C-25.01, r. 0.5 - Regulation respecting indemnities and allowances payable to witnesses summoned before courts of justice

Full text
chapter C-25.01, r. 0.5
Regulation respecting indemnities and allowances payable to witnesses summoned before courts of justice
CODE OF CIVIL PROCEDURE — INDEMNITIES AND ALLOWANCES TO WITNESSES
Code of Civil Procedure
(chapter C-25.01, art. 273).
C-25.01
Code of Penal Procedure
(chapter C-25.1, art. 367).
C-25.1
Act respecting payment of certain witnesses
(chapter P-2.1, s. 2).
P-2.1
September 1 2012
The former alphanumerical designation of this Regulation was: chapter C-25, r. 7.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2; O.C. 60-96, s. 1.
1. Definitions
In this Regulation,
“witness” means any person summoned before a court having jurisdiction in civil, penal or criminal matters, including the Youth Division of the Court of Québec, in order to testify in accordance with the law;
“witness summoned by the prosecutor” means any person summoned by the prosecutor in criminal matters, in federal penal matters or in penal matters governed by the statutes of Québec.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, s. 1; O.C. 1289-97, s. 1; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
2. Indemnity for loss of time:
(1)  The indemnity payable to a witness is set at $90 per necessary day of absence from his home. However, such indemnity is reduced to $45 when the duration of the necessary leave of absence from his home does not exceed 5 hours.
(2)  A witness recognized and declared an expert by the court is entitled to an indemnity of $180 per necessary day of absence from his home. However, such indemnity is reduced to $90 when the duration of absence from his home does not exceed 5 hours.
On express request of an expert witness, and for exceptional reasons, the prosecutor in the case of a witness summoned by him in a criminal or penal matter, and the court in other cases, may increase the indemnity of the said witness. Such increase is not claimable from the opposing party.
(3)  Such indemnity is not paid to witnesses who, pursuant to Acts, orders in council, contracts, understandings or collective agreements, do not suffer a loss of wages as a result of their being summoned as witnesses.
Such indemnity is not paid to witnesses for a necessary day of absence from their home should such day fall on a holiday, on 26 December, on 2 January or on a Saturday, unless said absence entails a loss in wages.
Such indemnity is not paid to those persons hereinafter designated when they are summoned, in the exercising of their duties, to testify in a case:
(a)  members of the Sûreté du Québec;
(b)  members of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police;
(c)  members of a municipal police force;
(d)  special constables in the employ of railway companies or other companies;
(e)  any other special constable or officer of the peace being paid as such.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, s. 2; O.C. 60-96, s. 2; O.C. 1289-97, s. 2; O.C. 379-2002, s. 1; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
3. Allowances for meals, accommodation and transportation are those granted to the members of the staff appointed according to the Public Service Act (chapter F-3.1.1) and provided for in the Directive sur les frais remboursables lors d’un déplacement et autres frais inhérents (C.T. 202754, 2005-08-30).
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, s. 3; O.C. 379-2002, s. 2.
4. (Replaced).
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, s. 4; O.C. 379-2002, s. 2.
5. (Replaced).
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, s. 5; O.C. 379-2002, s. 2.
6. A witness who must appear several days in a case, and whose home is at a distance from the place where he must testify, is free to travel or not. However, indemnities and allowances to be paid in such a case must always be calculated as if the witness had taken the less costly option.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, s. 6; O.C. 1289-97, s. 3.
7. (Revoked).
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, s. 7; O.C. 1289-97, s. 4.
8. The following persons called as witnesses shall receive no indemnity or allowance:
(a)  court officers and public officers having their office in the building where the Court sits;
(b)  the assistants of said officers, as well as employees under their control;
(c)  the members of the prison staff situated at the county seat;
(d)  any person held in prison or under detention;
(e)  any person, even one summoned as a witness, who is obliged to appear as an accused on the same day.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, s. 8; O.C. 1289-97, s. 5; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
9. To the extent prescribed by this Regulation, the Ministère de la Justice shall pay the indemnities and allowances to witnesses summoned by the prosecutor:
(a)  for a pre-inquiry or a preliminary inquiry held at the instance of the Attorney General of Québec or for the hearing of a criminal prosecution or a federal penal prosecution brought by the Attorney General of Québec;
(b)  for the hearing of a prosecution brought under the Code of Penal Procedure (chapter C-25.1) by the Attorney General of Québec.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, s. 9; O.C. 1289-97, s. 6.
10. The presence of a member of the Sûreté du Québec or of a municipal police force who, in the performance of his duties, appears as a witness shall be attested in accordance with this Regulation, but the amount of the indemnity and allowance shall not be paid to him by the competent court officer.
In the case of the collection of that amount by the clerk, the latter shall remit the amount, in the case of a member of the Sûreté du Québec, to the Minister of Finance or, in the case of a member of a municipal police force, to the municipality, the metropolitan community or the intermunicipal management board concerned.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, s. 10; O.C. 60-96, s. 3; O.C. 1289-97, s. 7; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
11. The party ordered to pay the expenses is not obliged to pay the expenses of witnesses other than expenses determined under this Regulation.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, s. 11; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
12. In accordance with subsection 840 (2) of the Criminal Code (R.S.C. 1985, c. C-46), the fees and allowances mentioned in paragraphs 25 and 26 of the schedule to Part XXVII of that Code shall not be taken or allowed in Québec in proceedings before summary conviction courts and justices under that Part of the Criminal Code. The indemnities and allowances provided for in this Regulation shall be taken and allowed in lieu of those fees and allowances.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, s. 12; O.C. 1289-97, s. 8.
13. Officers of justice, having the authority to attest the presence of and amount owing to witnesses, must conform to the directives which the Minister of Justice considers expedient to give them, in order to render the application of this Regulation uniform.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, s. 13; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
REFERENCES
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2
S.Q. 1988, c. 21, s. 66
S.Q. 1990, c. 4, s. 619
O.C. 60-96, 1996 G.O. 2, 1000
O.C. 1289-97, 1997 G.O. 2, 5147
O.C. 379-2002, 2002 G.O. 2, 2132

C-25.01, r. 0.5 - Règlement sur les indemnités et les allocations payables aux témoins cités à comparaître devant les cours de justice

Texte complet
chapitre C-25.01, r. 0.5
Règlement sur les indemnités et les allocations payables aux témoins cités à comparaître devant les cours de justice
CODE DE PROCÉDURE CIVILE — INDEMNITÉS ET ALLOCATIONS AUX TÉMOINS
Code de procédure civile
(chapitre C-25.01, a. 273).
C-25.01
Code de procédure pénale
(chapitre C-25.1, a. 367).
C-25.1
Loi sur le paiement de certains témoins
(chapitre P-2.1, a. 2).
P-2.1
1er septembre 2012
Ce règlement portait auparavant la désignation alphanumérique suivante: chapitre C-25, r. 7.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2; D. 60-96, a. 1.
1. Définitions:
Dans le présent règlement, on entend par:
«témoin» toute personne citée à comparaître devant une cour ayant compétence en matière civile, pénale ou criminelle, y compris devant la Chambre de la jeunesse de la Cour du Québec, pour y rendre témoignage conformément à la loi;
«témoin assigné par le poursuivant» toute personne assignée par le poursuivant en matière criminelle, en matière pénale fédérale ou dans les matières pénales régies par les lois du Québec.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, a. 1; D. 1289-97, a. 1; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
2. Indemnité pour perte de temps:
1.  L’indemnité payable à un témoin est établie à 90 $ par journée d’absence nécessaire de son domicile. Cette indemnité est toutefois réduite à 45 $ lorsque la durée de l’absence nécessaire du domicile ne dépasse pas 5 heures.
2.  Un témoin reconnu et déclaré expert par le tribunal a droit à une indemnité de 180 $ par journée d’absence nécessaire de son domicile. Cette indemnité est toutefois réduite à 90 $ lorsque la durée de l’absence du domicile ne dépasse pas 5 heures.
Sur demande expresse d’un témoin expert, et pour des raisons exceptionnelles, le poursuivant dans le cas d’un témoin qu’il a assigné dans le cadre d’une poursuite criminelle ou pénale, et le tribunal dans les autres cas, peuvent augmenter l’indemnité de ce témoin. Une telle augmentation n’est pas réclamée contre la partie adverse.
3.  Cette indemnité n’est pas versée aux témoins qui, en vertu de lois, décrets, contrats, ententes ou conventions collectives, ne subissent pas de perte de gain, comme conséquence de leur assignation ou citation comme témoins.
Cette indemnité n’est pas versée aux témoins pour une journée d’absence nécessaire de leur domicile tombant un jour férié ou encore, le 26 décembre, le 2 janvier ou un samedi, sauf si cette absence entraîne une perte de gain.
Cette indemnité n’est pas versée aux personnes ci-après désignées lorsqu’elles sont appelées, par l’exercice de leur fonction, à rendre témoignage dans une cause:
a)  les membres de la Sûreté du Québec;
b)  les membres de la Gendarmerie royale du Canada;
c)  les membres d’un corps de police municipal;
d)  les constables spéciaux à l’emploi des compagnies de chemins de fer ou autres compagnies;
e)  tout autre constable spécial ou agent de la paix recevant un salaire à ce titre.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, a. 2; D. 60-96, a. 2; D. 1289-97, a. 2; D. 379-2002, a. 1; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
3. Les allocations pour les repas, le coucher et le transport sont celles accordées aux membres du personnel nommés suivant la Loi sur la fonction publique (chapitre F-3.1.1) et prévues à la Directive sur les frais remboursables lors d’un déplacement et autres frais inhérents (C.T. 202754, 2005-08-30).
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, a. 3; D. 379-2002, a. 2.
4. (Remplacé).
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, a. 4; D. 379-2002, a. 2.
5. (Remplacé).
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, a. 5; D. 379-2002, a. 2.
6. Le témoin qui doit comparaître plusieurs jours dans une cause et dont le domicile est éloigné de l’endroit où il doit rendre témoignage, est libre de voyager ou non. Cependant, les indemnités et allocations à verser dans un tel cas, doivent toujours être calculées comme si le témoin avait pris l’option la moins coûteuse.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, a. 6; D. 1289-97, a. 3.
7. (Abrogé).
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, a. 7; D. 1289-97, a. 4.
8. Aucune indemnité ni allocation n’est due aux personnes suivantes appelées comme témoins :
a)  les officiers de justice et les officiers publics ayant leur bureau dans l’immeuble où siège le tribunal;
b)  les adjoints de ces officiers, ainsi que les employés sous leur contrôle;
c)  les membres du personnel de la prison située au chef-lieu;
d)  toute personne détenue en prison ou sous garde;
e)  toute personne, même celle citée à comparaître comme témoin, obligée de comparaître à la même date comme accusée.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, a. 8; D. 1289-97, a. 5; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
9. Le ministère de la Justice paie, dans la mesure prévue par le présent règlement, les indemnités et les allocations des témoins que le poursuivant assigne:
a)  lors d’une pré-enquête ou d’une enquête préliminaire conduite sur l’instance du procureur général du Québec ou lors de l’audition d’une poursuite criminelle ou pénale fédérale prise par le procureur général du Québec;
b)  lors de l’audition d’une poursuite prise sous l’autorité du Code de procédure pénale (chapitre C-25.1) par le procureur général du Québec.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, a. 9; D. 1289-97, a. 6.
10. La présence devant le tribunal d’un membre de la Sûreté du Québec ou d’un corps de police municipal qui, dans l’exercice de ses fonctions, comparaît comme témoin doit être attestée conformément au présent règlement, mais le montant de l’indemnité et de l’allocation ne doit pas lui être payé par l’officier de justice compétent.
Dans le cas de perception de cette somme par le greffier, celui-ci la remet, dans le cas d’un membre de la Sûreté du Québec, au ministre des Finances ou, dans le cas d’un membre d’un corps de police municipal, à la municipalité, à la communauté métropolitaine ou à la régie intermunicipale concernée.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, a. 10; D. 60-96, a. 3; Erratum, 1996 G.O. 2, 1481; D. 1289-97, a. 7; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
11. La partie condamnée à payer les frais n’est pas tenue de payer d’autres frais de témoins que ceux fixés en vertu du présent règlement.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, a. 11; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
12. Conformément au paragraphe 2 de l’article 840 du Code criminel (L.R.C. 1985, c. C-46), les honoraires et allocations mentionnés aux paragraphes 25 et 26 de l’annexe de la Partie XXVII de ce code ne sont pas prélevés et admis au Québec dans les procédures devant les cours des poursuites sommaires et devant les juges de paix en vertu de cette partie du Code criminel. Les indemnités et allocations prévues par le présent règlement sont prélevées et admises en lieu et place de ces honoraires et allocations.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, a. 12; D. 1289-97, a. 8.
13. Les officiers de justice, ayant autorité pour attester de la présence des témoins et du montant qui leur est dû, doivent se conformer aux directives que le ministre de la Justice juge à propos de leur donner, en vue d’uniformiser l’application du présent règlement.
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2, a. 13; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
RÉFÉRENCES
R.R.Q., 1981, c. C-25, r. 2
L.Q. 1988, c. 21, a. 66
L.Q. 1990, c. 4, a. 619
D. 60-96, 1996 G.O. 2, 1172 et 1481
D. 1289-97, 1997 G.O. 2, 6558
D. 379-2002, 2002 G.O. 2, 2616