C-48.1, r. 18 - Regulation respecting compulsory continuing education for Québec chartered professional accountants who hold a public accountancy permit

Full text
chapter C-48.1, r. 18
Regulation respecting compulsory continuing education for Québec chartered professional accountants who hold a public accountancy permit
CHARTERED PROFESSIONAL ACCOUNTANTS — FORMATION CONTINUE — PERMIT
Chartered Professional Accountants Act
(chapter C-48.1, s. 6).
C-48.1
September 1 2012
The former alphanumerical designation of this Regulation was: chapter C-26, r. 36.
O.C. 404-2010; S.Q. 2012, c. 11, s. 34.
DIVISION I
CONTINUING EDUCATION
1. All members of the Ordre des comptables professionnels agréés du Québec who hold a public accountancy permit, unless exempted under Division IV, must complete in every 3-year reference period at least 60 hours of continuing education activities, including a minimum of 15 hours per reference year. The 60 hours must cover audit engagements, review engagements and other activities relating to public accountancy.
The members must choose the continuing education activities from the program of activities established by the Order pursuant to section 4.
The continuing education activities are:
(1)  taking part in courses organized or offered by the Order, by other professional orders or by similar organizations;
(2)  taking part in courses offered by an educational institution or by specialized institutions recognized by the Order;
(3)  taking part in symposiums, congresses, seminars or conferences;
(4)  taking part in structured training sessions or courses in the workplace;
(5)  taking part in various structured training sessions, such as case studies as part of a technical study group;
(6)  taking part in discussion groups and technical committees;
(7)  acting as a speaker or trainer;
(8)  drafting published articles or papers; and
(9)  taking part in research projects.
O.C. 404-2010, s. 1.
2. All persons entered on the roll of the Order more than one month after the start of a year in a reference period must, unless exempt pursuant to Division V, complete before the end of that year 2 hours of continuing education in the fields described in section 1 for each month of membership, whether complete or not. They must also complete a minimum of 15 hours in those fields per full year in the reference period, if applicable.
O.C. 404-2010, s. 2; S.Q. 2012, c. 11, s. 41.
DIVISION II
PROGRAM OF CONTINUING EDUCATION ACTIVITIES
3. Every continuing education activity must allow members to maintain, update, improve or extend the skills and knowledge required for the practice of public accountancy.
O.C. 404-2010, s. 3.
4. The Order shall establish the program of continuing education activities that must be followed by members holding a public accountancy permit. The Order shall
(1)  fix the date on which the reference period referred to in the first paragraph of section 1 begins and ends;
(2)  determine the continuing education activities in the fields listed in the first paragraph of section 1 that form part of the program, along with the persons, bodies, educational institutions or specialized institutions that organize or offer the activities; and
(3)  assign a ratio for calculating the admissible duration of each activity as a contribution to the hours required pursuant to section 1, if it differs from the actual duration of the activity.
To determine the activities that form part of the program and, if applicable, the ratio for calculating the admissible duration of an activity, the Order shall consider the following criteria:
(1)  the relevance of the activity;
(2)  the competency and qualifications of the trainer, with respect to the subject of the activity;
(3)  compliance with the continuing education objectives set out in section 3;
(4)  the fact that the objectives of the continuing education activity are measurable and verifiable.
O.C. 404-2010, s. 4.
DIVISION III
MONITORING
5. Members shall send to the Order, not later than 30 days after the end of each reference year in a reference period, a duly completed continuing education report using the form supplied by the Order, along with the attestations required by this Regulation, if applicable. The continuing education report must indicate the continuing education activities completed during the reference year, the number of hours completed, or the fact that the member concerned has obtained an exemption under Division IV.
To determine whether a member has met the requirements of this Regulation, the Order may request any relevant and reliable document in addition to the continuing education report, such as supporting documents that identify the activities completed, state their duration and content, name the person who offered the activities and, where applicable, attest to the member’s presence or result.
O.C. 404-2010, s. 5.
6. The successful completion of a continuing education activity or, if no evaluation is involved, presence at the activity, is the criterion used by the Order to recognize that a continuing education activity has been completed in order to meet the requirements of this Regulation.
However, where the activity does not involve an evaluation and if the member’s presence was not required, the Order recognizes that a continuing education activity has been completed if the member states that he or she has acquired sufficient knowledge of the content to apply it professionally.
When the Order determines that a member’s presence at continuing education activities is compulsory, presence may be monitored by any means that the Order establishes, such as a presence sheet signed by members.
O.C. 404-2010, s. 6.
7. The committee set up by the board of directors shall forward to members, not later than 180 days after the deadline for filing the report referred to in section 5, a notice specifying any continuing education activities that it does not recognize and the grounds for its decision.
O.C. 404-2010, s. 7.
8. A member may ask the executive committee to review the decision of the committee set up by the board of directors. The request for review must be made in writing and submitted within 30 days of receipt of the notice provided for in section 7.
The executive committee must be formed of persons who were not involved in the decision for which a review is requested.
O.C. 404-2010, s. 8.
9. Members must keep the documents supporting the hours declared until 12 months after the end of the reference period.
O.C. 404-2010, s. 9.
DIVISION IV
EXEMPTIONS FROM CONTINUING EDUCATION
10. A member who has taken part, or intends to take part, in a continuing education activity that is not part of the program, is exempted from taking part in an activity in the program established by the Order if the content of the activity concerned is equivalent to the content of the program activity.
O.C. 404-2010, s. 10.
11. Members may obtain an exemption under section 10 by sending to the Order, in writing, a request for recognition of the activity concerned, either 30 days before the scheduled date of the activity or within 60 days of taking part in the activity.
In the latter case, the request must include an attestation of the member’s presence at or successful completion of the activity or, where applicable, a record of the member’s marks.
The request must be submitted with the following information:
(1)  a description of the continuing education activity concerned;
(2)  the duration of the activity;
(3)  the number of hours of training required by the continuing education activity;
(4)  the name and address of the person, organization or institution responsible for the activity;
(5)  any other information considered relevant to the recognition of the continuing education activity.
O.C. 404-2010, s. 11.
12. Members who show that it is impossible for them to take part in a training activity provided for in the program of activities established by the Order are exempted from taking part in the activity for a given reference period.
The fact that a member has been struck off the role or suspended or that the member’s right to practice has been restricted by the disciplinary council, the Professions Tribunal or the board of directors does not make it impossible for the member to take part.
The duration of an exemption may not exceed 12 months, but it may be renewed.
O.C. 404-2010, s. 12.
13. A member may obtain an exemption under section 12 by applying in writing to the Order, stating the grounds justifying the exemption and including a medical report or any other proof showing that it is impossible for the member to take part in any activity.
As soon as the situation making it impossible for the member to take part ceases, the member must immediately notify the Order in writing and complete the obligations prescribed by this Regulation on the conditions determined by the Order.
O.C. 404-2010, s. 13.
DIVISION V
PENALTIES
14. The Order shall forward a notice to any member who fails to respect an obligation pertaining to continuing education, stating the obligation that the member has failed to respect, the time period within which the member may correct the failure, and the penalty to which the member is liable.
This time period may not be below 30 days or above 60 days, and begins to run from the date on which the notice is received.
Continuing education hours completed after such a failure may only be granted for the reference period during which the failure occurred.
O.C. 404-2010, s. 14.
15. The Order shall send a final notice to any member who has not corrected a failure within the time period prescribed by the Order, requiring the member to comply within an additional time period of 15 days from the date on which the final notice is received.
O.C. 404-2010, s. 15.
16. When a member does not correct the situation described in the notice within the time period prescribed pursuant to section 15, the Order shall suspend or revoke the member’s public accountancy permit and inform the member of the suspension or revocation in writing.
O.C. 404-2010, s. 16; S.Q. 2012, c. 11, s. 41.
17. The public accountancy permit shall remain suspended until the member concerned provides the Order with proof that he or she has met the requirements set out in the notice referred to in section 15, and until the suspension has been lifted by the Order.
O.C. 404-2010, s. 17.
DIVISION VI
FINAL PROVISION
18. (Omitted).
O.C. 404-2010, s. 18.
REFERENCES
O.C. 404-2010, 2010 G.O. 2, 1292
S.Q. 2012, c. 11, ss. 32, 34 and 41

C-48.1, r. 18 - Règlement sur la formation continue obligatoire des comptables professionnels agréés du Québec titulaires d’un permis de comptabilité publique

Texte complet
chapitre C-48.1, r. 18
Règlement sur la formation continue obligatoire des comptables professionnels agréés du Québec titulaires d’un permis de comptabilité publique
COMPTABLES PROFESSIONNELS AGRÉÉS — FORMATION CONTINUE — PERMIS
Loi sur les comptables professionnels agréés
(chapitre C-48.1, a. 6)
C-48.1
1er septembre 2012
Ce règlement portait auparavant la désignation alphanumérique suivante: chapitre C-26, r. 36.
D. 404-2010; L.Q. 2012, c. 11, a. 34.
SECTION I
FORMATION CONTINUE
1. Le membre de l’Ordre des comptables professionnels agréés du Québec titulaire d’un permis de comptabilité publique doit, à moins d’en être dispensé conformément à la section IV, accumuler au moins 60 heures de formation continue par période de référence de 3 ans, dont un minimum de 15 heures par année de référence. Les 60 heures doivent porter sur la mission de vérification, la mission d’examen et les autres activités liées à la comptabilité publique.
Le membre choisit des activités de formation parmi celles prévues dans le programme élaboré par l’Ordre, conformément à l’article 4.
Les activités de formation sont les suivantes:
1°  la participation à des cours de formation continue organisés ou offerts par l’Ordre, par d’autres ordres professionnels ou par des organismes similaires;
2°  la participation à des cours offerts par un établissement d’enseignement ou des institutions spécialisées reconnues par l’Ordre;
3°  la participation à des colloques, congrès, séminaires ou conférences;
4°  la participation à des formations ou à des cours structurés offerts en milieu de travail;
5°  la participation à des sessions structurées de formation diverses, notamment des études de cas au sein de groupes d’études techniques;
6°  la participation à des groupes de discussion et à des comités techniques;
7°  le fait d’agir à titre de conférencier ou de formateur;
8°  la rédaction d’articles ou d’ouvrages publiés;
9°  la participation à des projets de recherche.
D. 404-2010, a. 1.
2. Toute personne qui est inscrite au tableau de l’Ordre plus d’un mois après le début d’une année d’une période de référence doit, à moins d’en être dispensée conformément à la section V, accumuler jusqu’à la fin de cette année de la période de référence, 2 heures de formation dans les domaines décrits à l’article 1 pour chaque mois complet ou non. Elle doit en outre accumuler au moins 15 heures dans ces domaines par année complète dans la période de référence, le cas échéant.
D. 404-2010, a. 2; L.Q. 2012, c. 11, a. 41.
SECTION II
PROGRAMME D’ACTIVITÉS DE FORMATION CONTINUE
3. Une activité de formation continue doit permettre le maintien, la mise à jour, l’amélioration ou l’approfondissement des habiletés et des connaissances requises pour l’exercice de la comptabilité publique.
D. 404-2010, a. 3.
4. L’Ordre adopte le programme d’activités de formation continue que doit suivre le membre titulaire d’un permis de comptabilité publique. L’Ordre:
1°  fixe la date du début et de la fin de la période de référence visée au premier alinéa de l’article 1;
2°  détermine les activités de formation continue dans les domaines visés au premier alinéa de l’article 1, prévues au programme ainsi que les personnes, les organismes, les établissements d’enseignement ou les institutions spécialisées qui les organisent ou les offrent;
3°  attribue à ces activités, s’il y a lieu, une norme de calcul de leur durée admissible pour la computation des heures exigées en application de l’article 1 qui diffère de la durée réelle de l’activité.
Aux fins de la détermination des activités prévues au programme et, s’il y a lieu, de la norme de calcul de la durée admissible d’une activité, l’Ordre considère les critères suivants :
1°  la pertinence de la formation;
2°  la compétence et les qualifications du formateur en lien avec le sujet traité;
3°  le respect des objectifs de formation continue visés à l’article 3;
4°  le fait que les objectifs poursuivis par l’activité de formation sont mesurables et vérifiables.
D. 404-2010, a. 4.
SECTION III
MODES DE CONTRÔLE
5. Le membre transmet à l’Ordre, au plus tard 30 jours après la fin de chacune des années de référence d’une période de référence, un rapport de formation dûment rempli sur le formulaire fourni par l’Ordre, ainsi que, le cas échéant, les attestations prévues au présent règlement. Le rapport de formation doit indiquer les activités de formation suivies au cours de l’année de référence, le nombre d’heures accumulées ou le fait que le membre a obtenu une dispense conformément à la section IV.
Pour déterminer si le membre a satisfait aux exigences du présent règlement, l’Ordre peut exiger tout document pertinent et fiable en plus du rapport de formation, notamment les pièces justificatives permettant d’identifier les activités suivies, leur durée, leur contenu, par qui elles ont été offertes ainsi que, le cas échéant, l’attestation de la présence du membre ou le résultat qu’il a obtenu.
D. 404-2010, a. 5.
6. La réussite de l’activité de formation ou, à défaut d’évaluation, la présence à cette activité constituent les critères par lesquels l’Ordre reconnaît qu’une activité de formation a été suivie aux fins de satisfaire aux exigences du présent règlement.
Toutefois, lorsque l’activité ne fait pas l’objet d’une évaluation et que la présence d’un membre n’est pas requise, l’Ordre reconnaît qu’une activité de formation a été suivie si le membre atteste avoir acquis une connaissance suffisante de son contenu pour exercer adéquatement ses activités professionnelles.
Lorsque l’Ordre détermine des activités de formation continue où la présence d’un membre est obligatoire, celle-ci peut être contrôlée par tout moyen que l’Ordre établit, notamment une feuille de présence signée par le membre.
D. 404-2010, a. 6.
7. Le comité formé par le Conseil d’administration transmet au membre, au plus tard 180 jours après la date fixée pour la production du rapport visé à l’article 5, un avis précisant les activités de formation qu’il ne reconnaît pas et les motifs qui justifient ce refus.
D. 404-2010, a. 7.
8. Le membre peut demander au comité exécutif de réviser la décision du comité formé par le Conseil d’administration. Cette demande doit être écrite et lui être transmise dans les 30 jours de la réception de l’avis visé à l’article 7.
Le comité exécutif est formé de personnes qui n’ont pas pris part à la décision dont la révision est demandée.
D. 404-2010, a. 8.
9. Le membre doit conserver, jusqu’à l’expiration des 12 mois suivant la fin de la période de référence, les documents à l’appui des heures déclarées.
D. 404-2010, a. 9.
SECTION IV
DISPENSES DE FORMATION CONTINUE
10. Est dispensé, pour une période de référence donnée, de l’obligation de participer à une formation prévue au programme d’activités adopté par l’Ordre, le membre qui a participé ou qui entend participer à une activité de formation qui n’apparaît pas à ce programme dans la mesure où l’activité a un contenu équivalent à celle prévue à ce programme.
D. 404-2010, a. 10.
11. Le membre peut obtenir une dispense conformément à l’article 10 s’il transmet par écrit à l’Ordre une demande de reconnaissance de cette activité, selon le cas, au moins 30 jours avant la date prévue de l’activité ou dans les 60 jours qui suivent la participation à cette activité.
Dans ce dernier cas, la demande doit être accompagnée d’une attestation de la présence du membre à l’activité ou de la réussite de celle-ci ou, s’il y a lieu, du relevé de notes.
La demande doit contenir les renseignements suivants:
1°  une description de l’activité de formation visée;
2°  la durée de l’activité;
3°  le nombre d’heures de formation que comporte cette activité;
4°  le nom et l’adresse de la personne, de l’organisme ou de l’établissement responsable de l’activité;
5°  tout autre renseignement jugé pertinent à la reconnaissance de l’activité de formation.
D. 404-2010, a. 11.
12. Est dispensé, pour une période de référence donnée, de l’obligation de participer à une formation prévue au programme d’activités adopté par l’Ordre, le membre qui démontre qu’il est dans l’impossibilité de les suivre.
Ne constitue pas un cas d’impossibilité le fait qu’un membre ait fait l’objet d’une radiation, d’une suspension ou d’une limitation du droit d’exercer des activités professionnelles par le conseil de discipline, le Tribunal des professions ou le Conseil d’administration.
La durée de la dispense ne peut excéder 12 mois et peut être renouvelée.
D. 404-2010, a. 12.
13. Le membre peut obtenir une dispense conformément à l’article 12 s’il en fait la demande par écrit à l’Ordre en indiquant le motif justifiant sa dispense et enjoignant un billet médical ou toute autre preuve attestant qu’il se trouve dans une situation d’impossibilité.
Dès que l’impossibilité cesse, le membre doit en aviser immédiatement l’Ordre par écrit et remplir les obligations prévues par le présent règlement aux conditions déterminées par l’Ordre.
D. 404-2010, a. 13.
SECTION V
SANCTION
14. L’Ordre transmet au membre qui n’a pas respecté son obligation de formation continue un avis dans lequel il énonce les obligations non remplies, le délai qu’il lui accorde pour remédier à son défaut et la sanction à laquelle il s’expose.
Ce délai ne peut être inférieur à 30 jours ni excéder 60 jours et court à compter de la réception de cet avis.
Les heures de formation accumulées à la suite de ce défaut ne peuvent être accordées que pour la période de référence visée par le défaut.
D. 404-2010, a. 14.
15. L’Ordre transmet au membre qui n’a pas remédié à son défaut dans le délai fixé par l’Ordre un avis final qui l’informe qu’il dispose d’un délai additionnel de 15 jours à compter de la réception de ce nouvel avis pour s’y conformer.
D. 404-2010, a. 15.
16. Lorsque le membre n’a pas remédié à la situation décrite dans l’avis et le délai prévus à l’article 15, l’Ordre suspend ou révoque le permis de comptabilité publique. Il en informe le membre par écrit.
D. 404-2010, a. 16; L.Q. 2012, c. 11, a. 41.
17. Le permis de comptabilité publique est suspendu jusqu’à ce que le membre qui en fait l’objet fournisse à l’Ordre la preuve qu’il a satisfait aux exigences contenues dans l’avis de défaut prévu à l’article 15, et jusqu’à ce que cette suspension ait été levée par l’Ordre.
D. 404-2010, a. 17.
SECTION VI
DISPOSITION FINALE
18. (Omis).
D. 404-2010, a. 18.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 404-2010, 2010 G.O. 2, 2018
L.Q. 2012, c. 11, a. 32, 34 et 41