C-11, r. 6 - Regulation respecting the exemption from the application of the first paragraph of section 72 of the Charter of the French language which may be granted to children having serious learning disabilities

Table of contents
Full text
chapter C-11, r. 6
Regulation respecting the exemption from the application of the first paragraph of section 72 of the Charter of the French language which may be granted to children having serious learning disabilities
CHARTER OF THE FRENCH LANGUAGE — S. 72 — EXEMPTION FROM APPLICATION
Charter of the French language
(chapter C-11, ss. 81 and 93)
C-11
September 1 2012
1. Children may be exempted from the application of the first paragraph of section 72 of the Charter of the French language (chapter C-11) if, at the time the request for exemption is made, they have serious learning disabilities and are in one of the following classes:
(1)  children having serious learning disabilities demonstrated by a generalized academic delay of 2 or more years;
(2)  children having serious learning disabilities demonstrated by a delay of 1 year or more in written communication or mathematics, if the disabilities are caused by characterized dyslexia, dyscalculia or dysorthographia that is persistent despite corrective intervention by a specialized teacher; or
(3)  children having serious learning disabilities demonstrated by a language, perception and psychomotor disability caused by a mental deficiency or by a severe socio-affective maladjustment or by a physical or sensory impairment that is persistent despite corrective intervention by a professional within the meaning of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) who is certified to treat such an impairment or deficiency in children.
For the purposes of this section, “specialized teacher” means a teacher who is the holder of a teaching diploma or teaching certificate with specialization in teaching children with learning disabilities or who is the holder of a teaching diploma and has not less than 1 year of experience in teaching children with learning disabilities.
O.C. 1758-93, s. 1.
2. A request for exemption from the application of the first paragraph of section 72 of the Charter by reason of serious learning disabilities shall be submitted to a school body.
The school body shall have the child evaluated by a psychologist designated by it and entered on the roll of the Ordre professionnel des psychologues du Québec.
For the purposes of this Regulation, school bodies include, in addition to those mentioned in the Schedule to the Charter, the private educational institutions governed by the Act respecting private education (chapter E-9.1).
O.C. 1758-93, s. 2.
3. The evaluation of the designated psychologist shall,
(1)  where the child is believed to be in one of the classes referred to in subparagraphs 1 and 2 of the first paragraph of section 1, be accompanied by a report stating reasons and indicating whether the child is in the class referred to in subparagraph 1 or in the class referred to in subparagraph 2 of the first paragraph of section 1; the report shall be based on the psychoeducational evaluation of an education consultant designated by the school body; the evaluation shall explain the situation of the child in relation to the school curricula;
(2)  where the child has serious learning disabilities believed to be caused by a physical or sensory impairment that is persistent despite corrective intervention by a professional referred to in subparagraph 3 of the first paragraph of section 1, be accompanied by a report stating reasons and indicating whether the child is in the class referred to in subparagraph 3; the report shall be based on a physician’s certificate establishing whether the child has such an impairment and shall state the physician’s name and address without indicating, however, the nature of the physical or sensory impairment;
(3)  where the child has serious learning disabilities believed to be caused by a mental deficiency or by a severe socio-affective malajustment, be accompanied by a report indicating whether the child is in the class referred to in subparagraph 3 of the first paragraph of section 1.
O.C. 1758-93, s. 3.
4. The school body shall forward the request for exemption, for a decision, to the person designated by the Minister of Education, Recreation and Sports under section 75 of the Charter, together with the psychologist’s evaluation and the child’s birth certificate, which must state his parents’ names. Failing such a birth certificate, any other official document issued by a competent authority and establishing the date of birth, sex and filiation of the child shall be produced.
O.C. 1758-93, s. 4.
5. Any request for exemption for the brother or sister of a child having serious learning disabilities who has been exempted from the application of the first paragraph of section 72 of the Charter shall be accompanied by a copy of the child’s certificate of eligibility and the birth certificate, stating the parents’ names, of the brother or sister for whom the request is made. Failing such a birth certificate, any other official document issued by a competent authority and establishing the date of birth, sex and filiation of the child shall be produced.
O.C. 1758-93, s. 5.
6. Where a request for eligibility is incomplete because the required information or documents have not been provided, the designated person shall notify in writing the person who made the request of the missing information or documents and the deadline by which such information or documents are to be provided. A copy of such notice shall be forwarded to the school body.
If the required information or documents are not provided within 90 days of the mailing date of the notice, the designated person shall make his decision on the basis of the incomplete request forwarded to him.
O.C. 1758-93, s. 6.
7. The designated person shall communicate in writing to the person who made the request his decision regarding the child’s eligibility to receive instruction in English. If the child is declared eligible, the designated person shall issue a certificate of eligibility.
The designated person shall inform the school body of his decision in writing.
O.C. 1758-93, s. 7.
8. (Omitted).
O.C. 1758-93, s. 8.
9. (Omitted).
O.C. 1758-93, s. 9.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1758-93, 1993 G.O. 2, 6921
S.Q. 1994, c. 40, s. 457

C-11, r. 6 - Règlement sur l’exemption de l’application du premier alinéa de l’article 72 de la Charte de la langue française qui peut être accordée aux enfants présentant des difficultés graves d’apprentissage

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre C-11, r. 6
Règlement sur l’exemption de l’application du premier alinéa de l’article 72 de la Charte de la langue française qui peut être accordée aux enfants présentant des difficultés graves d’apprentissage
CHARTE DE LA LANGUE FRANÇAISE — A. 72 — EXEMPTION D’APPLICATION
Charte de la langue française
(chapitre C-11, a. 81 et 93).
C-11
1er septembre 2012
1. Peuvent être exemptés de l’application du premier alinéa de l’article 72 de la Charte de la langue française (chapitre C-11) les enfants qui, au moment de la demande d’exemption, présentent des difficultés graves d’apprentissage et font partie de l’une des catégories suivantes:
1°  les enfants qui présentent des difficultés graves d’apprentissage qui se manifestent par un retard scolaire généralisé de 2 ans ou plus;
2°  les enfants qui présentent des difficultés graves d’apprentissage qui se manifestent par un retard d’un an ou plus dans l’apprentissage de la communication écrite ou de la mathématique, si ces difficultés sont causées par la dyslexie, la dyscalculie ou la dysorthographie caractérisées qui persistent malgré l’intervention corrective d’un enseignant spécialisé;
3°  les enfants qui présentent des difficultés graves d’apprentissage qui se manifestent par des difficultés de langage, de perception et de psychomotricité, si elles sont causées par une déficience mentale ou par une mésadaptation socio-affective grave ou par une déficience physique ou sensorielle persistant malgré l’intervention corrective d’un professionnel au sens du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) qui est habilité à traiter une telle déficience chez l’enfant.
Pour l’application du présent article, un «enseignant spécialisé» est celui qui est titulaire d’un brevet spécialisé ou d’un certificat spécialisé dans l’enseignement aux enfants en difficultés d’apprentissage, ou qui est titulaire d’un brevet d’enseignement et a une expérience d’au moins 1 an dans l’enseignement aux enfants en difficultés d’apprentissage.
D. 1758-93, a. 1.
2. La demande d’exemption de l’application du premier alinéa de l’article 72 de la Charte, en raison de difficultés graves d’apprentissage, doit être soumise à un organisme scolaire.
L’organisme scolaire fait évaluer l’enfant par un psychologue inscrit au tableau de l’Ordre professionnel des psychologues du Québec qu’il désigne.
Dans le présent règlement, les organismes scolaires comprennent, outre ceux mentionnés à l’annexe de la Charte, les établissements d’enseignement privés régis par la Loi sur l’enseignement privé (chapitre E-9.1).
D. 1758-93, a. 2.
3. L’évaluation du psychologue désigné doit:
1°  lorsque l’enfant est susceptible de faire partie d’une catégorie visée à l’un des paragraphes 1 et 2 du premier alinéa de l’article 1, être accompagnée d’un rapport motivé indiquant si l’enfant fait partie de la catégorie 1 ou 2 du premier alinéa de l’article 1; ce rapport est basé sur une évaluation psychopédagogique faite par le conseiller pédagogique désigné par l’organisme scolaire; cette évaluation doit exposer la situation de l’enfant face aux programmes scolaires;
2°  lorsque les difficultés graves d’apprentissage de l’enfant sont susceptibles d’être causées par une déficience physique ou sensorielle persistant malgré l’intervention corrective d’un professionnel visé au paragraphe 3 du premier alinéa de l’article 1, être accompagnée d’un rapport motivé indiquant si l’enfant fait partie de la catégorie visée à ce paragraphe 3; ce rapport est basé sur une attestation d’un médecin qui détermine si l’enfant est atteint d’une telle déficience et doit indiquer le nom et l’adresse du médecin sans toutefois indiquer la nature de la déficience physique ou sensorielle;
3°  lorsque l’enfant présente des difficultés graves d’apprentissage susceptibles d’être causées par une déficience mentale ou par une mésadaptation socio-affective grave, être accompagnée d’un rapport indiquant si l’enfant fait partie de la catégorie visée au paragraphe 3 du premier alinéa de l’article 1.
D. 1758-93, a. 3.
4. L’organisme scolaire transmet, pour décision, à la personne désignée par le ministre de l’Éducation, du Loisir et du Sport en vertu de l’article 75 de la Charte, la demande d’exemption, l’évaluation du psychologue et le certificat de naissance de l’enfant, lequel doit mentionner le nom du père et de la mère de l’enfant. À défaut d’un tel certificat, tout autre document officiel délivré par une autorité compétente et faisant preuve de la date de naissance de l’enfant, de son sexe et de sa filiation doit être produit.
D. 1758-93, a. 4.
5. Toute demande d’exemption d’un frère ou d’une soeur d’un enfant présentant des difficultés graves d’apprentissage exempté de l’application du premier alinéa de l’article 72 de la Charte, doit être accompagnée d’une copie de la déclaration d’admissibilité de l’enfant et du certificat de naissance du frère ou de la soeur pour qui la demande est faite et sur lequel est mentionné le nom des parents. À défaut d’un tel certificat de naissance, tout autre document officiel délivré par une autorité compétente et faisant preuve de la date de naissance de l’enfant, de son sexe et de sa filiation doit être produit.
D. 1758-93, a. 5.
6. Lorsqu’une demande d’admissibilité est incomplète parce que les renseignements ou les documents requis n’ont pas été fournis, la personne désignée doit aviser par écrit la personne qui a fait la demande, en indiquant les renseignements ou les documents manquants et le délai pour remédier à cette insuffisance. Une copie de cet avis est transmise à l’organisme scolaire.
Si les renseignements ou les documents requis ne sont pas remis dans les 90 jours de la date de la mise à la poste de l’avis, la personne désignée prend une décision selon la demande telle qu’elle lui a été transmise.
D. 1758-93, a. 6.
7. La personne désignée communique par écrit à la personne qui a fait la demande, sa décision quant à l’admissibilité de l’enfant à recevoir l’enseignement en anglais. Si l’enfant est déclaré admissible, la personne désignée délivre une déclaration d’admissibilité.
Elle informe, par écrit, l’organisme scolaire de sa décision.
D. 1758-93, a. 7.
8. (Omis).
D. 1758-93, a. 8.
9. (Omis).
D. 1758-93, a. 9.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1758-93, 1993 G.O. 2, 8897
L.Q. 1994, c. 40, a. 457