C-24.2, r. 39.1.001 - Pilot project concerning the use of non-skid devices on the tires of off-highway vehicles

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-24.2, r. 39.1.001
Pilot project concerning the use of non-skid devices on the tires of off-highway vehicles
HIGHWAY SAFETY CODE — NON-SKID — TIRES OR TRACKS — OFF-HIGHWAY VEHICLES
Highway Safety Code
(chapter C-24.2, s. 633.1).
C-24.2
January 1 2016
M.O. 2016-06, s. 1.
DIVISION I
GENERAL
1. The implementation of the Pilot project concerning the use of non-skid devices on the tires of off-highway vehicles is authorized for the following purposes:
(1)  testing the use of non-skid devices on the tires of off-highway vehicles to evaluate their effects on public highways and in other places where the Highway Safety Code (chapter C-24.2) applies;
(2)  collecting information on the results obtained, particularly as regards the effects of non-skid devices on the roadway.
M.O. 2015-18, s. 1; 2016-06M.O. 2016-06, s. 1; 2016-06M.O. 2016-06, s. 2.
2. For the purposes of this pilot project,
non-skid device means studs inserted in the tires of an off-highway vehicle in accordance with the instructions and recommendations of the studs’ manufacturer and, if applicable, the manufacturer of the tires. This definition does not include “ice screws” installed on the tires of an off-highway vehicle, particularly for the purposes of exceptional events or sports events;
off-highway vehicle means the off-highway vehicles referred to in section 1 of the Act respecting off-highway vehicles (chapter V-1.2), except for snowmobiles contemplated in subparagraph 1 of the first paragraph of that section, to which this Order does not apply.
M.O. 2015-18, s. 2; 2016-06M.O. 2016-06, s. 1; 2016-06M.O. 2016-06, s. 3.
DIVISION II
SPECIAL TRAFFIC RULES
3. Despite section 441 of the Highway Safety Code (chapter C-24.2), non-skid devices may be used, from 15 October of a year to 1 May of the following year, on the tires of any off-highway vehicle operated on public highways and in other places where the Highway Safety Code applies.
However, this section does not authorize the operation of off-highway vehicles on public highways and in other places where the Highway Safety Code applies, except for the purposes of section 11 of the Act respecting off-highway vehicles (chapter V-1.2).
M.O. 2015-18, s. 3; 2016-06M.O. 2016-06, s. 1.
DIVISION III
COLLECTION OF INFORMATION
4. The Minister of Transport is responsible for collecting information on the results obtained and the impact of this Pilot project, when those vehicle are operated on public highways and in other places where the Highway Safety Code applies (chapter C-24.2).
M.O. 2015-18, s. 4.
DIVISION IV
PENAL
5. The operator of an off-highway vehicle travelling on a public highway or in another place where the Highway Safety Code (chapter C-24.2) applies while equipped with non-skid devices that do not comply with the prescriptions of section 2 is guilty of an offence and is liable to a fine of $60 to $100.
The owner of an off-highway vehicle who allowed or tolerated the driving of his or her vehicle on a public highway or in another place where the Code applies while equipped with non-skid devices that do not comply with the prescriptions of section 2 is guilty of an offence and is liable to the fine provided for in the first paragraph.
M.O. 2015-18, s. 5.
6. Every person who contravenes section 3 is guilty of an offence and is liable to a fine of $150 to $300.
M.O. 2015-18, s. 6.
DIVISION V
FINAL
7. This Order is revoked on 1 January 2019.
M.O. 2015-18, s. 7.
REFERENCES
M.O. 2015-18, 2015 G.O. 2, 3257A
M.O. 2016-06, 2016 G.O. 2, 1361M.O. 2016-06, 2016 G.O. 2, 1361

C-24.2, r. 39.1.001 - Projet-pilote relatif à l’utilisation d’antidérapants sur les pneus des véhicules hors route

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre C-24.2, r. 39.1.001
Projet-pilote relatif à l’utilisation d’antidérapants sur les pneus des véhicules hors route
CODE DE LA SÉCURITÉ ROUTIÈRE — ANTIDÉRAPANTS — PNEUS OU CHENILLES — VÉHICULES HORS ROUTE
Code de la sécurité routière
(chapitre C-24.2, a. 633.1).
C-24.2
1er janvier 2016
A.M. 2016-06, a. 1.
SECTION I
DISPOSITIONS GÉNÉRALES
1. Est autorisée la mise en oeuvre du Projet pilote relatif à l’utilisation d’antidérapants sur les pneus des véhicules hors route sur les bases suivantes:
1°  expérimenter l’usage d’antidérapants sur les pneus des véhicules hors route afin d’évaluer l’effet d’un tel équipement sur les chemins publics et les autres lieux où s’applique le Code de la sécurité routière (chapitre C-24.2);
2°  recueillir des informations sur les résultats obtenus notamment en ce qui concerne les effets de l’utilisation des antidérapants de ces véhicules sur la chaussée.
A.M. 2015-18, a. 1; 2016-06A.M. 2016-06, a. 1.
2. Pour l’application du présent Projet pilote, on entend par:
«antidérapant» un crampon de type automobile, aussi appelé «clou», inséré dans les pneus d’un véhicule hors route conformément aux instructions et aux recommandations du fabricant du clou et, le cas échéant, du fabricant du pneu. Est exclu de cette définition, le crampon de type «vis à glace» installé sur les pneus d’un véhicule hors route notamment lors d’événements exceptionnels, d’épreuves ou de compétitions sportives;
«véhicule hors route» les véhicules hors route visés à l’article 1 de la Loi sur les véhicules hors route (chapitre V-1.2) sauf les motoneiges visées au paragraphe 1 de cet article et à l’égard desquelles le présent arrêté ne s’applique pas.
A.M. 2015-18, a. 2; A.M. 2016-06, a, a. 3.
SECTION II
RÈGLES PARTICULIÈRES DE CIRCULATION
3. Malgré l’article 441 du Code de la sécurité routière (chapitre C-24.2), l’utilisation d’antidérapants est autorisée, à compter du 15 octobre d’une année jusqu’au 1er mai de l’année suivante, sur les pneus de tout véhicule hors route, lorsqu’il circule sur les chemins publics et autres lieux où s’applique le Code de la sécurité routière.
Le présent article n’a toutefois pas pour effet d’autoriser la circulation des véhicules hors route, sur les chemins publics et autres lieux où s’applique le Code de la sécurité routière, autrement que dans le cadre de l’application de l’article 11 de la Loi sur les véhicules hors route (chapitre V-1.2).
A.M. 2015-18, a. 3; 2016-06A.M. 2016-06, a. 1.
SECTION III
CUEILLETTE D’INFORMATION
4. Le ministre des Transports est chargé de recueillir l’information sur les résultats obtenus et l’impact du présent Projet pilote, lorsqu’ils circulent sur les chemins publics et autres lieux où s’applique le Code de la sécurité routière (chapitre C-24.2).
A.M. 2015-18, a. 4.
SECTION IV
DISPOSITIONS PÉNALES
5. Le conducteur d’un véhicule hors route qui circule, sur un chemin public ou autres lieux où s’applique le Code de la sécurité routière (chapitre C-24.2), avec des antidérapants non conformes aux prescriptions de l’article 2 commet une infraction et est passible d’une amende de 60 $ à 100 $.
Le propriétaire d’un véhicule hors route qui a permis ou toléré qu’un conducteur de son véhicule circule, sur un chemin public ou autres lieux où s’applique le Code, avec des antidérapants non conformes aux prescriptions de l’article 2 commet une infraction et est passible de la même amende que celle prévue au premier alinéa.
A.M. 2015-18, a. 5.
6. Commet une infraction et est passible d’une amende de 150 $ à 300 $ quiconque contrevient à l’article 3.
A.M. 2015-18, a. 6.
SECTION V
DISPOSITION FINALE
7. Le présent arrêté est abrogé le 1er janvier 2019.
A.M. 2015-18, a. 7.
RÉFÉRENCES
A.M. 2015-18, 2015 G.O. 2, 4709A
A.M. 2016-06, 2016 G.O. 2, 1671