C-65.1, r. 7.3 - Regulation respecting the fees for certain legal services rendered to bodies of the Government

Full text
chapter C-65.1, r. 7.3
Regulation respecting the fees for certain legal services rendered to bodies of the Government
CONTRACT OF PUBLIC BODIES — FEES — LEGAL SERVICES
Act respecting contracting by public bodies
(chapter C-65.1, s. 23, pars. 1 and 7, ss. 23.1 and 24).
C-65.1
August 17 2018September 13 2018
CHAPTER I
SCOPE AND INTERPRETATION
1238-2018, c. IO.C. 1238-2018, c. I.
1. Subject to the second paragraph, this Regulation applies to any contract for legal services provided by an advocate or notary to a public body subject to the Act respecting contracting by public bodies (chapter C-65.1), or to a body described in section 7 of the Act, except the bodies listed in Schedule I, regardless of the contract’s amount.
This Regulation does not apply to a contract that was the subject of a call for tenders soliciting a price.
1238-2018O.C. 1238-2018, s. 1.
2. In this Regulation,
(1)  advocate means a member of the Barreau du Québec;
(2)  notary means a member of the Chambre des notaires du Québec;
(3)  body means a public body subject to the Act respecting contracting by public bodies (chapter C-65.1) or a body described in section 7 of the Act, except the bodies listed in Schedule I.
1238-2018O.C. 1238-2018, s. 2.
CHAPTER II
ESTABLISHMENT OF FEES
1238-2018, c. IIO.C. 1238-2018, c. II.
DIVISION I
GENERAL
1238-2018, Div. IO.C. 1238-2018, Div. I.
3. The fees of the advocate or notary are established, as the body may choose, on the basis of one of the following methods or a combination thereof:
(1)  the hourly rate method;
(2)  the percentage method;
(3)  the lump-sum method.
1238-2018O.C. 1238-2018, s. 3.
DIVISION II
HOURLY RATE METHOD
1238-2018, Div. IIO.C. 1238-2018, Div. II.
4. The hourly rate method consists in computing the advocate’s or notary’s fees in relation to the time devoted to performing the contract by the advocate or notary and, if applicable, the persons who are requested by the advocate or notary to collaborate in the contract by reason of their position.
The hourly rates applicable to determine the fees vary according to the position, class and experience of each person working to perform the contract and may not exceed those provided for in Schedule II.
1238-2018O.C. 1238-2018, s. 4.
DIVISION III
PERCENTAGE METHOD
1238-2018, Div. IIIO.C. 1238-2018, Div. III.
5. The percentage method consists in computing the advocate’s or notary’s fees for the performance of a contract for the recovery of an amount, according to a percentage of the amount obtained.
The percentage is agreed upon between the parties to the contract or set by the body. In the latter case, in the case of a public body, the percentage must be set before the public body solicits the services of an advocate or notary pursuant to section 23 of the Regulation respecting certain service contracts of public bodies (chapter C-65.1, r. 4).
1238-2018O.C. 1238-2018, s. 5.
DIVISION IV
LUMP-SUM METHOD
1238-2018, Div. IVO.C. 1238-2018, Div. IV.
6. The lump-sum method consists in determining the advocate’s or notary’s fees according to a lump sum, which is computed from an estimate of the number of hours required to perform the contract, on the basis of the hourly rates provided for in Schedule II.
The lump sum is agreed upon between the parties to the contract or set by the body. In the latter case, in the case of a public body, the lump sum must be set before the public body solicits the services of an advocate or notary pursuant to section 23 of the Regulation respecting certain service contracts of public bodies (chapter C-65.1, r. 4).
The lump sum may include all or part of the expenses provided for in Chapter III which would be otherwise reimbursed in addition to the fees.
1238-2018O.C. 1238-2018, s. 6.
7. Where the lump-sum method is used, the contract must specify the services to be rendered, the expected results and the planned timetable.
1238-2018O.C. 1238-2018, s. 7.
CHAPTER III
REIMBURSEMENT OF EXPENSES
1238-2018, c. IIIO.C. 1238-2018, c. III.
8. Only the expenses, including travelling expenses, that are required to perform the contract and are authorized by the body may be reimbursed to the advocate or notary.
1238-2018O.C. 1238-2018, s. 8.
9. Expenses, including travelling expenses, are reimbursed on the terms and conditions stipulated in the contract, subject to the following and, where applicable, to what is provided for in section 10:
(1)  the reimbursement must exclude the amount of taxes eligible for a refund or a credit to which the advocate or notary is entitled under a fiscal law;
(2)  the reimbursement of expenses incurred by the advocate or notary to hire an external expert to assist in the performance of the contract is conditional on the prior written acceptance of the body;
(3)  the body determines the supporting documents to be provided by the advocate or notary.
1238-2018O.C. 1238-2018, s. 9.
10. In the case of a contract of a public body referred to in subparagraph 1 or 2 of the first paragraph of section 4 of the Act respecting contracting by public bodies (chapter C-65.1), travelling expenses incurred for the performance of the contract by the advocate or notary and, if applicable, the persons who are requested by the advocate or notary to collaborate in the contract by reason of their position are reimbursed in accordance with the Directive concernant les frais de déplacement des personnes engagées à honoraires par des organismes publics made by the Conseil du trésor (C.T. 212379, 2013-03-26).
1238-2018O.C. 1238-2018, s. 10.
11. The body may elect to reimburse all or part of the expenses, including travelling expenses, according to a lump sum determined from an estimate of the expenses that would be reimbursed pursuant to the rules of this Chapter. If applicable, sections 8 to 10 apply to any expense that is not included in the lump sum.
1238-2018O.C. 1238-2018, s. 11.
CHAPTER IV
PAYMENT
1238-2018, c. IVO.C. 1238-2018, c. IV.
12. An advocate or notary is paid according to the progress of the work covered by the contract following the presentation of his or her bill of fees and expenses on a monthly basis or at another frequency stipulated in the contract.
A public body referred to in subparagraph 1 of the first paragraph of section 4 of the Act respecting contracting by public bodies (chapter C-65.1) may not pay the fees indicated in the bill before they are approved by the Minister of Justice.
1238-2018O.C. 1238-2018, s. 12.
CHAPTER V
MISCELLANEOUS, TRANSITIONAL AND FINAL
1238-2018, c. VO.C. 1238-2018, c. V.
13. (Amendment integrated into c. C-65.1, r. 4, s. 36).
1238-2018O.C. 1238-2018, s. 13.
14. The parties to a legal service contract entered into before 13 September 2018 and in respect of which the Conseil du trésor authorized, pursuant to the second paragraph of section 25 of the Act respecting contracting by public bodies (chapter C-65.1), an hourly rate greater than what is provided by the Tariff of fees for professional services provided to the Government by advocates or notaries (chapter C-65.1, r. 11) may, despite the decision by the Conseil du trésor, agree on a new hourly rate applicable to legal services provided under that contract after 12 September 2018 to the extent that the new rate does not exceed the rates provided for in Schedule II to this Regulation.
1238-2018O.C. 1238-2018, s. 14.
15. This Regulation replaces the Tariff of fees for professional services provided to the Government by advocates or notaries (chapter C-65.1, r. 11).
1238-2018O.C. 1238-2018, s. 15.
16. (Omitted).
1238-2018O.C. 1238-2018, s. 16.
Schedule I
(ss. 1 and 2)
Excluded bodies
— Autorité des marchés financiers;
— Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec;
— Hydro-Québec;
— Investissement Québec;
— Société des alcools du Québec;
— Société des loteries du Québec;
— Société Innovatech du Grand Montréal;
— Société Innovatech du sud du Québec;
— Société Innovatech Québec et Chaudière-Appalaches;
— Société Innovatech Régions ressources.
1238-2018O.C. 1238-2018, Sch. I.
Schedule II
(ss. 4 and 6)
Hourly rates according to the position, class and experience of the person working on the performance of a legal service contract
POSITION and CLASSEXPERIENCE1MAXIMUM
HOURLY RATE ($)
ADVOCATE OR NOTARY  
— Class 4More than 15 years300
— Class 311 to 15 years250
— Class 26 to 10 years200
— Class 10 to 5 years135
LIBRARIAN2  
— Class 4More than 15 years125
— Class 311 to 15 years110
— Class 26 to 10 years100
— Class 10 to 5 years85
PARALEGAL  
— Class 4More than 15 years85
— Class 311 to 15 years75
— Class 26 to 10 years70
— Class 10 to 5 years60
ARTICLING LAW STUDENT355 
LAW STUDENT  
— at the École du Barreau or university (master’s degree in notarial law)50
— university (undergraduate or other master’s level)45
Notes  
1. For an advocate or notary, the number of years of experience to be considered is the number of years on the roll of the Barreau du Québec or the Chambre des notaires du Québec; where applicable, the number of years on either of the rolls is cumulative. For a librarian or paralegal, the number of years of experience to be considered is the number of years worked in that capacity.
2. A librarian must hold a relevant master’s degree, or a relevant bachelor’s degree obtained before 1971, failing which the hourly rate applicable to his or her services is the rate for a paralegal, depending on the class corresponding to his or her experience.
3. Articling law students are future advocates and notaries who have completed their academic training and who serve an on-the-job training period under the supervision of an articling supervisor or applicants for admission to the profession of notary admitted to the professional training program provided for in Division II of the Règlement sur les conditions et modalités de délivrance des permis de la chambre des notaires du Québec (chapter N-3, r. 6.01).
1238-2018O.C. 1238-2018, Sch. II.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1238-2018, 2018 G.O. 2, 4507

C-65.1, r. 7.3 - Règlement sur les honoraires relatifs à certains services juridiques rendus à des organismes du gouvernement

Texte complet
chapitre C-65.1, r. 7.3
Règlement sur les honoraires relatifs à certains services juridiques rendus à des organismes du gouvernement
CONTRATS DES ORGANISMES PUBLICS — HONORAIRES — SERVICES JURIDIQUES
Loi sur les contrats des organismes publics
(chapitre C-65.1, a. 23, par. 1 et 7, a. 23.1 et 24).
C-65.1
17 août 201813 septembre 2018
CHAPITRE I
CHAMP D’APPLICATION ET INTERPRÉTATION
1238-2018, c. ID. 1238-2018, c. I.
1. Sous réserve du deuxième alinéa, le présent règlement s’applique à tout contrat relatif à des services juridiques fournis par un avocat ou un notaire à un organisme public assujetti à la Loi sur les contrats des organismes publics (chapitre C-65.1) ou à un organisme visé à l’article 7 de cette loi à l’exclusion de ceux indiqués à l’annexe I, et ce, sans égard au montant du contrat.
Le présent règlement ne s’applique pas à un contrat qui a fait l’objet d’un appel d’offres sollicitant un prix.
1238-2018D. 1238-2018, a. 1.
2. Dans le présent règlement, on entend par:
1°  «avocat» : un membre du Barreau du Québec;
2°  «notaire» : un membre de la Chambre des notaires du Québec;
3°  «organisme» : un organisme public assujetti à la Loi sur les contrats des organismes publics (chapitre C-65.1) ou un organisme visé à l’article 7 de cette loi à l’exclusion de ceux indiqués à l’annexe I.
1238-2018D. 1238-2018, a. 2.
CHAPITRE II
ÉTABLISSEMENT DES HONORAIRES
1238-2018, c. IID. 1238-2018, c. II.
SECTION I
DISPOSITION GÉNÉRALE
1238-2018, sec. ID. 1238-2018, sec. I.
3. Les honoraires de l’avocat ou du notaire sont établis, au choix de l’organisme, sur la base de l’une ou l’autre des méthodes suivantes ou d’une combinaison de celles-ci:
1°  la méthode à taux horaire;
2°  la méthode à pourcentage;
3°  la méthode à forfait.
1238-2018D. 1238-2018, a. 3.
SECTION II
MÉTHODE À TAUX HORAIRE
1238-2018, sec. IID. 1238-2018, sec. II.
4. La méthode à taux horaire consiste à calculer les honoraires de l’avocat ou du notaire en fonction du temps consacré à l’exécution du contrat par celui-ci et, le cas échéant, par les personnes qui y collaborent à sa demande en raison de leur qualité.
Les taux horaires applicables pour déterminer les honoraires varient suivant la qualité, la classe et l’expérience de chaque personne qui travaille à l’exécution du contrat et ne peuvent excéder ceux prévus à l’annexe II.
1238-2018D. 1238-2018, a. 4.
SECTION III
MÉTHODE À POURCENTAGE
1238-2018, sec. IIID. 1238-2018, sec. III.
5. La méthode à pourcentage consiste à calculer les honoraires de l’avocat ou du notaire, pour l’exécution du contrat visant le recouvrement d’une somme, selon un pourcentage de la somme obtenue.
Le pourcentage est convenu entre les parties au contrat ou est fixé par l’organisme. Dans le dernier cas, lorsqu’il s’agit d’un organisme public, le pourcentage doit être fixé avant que celui-ci ne sollicite les services d’un avocat ou d’un notaire en application de l’article 23 du Règlement sur certains contrats de services des organismes publics (chapitre C-65.1, r. 4).
1238-2018D. 1238-2018, a. 5.
SECTION IV
MÉTHODE À FORFAIT
1238-2018, sec. IVD. 1238-2018, sec. IV.
6. La méthode à forfait consiste à déterminer les honoraires de l’avocat ou du notaire selon une somme forfaitaire, laquelle est calculée à partir d’une estimation du nombre d’heures nécessaires à l’accomplissement du contrat, sur la base des taux horaires prévus à l’annexe II.
La somme forfaitaire est convenue entre les parties au contrat ou est fixée par l’organisme. Dans le dernier cas, lorsqu’il s’agit d’un organisme public, la somme forfaitaire doit être fixée avant que celui-ci ne sollicite les services d’un avocat ou d’un notaire en application de l’article 23 du Règlement sur certains contrats de services des organismes publics (chapitre C-65.1, r. 4).
Elle peut inclure l’ensemble ou une partie des dépenses prévues au chapitre III qui seraient autrement remboursées en sus des honoraires.
1238-2018D. 1238-2018, a. 6.
7. Lorsque la méthode à forfait est utilisée, le contrat doit préciser les services à fournir, les résultats escomptés et l’échéancier prévu.
1238-2018D. 1238-2018, a. 7.
CHAPITRE III
REMBOURSEMENT DES DÉPENSES
1238-2018, c. IIID. 1238-2018, c. III.
8. Seules les dépenses, y compris les frais de déplacement, qui sont nécessaires à l’exécution du contrat et qui sont autorisées par l’organisme sont remboursées à l’avocat ou au notaire.
1238-2018D. 1238-2018, a. 8.
9. Les dépenses, y compris les frais de déplacement, sont remboursées aux conditions et selon les modalités prévues au contrat, sous réserve de ce qui suit et, le cas échéant, de ce qui est prévu à l’article 10:
1°  le remboursement doit exclure le montant des taxes admissibles à un remboursement ou à un crédit auquel l’avocat ou le notaire a droit en vertu d’une loi fiscale;
2°  le remboursement des dépenses relatives à l’engagement par l’avocat ou le notaire d’un expert externe pour aider à l’exécution du contrat est conditionnel à l’acceptation écrite et préalable de l’organisme;
3°  l’organisme détermine les pièces justificatives à fournir par l’avocat ou le notaire.
1238-2018D. 1238-2018, a. 9.
10. Lorsqu’il s’agit d’un contrat d’un organisme public visé au paragraphe 1 ou 2 du premier alinéa de l’article 4 de la Loi sur les contrats des organismes publics (chapitre C-65.1), les frais de déplacement liés à l’exécution du contrat par l’avocat ou le notaire et, le cas échéant, par les personnes qui y collaborent à sa demande en raison de leur qualité sont remboursés conformément à la Directive concernant les frais de déplacement des personnes engagées à honoraires par des organismes publics adoptée par le Conseil du trésor (C.T. 212379, 2013-03-26 et ses modifications).
1238-2018D. 1238-2018, a. 10.
11. L’organisme peut choisir de rembourser l’ensemble ou une partie des dépenses, y compris les frais de déplacement, selon un montant forfaitaire déterminé à partir d’une estimation des dépenses qui seraient remboursées en application des règles du présent chapitre. Le cas échéant, les articles 8 à 10 s’appliquent à l’égard de toute dépense qui n’est pas visée par le montant forfaitaire.
1238-2018D. 1238-2018, a. 11.
CHAPITRE IV
PAIEMENT
1238-2018, c. IVD. 1238-2018, c. IV.
12. L’avocat ou le notaire est payé selon le degré d’avancement des travaux visés par le contrat à la suite de la présentation de sa note d’honoraires et de dépenses, celle-ci étant présentée mensuellement ou suivant une autre fréquence prévue par le contrat.
Un organisme public visé au paragraphe 1 du premier alinéa de l’article 4 de la Loi sur les contrats des organismes publics (chapitre C-65.1) ne peut acquitter les honoraires indiqués dans cette note avant leur approbation par le ministre de la Justice.
1238-2018D. 1238-2018, a. 12.
CHAPITRE V
DISPOSITIONS DIVERSES, TRANSITOIRES ET FINALES
1238-2018, c. VD. 1238-2018, c. V.
13. (Modification intégrée au chapitre C-65.1, r. 4, a. 36)
1238-2018D. 1238-2018, a. 13.
14. Les parties à un contrat de services juridiques conclu avant le 13 septembre 2018 et à l’égard duquel le Conseil du trésor a autorisé, en application du deuxième alinéa de l’article 25 de la Loi sur les contrats des organismes publics (chapitre C-65.1), un taux horaire supérieur à ce que prévoit le Tarif d’honoraires pour services professionnels fournis au gouvernement par des avocats ou des notaires (chapitre C-65.1, r. 11) peuvent, malgré cette décision du Conseil du trésor, convenir d’un nouveau taux horaire applicable pour les services juridiques fournis en vertu de ce contrat après le 12 septembre 2018 dans la mesure où ce nouveau taux n’excède pas ceux prévus à l’annexe II du présent règlement.
1238-2018D. 1238-2018, a. 14.
15. Le présent règlement remplace le Tarif d’honoraires pour services professionnels fournis au gouvernement par des avocats ou des notaires (chapitre C-65.1, r. 11).
1238-2018D. 1238-2018, a. 15.
16. (Omis).
1238-2018D. 1238-2018, a. 16.
Annexe I
(a. 1 et 2)
Organismes exclus
— Autorité des marchés financiers;
— Caisse de dépôt et placement du Québec;
— Hydro-Québec;
— Investissement Québec;
— Société des alcools du Québec;
— Société des loteries du Québec;
— Société Innovatech du Grand Montréal;
— Société Innovatech du sud du Québec;
— Société Innovatech Québec et Chaudière-Appalaches;
— Société Innovatech Régions ressources.
1238-2018D. 1238-2018, Ann. I.
Annexe II
(a. 4 et 6)
Taux horaires suivant la qualité, la classe et l’expérience de la personne qui travaille à l’exécution d’un contrat de services juridiques
QUALITÉ et CLASSEEXPÉRIENCE1TAUX HORAIRE
MAXIMUM ($)
AVOCAT ou NOTAIRE  
— classe 4Plus de 15 ans300 $
— classe 311 à 15 ans250 $
— classe 26 à 10 ans200 $
— classe 10 à 5 ans135 $
BIBLIOTHÉCAIRE2  
— classe 4Plus de 15 ans125 $
— classe 311 à 15 ans110 $
— classe 26 à 10 ans100 $
— classe 10 à 5 ans85 $
TECHNICIEN EN DROIT  
— classe 4Plus de 15 ans85 $
— classe 311 à 15 ans75 $
— classe 26 à 10 ans70 $
— classe 10 à 5 ans60 $
STAGIAIRE EN DROIT355 $ 
ÉTUDIANT EN DROIT  
— à l’École du Barreau ou à l’université (maîtrise en droit notarial)50 $
— à l’université (premier ou autre deuxième cycle)45 $
Notes  
1. Pour l’avocat ou le notaire, le nombre d’années d’expérience à considérer correspond au nombre d’années d’inscription au tableau du Barreau du Québec ou de la Chambre des notaires du Québec; le cas échéant, le nombre d’années d’inscription à l’un ou à l’autre de ces tableaux est cumulatif. Pour le bibliothécaire ou le technicien en droit, le nombre d’années d’expérience à considérer correspond au nombre d’années de travail accompli en cette qualité.
2. Le bibliothécaire doit être titulaire d’un diplôme pertinent de deuxième cycle universitaire ou d’un baccalauréat pertinent obtenu avant 1971, à défaut de quoi le taux horaire applicable pour ses services est celui d’un technicien en droit, selon la classe correspondant à son expérience.
3. Sont considérés stagiaires en droit, les futurs avocats et les futurs notaires qui ont complété leur formation académique et qui effectuent un stage en milieu de travail sous la supervision d’un maître de stage ou le candidat à l’exercice de la profession de notaire admis au programme de formation professionnelle prévu à la section II du Règlement sur les conditions et modalités de délivrance des permis de la chambre des notaires du Québec (chapitre N-3, r. 6.01).
1238-2018D. 1238-2018, Ann. II.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1238-2018, 2018 G.O. 2, 6485