A-6.001, r. 5 - Regulation respecting certain funds of university establishments

Table of contents
Full text
chapter A-6.001, r. 5
Regulation respecting certain funds of university establishments
FINANCIAL ADMINISTRATION — FUNDS OF UNIVERSITY ESTABLISHMENTS
Financial Administration Act
(chapter A-6.001, ss. 77.2, 79 and 80)
A-6.001
September 1 2012
1. In this Regulation, “fund” means an endowment fund or a subscription fund in which contributions received as donations and their yield and return are accumulated exclusively.
O.C. 957-2008, s. 1.
2. The authorization of the Minister of Finance and that of the Minister responsible for the administration of the Act governing the body, provided for in the first paragraph of section 77.2 of the Financial Administration Act (chapter A-6.001), are not required by a university establishment that, in the context of the management of a fund, makes investments, if
(1)  an investment policy applicable to the fund is adopted by the university establishment and the fund is managed pursuant to the policy;
(2)  the management of the endowment fund is entrusted to
(a)  an employee of the university establishment;
(b)  an adviser within the meaning of the Securities Act (chapter V-1.1);
(c)  a natural person residing outside Québec and whose management activities are authorized by the supervisory and regulatory authorities pursuant to the laws applicable to the natural person; or
(d)  a legal person or a joint-stock company or partnership constituted outside Québec whose management activities are authorized by the supervisory and regulatory authorities pursuant to the laws applicable to the legal person or the company or partnership.
(3)  no debit balance is created; management fees incurred and capital losses do not exceed the capital entrusted to management; and
(4)  no borrowing is made for management purposes.
O.C. 957-2008, s. 2.
3. The authorization of the Minister of Finance provided for in the first paragraphs of sections 79 and 80 of the Financial Administration Act (chapter A-6.001) is not required in respect of currency exchange or interest rate exchange agreements, and the financial instruments or contracts when the transaction is concluded by a university establishment in the context of the management of a fund for the sole purpose of reducing financial risks and the conditions set out in section 2 are met.
O.C. 957-2008, s. 3.
4. A university establishment is to file with the Minister of Finance its investment policy and any amendment made to it. It must also file annually a certificate of compliance with this Regulation and a report stating the amount outstanding at the end of the fiscal year and the rate of return obtained for that period.
O.C. 957-2008, s. 4.
5. (Omitted).
O.C. 957-2008, s. 5.
REFERENCES
O.C. 957-2008, 2008 G.O. 2, 5001

A-6.001, r. 5 - Règlement sur certains fonds des établissements universitaires

Texte complet
chapitre A-6.001, r. 5
Règlement sur certains fonds des établissements universitaires
ADMINISTRATION FINANCIÈRE — FONDS DES ÉTABLISSEMENTS UNIVERSITAIRES
Loi sur l’administration financière
(chapitre A-6.001, a. 77.2, 79 et 80)
A-6.001
1er septembre 2012
1. Dans le présent règlement, le mot «fonds» désigne un fonds de dotation ou un fonds de souscription dans lequel sont cumulés exclusivement des apports reçus à titre de donations, ainsi que leurs produits et leurs revenus.
D. 957-2008, a. 1.
2. L’autorisation du ministre des Finances et celle du ministre responsable de l’application de la loi qui régit l’organisme, prévues au premier alinéa de l’article 77.2 de la Loi sur l’administration financière (chapitre A-6.001), ne sont pas requises à l’égard d’un établissement universitaire qui, dans le cadre de la gestion d’un fonds, effectue des placements, lorsque les conditions suivantes sont respectées:
1°  une politique de placements applicable à ce fonds est adoptée par l’établissement universitaire et la gestion s’effectue conformément à celle-ci;
2°  la gestion du fonds est confiée:
a)  à un employé de l’établissement universitaire;
b)  à un conseiller en valeurs au sens de la Loi sur les valeurs mobilières (chapitre V-1.1);
c)  à une personne physique qui réside à l’extérieur du Québec et dont les activités de gestion sont autorisées par les autorités de surveillance et de réglementation conformément aux lois qui lui sont applicables;
d)  à une personne morale ou société constituée à l’extérieur du Québec et dont les activités de gestion sont autorisées par les autorités de surveillance et de réglementation conformément aux lois qui lui sont applicables;
3°  aucun solde débiteur n’est créé; les frais de gestion encourus et les pertes en capital n’excèdent pas le capital confié sous gestion;
4°  aucun emprunt n’est effectué aux fins de la gestion.
D. 957-2008, a. 2.
3. L’autorisation du ministre des Finances prévue aux premiers alinéas des articles 79 et 80 de la Loi sur l’administration financière (chapitre A-6.001) n’est pas requise en ce qui concerne les conventions d’échange de devises ou de taux d’intérêt et les instruments ou contrats de nature financière lorsque la transaction est conclue par un établissement universitaire dans le cadre de la gestion d’un fonds aux seules fins de réduire les risques financiers et que les conditions énoncées à l’article 2 sont respectées.
D. 957-2008, a. 3.
4. Un établissement universitaire dépose auprès du ministre des Finances sa politique de placements ainsi que toute modification à celle-ci. Il doit également déposer, annuellement, une attestation de conformité au présent règlement et un rapport faisant état de l’encours à la fin de l’année financière ainsi que du rendement obtenu pour cette période.
D. 957-2008, a. 4.
5. (Omis).
D. 957-2008, a. 5.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 957-2008, 2008 G.O. 2, 5619