C-26, r. 218 - Regulation respecting the practice of the profession of psychologist within a partnership or a joint-stock company

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-26, r. 218
Regulation respecting the practice of the profession of psychologist within a partnership or a joint-stock company
PSYCHOLOGISTS — PROFESSIONAL CODE — PRACTICE WITHIN A PARTNERSHIP
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, ss. 93, pars. g and h, and 94, par. p).
C-26
September 1 2012
CHAPTER I
GENERAL
1. Psychologists are authorized to carry on their professional activities within a limited liability partnership or a joint-stock company within the meaning of Chapter VI.3 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), subject to the conditions provided for in this Regulation.
If any of those conditions, or any condition set out in Chapter VI.3 of the Professional Code, is no longer met, the psychologist must, within 15 days after he or she becomes aware of the non-compliance, take the necessary measures to comply, failing which, the psychologist is no longer authorized to carry on activities within the partnership or joint-stock company.
O.C. 80-2011, s. 1.
2. Psychologists may carry on their professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company if the following conditions are met:
(1)  more than 50% of the voting rights attached to the company shares or partnership units are held:
(a)  by psychologists, persons legally authorized to practise the profession outside Québec or other professionals governed by the Professional Code (chapter C-26);
(b)  by legal persons, partnerships or joint-stock companies, or any other enterprises whose voting rights attached to shares or partnership units are held entirely by one or more of the persons referred to in subparagraph a;
(c)  by trusts where the trustees are one or more of the persons mentioned in subparagraph a; or
(d)  at the same time by persons, enterprises or trusts referred to in subparagraphs a, b or c;
(2)  a majority of the directors of the board of directors of the joint-stock company, the partners or, if applicable, the directors appointed by the partners to manage the affairs of the limited liability partnership are the persons referred to in subparagraph a of subparagraph 1 of the first paragraph; they must constitute the majority of the quorum of the board of directors or internal management board.
Psychologists must ensure that those conditions appear in the articles of the joint-stock company or in the written contract of the limited liability partnership and that the documents also provide that the partnership or joint-stock company is constituted for the purposes of carrying on professional activities.
O.C. 80-2011, s. 2.
3. Where a psychologist carries on professional activities within a joint-stock company, the income derived from the professional services rendered within and on behalf of the company belongs to the company, unless it has been agreed otherwise.
O.C. 80-2011, s. 3.
CHAPTER II
PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY COVERAGE
4. Psychologists carrying on professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company must furnish and maintain, for the partnership or company, by means of an insurance or suretyship contract, or by joining a group plan contract entered into by the Order, security against the professional liability of the partnership or company that may arise from fault on the part of the psychologists in carrying on professional activities within the partnership or joint-stock company.
O.C. 80-2011, s. 4.
5. The security must include:
(1)  an undertaking by the insurer or surety to pay in lieu of the partnership or joint-stock company, over and above the amount of the security to be furnished by the psychologist pursuant to the Règlement sur l’assurance de la responsabilité professionnelle des membres de l’Ordre des psychologues du Québec (chapter C-26, r. 210) any sum that the partnership or joint-stock company may be legally bound to pay to a third person on a claim filed during the coverage period and arising from fault on the part of the psychologist in carrying on professional activities within the partnership or joint-stock company;
(2)  an undertaking by the insurer or surety to take up the cause of the partnership or joint-stock company and defend it in any action against it and to pay, in addition to the amounts covered by the security, all expenses and legal costs of actions against the partnership or joint-stock company, including those of the inquiry and defence and interest on the amount of the security;
(3)  an undertaking that the security extends to all claims submitted in the 5 years after the date on which a psychologist in the partnership or joint-stock company dies, withdraws from the partnership or joint-stock company or ceases to be a member of the Order, in order to maintain coverage for the partnership or joint-stock company for fault on the part of the psychologist while carrying on professional activities within the partnership or joint-stock company;
(4)  an amount of at least $1,000,000 per claim and $3,000,000 for all claims filed against the partnership or joint-stock company within a 12-month coverage period; and
(5)  an undertaking by the insurer or surety to provide the secretary of the Order with a 30-day notice of intent to cancel the insurance or suretyship contract, to amend a condition of this section or not to renew the contract.
O.C. 80-2011, s. 5; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
6. The suretyship contract must be with a bank, savings and credit union, trust or insurance company domiciled in Canada and having and maintaining sufficient property in Québec to meet the coverage required under this Chapter.
The institution referred to in the first paragraph must undertake to provide the coverage in accordance with the conditions set out in this Chapter and must waive the benefit of division and discussion.
O.C. 80-2011, s. 6.
CHAPTER III
COMMUNICATION OF INFORMATION
7. If more than one psychologist carries on professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company referred to in section 1, a representative must be designated to satisfy the terms and conditions in sections 8 to 10 on behalf of the partnership or joint-stock company.
The representative is also mandated to reply to requests made, pursuant to this Regulation, by a syndic, an inspector, an investigator or any other representative of the Order and provide, where applicable, any other document the psychologists are required to submit. The representative is also mandated to receive all forms of communications from the Order addressed to the partnership or joint-stock company.
The representative must be a psychologist and carry on professional activities in Québec within the partnership or joint-stock company.
The representative must ensure the accuracy of the information provided to the Order.
O.C. 80-2011, s. 7.
8. Psychologists who wish to carry on professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company must, before carrying on those activities, provide the Order with
(1)  the declaration referred to in section 9, with the fees set by the board of directors of the Order;
(2)  a written document from a competent authority certifying that the partnership or joint-stock company is covered by security in compliance with Chapter II;
(3)  if the psychologist carries on professional activities within a joint-stock company, a written document from a competent authority certifying the existence of the joint-stock company;
(4)  a written document from a competent authority certifying that the partnership or joint-stock company is duly registered in Québec;
(5)  a written document from a competent authority certifying that the partnership or joint-stock company has an establishment in Québec;
(6)  where applicable, a certified true copy of the declaration to the competent authority stating that the general partnership has been continued as a limited liability partnership;
(7)  an irrevocable written authorization from the partnership or joint-stock company within which the psychologist carries on professional activities allowing a person, committee, disciplinary body or tribunal referred to in section 192 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) to require disclosure of and obtain any document listed in section 11 from any person or to obtain a copy of such a document;
(8)  a written document certifying that the shares or units held and the rules of administration of the partnership or joint-stock company comply with the conditions set out in this Regulation; and
(9)  a written undertaking from the partnership or joint-stock company that its shareholders having voting rights, its partners, directors and officers, as well as the members of its staff who are not psychologists are aware of and comply with the Code of ethics of psychologists (chapter C-26, r. 212).
A psychologist is exempt from satisfying those conditions if a representative of the partnership or joint-stock company within which the psychologist is to practise has already satisfied the conditions.
O.C. 80-2011, s. 8.
9. The declaration referred to in subparagraph 1 of the first paragraph of section 8 must be made on the form supplied by the Order and contain the following information:
(1)  the psychologist’s name, home address and professional address, and status within the partnership or joint-stock company;
(2)  the partnership or joint-stock company name and any other names used in Québec by every partnership or joint-stock company within which the psychologist carries on professional activities and the business number assigned by the competent authority;
(3)  the legal form of the partnership or joint-stock company;
(4)  if the psychologist carries on professional activities within a limited liability partnership, the address of the establishments of the partnership in Québec, specifying the address of the principal establishment; and
(5)  if the psychologist carries on professional activities within a joint-stock company, the address of the head office of the company and of its establishments in Québec.
O.C. 80-2011, s. 9.
10. To retain the right to carry on professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company, a psychologist or representative must
(1)  immediately inform the Order of any amendment or cancellation of the insurance coverage required by Chapter II, the striking off, dissolution, assignment of property, bankruptcy, voluntary or forced liquidation of the partnership or joint-stock company or any other cause likely to prevent the partnership or joint-stock company from carrying on its activities and any change in the information given in the declaration referred to in section 9 that is contrary to the conditions set out in section 2; and
(2)  update, before 31 March of each year, the declaration prescribed in section 9 and pay the fees fixed by the board of directors.
O.C. 80-2011, s. 10.
CHAPTER IV
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
11. The documents for which the psychologist must obtain an authorization from the partnership or joint-stock company to communicate or obtain copies pursuant to subparagraph 7 of the first paragraph of section 8 are the following:
(1)  if the psychologist carries on professional activities within a joint-stock company,
(a)  an up-to-date register of the articles and by-laws of the joint-stock company;
(b)  an up-to-date register of the securities of the joint-stock company;
(c)  an up-to-date register of the shareholders of the joint-stock company;
(d)  an up-to-date register of the directors of the joint-stock company;
(e)  any shareholders’ agreement and voting agreement, and amendments;
(f)  the registration declaration of the joint-stock company and any update; and
(g)  the names and home addresses of the company’s principal officers;
(2)  if the psychologist carries on professional activities within a limited liability partnership,
(a)  the registration declaration of the partnership and any update;
(b)  the partnership contract and amendments;
(c)  an up-to-date register of the partners of the partnership;
(d)  if applicable, an up-to-date register of the directors of the partnership; and
(e)  the names and home addresses of the partnership’s principal officers.
O.C. 80-2011, s. 11.
CHAPTER V
TRANSITIONAL AND FINAL PROVISIONS
12. Psychologists who carry on professional activities within a joint-stock company constituted for that purpose before 10 March 2011 must comply with the Regulation not later than one year after that date.
O.C. 80-2011, s. 12.
13. (Omitted).
O.C. 80-2011, s. 13.
REFERENCES
O.C. 80-2011, 2011 G.O. 2, 609

C-26, r. 218 - Règlement sur l’exercice de la profession de psychologue en société

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre C-26, r. 218
Règlement sur l’exercice de la profession de psychologue en société
PSYCHOLOGUES — CODE DES PROFESSIONS — EXERCICE — PROFESSION EN SOCIÉTÉ
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. g et h et 94, par. p).
C-26
1er septembre 2012
CHAPITRE I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
1. Un psychologue est autorisé à exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée ou d’une société par actions au sens du chapitre VI.3 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26), si les conditions prévues au présent règlement sont respectées.
Si l’une de ces conditions ou celles prévues au chapitre VI.3 du Code des professions n’est plus satisfaite, le psychologue doit, dans les 15 jours de ce constat, prendre les mesures nécessaires pour s’y conformer, à défaut de quoi, il cesse d’être autorisé à exercer ses activités au sein de la société.
D. 80-2011, a. 1.
2. Un psychologue peut exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société si les conditions suivantes sont respectées:
1°  plus de 50% des droits de vote rattachés aux actions ou aux parts sociales de la société sont détenus:
a)  soit par des psychologues, des personnes légalement autorisées hors Québec à exercer la même profession ou d’autres professionnels régis par le Code des professions (chapitre C-26);
b)  soit par des personnes morales, des sociétés ou toute autre entreprise dont les droits de vote rattachés aux actions ou aux parts sociales sont détenus à 100% par une ou plusieurs personnes visées au sous-paragraphe a;
c)  soit par des fiducies dont les fiduciaires sont une ou plusieurs personnes mentionnées au sous-paragraphe a;
d)  soit à la fois par des personnes, des entreprises ou des fiducies visées aux sous-paragraphes a, b ou c;
2°  les administrateurs du conseil d’administration de la société par actions, les associés ou, s’il y a lieu, les administrateurs nommés par les associés pour gérer les affaires de la société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée sont en majorité des personnes visées au sous-paragraphe a du paragraphe 1 du premier alinéa, lesquels doivent constituer la majorité du quorum au conseil d’administration ou, selon le cas, au conseil de gestion interne.
Le psychologue doit s’assurer que ces conditions sont inscrites dans les statuts constitutifs de la société par actions ou stipulées dans le contrat écrit constituant la société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée et qu’il y est aussi prévu que cette société est constituée aux fins d’exercer des activités professionnelles.
D. 80-2011, a. 2.
3. Lorsqu’un psychologue exerce ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société par actions, les revenus résultant de services professionnels qu’il a rendus au sein de cette société et pour le compte de celle-ci appartiennent à cette société, à moins qu’il en soit convenu autrement.
D. 80-2011, a. 3.
CHAPITRE II
GARANTIE DE RESPONSABILITÉ PROFESSIONNELLE
4. Le psychologue exerçant ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société doit fournir et maintenir pour cette société, soit par contrat d’assurance ou de cautionnement, soit par l’adhésion au contrat d’assurance collective conclu par l’Ordre, une garantie contre la responsabilité que cette société peut encourir en raison des fautes commises par les psychologues dans l’exercice de leurs activités professionnelles au sein de cette société.
D. 80-2011, a. 4.
5. La garantie doit prévoir les conditions minimales suivantes:
1°  l’engagement par l’assureur ou la caution de payer en lieu et place de la société, en excédent du montant de la garantie que doit fournir le psychologue conformément au Règlement sur l’assurance de la responsabilité professionnelle des membres de l’Ordre des psychologues du Québec (chapitre C-26, r. 210) toute somme que la société peut légalement être tenue de payer à un tiers, à la suite d’une réclamation présentée pendant la période couverte par la garantie et résultant des fautes commises par le psychologue dans l’exercice de ses activités professionnelles au sein de la société;
2°  l’engagement par l’assureur ou la caution de prendre fait et cause pour la société et d’assumer sa défense dans toute action dirigée contre elle et de payer, outre les sommes couvertes par la garantie, tous les frais et frais de justice des actions contre la société, y compris ceux de l’enquête et de la défense et les intérêts sur le montant de la garantie;
3°  l’engagement suivant lequel cette garantie s’étend à toute réclamation présentée pendant les 5 années qui suivent la période de garantie au cours de laquelle un psychologue de la société décède, quitte la société ou cesse d’être membre de l’Ordre, de façon à maintenir une garantie en faveur de la société pour les fautes commises par ce psychologue dans l’exercice de ses activités professionnelles au sein de la société;
4°  un montant de garantie d’au moins 1 000 000 $ par réclamation et de 3 000 000 $ pour l’ensemble des réclamations présentées contre la société au cours d’une période de garantie de 12 mois;
5°  l’engagement par l’assureur ou la caution de donner au secrétaire de l’Ordre un préavis de 30 jours lorsqu’il entend résilier le contrat d’assurance ou de cautionnement, le modifier quant à l’une des conditions prévues par le présent article ou ne pas le renouveler.
D. 80-2011, a. 5; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
6. Le contrat de cautionnement est conclu auprès d’une banque, d’une caisse d’épargne et de crédit, d’une compagnie de fiducie ou d’assurance. Cette institution doit être domiciliée au Canada ainsi qu’avoir et maintenir, au Québec, des biens suffisants pour répondre à la garantie requise au présent chapitre.
L’institution mentionnée au premier alinéa s’engage à fournir la garantie selon les conditions prévues au présent chapitre et elle doit renoncer aux bénéfices de division et de discussion.
D. 80-2011, a. 6.
CHAPITRE III
COMMUNICATION DE RENSEIGNEMENTS
7. Lorsque plus d’un psychologue exerce ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société visée à l’article 1, un répondant doit être désigné pour remplir en son nom les conditions et modalités prévues aux articles 8 à 10.
Le répondant est également mandaté pour répondre aux demandes formulées, en application du présent règlement, par un syndic, un inspecteur, un enquêteur ou un autre représentant de l’Ordre et pour fournir, le cas échéant, tout autre document que les psychologues sont tenus de transmettre. Le répondant est également mandaté pour recevoir toute communication de l’Ordre destinée à la société.
Le répondant doit être un psychologue et exercer ses activités professionnelles au Québec au sein de la société.
Le répondant doit s’assurer de l’exactitude des renseignements fournis à l’Ordre.
D. 80-2011, a. 7.
8. Le psychologue qui veut exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société doit, avant le début de ses activités, fournir à l’Ordre:
1°  la déclaration visée à l’article 9 accompagnée des frais fixés par le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre;
2°  un document écrit donné par une autorité compétente attestant que la société fait l’objet d’une garantie conforme au chapitre II;
3°  dans le cas où il exerce ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société par actions, un document écrit donné par une autorité compétente attestant l’existence de la société;
4°  un document écrit donné par une autorité compétente attestant que la société est dûment immatriculée au Québec;
5°  un document écrit donné par une autorité compétente attestant que la société maintient un établissement au Québec;
6°  s’il y a lieu, une copie certifiée conforme de la déclaration donnée à l’autorité compétente, indiquant que la société en nom collectif a été continuée en une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée;
7°  une autorisation écrite irrévocable de la société au sein de laquelle il exerce ses activités professionnelles donnant le droit à une personne, un comité, une instance disciplinaire ou un tribunal visé à l’article 192 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) d’exiger de toute personne la communication et l’obtention d’un document mentionné à l’article 11 ou une copie d’un tel document;
8°  un document écrit attestant que les actions ou les parts sociales détenues ainsi que les règles d’administration de la société respectent les conditions du présent règlement;
9°  un engagement écrit de la société à l’effet que ses actionnaires qui détiennent un droit de vote dans la société, ses associés, ses administrateurs et ses dirigeants, de même que les membres de son personnel qui ne sont pas psychologues ont pris connaissance et respectent le Code de déontologie des psychologues (chapitre C-26, r. 212).
Un psychologue est dispensé de satisfaire à ces conditions si un répondant de la société à laquelle il se joint y a déjà satisfait.
D. 80-2011, a. 8.
9. La déclaration visée au paragraphe 1 du premier alinéa de l’article 8 doit être faite sur le formulaire fourni par l’Ordre et contenir les renseignements suivants:
1°  le nom, l’adresse résidentielle et professionnelle du psychologue et son statut au sein de la société;
2°  le nom de la société ainsi que les autres noms utilisés au Québec par la société ou les sociétés au sein desquelles le psychologue exerce ses activités professionnelles et le numéro d’entreprise que leur a décerné l’autorité compétente;
3°  la forme juridique de la société;
4°  dans le cas où le psychologue exerce ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée, l’adresse des établissements au Québec de la société en précisant celle du principal établissement;
5°  dans le cas où le psychologue exerce ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société par actions, l’adresse du siège de la société et de ses établissements au Québec.
D. 80-2011, a. 9.
10. Pour conserver son droit d’exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société, le psychologue ou le répondant doit:
1°  aviser l’Ordre sans délai de toute modification ou de l’annulation de la garantie d’assurance visée au chapitre II, de la radiation, de la dissolution, de la cession de biens, de la faillite, de la liquidation volontaire ou forcée de la société ou de toute autre cause de nature à constituer un empêchement pour la société de poursuivre ses activités ainsi que de toute modification aux renseignements fournis dans la déclaration visée à l’article 9 ayant pour effet de contrevenir aux conditions prévues à l’article 2.
2°  mettre à jour, avant le 31 mars de chaque année, la déclaration prévue à l’article 9 et acquitter les frais fixés par le Conseil d’administration.
D. 80-2011, a. 10.
CHAPITRE IV
RENSEIGNEMENTS ADDITIONNELS
11. Les documents pour lesquels le psychologue obtient l’autorisation de la société de les communiquer ou d’en obtenir copie suivant le paragraphe 7 du premier alinéa de l’article 8 sont les suivants:
1°  si le psychologue exerce ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société par actions:
a)  le registre complet et à jour des statuts et règlements de la société;
b)  le registre complet et à jour des valeurs mobilières de la société;
c)  le registre complet et à jour des actionnaires de la société;
d)  le registre complet et à jour des administrateurs de la société;
e)  toute convention entre actionnaires et entente de votes et toute modification afférente;
f)  la déclaration d’immatriculation de la société et sa mise à jour;
g)  la liste des principaux dirigeants de la société et leur adresse résidentielle;
2°  si le psychologue exerce ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée:
a)  la déclaration d’immatriculation de la société et sa mise à jour;
b)  le contrat de société et ses modifications;
c)  le registre complet et à jour des associés de la société;
d)  le cas échéant, le registre complet et à jour des administrateurs de la société;
e)  la liste des principaux dirigeants de la société et leur adresse résidentielle.
D. 80-2011, a. 11.
CHAPITRE V
DISPOSITIONS TRANSITOIRE ET FINALE
12. Le psychologue qui exerce ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société par actions constituée à cette fin avant le 10 mars 2011 doit, au plus tard dans l’année qui suit cette date, s’y conformer.
D. 80-2011, a. 12.
13. (Omis).
D. 80-2011, a. 13.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 80-2011, 2011 G.O. 2, 825