H-4.1, r. 7 - Regulation respecting the terms and conditions for the issue of a permit by the Chambre des huissiers de justice du Québec

Table of contents
Full text
chapter H-4.1, r. 7
Regulation respecting the terms and conditions for the issue of a permit by the Chambre des huissiers de justice du Québec
BAILIFFS — PERMITS
Court Bailiffs Act
(chapter H-4.1, s. 3).
H-4.1
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 94, pars. h and i).
C-26
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
ISSUE OF A PERMIT
1. The board of directors of the Chambre des huissiers de justice du Québec shall issue a permit to practise the profession of court bailiff to a person who meets the following requirements:
(1)  subject to section 20, he is the holder of a diploma that gives access to the permit issued by the Chambre and recognized by the Government under the first paragraph of section 184 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) or an equivalent to that diploma recognized by the board of directors or has received an equivalent training recognized by the board of directors;
(2)  he has taken the training course in accordance with Division II;
(3)  he has passed the professional examination in accordance with Division III;
(4)  he has successfully completed the professional training period in accordance with Division IV;
(5)  he has completed an application for a permit and paid the fees fixed for the granting of a permit determined under paragraph 8 of section 86.0.1 of the Code;
(6)  he has authorized the board of directors to inquire about his integrity and financial situation.
O.C. 449-99, s. 1.
DIVISION II
TRAINING COURSE
2. The Secretary of the Chambre shall administer the training course under the authority of the executive committee.
O.C. 449-99, s. 2.
3. The training course shall have a duration of at least 4 weeks and include the following:
(1)  practical work relevant to the particular skills to meet the following objectives:
— serve proceedings, calculate time limits and establish proof of service;
— enforce judicial decisions that are executory, in particular, seize movables and immovables in execution, produce minutes, assess movable property, consult the appropriate registers, produce a statement of collocation and distribution of the amounts realized;
— execute eviction orders;
— execute warrants for witness, or for committal;
— carry out sales under judicial authority;
— make material ascertainments;
— perform any other duties assigned to a bailiff by law or by a court;
— serve proceedings on a party domiciled or residing in another province in Canada or another country, or issued by a foreign court or tribunal;
(2)  the law and the regulations related to the practice of the profession, in particular the Professional Code (chapter C-26), the Court Bailiffs Act (chapter H-4.1), the regulations made under those statutes, as well as bookkeeping, registers and trust accounts;
(3)  professional behaviour in the exercise of judicial constraint, in particular, in crisis situations, and the social behaviour of an officer of justice;
(4)  knowledge related to the charters of rights and freedoms, the Act respecting the Régie du logement (chapter R-8.1), the Act respecting the collection of certain debts (chapter R-2.2) and the Consumer Protection Act (chapter P-40.1).
O.C. 449-99, s. 3; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
4. Upon recommendation of the Secretary, the executive committee shall determine the dates of the training course each year, where it will be held and the number of sessions required. The Secretary shall advise each candidate of the beginning of a session at least 30 days in advance.
O.C. 449-99, s. 4.
DIVISION III
PROFESSIONAL EXAMINATION
5. The professional examination is in writing and shall be held once a year, on the date, at the time and at the place determined by the executive committee.
O.C. 449-99, s. 5.
6. The purpose of the professional examination relating to the knowledge and skills acquired by the candidate shall be to evaluate the candidate’s behaviour and practical judgment in concrete situations.
The examination shall evaluate the candidate with respect to the service of proceedings, the enforcement of judicial decisions that are executory, the performance of any other duties assigned to a bailiff by law, the production of minutes and professional law.
O.C. 449-99, s. 6.
7. A candidate who has completed the professional training period shall be notified of the examination at least 45 days in advance.
O.C. 449-99, s. 7.
8. The minimum pass mark for the examination is 60%. Failing that, the candidate shall take the examination again at the following sitting.
The mark obtained at the examination, with the indication “Pass” or “Fail”, shall be sent to the candidate by mail as soon as possible.
O.C. 449-99, s. 8.
9. The candidate may sit for the examination a maximum of 3 times, unless he demonstrates to the executive committee’s satisfaction that he has successfully completed an additional training period to remedy his deficiencies.
O.C. 449-99, s. 9.
10. Registration for the examination under false pretences, plagiarizing, being an accomplice to it or attempting to plagiarize during the examination shall result in a “Fail” mark for that examination.
O.C. 449-99, s. 10.
DIVISION IV
TRAINING PERIOD
11. The purpose of the training period is threefold: to enable the candidate to acquire the appropriate maturity, autonomy and experience for the practice of the profession of bailiff in Québec, to incorporate his knowledge and skills into concrete work situations and to apply them to real decision-making contexts.
O.C. 449-99, s. 11.
12. To be eligible for the training period, the candidate shall complete an application on the form prescribed by the board of directors, meet the condition prescribed in paragraph 1 of section 1, have completed the training course prescribed in paragraph 2 of section 1 and pay the costs fixed by the board of directors in accordance with paragraph 8 of section 86.0.1 of the Code.
However, the candidate may not act as a trainee before having obtained a trainee’s certificate from the board of directors at his training director’s request.
O.C. 449-99, s. 12.
13. A trainee is qualified, under the authority and responsibility of the training director, to serve written proceedings issued by any court if he states that he is a trainee, and to perform any duty prescribed in section 8 of the Court Bailiffs Act (chapter H-4.1).
However, he may not enforce judicial decisions that are executory and may not perform any other duty assigned to a bailiff by law or by a court unless he does so under the immediate supervision of his training director who shall co-sign the minutes.
O.C. 449-99, s. 13.
14. The training period shall last 6 months and shall be carried out as full time employment, performing duties the nature of which is compatible with the activities related to the practice of the profession.
O.C. 449-99, s. 14.
15. The training director shall meet the following criteria:
(1)  have been entered on the roll for at least 2 years; and
(2)  not have been the object of a disciplinary decision within the last 5 years.
The training director shall not supervise or be responsible for more than one trainee at a time.
O.C. 449-99, s. 15.
16. Upon the written request of a trainee, the board of directors may decide to:
(1)  authorize a change in training directors; or
(2)  authorize the interruption of a training period, to be resumed at a later time.
O.C. 449-99, s. 16.
17. At the end of the training period, an evaluation report shall be prepared by the candidate and the training director. The report shall contain the information required to determine whether the candidate has acquired the maturity, autonomy and experience necessary to practise the profession of bailiff in Québec. Also, the report shall list different situations in which the candidate practised and give the training director’s evaluation.
O.C. 449-99, s. 17.
18. The executive committee shall examine the evaluation report and give its opinion to the board of directors concerning the validity of the training period in light of the objectives contemplated in section 11.
At the first meeting following the date of receipt of the notice prescribed in the first paragraph, the board of directors shall decide whether or not the candidate has met the objectives of the training period. Within 30 days, the Secretary shall send a written notice of the decision to the candidate by issuing an attestation of his passing or failing.
Where the candidate has failed the training period, the Secretary shall notify the candidate of the reasons supporting the board of director’s decision. However, it may not issue an attestation of that decision without giving the training director and the trainee the chance to be heard.
O.C. 449-99, s. 18.
19. A trainee who has failed the training period shall complete another training period of 6 months in accordance with the conditions given in this Division.
A trainee’s certificate may not be renewed for more than 2 periods not exceeding 6 months each.
O.C. 449-99, s. 19.
DIVISION IV.1
STANDARDS OF EQUIVALENCE APPLICABLE TO THE CONDITIONS FOR THE ISSUE OF A PERMIT
O.C. 505-2006, s. 1.
19.1. A candidate is granted an equivalence applicable to a requirement set out in paragraph 2, 3 or 4 of section 1 if the candidate demonstrates having the knowledge and skills equivalent to those of a candidate who meets the requirement.
In assessing the training equivalence of a candidate, the board of directors is to take into particular account the following factors:
(1)  the nature and duration of the candidate’s work experience;
(2)  the fact that the candidate holds one or more diplomas awarded in Québec or elsewhere;
(3)  the nature and content of courses taken;
(4)  the nature and content of training periods and other training activities;
(5)  the total number of years of academic education.
O.C. 505-2006, s. 1.
19.2. A candidate who wishes to have an equivalence referred to in section 19.1 recognized must apply in accordance with the recognition procedure set out in Division IV of the Regulation respecting equivalence standards for the issue of permits by the Chambre des huissiers de justice du Québec (chapter H-4.1, r. 11), which applies with the necessary modifications.
O.C. 505-2006, s. 1.
DIVISION V
TRANSITIONAL AND FINAL
20. Until the date of coming into force of a regulation made by the Government under the first paragraph of section 184 of the Code, a candidate is deemed to have met the condition prescribed in paragraph 1 of section 1, if he is the holder of a diploma of college studies in legal technology awarded by the Minister of Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology.
O.C. 449-99, s. 20; S.Q. 2013, c. 28, s. 204.
21. (Repealed).
O.C. 449-99, s. 21; O.C. 437-2002, s. 1.
22. (Omitted).
O.C. 449-99, s. 22; O.C. 437-2002, s. 2.
23. (Omitted).
O.C. 449-99, s. 23; O.C. 437-2002, s. 3; O.C. 521-2005, s. 1; O.C. 505-2006, s. 2.
REFERENCES
O.C. 449-99, 1999 G.O. 2, 1101
O.C. 437-2002, 2002 G.O. 2, 2234
O.C. 521-2005, 2005 G.O. 2, 1871
O.C. 505-2006, 2006 G.O. 2, 1733
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, s. 212
S.Q. 2013, c. 28, s. 204

H-4.1, r. 7 - Règlement sur les conditions et modalités de délivrance des permis de la Chambre des huissiers de justice du Québec

Texte complet
chapitre H-4.1, r. 7
Règlement sur les conditions et modalités de délivrance des permis de la Chambre des huissiers de justice du Québec
HUISSIERS — PERMIS
Loi sur les huissiers de justice
(chapitre H-4.1, a. 3).
H-4.1
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 94, par. h et i).
C-26
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
DÉLIVRANCE DU PERMIS
1. Le Conseil d’administration de la Chambre des huissiers de justice du Québec délivre un permis d’exercice de la profession d’huissier de justice à la personne qui satisfait aux conditions suivantes:
1°  sous réserve de l’article 20, être titulaire d’un diplôme qui donne droit au permis délivré par la Chambre et reconnu par le gouvernement en vertu du premier alinéa de l’article 184 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) ou d’un diplôme reconnu équivalent par le Conseil d’administration ou posséder une formation reconnue équivalente par le Conseil d’administration;
2°  avoir suivi le cours de formation conformément à la section II;
3°  avoir réussi l’examen professionnel conformément à la section III;
4°  avoir réussi le stage de formation professionnelle conformément à la section IV;
5°  avoir rempli une demande de permis et acquitté les frais relatifs à l’obtention du permis déterminés en vertu du paragraphe 8 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code;
6°  avoir autorisé le Conseil d’administration à s’enquérir de sa probité et de sa situation financière.
D. 449-99, a. 1.
SECTION II
COURS DE FORMATION
2. Sous l’autorité du comité exécutif, le secrétaire de la Chambre administre le cours de formation.
D. 449-99, a. 2.
3. Le cours de formation, d’une durée d’au moins 4 semaines, comprend les volets suivants:
1°  l’enseignement pratique des habiletés qui se rapportent principalement aux objectifs suivants:
— la signification des actes de procédure, le calcul des délais et l’établissement de la preuve de la signification;
— la mise à exécution des décisions de justice ayant force exécutoire, notamment, la saisie exécution mobilière ou immobilière, la rédaction des procès-verbaux, l’évaluation des meubles, les recherches aux registres appropriés, l’état de collocation et la distribution des sommes réalisées;
— l’exécution d’une ordonnance d’expulsion;
— l’exécution d’un mandat d’amener, d’emprisonnement ou de dépôt;
— la vente sous contrôle de justice;
— les constatations matérielles;
— l’exercice des autres fonctions dévolues à l’huissier en vertu de la loi ou par un tribunal;
— la signification des actes de procédure à une partie qui a son domicile ou sa résidence dans une autre province du Canada ou dans un autre pays, ou qui émane d’un tribunal non canadien;
2°  le droit professionnel et les règlements reliés à l’exercice de la profession d’huissier de justice, notamment le Code des professions (chapitre C-26), la Loi sur les huissiers de justice (chapitre H-4.1), les règlements adoptés en vertu de ces lois ainsi que la tenue des livres, registres et comptes en fidéicommis;
3°  le comportement professionnel dans l’exercice de la contrainte judiciaire, notamment les réactions en situation de crise, et le comportement d’un officier de justice au sein de la société;
4°  des notions reliées aux chartes des droits et libertés, à la Loi sur la Régie du logement (chapitre R-8.1), à la Loi sur le recouvrement de certaines créances (chapitre R-2.2) et à la Loi sur la protection du consommateur (chapitre P-40.1).
D. 449-99, a. 3; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
4. Sur recommandation du secrétaire, le comité exécutif détermine à chaque année les dates, les lieux et le nombre de sessions nécessaires au cours de formation. Le secrétaire doit en informer chaque candidat au moins 30 jours avant le début d’une session.
D. 449-99, a. 4.
SECTION III
EXAMEN PROFESSIONNEL
5. L’examen professionnel est un examen écrit qui a lieu une fois par année, à la date, à l’heure et au lieu déterminés par le comité exécutif.
D. 449-99, a. 5.
6. L’examen professionnel, qui fait appel aux connaissances et habiletés acquises par le candidat, a pour objet d’évaluer le comportement et la justesse du jugement de ce dernier dans les situations pratiques.
Cet examen évalue plus particulièrement le candidat en ce qui concerne la signification des actes de procédure, la mise à exécution des décisions de justice ayant force exécutoire, l’exercice des autres fonctions dévolues à l’huissier en vertu d’une loi, la rédaction des procès-verbaux et le droit professionnel.
D. 449-99, a. 6.
7. Le candidat, qui a complété le stage de formation professionnelle, doit être convoqué au moins 45 jours avant la tenue de l’examen.
D. 449-99, a. 7.
8. La note minimale requise pour réussir l’examen est de 60%. À défaut d’obtenir cette note, le candidat doit reprendre l’examen à la session suivante.
La note obtenue à l’examen, accompagnée de la mention «réussite» ou «échec», est transmise au candidat par la poste dans les plus brefs délais.
D. 449-99, a. 8.
9. Le candidat dispose d’un maximum de 3 reprises, à moins qu’il ne démontre, à la satisfaction du comité exécutif, qu’il a complété avec succès une période de formation additionnelle visant à corriger ses déficiences.
D. 449-99, a. 9.
10. L’inscription à l’examen sous de fausses représentations, le plagiat lors de la session d’examen, la participation au plagiat ou la tentative de plagiat entraînent l’échec de cet examen.
D. 449-99, a. 10.
SECTION IV
STAGE DE FORMATION PROFESSIONNELLE
11. Le stage de formation professionnelle a pour but de permettre au candidat d’acquérir la maturité professionnelle, l’autonomie et l’expérience nécessaires à l’exercice de la profession d’huissier au Québec, d’intégrer à un environnement professionnel concret l’ensemble de ses connaissances et habiletés et d’appliquer celles-ci dans un contexte réel de prise de décision.
D. 449-99, a. 11.
12. Pour être admis au stage, le candidat doit remplir une demande selon la formule établie par le Conseil d’administration, satisfaire à la condition prescrite au paragraphe 1 de l’article 1, avoir suivi le cours de formation prévu au paragraphe 2 de l’article 1 et acquitter les frais exigés par le Conseil d’adminsitration conformément au paragraphe 8 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code.
Toutefois, le candidat ne peut agir en qualité de stagiaire avant d’avoir obtenu du Conseil d’administration, à la demande de son maître de stage, un certificat de stagiaire.
D. 449-99, a. 12.
13. Le stagiaire est habilité, sous l’autorité et la responsabilité de son maître de stage, à signifier les actes de procédure émanant de tout tribunal en mentionnant sa qualité de stagiaire et à poser tous les actes professionnels prévus à l’article 8 de la Loi sur les huissiers de justice (chapitre H-4.1).
Toutefois, il ne peut mettre à exécution les décisions de justice ayant force exécutoire et exercer toute autre fonction dévolue à l’huissier en vertu de la loi ou par un tribunal que sous la surveillance immédiate de son maître de stage qui doit contresigner le procès-verbal.
D. 449-99, a. 13.
14. Le stage est d’une durée de 6 mois et doit se dérouler dans le cadre d’un emploi à temps plein dans des fonctions dont la nature est compatible avec l’ensemble des activités reliées à l’exercice de la profession.
D. 449-99, a. 14.
15. Le maître de stage doit remplir les critères suivants:
1°  être inscrit au tableau depuis au moins 2 ans;
2°  ne pas avoir fait l’objet d’une sanction disciplinaire au cours des 5 dernières années.
Le maître de stage ne peut assumer la supervision et la responsabilité que d’un seul stagiaire à la fois.
D. 449-99, a. 15.
16. Sur demande écrite motivée du stagiaire, le Conseil d’administration peut décider:
1°  d’autoriser le changement de maître de stage;
2°  d’autoriser l’interruption d’un stage et sa reprise éventuelle.
D. 449-99, a. 16.
17. Au terme du stage, un rapport d’évaluation doit être rempli par le candidat et le maître de stage. Ce rapport doit fournir les informations pertinentes permettant d’évaluer si le candidat a été en mesure d’acquérir la maturité professionnelle, l’autonomie et l’expérience nécessaires à l’exercice de la profession d’huissier au Québec. Le rapport doit également énumérer différentes situations auxquelles fut confronté le candidat et faire état de l’appréciation du maître de stage.
D. 449-99, a. 17.
18. Le comité exécutif étudie le rapport d’évaluation et donne son avis au Conseil d’administration concernant la validité du stage en regard des objectifs visés à l’article 11.
À la première réunion qui suit la date de réception de l’avis prévu au premier alinéa, le Conseil d’administration décide si le candidat a satisfait ou non aux objectifs du stage. Dans les 30 jours de la décision du Conseil d’administration, le secrétaire informe par écrit le candidat de cette décision en lui délivrant une attestation de réussite ou d’échec.
Dans le cas où il y a un échec du stage, le secrétaire informe le candidat des raisons qui ont motivé la décision du Conseil d’administration. Toutefois, celui-ci ne peut délivrer une attestation d’échec sans avoir donné au maître de stage et au stagiaire l’occasion d’être entendus.
D. 449-99, a. 18.
19. Le stagiaire qui a échoué le stage doit effectuer un nouveau stage de 6 mois suivant les conditions déterminées à la présente section.
Le certificat de stagiaire ne peut être renouvelé que pour 2 périodes n’excédant pas 6 mois chacune.
D. 449-99, a. 19.
SECTION IV.1
NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE DES CONDITIONS DE DÉLIVRANCE DU PERMIS
D. 505-2006, a. 1.
19.1. Un candidat bénéficie d’une équivalence d’une condition prévue au paragraphe 2, 3 ou 4 de l’article 1, s’il démontre qu’il possède des connaissances et habiletés équivalentes à celles d’un candidat qui remplit cette condition.
Dans l’appréciation de l’équivalence de formation du candidat, le Conseil d’administration tient compte particulièrement des facteurs suivants:
1°  la nature et la durée de son expérience de travail;
2°  du fait qu’il est titulaire d’un ou de plusieurs diplômes obtenus au Québec ou ailleurs;
3°  la nature et le contenu des cours suivis;
4°  la nature et le contenu des stages et des autres activités de formation effectués;
5°  le nombre total de ses années de scolarité.
D. 505-2006, a. 1.
19.2. Le candidat qui veut faire reconnaître une équivalence prévue à l’article 19.1 doit en faire la demande selon les modalités prévues à la section IV du Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence pour la délivrance d’un permis de la Chambre des huissiers de justice du Québec (chapitre H-4.1, r. 11), laquelle s’applique, compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires.
D. 505-2006, a. 1.
SECTION V
DISPOSITIONS TRANSITOIRES ET FINALES
20. Jusqu’à la date de l’entrée en vigueur d’un règlement du gouvernement pris en application du premier alinéa de l’article 184 du code, un candidat est réputé satisfaire à la condition prévue au paragraphe 1 de l’article 1, s’il est titulaire d’un diplôme d’études collégiales en techniques juridiques délivré par le ministre de l’Enseignement supérieur, de la Recherche, de la Science et de la Technologie.
D. 449-99, a. 20; L.Q. 2013, c. 28, a. 204.
21. (Abrogé).
D. 449-99, a. 21; D. 437-2002, a. 1.
22. (Omis).
D. 449-99, a. 22; D. 437-2002, a. 2.
23. (Omis).
D. 449-99, a. 23; D. 437-2002, a. 3; D. 521-2005, a. 1; D. 505-2006, a. 2.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 449-99, 1999 G.O. 2, 1636
D. 437-2002, 2002 G.O. 2, 2855
D. 521-2005, 2005 G.O. 2, 2685
D. 505-2006, 2006 G.O. 2, 2405
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212
L.Q. 2013, c. 28, a. 204