où l’exercice de ces activités professionnelles est requis aux fins de compléter ce programme.
D. 418-2008, a. 7.
8. La personne admissible par équivalence peut exercer les activités professionnelles prévues à l’article 4 si elle respecte les conditions mentionnées aux paragraphes 2 et 3 du premier alinéa de l’article 5 et dans la mesure où l’exercice de ces activités professionnelles est requis aux fins d’obtenir une équivalence de la formation.
Cette personne peut également exercer les activités professionnelles prévues à l’article 6 si elle respecte les conditions qui y sont mentionnées et dans la mesure où l’exercice de ces activités professionnelles est requis aux fins d’obtenir une équivalence de la formation.
D. 418-2008, a. 8.
8.1. Le candidat à l’exercice de la profession d’infirmière auxiliaire peut exercer les activités professionnelles prévues à l’article 4 s’il respecte les conditions suivantes:
1°  ces activités professionnelles sont exercées dans un centre exploité par un établissement public ou privé conventionné au sens de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (chapitre S-4.2) ou de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux pour les autochtones cris (chapitre S-5), sauf en pédiatrie ou en néonatalogie;
2°  il exerce ces activités professionnelles sous la supervision d’une infirmière ou d’une infirmière auxiliaire habilitée à exercer ces activités qui est présente dans l’unité de soins concernée;
3°  lorsque la supervision est exercée par une infirmière auxiliaire, une infirmière est présente dans l’unité de soins ou dans le bâtiment dans le cas d’une unité de soins de longue durée, en vue d’une intervention rapide auprès du patient ou afin d’assurer une réponse rapide à une demande provenant du candidat;
4°  le patient fait l’objet d’un plan thérapeutique infirmier.
D. 134-2016, a. 2.
9. L’infirmière ou l’infirmier auxiliaire qui exerçait les activités professionnelles prévues au premier alinéa de l’article 6 avant le 29 mai 2008 peut continuer de les exercer si les conditions suivantes sont respectées:
1°  ces activités professionnelles sont exercées dans un centre exploité par un établissement au sens de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (chapitre S-4.2) ou de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux pour les autochtones cris (chapitre S-5);
2°  le patient fait l’objet d’un plan thérapeutique infirmier.
Le présent article cessera d’avoir effet le 29 mai 2016.
D. 418-2008, a. 9; D. 266-2011, a. 1; D. 436-2013, a. 1.
SECTION IV
DISPOSITIONS FINALES
10. Le présent règlement remplace le Règlement sur certaines activités professionnelles pouvant être exercées par une infirmière ou un infirmier auxiliaire (D. 630-2007, 07-08-07).
D. 418-2008, a. 10.
11. (Omis).
D. 418-2008, a. 11.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 418-2008, 2008 G.O. 2, 2084
D. 266-2011, 2011 G.O. 2, 1307
D. 436-2013, 2013 G.O. 2, 1787
D. 134-2016, 2016 G. O. 2, 1540