D-3, r. 10 - Regulation respecting the standards for equivalence of diplomas and training for the issue of a permit or a specialist’s certificate by the Ordre des dentistes du Québec

Table of contents
Full text
chapter D-3, r. 10
Regulation respecting the standards for equivalence of diplomas and training for the issue of a permit or a specialist’s certificate by the Ordre des dentistes du Québec
DENTISTS — PERMIT — STANDARDS FOR EQUIVALENCE
Dental Act
(chapter D-3, s. 3).
D-3
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 93, par. c).
C-26
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
GENERAL
1. The secretary of the Ordre des dentistes du Québec shall forward a copy of this Regulation to a candidate wishing to have a diploma in dentistry issued by an educational institution outside Québec recognized as equivalent or to have his training recognized as equivalent.
O.C. 915-93, s. 1.
2. In this Regulation, “diploma equivalence” means the recognition by the board of directors that a diploma issued by an educational institution outside Québec certifies that the candidate’s level of knowledge, manual dexterity and clinical experience are equivalent to that attained by the holder of a diploma recognized as meeting the requirements for a permit or a specialist’s certificate.
“Training equivalence” means the recognition by the board of directors that a candidate’s training indicates that he has attained a level of knowledge, manual dexterity and clinical experience equivalent to that attained by the holder of a diploma recognized as meeting the requirements for a permit or a specialist’s certificate.
O.C. 915-93, s. 2.
DIVISION II
STANDARDS FOR DIPLOMA AND TRAINING EQUIVALENCE
3. The holder of a diploma in dentistry issued by a university outside Québec shall be granted a diploma equivalence if the board of directors, by resolution, accepts the certificate of the Commission on Dental Accreditation of Canada and if the diploma was obtained upon completion of studies comprising sufficient knowledge in the following areas:
(1)  general, dental and microscopic anatomy;
(2)  general and local anaesthesiology;
(3)  biochemistry;
(4)  oral biology;
(5)  general, oral and maxillo-facial surgery;
(6)  anxiety and pain control;
(7)  operative dentistry;
(8)  dentistry in a hospital or community centre;
(9)  diagnosis;
(10)  embryology and genetics;
(11)  endodontics;
(12)  epidemiology;
(13)  gerodontics;
(14)  dental materials;
(15)  general and oral medicine;
(16)  microbiology;
(17)  neuro-anatomy;
(18)  nutrition;
(19)  occlusion;
(20)  orthodontics;
(21)  periodontics;
(22)  general and oral pathology;
(23)  pediatric dentistry;
(24)  pharmacology;
(25)  physiology;
(26)  preventive dentistry;
(27)  CPR procedures;
(28)  maxillo-facial protheses and implants;
(29)  fixed or removable prosthodontics;
(30)  quality treatment and patient care;
(31)  radiology;
(32)  public dental care;
(33)  treatment of the handicapped and chronically ill; and
(34)  medical emergencies.
O.C. 915-93, s. 3.
4. A candidate shall be granted a training equivalence if he demonstrates, in accordance with section 5, that he has a level of knowledge, manual dexterity and clinical experience equivalent to that attained upon completion of studies in dentistry in an institution recognized under the first paragraph of section 184 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26).
O.C. 915-93, s. 4.
5. In order to determine whether a candidate demonstrates that he has the level of knowledge, manual dexterity and clinical experience required under section 4, the board of directors shall take all of the following factors into account:
(1)  the total years of schooling;
(2)  the courses taken in the areas listed in section 3;
(3)  the diploma obtained by the candidate;
(4)  the nature and duration of the candidate’s experience in dentistry; and
(5)  the training periods served in dentistry.
Where the evaluation made under the first paragraph does not allow a decision to be made, the board of directors may require that the candidate take an examination or serve a training period so that the said evaluation may be completed.
A candidate who fails an examination is entitled to write a supplemental examination. The supplemental examination shall be written within 5 years following the date of the failure.
O.C. 915-93, s. 5; O.C. 1069-95, s. 1; O.C. 649-97, s. 1.
DIVISION III
PROCEDURE FOR RECOGNIZING EQUIVALENCES
6. A candidate applying for a diploma equivalence or a training equivalence shall provide the secretary with the following supporting documents and with the costs required for the examination of the application in accordance with paragraph 8 of section 86.0.1 of the Code;
(1)  the candidate’s academic record and a description of the courses taken;
(2)  a certified official copy of the candidate’s diploma or proof that it was issued; and
(3)  a document attesting to the candidate’s relevant work experience during the 5 years preceding his application for recognition of his training equivalence.
A French translation of documents written in a language other than French or English is required.
O.C. 915-93, s. 6.
7. The secretary shall forward the documents provided by the candidate, as prescribed in section 6, to the committee set up by the board of directors, in accordance with paragraph 2 of section 86.0.1 of the Code, to examine his diploma equivalence or training equivalence application and shall make the appropriate recommendation to the board of directors.
At the first meeting following the date of receipt of the recommendation, the board of directors shall decide, in accordance with this Regulation, whether it recognizes the diploma equivalence or the training equivalence.
O.C. 915-93, s. 7.
8. Within 30 days following the date of its decision, the board of directors shall notify the candidate in writing of the reasons for its decision and, as the case may be, shall indicate which requirements, from among those listed in section 3 or section 5, the candidate must meet in order to be granted the diploma equivalence or the training equivalence.
O.C. 915-93, s. 8.
9. A candidate who receives the information provided for in section 8 may apply to the board of directors of the Order for a hearing, provided that the candidate applies to the secretary in writing within 30 days following the mailing of the decision not to recognize the diploma or the training as equivalent.
A candidate shall be granted a hearing at the board of director’s first regular meeting following receipt of his application, provided the secretary of the Order receives it 21 days before the date set for the meeting, and the board of directors, where expedient, shall revise its decision. To that end, the secretary shall convene the candidate by means of a notice in writing sent by registered mail not less than 10 days before the date of the hearing.
The board of director’s decision is final and shall be sent to the candidate in writing within 30 days following the date of the hearing.
O.C. 915-93, s. 9; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
10. (Omitted).
O.C. 915-93, s. 10.
REFERENCES
O.C. 915-93, 1993 G.O. 2, 3548
O.C. 1069-95, 1995 G.O. 2, 2676
O.C. 649-97, 1997 G.O. 2, 2247
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, s. 212

D-3, r. 10 - Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence de diplôme et de formation pour la délivrance d’un permis ou d’un certificat de spécialiste de l’Ordre des dentistes du Québec

Texte complet
chapitre D-3, r. 10
Règlement sur les normes d’équivalence de diplôme et de formation pour la délivrance d’un permis ou d’un certificat de spécialiste de l’Ordre des dentistes du Québec
DENTISTES — PERMIS — NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE
Loi sur les dentistes
(chapitre D-3, a. 3).
D-3
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. c).
C-26
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
1. Le secrétaire de l’Ordre des dentistes du Québec transmet une copie du présent règlement au candidat qui désire faire reconnaître soit l’équivalence du diplôme de médecine dentaire dont il est titulaire et décerné par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec ou soit l’équivalence de sa formation.
D. 915-93, a. 1.
2. Dans le présent règlement, on entend par «équivalence de diplôme» la reconnaissance par le Conseil d’administration qu’un diplôme délivré par un établissement d’enseignement situé hors du Québec atteste que le niveau de connaissances, de dextérité manuelle et d’expérience clinique d’un candidat est équivalent à celui acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme reconnu comme donnant ouverture au permis ou au certificat de spécialiste.
On y entend également par «équivalence de formation» la reconnaissance par le Conseil d’administration que la formation d’un candidat démontre que celui-ci a acquis un niveau de connaissances, de dextérité manuelle et d’expérience clinique équivalant à celui acquis par le titulaire d’un diplôme reconnu comme donnant ouverture au permis ou au certificat de spécialiste.
D. 915-93, a. 2.
SECTION II
NORMES D’ÉQUIVALENCE DE DIPLÔME ET DE FORMATION
3. Le titulaire d’un diplôme de médecine dentaire délivré par un établissement d’enseignement universitaire situé hors du Québec bénéficie d’une équivalence de diplôme lorsque le Conseil d’administration, par résolution, entérine le certificat de la Commission de l’agrément dentaire du Canada et que ce diplôme a été obtenu aux termes d’études comportant les connaissances suffisantes dans les domaines suivants:
1°  anatomie générale, dentaire et microscopique;
2°  anesthésiologie générale et locale;
3°  biochimie;
4°  biologie buccale;
5°  chirurgie générale, buccale et maxillo-faciale;
6°  contrôle de l’anxiété et de la douleur;
7°  dentisterie opératoire;
8°  dentisterie en milieu hospitalier et communautaire;
9°  diagnostic;
10°  embryologie et génétique;
11°  endodontie;
12°  épidémiologie;
13°  gérodontologie;
14°  matériaux dentaires;
15°  médecine générale et buccale;
16°  microbiologie;
17°  neuro-anatomie;
18°  nutrition;
19°  occlusion;
20°  orthodontie;
21°  parodontie;
22°  pathologie générale et buccale;
23°  dentisterie pédiatrique;
24°  pharmacologie;
25°  physiologie;
26°  prévention dentaire;
27°  procédures R.C.V.;
28°  prothèses maxillo-faciales et implants dentaires;
29°  prosthodontie fixe et amovible;
30°  qualité de l’acte et bien-être du patient;
31°  radiologie;
32°  santé dentaire publique;
33°  traitements des personnes handicapées et des malades chroniques; et
34°  urgences médicales.
D. 915-93, a. 3.
4. Un candidat bénéficie d’une équivalence de formation s’il démontre, conformément à l’article 5, qu’il possède un niveau de connaissances, de dextérité manuelle et d’expérience clinique équivalant à celui acquis au terme d’études en médecine dentaire effectuées dans un établissement reconnu en vertu du premier alinéa de l’article 184 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26).
D. 915-93, a. 4.
5. Afin de déterminer si un candidat démontre qu’il possède le niveau de connaissances, de dextérité manuelle et d’expérience clinique requis par l’article 4, le Conseil d’administration tient compte de l’ensemble des facteurs suivants:
1°  le nombre total d’années de scolarité;
2°  les cours suivis dans les domaines énumérées à l’article 3;
3°  le diplôme obtenu par le candidat;
4°  la nature et la durée de son expérience en médecine dentaire;
5°  les stages de formation effectués en médecine dentaire.
Dans le cas où l’appréciation faite en vertu du premier alinéa ne permet pas de prendre une décision, le Conseil d’administration peut imposer un examen ou un stage pour compléter cette appréciation.
Le candidat qui échoue à l’examen a droit à une reprise. Ce droit de reprise doit s’exercer dans les 5 années suivant la date de l’échec.
D. 915-93, a. 5; D. 1069-95, a. 1; D. 649-97, a. 1.
SECTION III
PROCÉDURE DE RECONNAISSANCE D’ÉQUIVALENCE
6. Le candidat qui veut faire reconnaître une équivalence de diplôme ou une équivalence de formation doit fournir au secrétaire les documents suivants qui sont nécessaires au soutien de sa demande et accompagnés des frais exigés conformément au paragraphe 8 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code aux fins d’étude de son dossier:
1°  son dossier académique incluant la description des cours suivis;
2°  une copie certifiée officielle de son diplôme ou une preuve de son obtention;
3°  une attestation de son expérience pertinente de travail effectuée au cours des 5 années précédant la demande de reconnaissance d’équivalence de formation.
Une traduction française des documents qui ne sont pas rédigés en français ou en anglais est requise.
D. 915-93, a. 6.
7. Le secrétaire transmet les documents prévus à l’article 6 fournis par un candidat au comité formé par le Conseil d’administration en vertu du paragraphe 2 de l’article 86.0.1 du Code pour étudier sa demande d’équivalence de diplôme ou d’équivalence de formation et formuler une recommandation appropriée au Conseil d’administration.
À la première réunion qui suit la date de réception de cette recommandation, le Conseil d’administration décide, conformément au présent règlement, s’il reconnaît l’équivalence de diplôme ou l’équivalence de formation.
D. 915-93, a. 7.
8. Dans les 30 jours qui suivent la date de sa décision, le Conseil d’administration doit informer par écrit le candidat des motifs de sa décision et, selon le cas, lui indiquer, parmi les exigences énumérées à l’article 3 ou à l’article 5, celles auxquelles il doit satisfaire lui permettant de bénéficier de l’équivalence de diplôme ou de l’équivalence de formation.
D. 915-93, a. 8.
9. Le candidat qui reçoit les informations visées à l’article 8 peut demander au Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre de se faire entendre à condition qu’il en fasse la demande par écrit au secrétaire dans les 30 jours de la mise à la poste de la décision de ne pas reconnaître l’équivalence de diplôme ou l’équivalence de formation.
Le candidat est entendu à la première réunion régulière du Conseil d’administration qui suit la réception de sa demande, pourvu que celle-ci parvienne au secrétaire de l’Ordre 21 jours avant la date fixée pour cette réunion et le Conseil d’administration, s’il y a lieu, révise sa décision. À cette fin, le secrétaire convoque le candidat par écrit, par poste recommandée, au moins 10 jours avant la date de l’audition.
La décision du Conseil d’administration est définitive et doit être transmise par écrit au candidat dans les 30 jours de la date d’audition.
D. 915-93, a. 9; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
10. (Omis).
D. 915-93, a. 10.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 915-93, 1993 G.O. 2, 4590
D. 1069-95, 1995 G.O. 2, 3862
D. 649-97, 1997 G.O. 2, 3021
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212