C-48.1, r. 15 - Cooperation agreement between the Ordre des comptables professionnels agréés du Québec and the Canadian Public Accountability Board

Full text
chapter C-48.1, r. 15
Cooperation agreement between the Ordre des comptables professionnels agréés du Québec and the Canadian Public Accountability Board
CHARTERED PROFESSIONAL ACCOUNTANTS — COOPERATION AGREEMENT — QUÉBEC AND THE CONSEIL CANADIEN
Chartered Professional Accountants Act
(chapter C-48.1, s. 9).
C-48.1
June 22 2013
Replaced, O.C. 610-2013, 2013 G.O. 2, 1480; eff. 2013-06-22; see chapter C-48.1, r. 15.1.
The former alphanumerical designation of this Regulation was: chapter C-48, r. 11.
Agreement
COOPERATION AGREEMENT
BETWEEN
THE ORDRE DES COMPTABLES AGRÉÉS DU QUÉBEC, “THE ORDRE”
AND
THE CANADIAN PUBLIC ACCOUNTABILITY BOARD “CPAB”
WHEREAS the Ordre carries out a mandate to protect the public in Québec and, to this end, is entrusted by law with the duty to supervise the practice of the profession by its members, in particular the audit of companies by chartered accountants;
WHEREAS the mission of CPAB is to contribute to public confidence in the integrity of financial reporting of reporting issuers that are subject to securities regulation in one or more provinces in Canada by promoting high-quality, independent auditing of these companies and, to this end, CPAB develops and implements an oversight program that includes regular and rigorous inspections of accounting firms that audit reporting issuers and agree to take part in the program (the “participating firms”);
WHEREAS Québec securities regulations require reporting issuers to have the audit report on their financial statements prepared by a participating firm;
WHEREAS the Ordre and CPAB agree to cooperate in Québec in discharging their respective mandates and responsibilities and, to this end, wish to exchange the information required to carry out their inspection, investigation and monitoring activities in respect of chartered accountants and firms providing audit services to reporting issuers, with a view to improve their efficiency and effectiveness and to minimize duplication of efforts;
WHEREAS the Parties wish to preserve their independence in carrying out their respective missions;
WHEREAS the Ordre and CPAB agree to discharge their respective mandates and responsibilities in accordance with the laws of Québec;
WHEREAS the professional secrecy obligations of Québec chartered accountants are recognized in Québec’s Charter of Human Rights and Freedoms;
WHEREAS the Act to amend the Chartered Accountants Act came into force on June 14, 2006 and the Parties wish to enter in an agreement contemplated by such Act to authorize the exchange of information between the Parties and disclosure of information by Québec chartered accountants despite their obligation of professional secrecy;
WHEREAS the Parties recognize that the information to be transmitted by each of them to the other pursuant to this Agreement is needed solely for the purpose of permitting the receiving Party to execute its independent inspection, discipline, review proceeding, dispute resolution process and any investigation or inquiry functions;
THE PARTIES HERETO AGREE TO THE FOLLOWING PROVISIONS:
SECTION 1
GENERAL PROVISION
The Parties agree that CPAB shall operate in Québec, in accordance with its rules and by-laws, a program to monitor, inspect and investigate participating firms.
SECTION 2
INSPECTION AND INVESTIGATION
(1) The Parties shall strive to coordinate their respective inspections of participating firms. To this end, each Party shall forward to the other its inspection program in respect of the Québec operations of participating firms on a timely basis, so that each Party can take it into account in preparing its own program, and shall also forward its inspection schedule.
(2) CPAB shall require that all participating firms notify all of their reporting issuer clients that the audit file of such reporting issuers may be reviewed by CPAB in the course of it carrying out its operations in accordance with its mission. In addition, CPAB shall not, in the course of its inspection and investigation of the Québec operations of a participating firm, examine the files of any non-reporting issuer clients of such participating firm, and shall not require the disclosure of confidential information relating to any specific non-reporting issuer client without the consent of such non-reporting issuer having been obtained by the participating firm.
(3) CPAB agrees to transmit to the Ordre, promptly upon becoming aware of it, any information that appears to reveal a breach of the Ordre’s rules of professional conduct.
(4) Each Party shall transmit to the other Party, promptly upon becoming aware of it, any information obtained during an inspection or investigation into the competence of a member when such information reveals a serious departure from generally accepted accounting principles, generally accepted auditing standards, assurance standards, applicable independence standards or the general standards of quality control of a participating firm.
(5) CPAB shall inform the Ordre of its intention to launch an investigation into a violation of CPAB rules involving a participating firm in Québec, together with the reasons that would justify such investigation. CPAB shall inform the Ordre of the essential steps involved in the investigation process.
SECTION 3
INSPECTION AND INVESTIGATION REPORTS
(1) CPAB shall send the Ordre the final inspection reports and investigation decisions it prepares on the Québec operations of participating firms and shall provide the Ordre with access to the related working papers.
(2) The Ordre shall transmit to CPAB the information contained in the final report on an inspection or an investigation into the competence of a member conducted by the Ordre within a participating firm, where such information deals with the firm’s activities in respect of a reporting issuer or with the quality control applied by the firm, and provided that any portion of such information that permits the identification a specific non-reporting issuer client of such firm shall be redacted from the information provided to CPAB. The Ordre shall provide CPAB with access to the working papers related to this information.
(3) CPAB shall agree that it does not intend to ask a participating firm to provide to it any inspection or investigation reports produced by the Ordre.
SECTION 4
MEASURES IMPOSED BY THE PARTIES
(1) CPAB shall inform the Ordre about the results of an inspection or investigation of a participating firm in regard to its Québec operations, in particular of any requirement, restriction or sanction CPAB shall impose, or gives notice to a participating firm that it intends to impose, as a result of such participating firm’s operations in Québec. CPAB shall also inform the Ordre about any application for a review proceeding made by a participating firm in respect of such imposition or intended imposition.
(2) The Ordre shall inform CPAB about any complaint lodged with the Committee on Discipline of the Ordre, and about any measure taken in respect of a member of a participating firm resulting from an inspection.
(3) The Ordre shall inform CPAB about any limitation or suspension of the right to practice imposed on a member of a participating firm, or whether such member has been struck off the membership Roll.
(4) The Parties shall agree that each Party is entitled to take any measure it deems useful in exercising its rights or powers, without being required to consider actions taken by the other Party.
SECTION 5
CONFIDENTIALITY
(1) The Parties shall agree not to use any confidential information obtained pursuant to this Agreement other than for purposes of carrying out their respective missions, which, in the case of CPAB, it carries out in accordance with its rules and by-laws through inspections, investigations or review proceedings or the imposition of recommendations, requirements, restrictions or sanctions.
(2) The Parties shall agree to exchange confidential information only by secure means and to take any measures required to safeguard confidentiality.
Such information may only be disclosed to persons within a Party whose functions or duties include receiving, using or consulting such information.
(3) Each Party shall agree to maintain at least the same confidentiality regarding confidential information obtained pursuant to this Agreement as it would for information of the same nature it holds.
More particularly, CPAB shall agree to maintain the same confidentiality regarding confidential information obtained pursuant to this Agreement, as would be required for the Ordre for information obtained or held by the Ordre in the exercise of the powers granted by the Professional Code (chapter C-26).
(4) In the event of any demand being received by a Party to disclose any confidential information obtained pursuant to this Agreement, which demand the Party receiving it believes it might be compelled to comply with, the Party receiving the demand shall promptly notify the other Party of the details of the demand and shall cooperate with such other Party in exercising all available rights and remedies.
(5) No consent or disclosure pursuant to this Agreement shall be deemed to constitute or authorize the waiver of any confidentiality or privilege granted to such information under applicable laws.
The disclosure pursuant to this Agreement of information protected by the professional secrecy of chartered accountants in Québec does not constitute a waiver of such professional secrecy.
Except as otherwise provided for the members of the Ordre in this Agreement or in the Chartered Accountants Act (R.S.Q. c. C-48), nothing in this Agreement is intended to or shall limit or restrict any professional secrecy that may exist in respect of information held by a participating firm or a chartered accountant.
SECTION 6
MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS
(1) CPAB shall agree to keep the Ordre informed about any amendments to CPAB’s rules and operations that may affect the Ordre in fulfilling its mission among the members of participating firms or the application of this Agreement.
(2) The Parties agree that they are separate and independent bodies and are entering into this Agreement solely for the purposes of facilitating their independent operations while meeting the requirements of sections 22.1, 22.2 and 22.3 of the Chartered Accountants Act. Furthermore, the Parties confirm that, after entering into this Agreement, they will continue to be operating independently and neither Party will be acting on behalf of or as agent for the other Party and the documents held by each Party will not be held for the benefit of or on behalf of the other Party.
(3) CPAB shall agree to provide information reasonably requested by the Ordre in order to assist the Ordre to prepare its annual report on the implementation of this Agreement.
SECTION 7
FINAL PROVISIONS
(1) The Agreement shall be in effect for five years commencing on the date that it comes into force. The Parties shall agree that, at least eighteen months prior to the expiry of the Agreement, they will consult with each other on the advisability of its renewal, with or without amendments.
(2) The Parties shall agree that, despite the termination of this Agreement, whatever the cause, they shall remain bound by the obligation of confidentiality and professional secrecy set out herein.
(3) The Parties shall consult promptly, at the request of either, concerning any question or difficulty arising as to the interpretation or the application of this Agreement.
(4) This Agreement shall come into force after approval of the Government, ten days following its second publication in the Gazette Officielle du Québec.
(5) This Agreement is governed by the laws applicable in Québec. In the event of a dispute, the courts of the District of Montreal have competent jurisdiction to dispose of the matter.
(6) Either Party may, upon a three-month written notice to the other Party, terminate this Agreement, if it is of the opinion that changes made to the rules governing either Party may jeopardize the continued pursuit of the Agreement. Before giving such a notice, a Party must have entered into consultation with the other Party with a view to resolve the concern.
Signed in Montréal, on this 8th day of November, 2007, in duplicate, in French and English. Both versions of this Agreement are equally authentic.
FOR THE ORDRE DES FOR THE CANADIAN
COMPTABLES AGRÉÉS PUBLIC ACCOUNTABILITY
DU QUÉBEC BOARD
__________________________ ____________________________
REFERENCES
O.C. 540-2008, 2008 G.O. 2, 2114
S.Q. 2012, c. 11, ss. 32 and 51

C-48.1, r. 15 - Entente de collaboration entre l’Ordre des comptables professionnels agréés du Québec et le Conseil canadien sur la reddition de comptes

Texte complet
chapitre C-48.1, r. 15
Entente de collaboration entre l’Ordre des comptables professionnels agréés du Québec et le Conseil canadien sur la reddition de comptes
COMPTABLES PROFESSIONNELS AGRÉES — ENTENTE DE COLLABORATION — QUÉBEC ET LE CONSEIL CANADIEN
Loi sur les comptables professionnels agréés
(chapitre C-48.1. a. 9).
C-48.1
22 juin 2013
Remplacé, D. 610-2013, 2013 G.O. 2, 2321; eff. 2013-06-22; voir chapitre C-48.1, r. 15.1.
Ce règlement portait auparavant la désignation alphanumérique suivante: chapitre C-48, r. 11.
Entente
ENTENTE DE COLLABORATION
ENTRE
L’ORDRE DES COMPTABLES AGRÉÉS DU QUÉBEC («L’OCAQ»)
ET
LE CONSEIL CANADIEN SUR LA REDDITION DE COMPTES («LE CCRC»)
ATTENDU QUE l’OCAQ exerce au Québec un mandat de protection du public, et qu’à cette fin la loi lui confie le devoir de contrôler l’exercice de la profession par ses membres, notamment l’exercice de la vérification des sociétés par les comptables agréés;
ATTENDU QUE le CCRC a pour mission de contribuer à la confiance du public envers l’intégrité de l’information financière publiée par les émetteurs assujettis à la réglementation des valeurs mobilières dans une ou plusieurs provinces canadiennes en favorisant une vérification indépendante de haut calibre de ces sociétés, et qu’à cette fin il conçoit et applique un programme de surveillance prévoyant des inspections périodiques et rigoureuses des cabinets de comptables qui vérifient des émetteurs assujettis et qui conviennent de participer à ce programme (les «cabinets participants»);
ATTENDU QUE la réglementation québécoise des valeurs mobilières exige des émetteurs assujettis que le rapport de la vérification de leurs états financiers soit établi par un cabinet participant;
ATTENDU QUE l’OCAQ et le CCRC entendent collaborer dans l’exercice au Québec de leurs responsabilités et mandats respectifs et souhaitent, à cette fin, échanger les renseignements nécessaires à l’exercice de leurs activités d’inspection, d’enquête et de surveillance des comptables agréés et des cabinets qui fournissent des services de vérification aux émetteurs assujettis, afin d’améliorer leur efficience et leur efficacité et de réduire au minimum le chevauchement de leurs efforts;
ATTENDU QUE les Parties souhaitent préserver leur indépendance dans l’exercice de leur mission respective;
ATTENDU QUE l’OCAQ et le CCRC entendent s’acquitter de leur mandat et de leurs responsabilités dans le respect des lois en vigueur au Québec;
ATTENDU QUE les comptables agréés du Québec sont tenus au respect du secret professionnel par la Charte des droits et libertés de la personne du Québec;
ATTENDU QUE la Loi modifiant la Loi sur les comptables agréés est entrée en vigueur le 14 juin 2006, et que les Parties souhaitent conclure, conformément à cette loi, une entente pour les autoriser à échanger des renseignements entre elles et permettre aux comptables agréés du Québec de communiquer des renseignements malgré le secret professionnel auquel ils sont tenus;
ATTENDU QUE les Parties reconnaissent qu’elles ont besoin des renseignements communiqués en application de la présente entente, pour le seul exercice de leurs propres fonctions d’inspection, de discipline, de révision, de règlement des différends et d’examen ou d’enquête;
LES PARTIES CONVIENNENT DES DISPOSITIONS SUIVANTES:
ARTICLE 1
DISPOSITION GÉNÉRALE
Les Parties conviennent que le CCRC exécute au Québec, en conformité avec ses règles et règlements, un programme de surveillance, d’inspection et d’enquête auprès des cabinets participants.
ARTICLE 2
INSPECTION ET ENQUÊTE
1. Les Parties poursuivent leurs efforts en vue de coordonner leurs activités respectives d’inspection des cabinets participants. À cette fin, chaque Partie transmet à l’autre son programme d’inspection à l’égard des activités exercées au Québec par les cabinets participants, en temps utile pour permettre à l’autre d’en tenir compte dans l’élaboration de son propre programme. Elle transmet ensuite son calendrier d’inspection.
2. Le CCRC convient de requérir des cabinets participants qu’ils avisent leurs clients qui sont des émetteurs assujettis que leur dossier de vérification est susceptible de faire l’objet d’un examen par le CCRC dans le cours de l’exercice de sa mission. Au surplus, le CCRC, dans le cadre d’une inspection ou d’une enquête portant sur les activités d’un cabinet participant au Québec, s’abstient d’examiner le dossier d’un client qui n’est pas un émetteur assujetti, et ne requiert pas d’information confidentielle au sujet de ce client, à moins que le cabinet participant n’ait d’abord obtenu le consentement du client.
3. Le CCRC communique à l’OCAQ, promptement après en avoir pris connaissance, toute information susceptible de révéler un manquement aux règles déontologiques de l’OCAQ.
4. Chaque Partie communique à l’autre, promptement après en avoir pris connaissance, toute information obtenue au cours d’une inspection ou d’une enquête portant sur la compétence d’un membre, lorsque cette information révèle un manquement grave aux principes comptables généralement reconnus, aux normes de vérification généralement reconnues, aux normes de certification, aux normes d’indépendance applicables ou aux normes générales de contrôle de la qualité au sein d’un cabinet participant.
5. Le CCRC informe l’OCAQ de son intention d’entreprendre une enquête sur une violation des règles du CCRC mettant en cause un cabinet participant au Québec, de même que des motifs qui justifient l’enquête. Il informe l’OCAQ des étapes essentielles du processus d’enquête.
ARTICLE 3
RAPPORTS D’INSPECTION ET D’ENQUÊTE
1. Le CCRC transmet à l’OCAQ tout rapport final d’inspection et toute décision finale prise à la suite d’une enquête qui concerne les activités qu’un cabinet participant exerce au Québec, et donne à l’Ordre accès au dossier de travail qui y est relié.
2. L’OCAQ transmet au CCRC l’information contenue dans tout rapport final d’une inspection ou d’une enquête portant sur la compétence d’un membre à laquelle l’OCAQ a procédé au sein d’un cabinet participant, lorsque cette information a trait aux activités de ce cabinet qui concernent un émetteur assujetti ou lorsque cette information concerne le contrôle de la qualité appliqué au sein du cabinet. L’OCAQ extrait toutefois de l’information qu’il transmet tout renseignement qui permettrait d’identifier un client du cabinet qui n’est pas un émetteur assujetti. Il donne au CCRC accès au dossier de travail relié à l’information transmise.
3. Le CCRC convient qu’il n’entend pas demander à un cabinet participant de lui donner accès à un rapport d’inspection ou d’enquête produit par l’OCAQ.
ARTICLE 4
MESURES IMPOSÉES PAR LES PARTIES
1. Le CCRC informe l’OCAQ du résultat d’une inspection ou d’une enquête concernant un cabinet participant à l’égard des activités de ce cabinet au Québec, notamment de toute exigence, restriction ou sanction qu’il impose, et de tout avis donné à un cabinet participant de son intention d’imposer une exigence, une restriction ou une sanction en conséquence d’activités exercées par ce cabinet au Québec. Il informe de même l’OCAQ de toute demande de révision qui lui est présentée par un cabinet participant à cet égard.
2. L’OCAQ informe le CCRC de toute plainte portée devant le Comité de discipline de l’OCAQ et de toute mesure prise à l’égard d’un membre d’un cabinet participant par suite d’une inspection.
3. L’OCAQ informe le CCRC de toute limitation ou suspension du droit d’exercice imposée à un membre d’un cabinet participant, ou du fait qu’un membre a fait l’objet d’une radiation.
4. Les Parties conviennent que chacune, dans l’exercice de ses pouvoirs, conserve la discrétion de prendre toute mesure qu’elle juge utile, sans être tenue de prendre en compte les mesures prises par l’autre Partie.
ARTICLE 5
CONFIDENTIALITÉ
1. Les Parties conviennent de ne faire usage des renseignements confidentiels obtenus en application de la présente entente qu’aux fins de l’exercice de leur mission respective que, pour sa part, le CCRC exerce en conformité avec ses règles et règlements par l’exercice de ses fonctions d’inspection, d’enquête ou de révision, et par l’émission de recommandations, d’exigences, de restrictions ou de sanctions.
2. Les Parties conviennent de n’échanger de renseignements de nature confidentielle que par des moyens sécuritaires et de prendre les mesures requises pour protéger cette confidentialité.
Les Parties conviennent au surplus de ne communiquer ces renseignements qu’aux seules personnes au sein d’une Partie qui ont qualité pour les connaître et les utiliser aux fins de l’exercice de leurs fonctions.
3. Chaque Partie convient d’accorder aux renseignements confidentiels transmis par l’autre au moins la même confidentialité qu’elle accorde aux renseignements de même nature qu’elle détient.
Le CCRC convient en particulier qu’il accordera aux renseignements confidentiels obtenus en application de la présente entente, la même confidentialité que celle que l’OCAQ doit accorder aux renseignements qu’il obtient ou qu’il détient dans l’exercice des pouvoirs qui lui sont conférés par le Code des professions (chapitre C-26).
4. La Partie qui reçoit une demande de communication d’un renseignement confidentiel obtenu en application de la présente entente et qui estime qu’elle pourrait être tenue d’y accéder, avise sans délai l’autre Partie du contenu de cette demande, et collabore avec elle dans l’exercice des droits et recours dont elle peut se prévaloir.
5. La communication de renseignements ou le consentement à cette communication, en application de la présente entente, ne constituent pas une renonciation à la confidentialité par ailleurs accordée à ces renseignements en vertu des lois applicables.
De même, la communication faite en application de la présente entente de renseignements protégés par le secret professionnel du comptable agréé du Québec ne constitue pas une renonciation à ce secret.
Sous réserve de ce qui est prévu à l’égard des membres de l’Ordre dans la présente entente ou dans la Loi sur les comptables agréés (chapitre C-48), rien dans la présente entente ne limite la confidentialité des renseignements qui pourraient être protégés par le secret professionnel et qui sont détenus par un comptable agréé ou par un cabinet participant.
ARTICLE 6
DISPOSITIONS DIVERSES
1. Le CCRC convient d’informer l’OCAQ de toute modification à ses règles ou à son fonctionnement susceptible d’avoir une incidence sur l’exercice par l’OCAQ de sa mission auprès des membres des cabinets participants ou sur l’application de la présente entente.
2. Les Parties conviennent qu’elles sont des organismes distincts et indépendants et qu’elles concluent la présente entente à seule fin de faciliter l’accomplissement de leurs activités indépendantes et en conformité avec les articles 22.1, 22.2 et 22.3 de la Loi sur les comptables agréés. Elles confirment de plus qu’après l’entrée en vigueur de la présente entente, elles continueront d’exercer leurs activités de façon indépendante, aucune n’agissant pour le compte ou en qualité de mandataire de l’autre, et que les documents détenus par l’une ne le seront pas pour le bénéfice ou le compte de l’autre Partie.
3. Le CCRC convient de fournir à l’OCAQ toute information raisonnablement requise pour permettre à l’Ordre de préparer son rapport annuel sur la mise en application de la présente entente.
ARTICLE 7
DISPOSITIONS FINALES
1. La présente entente est conclue pour une durée de cinq ans à compter de son entrée en vigueur. Au moins dix-huit mois avant son expiration, les Parties conviennent de se consulter sur l’opportunité de la reconduire, avec ou sans modifications.
2. Les Parties conviennent que, malgré la fin de la présente entente pour quelque cause que ce soit, elles demeureront liées par les obligations de confidentialité qui y sont stipulées.
3. Les Parties se consultent en temps utile, à la demande de l’une d’elles, concernant toute question ou difficulté liée à l’interprétation ou à l’application de la présente entente.
4. La présente entente entre en vigueur après l’approbation du gouvernement, le dixième jour suivant la date de la seconde publication à la Gazette Officielle du Québec.
5. La présente entente est régie par les lois applicables au Québec. En cas de contestation, les tribunaux du district de Montréal seront les seuls compétents pour en disposer.
6. Chaque Partie peut, après avoir donné à l’autre un avis écrit de trois mois, mettre fin à la présente entente si elle est d’avis que les modifications apportées aux règles applicables à l’une des Parties peuvent mettre en péril la poursuite des fins de l’entente. Avant de se prévaloir de cette faculté, une Partie doit au préalable entreprendre des consultations avec l’autre Partie en vue de résoudre la question.
Fait à Montréal, le 8 novembre 2007, en double exemplaire, en langue française et anglaise, les deux textes faisant également foi.
POUR L’ORDRE DES POUR LE CONSEIL CANADIEN
COMPTABLES AGRÉÉS SUR LA REDDITION DE
DU QUÉBEC COMPTES
__________________________ _____________________________
A.M. 2008-01.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 540-2008, 2008 G.O. 2, 3017
L.Q. 2012, c. 11, a. 32 et 51