C-73.2, r. 5 - Regulation respecting the Real Estate Indemnity Fund and determination of the professional liability insurance premium

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-73.2, r. 5
Regulation respecting the Real Estate Indemnity Fund and determination of the professional liability insurance premium
REAL ESTATE BROKERAGE — FUND — PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY INSURANCE PREMIUM
Real Estate Brokerage Act
(chapter C-73.2, ss. 46, 52, 107 and 109).
C-73.2
May 1 2015
The fees prescribed in the Regulation have been indexed as of 1 May 2019 pursuant to the notice published in Part 1 (French) of the Gazette officielle du Québec of 16 February 2019, page 201. (s. 15)
CHAPTER I
REAL ESTATE INDEMNITY FUND
DIVISION I
INDEMNITY COMMITTEE
1. The indemnity committee is formed of no fewer than 3 and no more than 9 members, including a chair, appointed for a term of 3 years by the board of directors of the Organisme d’autoréglementation du courtage immobilier du Québec.
The board of directors may appoint one or more vice-chairs.
At the end of their term, members remain on the indemnity committee until their replacement, dismissal, re-appointment or resignation. However, a committee member who is replaced or who resigns may continue to work on a matter of which the member has been seized.
O.C. 298-2010, s. 1.
2. Where the number of members permits, the indemnity committee may sit in 2 or more divisions composed of 3 members or more, including the chair or a vice-chair. Divisions with more than 3 members must have an uneven number of members.
O.C. 298-2010, s. 2.
3. Sittings of the indemnity committee may be held using any means of communication allowing all participants to communicate with the others. Those participating are deemed to have attended the sitting.
O.C. 298-2010, s. 3.
4. The indemnity committee must submit an activity report annually and whenever requested by the Organization.
O.C. 298-2010, s. 4.
5. Members of the indemnity committee must take the oath in Schedule A of this Regulation.
O.C. 298-2010, s. 5.
DIVISION II
CLAIMS AND COMPENSATION
6. Claims filed with the indemnity committee must be in writing. They must set out the facts on which they are based and state the amount claimed, supported by evidence, and identify the licence holder in question.
A request for assistance under section 70 of the Real Estate Brokerage Act (chapter C-73.2) in relation to facts that may result in a claim against the Fund constitutes a claim.
O.C. 298-2010, s. 6.
7. To be admissible, a claim must be filed no later than 2 years after the claimant becomes aware of fraud, fraudulent tactics or misappropriation of funds referred to in section 108 of the Real Estate Brokerage Act (chapter C-73.2).
The indemnity committee may extend the time period if the claimant proves that, for a reason beyond the claimant’s control, he or she was unable to submit the claim within the required time.
O.C. 298-2010, s. 7; 480-2018O.C. 480-2018, s. 1.
8. A claim on which the indemnity committee has already ruled and, if applicable, has already determined the amount of the indemnity is inadmissible, unless new facts warrant a review of the committee’s decision.
O.C. 298-2010, s. 8.
9. Licence holders may not submit claims against the Fund in that role.
O.C. 298-2010, s. 9.
10. A claim against the Fund is ineligible if made by a person who remitted money to a licence holder for unlawful purposes or who knew or should have known that the money would be used for inappropriate purposes, or by a person who knew or should have known that the licence holder was engaged in fraud or fraudulent tactics.
O.C. 298-2010, s. 10.
11. The claimant and the licence holder must provide all information and documents pertaining to the claim and must adduce all relevant evidence.
O.C. 298-2010, s. 11.
12. The indemnity committee’s ruling on a claim and, if applicable, on the amount of indemnity to be paid is final. Rulings must be made by a majority of members and substantiated. They must be recorded in writing, and signed by the concurring committee members.
O.C. 298-2010, s. 12.
13. Before receiving an indemnity determined by the indemnity committee, the claimant must sign a release in favour of the Organization, with subrogation of all rights in respect of the claim against the licence holder in question, his or her successors, or any person, partnership or legal person that is bound or may be bound to make the payment, up to the amount of the indemnity.
O.C. 298-2010, s. 13.
14. The maximum indemnity that may be paid out of the Fund is $100,000 per claim in respect of fraud, fraudulent tactics or misappropriation of funds committed as of 10 May 2018. For an act committed before that date, the maximum indemnity is the maximum compensation provided for in the regulations applicable at the date the act is committed.
O.C. 298-2010, s. 14; 480-2018O.C. 480-2018, s. 2.
DIVISION III
FEES
15. The annual fee to be paid into the Real Estate Indemnity Fund is $60 per licence.
The fee must be paid on application for the issue of a licence and annually thereafter.
Where the fee is paid for a licence covering a period of less than 12 months, it must be prorated to the number of months between the month of application and the fee’s annual due date.
O.C. 298-2010, s. 15.
16. Fees paid into the Fund are indexed on 1 May of each year, on the basis of the rate of increase in the general Consumer Price Index for Canada for the 12-month period ending on 31 December of the preceding year, as determined by Statistics Canada.
Fees thus indexed are reduced to the nearest dollar where they contain a fraction of a dollar less than $0.50 or increased to the nearest dollar where they contain a fraction of a dollar equal to or greater than $0.50.
The indexed fee is published in the Gazette officielle du Québec.
O.C. 298-2010, s. 16.
CHAPTER II
PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY INSURANCE PREMIUM
17. The annual premium to be paid by licence holders into the insurance fund is determined by the Organization on the basis of common practice and forecasts. It may be adjusted to the following criteria:
(1)  the juridical form chosen for the conduct of a licence holder’s activities;
(2)  the risks inherent in the types of licences held;
(3)  risk experience, loss experience, and the frequency and amounts of claims against the licence holder;
(4)  the territory where the licence holder conducts his activities;
(5)  the fact of the licence holder’s employment with the Organization;
(6)  the fact that the licence holder carries on activities within a business corporation, in accordance with Division IV of Chapter II of the Real Estate Brokerage Act (chapter C-73.2) and Division VI.1 of Chapter I of the Regulation respecting brokerage requirements, professional conduct of brokers and advertising (chapter C-73.2, r. 1).
Where the Organization adjusts the premium, it must do so through an additional premium, a premium credit or modification of the deductible.
O.C. 298-2010, s. 17; O.C. 1257-2011, s. 1.
18. (Omitted).
O.C. 298-2010, s. 18.
“OATH OF DISCRETION
I, A.B., swear under oath that I will not, without being so authorized by law, disclose or make known anything whatsoever of which I may take cognizance in the performance of my duties.”
O.C. 298-2010, Sch. A.
REFERENCES
O.C. 298-2010, 2010 G.O. 2, 835
O.C. 1257-2011, 2011 G.O. 2, 3659A
O.C. 480-2018, 2018 G.O. 2, 1759

C-73.2, r. 5 - Règlement sur le fonds d’indemnisation et la fixation de la prime d’assurance de responsabilité professionnelle

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre C-73.2, r. 5
Règlement sur le fonds d’indemnisation et la fixation de la prime d’assurance de responsabilité professionnelle
COURTAGE IMMOBILIER — FONDS D’INDEMNISATION — PRIME D’ASSURANCE RESPONSABILITÉ
Loi sur le courtage immobilier
(chapitre C-73.2, a. 46, 52, 107 et 109).
C-73.2
1er mai 2015
Les droits prévus au règlement ont été indexés à compter du 1er mai 2018 selon l’avis publié à la Partie 1 de la Gazette officielle du Québec le 17 février 2018, page 108. (a. 15)
CHAPITRE I
FONDS D’INDEMNISATION
SECTION I
COMITÉ D’INDEMNISATION
1. Le comité d’indemnisation est formé d’au moins 3 et d’au plus 9 membres, dont un président, nommés pour un mandat de 3 ans par le conseil d’administration de l’Organisme d’autoréglementation du courtage immobilier du Québec.
Le conseil d’administration peut nommer un ou plusieurs vice-présidents.
À l’expiration de leur mandat, les membres demeurent en fonction jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient remplacés, destitués, nommés de nouveau ou jusqu’à leur démission. Toutefois, advenant qu’un membre du comité soit remplacé ou démissionne, il peut continuer un dossier dont il a été saisi.
D. 298-2010, a. 1.
2. Si le nombre de membres du comité le permet, le comité peut siéger en plusieurs divisions composées de 3 membres ou plus, dont le président ou un vice-président. Dans le cas où une division compte plus de 3 membres, le nombre de membres doit être impair.
D. 298-2010, a. 2.
3. Les séances du comité d’indemnisation peuvent être tenues à l’aide de tout moyen permettant à tous les participants de communiquer entre eux. Ils sont alors réputés avoir assisté à la séance.
D. 298-2010, a. 3.
4. Le comité d’indemnisation transmet annuellement et chaque fois que l’Organisme lui en fait la demande un rapport de ses activités.
D. 298-2010, a. 4.
5. Les membres du comité d’indemnisation doivent prêter le serment prévu à l’Annexe A du présent règlement.
D. 298-2010, a. 5.
SECTION II
RÉCLAMATIONS ET INDEMNISATION
6. Toute réclamation adressée au comité d’indemnisation doit être faite par écrit. Elle doit exposer les faits sur lesquels elle se fonde et indiquer le montant réclamé, avec preuve à l’appui. Elle doit également indiquer le titulaire de permis visé.
Une demande d’assistance présentée selon l’article 70 de la Loi sur le courtage immobilier (chapitre C-73.2) relativement à des faits susceptibles d’entraîner une réclamation au Fonds d’indemnisation constitue une réclamation.
D. 298-2010, a. 6.
7. Pour être recevable, une réclamation doit être déposée au plus tard 2 ans après que le réclamant ait eu connaissance de la fraude, de la manoeuvre dolosive ou du détournement de fonds visés à l’article 108 de la Loi sur le courtage immobilier (chapitre C-73.2).
Le comité d’indemnisation peut cependant prolonger ce délai si le réclamant démontre que, pour une cause ne dépendant pas de sa volonté, il n’a pu déposer sa réclamation dans le délai requis.
D. 298-2010, a. 7; 480-2018D. 480-2018, a. 1.
8. N’est pas recevable la réclamation sur laquelle le comité d’indemnisation a déjà statué et, le cas échéant, a déjà fixé le montant de l’indemnité, à moins que des faits nouveaux ne justifient une révision de la décision du comité d’indemnisation.
D. 298-2010, a. 8.
9. Le titulaire d’un permis ne peut réclamer au Fonds d’indemnisation à ce titre.
D. 298-2010, a. 9.
10. La réclamation au Fonds par une personne qui a remis des sommes à un titulaire de permis à des fins illicites ou qui savait ou aurait dû savoir que les sommes seraient utilisées à des fins inappropriées, ou par une personne qui savait ou aurait dû savoir que le titulaire de permis était engagé dans une fraude ou une manoeuvre dolosive n’est pas admissible.
D. 298-2010, a. 10.
11. Le réclamant et le titulaire de permis fournissent tous les renseignements et documents relatifs à la réclamation et produisent toute preuve pertinente.
D. 298-2010, a. 11.
12. La décision du comité d’indemnisation statuant sur une réclamation et, le cas échéant, sur le montant de l’indemnité à verser est définitive. Elle est rendue à la majorité des membres et est motivée. Elle est consignée par écrit et signée par les membres du comité qui y souscrivent.
D. 298-2010, a. 12.
13. Avant de recevoir l’indemnité fixée par le comité d’indemnisation, le réclamant doit signer une quittance en faveur de l’Organisme avec subrogation dans tous les droits concernant sa réclamation contre le titulaire de permis visé par la réclamation, ses ayants cause et toute personne, société ou personne morale qui est ou pourrait être tenue à ce paiement, jusqu’à concurrence de l’indemnité.
D. 298-2010, a. 13.
14. L’indemnité maximale payable à même le Fonds d’indemnisation est de 100 000 $ par réclamation à l’égard de la fraude, de la manoeuvre dolosive ou du détournement de fonds commis à compter du 10 mai 2018. Pour l’acte commis avant cette date, l’indemnité maximale est celle prévue à la réglementation applicable à la date de la commission de l’acte.
D. 298-2010, a. 14; 480-2018D. 480-2018, a. 2.
SECTION III
COTISATION
15. La cotisation annuelle au Fonds d’indemnisation du courtage immobilier est de 59 $ par permis.
Elle doit être versée lors de la demande de délivrance de permis et par la suite annuellement.
Dans le cas où la cotisation devant être versée lors de la demande de délivrance d’un permis l’est pour une période inférieure à 12 mois, le montant de la cotisation est ajusté au prorata du nombre de mois à courir jusqu’à la date d’exigibilité de la cotisation, incluant le mois pendant lequel la demande est faite.
D. 298-2010, a. 15.
16. Le montant de la cotisation au Fonds d’indemnisation est indexé annuellement le 1er mai de chaque année selon le taux d’augmentation de l’indice général des prix à la consommation pour le Canada, tel que déterminé par Statistique Canada, pour la période de 12 mois se terminant le 31 décembre de l’année précédente.
Le montant ainsi ajusté est diminué au dollar le plus près s’il comprend une fraction de dollar inférieure à 0,50 $; il est augmenté au dollar le plus près s’il comprend une fraction de dollar égale ou supérieure à 0,50 $.
Le résultat de l’indexation est publié à la Gazette officielle du Québec.
D. 298-2010, a. 16.
CHAPITRE II
PRIME D’ASSURANCE DE RESPONSABILITÉ PROFESSIONNELLE
17. La prime annuelle payable au Fonds d’assurance par un titulaire de permis est fixée par l’Organisme en fonction des usages et des prévisions. Elle peut être modulée en fonction des critères suivants:
1°  la forme juridique choisie pour l’exercice de ses activités;
2°  le risque que représentent les types de permis que détient le titulaire;
3°  l’expérience de risque, la sinistralité, l’importance et la fréquence des réclamations visant le titulaire de permis;
4°  le territoire dans lequel le titulaire de permis exerce ses activités;
5°  le fait que le titulaire de permis est à l’emploi de l’Organisme;
6°  le fait que le titulaire de permis exerce ses activités au sein d’une société par actions, conformément à la section IV du chapitre II de la Loi sur le courtage immobilier (chapitre C-73.2) et à la section VI.1 du chapitre I du Règlement sur les conditions d’exercice d’une opération de courtage, sur la déontologie des courtiers et sur la publicité (chapitre C-73.2, r. 1).
Lorsque l’Organisme module la prime, il le fait en prévoyant une surprime, un crédit de prime ou en modifiant la franchise.
D. 298-2010, a. 17; D. 1257-2011, a. 1.
18. (Omis).
D. 298-2010, a. 18.
ANNEXE A
(a. 5)
«SERMENT DE DISCRÉTION
Je, A.B., déclare sous serment que je ne révélerai et ne ferai connaître, sans y être autorisé par la loi, quoi que ce soit dont j’aurai connaissance dans l’exercice de ma charge.»
D. 298-2010, Ann. A.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 298-2010, 2010 G.O. 2, 1306
D. 1257-2011, 2011 G.O. 2, 5523A
D. 480-2018, 2018 G.O. 2, 2892