A-26, r. 3 - Regulation respecting the classes of negotiable and transferable unsecured debts and the issuance of such debts and of shares

Full text
chapter A-26, r. 3
Regulation respecting the classes of negotiable and transferable unsecured debts and the issuance of such debts and of shares
DEPOSIT INSURANCE — CLASSES OF UNSECURED DEBTS
Deposit Insurance Act
(chapter A-26, ss. 40.50 and 43, par. s.2).
A-26
Act respecting financial services cooperatives
(chapter C-67.3, s. 601.1).
C-67.3
March 7 2019March 31 2019
CHAPTER I
PRESCRIBED DEBTS
2019-03, c. IM.O. 2019-03, c. I.
1. A negotiable and transferable unsecured debt for the purposes of the second paragraph of section 40.50 of the Deposit Institutions and Deposit Protection Act (chapter A-26) is a debt represented by an instrument issued on or after 31 March 2019 by a deposit institution belonging to a cooperative group that, at the time of issue, belongs to either of the following classes:
(1)  debt obligations, other than subordinated debt obligations, that:
(a)  are perpetual, have a term to maturity of more than 400 days, have one or more explicit or embedded options that, if exercised by or on behalf of the issuer, would result in a maturity date that is more than 400 days from the date of issue of the debt obligation or have an explicit or embedded option that, if exercised by or on behalf of the holder, would by itself result in a maturity date that is more than 400 days from the maturity date that would apply if the option were not exercised; and
(b)  have been assigned a Committee on Uniform Security Identification Procedures (CUSIP) number, International Securities Identification Number (ISIN) or other similar designation that identifies a security in order to facilitate its trading and settlement;
or
(2)  subordinated debt obligations, other than a non-viability contingent capital security.
A debt referred to in the first paragraph is, for the purposes of this Regulation, a “prescribed debt”.
2019-03M.O. 2019-03, s. 1.
2. For the purposes of section 1:
(1)  the unsecured portion of a partially secured debt is considered an unsecured debt;
(2)  the instrument representing the prescribed debt does not cease to belong to one or the other class referred to in the first paragraph if the prescribed debt is due but unpaid on the date on which the resolution board orders the implementation of resolution operations under section 40.12 of the Deposit Institutions and Deposit Protection Act (chapter A-26) or if it becomes due after that date;
(3)  in subparagraph 2, non-viability contingent capital security means any subordinated debt obligation that:
(a)  expressly mentions that it is a non-viability contingent capital security;
and
(b)  contains a feature providing for its conversion into shares of the share capital of the issuer in accordance with its terms upon a public announcement by the Autorité des marchés financiers regarding the issuer’s viability; and
(4)  interest on a prescribed debt, including any type of coupon, even if the latter is detached from the instrument representing the principal, forms an integral part of the prescribed debt.
2019-03M.O. 2019-03, s. 2.
3. The following, including the debts resulting therefrom, are not prescribed debts:
(1)  any covered bond, as defined in section 21.5 of the National Housing Act (R.S.C. 1985, c. N-11);
(2)  any financial contract determined under section 40.22 of the Deposit Institutions and Deposit Protection Act (chapter A-26);
(3)  any structured note; and
(4)  any conversion or exchange privilege that is convertible at any time into shares of a deposit institution belonging to a cooperative group, including any option or right to purchase such shares or privileges.
2019-03M.O. 2019-03, s. 3.
4. For the purposes of subparagraph 3 of section 3, a structured note means a debt obligation that:
(1)  specifies that the obligation’s stated term to maturity, or a payment to be made by its issuer, is determined in whole or principally by reference to an index or reference point, including:
(a)  the performance or value of an entity or asset;
(b)  the market price of a security, commodity, investment fund or financial instrument;
(c)  an interest rate; and
(d)  the exchange rate applicable between two currencies;
or
(2)  contains any other type of embedded derivative or similar feature.
However, a structured note does not mean:
(1)  a debt obligation in respect of which the stated term to maturity, or a payment to be made by its issuer, is determined in whole or principally by reference to the performance of a security of a deposit institution belonging to the cooperative group; or
(2)  a debt obligation that is payable in cash and that:
(a)  specifies that the return is determined by a fixed or floating interest rate or a fixed spread above or below a fixed or floating interest rate, regardless of whether the return is subject to a minimum interest rate or whether the interest rate changes between fixed and floating; and
(b)  has no other terms affecting the stated term to maturity or the return on the debt obligation, with the exception of the right of the issuer to redeem the debt obligation or the right of the holder or issuer to extend its term to maturity.
2019-03M.O. 2019-03, s. 4.
CHAPTER II
ISSUANCE OF PRESCRIBED DEBTS AND OF SHARES
2019-03, c. IIM.O. 2019-03, c. II.
5. When issuing a prescribed debt, a deposit institution belonging to a cooperative group must expressly specify in the terms governing the debt that:
(1)  the holder of the instrument representing the prescribed debt is bound, in respect of the prescribed debt, by the Deposit Institutions and Deposit Protection Act (chapter A-26), including the provisions dealing with the powers conferred on the Autorité des marchés financiers under the second paragraph of section 40.50 of that Act and its effects on the prescribed debt, and by the other laws applicable in Québec to the application of that Act to the debt;
(2)  the holder of the instrument representing the prescribed debt attorns to the jurisdiction of the courts of Québec and, where applicable, Canada with respect to the application of the Deposit Institutions and Deposit Protection Act and the other laws applicable in Québec; and
(3)  the items mentioned in paragraphs 1 and 2 are binding on the holder of the instrument representing the prescribed debt despite any terms of the prescribed debt, any other law governing the debt or any agreement, arrangement or understanding between the parties with respect to the debt.
2019-03M.O. 2019-03, s. 5.
6. The prospectus, information circular, other offering document or similar document related to a prescribed debt or a share, other than a qualifying share, issued by a deposit institution belonging to a cooperative group must, as applicable:
(1)  expressly state that the share issued is subject to the powers of the Authority under the first paragraph of section 40.50 of the Deposit Institutions and Deposit Protection Act (chapter A-26) and set out a description of those powers; or
(2)  expressly state that the prescribed debt issued is subject to the powers of the Authority under the second paragraph of that section and set out a description of those powers.
In addition to the information provided for in the first paragraph, such a document must include the following statement, by reproducing it in full or incorporating it by reference:
“Cancellation, Write-off and Conversion Measures
In the event of the resolution of a cooperative group, the Autorité des marchés financiers may exercise several powers, including those conferred upon it under section 40.50 of the Deposit Institutions and Deposit Protection Act (chapter A-26).
The Autorité des marchés financiers is responsible for resolution operations. In accordance with section 40.9 of that Act, the objective of such operations is to ensure the sustainability of a cooperative group’s deposit institution activities despite its failure and without recourse to public funds.
Based on the circumstances and the situation, the Autorité des marchés financiers will use its best efforts, when it exercises the powers conferred upon it under section 40.50 of that Act, to ensure fair treatment among the holders of debts and shares referred to in that section. In this regard, measures such as the following may be implemented by the Autorité des marchés financiers, as applicable:
(1) respect the respective ranks of the debts and shares referred to in section 40.50 of the Deposit Institutions and Deposit Protection Act (chapter A-26) that are still in existence, which ranks may be determined as if the cooperative group were the subject of an amalgamation/winding-up in accordance with the provisions of Chapter XIII.1 of the Act respecting financial services cooperatives (chapter C-67.3);
(2) ensure that such debts and shares are treated on a pro rata basis when they are of the same rank;
(3) ensure that an instrument subject to the powers set out in section 40.50 of the Deposit Institutions and Deposit Protection Act (chapter A-26) is treated more advantageously than another instrument subject to those powers that is subordinated to it.”.
2019-03M.O. 2019-03, s. 6.
7. A deposit institution belonging to a cooperative group must not advertise or otherwise promote a prescribed debt, including in its name, as a deposit or any variation of that term.
2019-03M.O. 2019-03, s. 7.
CHAPTER III
TRANSITIONAL AND FINAL PROVISIONS
2019-03, c. IIIM.O. 2019-03, c. III.
8. This Regulation is to be read, for the period from 31 March 2019 to 12 June 2019, by making the following amendments:
(1)  in section 1, by replacing, in the text preceding subparagraph 1, “deposit institution” by “registered institution”;
(2)  in sections 1, 2 and 3, by replacing “Deposit Institutions and Deposit Protection Act” by “Deposit Insurance Act”;
(3)  by replacing, in subparagraph 4 of section 3 and in subparagraph 1 of the second paragraph of section 4, “deposit institution” by “registered institution”;
(4)  in section 5:
(a)  by replacing, in the text preceding subparagraph 1, “deposit institution” by “registered institution”;
(b)  by replacing, in subparagraphs 1 and 2, “Deposit Institutions and Deposit Protection Act” by “Deposit Insurance Act”;
(5)  in section 6:
(a)  by replacing, in the text preceding subparagraph 1, “deposit institution” by “registered institution”;
(b)  by replacing, in subparagraph 1, “Deposit Institutions and Deposit Protection Act” by “Deposit Insurance Act”; and
(c)  by replacing the statement set out in the second paragraph by the following:
“Cancellation, Write-off and Conversion Measures
In the event of the resolution of a cooperative group, the Autorité des marchés financiers may exercise several powers, including those conferred on it under section 40.50 of the Deposit Insurance Act (chapter A-26), the title of which will be amended to read Deposit Institutions and Deposit Protection Act (chapter A-26) as of 13 June 2019.
The Autorité des marchés financiers is responsible for resolution operations. In accordance with section 40.9 of that Act, the objective of such operations is to ensure the sustainability of a cooperative group’s deposit institution activities despite its failure and without recourse to public funds.
Based on the circumstances and the situation, the Autorité des marchés financiers will use its best efforts, when it exercises the powers conferred upon it under section 40.50 of that Act, to ensure fair treatment among the holders of debts and shares referred to in that section. In this regard, measures such as the following may be implemented by the Autorité des marchés financiers, as applicable:
(1) respect the respective ranks of the debts and shares referred to in section 40.50 of the Deposit Insurance Act (chapter A-26) that are still in existence, which ranks may be determined as if the cooperative group were the subject of an amalgamation/winding-up in accordance with the provisions of Chapter XIII.1 of the Act respecting financial services cooperatives (chapter C-67.3);
(2) ensure that such debts and shares are treated on a pro rata basis when they are of the same rank;
(3) ensure that an instrument subject to the powers set out in section 40.50 of the Deposit Insurance Act (chapter A-26) is treated more advantageously than another instrument subject to those powers that is subordinated to it.”;
(6)  by replacing, in section 7, “deposit institution” by “registered institution”.
2019-03M.O. 2019-03, s. 8.
9. (Omitted).
2019-03M.O. 2019-03, s. 9.
REFERENCES
M.O. 2019-03, 2019 G.O. 2, 437

A-26, r. 3 - Règlement sur les catégories de créances non garanties négociables et transférables et sur l’émission de ces créances et de parts

Texte complet
chapitre A-26, r. 3
Règlement sur les catégories de créances non garanties négociables et transférables et sur l’émission de ces créances et de parts
ASSURANCE-DÉPÔTS — CATÉGORIES DE CRÉANCES NON GARANTIES
Loi sur l’assurance-dépôts
(chapitre A-26, a. 40.50 et 43, par. s.2).
A-26
Loi sur les coopératives de services financiers
(chapitre C-67.3, a. 601.1).
C-67.3
7 mars 201931 mars 2019
CHAPITRE I
CRÉANCES VISÉES
2019-03, c. IA.M. 2019-03, c. I.
1. Est une créance non garantie négociable et transférable visée aux fins du deuxième alinéa de l’article 40.50 de la Loi sur les institutions de dépôts et la protection des dépôts (chapitre A-26) celle représentée par un titre émis à compter du 31 mars 2019 par une institution de dépôts faisant partie d’un groupe coopératif et qui appartient au moment de son émission à l’une ou l’autre des catégories suivantes :
1°  les titres de créance, autres que les titres de créance subordonnés, qui à la fois :
a)  sont perpétuels ou comportent soit un terme de plus de quatre cents jours, soit une ou plusieurs options explicites ou intégrées qui les doteraient d’un terme supérieur à quatre cents jours à compter de leur date d’émission si l’option était exercée par l’émetteur ou en son nom, soit une option explicite ou intégrée qui, en soi, les doterait, si l’option était exercée par le porteur ou en son nom, d’un terme supérieur à quatre cents jours à compter de la date où ils seraient arrivés à échéance en l’absence de l’exercice de cette option;
b)  portent un numéro d’immatriculation des valeurs mobilières (CUSIP), un numéro international d’identification des valeurs mobilières (ISIN) ou une autre désignation semblable destinée à identifier une valeur mobilière afin d’en faciliter l’échange et le règlement;
2°  les titres de créance subordonnés, autres que les titres de fonds propres d’urgence en cas de non-viabilité.
La créance visée au premier alinéa est, pour l’application du présent règlement, une « créance visée ».
2019-03A.M. 2019-03, a. 1.
2. Pour l’application de l’article 1 :
1°  la partie non garantie d’une créance partiellement garantie est considérée être une créance non garantie;
2°  le fait qu’une créance visée soit exigible mais impayée à la date où le collège de résolution ordonne la mise en oeuvre des opérations de résolution en vertu de l’article 40.12 de la Loi sur les institutions de dépôts et la protection des dépôts (chapitre A-26), ou qu’elle devienne exigible après cette date, n’affecte pas l’appartenance du titre qui la représente à l’une ou l’autre des catégories visées au premier alinéa;
3°  au paragraphe 2, un «titre de fonds propres d’urgence en cas de non-viabilité» s’entend de tout titre de créance subordonné qui à la fois comporte :
a)  une mention expresse à l’effet qu’il s’agit d’un titre de fonds propres d’urgence en cas de non-viabilité;
b)  une caractéristique qui prévoit sa conversion en parts du capital social de l’émetteur conformément à ses modalités à la suite d’une annonce publique de l’Autorité des marchés financiers quant à la viabilité de l’émetteur;
4°  les intérêts sur une créance visée, incluant toute forme de coupon même si celui-ci est détaché du titre qui représente le capital, font partie intégrante de celle-ci.
2019-03A.M. 2019-03, a. 2.
3. Les éléments suivants, incluant les créances qui en découlent, ne constituent pas des créances visées :
1°  les obligations sécurisées, au sens de l’article 21.5 de la Loi nationale sur l’habitation (L.R.C. 1985, c. N-11);
2°  les contrats financiers déterminés en vertu de l’article 40.22 de la Loi sur les institutions de dépôts et la protection des dépôts (chapitre A-26);
3°  les obligations structurées;
4°  les privilèges de conversion ou d’échange convertibles en tout temps en parts d’une institution de dépôts faisant partie d’un groupe coopératif, y compris les options ou droits d’acquérir de telles parts ou de tels privilèges.
2019-03A.M. 2019-03, a. 3.
4. Pour l’application du paragraphe 3 de l’article 3, une «obligation structurée» s’entend d’un titre de créance qui, selon le cas :
1°  prévoit que l’échéance stipulée de la créance ou qu’une obligation de paiement de l’émetteur est déterminée, en tout ou en partie, en fonction d’un indice ou d’une valeur de référence, notamment :
a)  le rendement ou la valeur d’une entité ou d’un élément d’actif;
b)  la valeur marchande d’une valeur mobilière, d’une denrée, d’un fonds de placement ou d’un instrument financier;
c)  un taux d’intérêt;
d)  le taux de change applicable entre deux devises;
2°  est autrement assorti d’un instrument dérivé intégré ou d’une caractéristique semblable.
Une obligation structurée ne s’entend toutefois pas d’un titre de créance, selon le cas :
1°  qui prévoit que l’échéance stipulée de la créance ou qu’une obligation de paiement de l’émetteur est déterminée, entièrement ou principalement, en fonction du rendement d’une valeur mobilière d’une institution de dépôts faisant partie du groupe coopératif;
2°  dont le paiement s’effectue en espèces et qui comporte chacune des caractéristiques suivantes :
a)  le rendement indiqué est déterminé par un taux d’intérêt fixe ou flottant, ou par un écart fixe supérieur ou inférieur à un tel taux, que le rendement soit ou non assujetti à un taux d’intérêt minimum, ou que le taux d’intérêt change ou non entre fixe et flottant;
b)  aucune autre modalité n’a d’effet sur l’échéance stipulée ou sur le rendement de la créance, à l’exception du droit de rachat de l’émetteur ou du droit du porteur ou de l’émetteur de proroger l’échéance du titre de créance.
2019-03A.M. 2019-03, a. 4.
CHAPITRE II
ÉMISSION DE CRÉANCES VISÉES ET DE PARTS
2019-03, c. IIA.M. 2019-03, c. II.
5. L’institution de dépôts faisant partie d’un groupe coopératif doit, lorsqu’elle émet une créance visée, prévoir expressément dans les modalités qui la gouvernent, que :
1°  le porteur du titre qui la représente est lié, à l’égard de cette créance, par la Loi sur les institutions de dépôts et la protection des dépôts (chapitre A-26), notamment par les dispositions relatives aux pouvoirs conférés à l’Autorité des marchés financiers en vertu du deuxième alinéa de l’article 40.50 de cette loi et par ses effets sur cette créance, ainsi que par les autres lois applicables au Québec relativement à l’application de cette loi à cette créance;
2°  le porteur du titre qui la représente reconnaît la compétence des tribunaux du Québec et, le cas échéant du Canada, quant à l’application de la Loi sur les institutions de dépôts et la protection des dépôts ainsi que des autres lois qui sont applicables au Québec;
3°  les éléments mentionnés aux paragraphes 1° et 2° lient le porteur du titre qui la représente malgré toute modalité de la créance visée, toute autre loi régissant cette créance et tout accord, arrangement ou entente conclu entre les parties relativement à celle-ci.
2019-03A.M. 2019-03, a. 5.
6. Le prospectus, la circulaire d’information, l’offre ou un autre document semblable relatif à une créance visée ou une part, à l’exception d’une part de qualification, émise par une institution de dépôts faisant partie d’un groupe coopératif doit, selon le cas, comporter les renseignements suivants :
1°  la mention expresse que la part ainsi émise est sujette aux pouvoirs de l’Autorité en vertu du premier alinéa de l’article 40.50 de la Loi sur les institutions de dépôts et la protection des dépôts (chapitre A-26) et leur description;
2°  la mention expresse que la créance visée ainsi émise est sujette aux pouvoirs de l’Autorité en vertu du deuxième alinéa de cet article et leur description.
Outre les renseignements prévus au premier alinéa, un tel document doit comporter, en la reproduisant intégralement ou en l’intégrant par renvoi, la mention suivante :
« Mesures d’annulation, de radiation et de conversion
Advenant la résolution d’un groupe coopératif, l’Autorité des marchés financiers peut exercer plusieurs pouvoirs, notamment ceux qui lui sont conférés par l’article 40.50 de la Loi sur les institutions de dépôts et la protection des dépôts (chapitre A-26).
L’Autorité des marchés financiers est responsable des opérations de résolution. Conformément à l’article 40.9 de cette loi, ces opérations ont pour objectif d’assurer la pérennité des activités d’institution de dépôt d’un groupe coopératif, malgré sa défaillance, sans recours aux fonds publics.
En fonction des circonstances et de la situation, l’Autorité des marchés financiers fera de son mieux, au moment de l’exercice des pouvoirs qui lui sont conférés par l’article 40.50 de cette loi, pour permettre un traitement équitable entre les détenteurs de créances et parts visés par cet article. À cet égard, des mesures comme les suivantes pourraient être appliquées le cas échéant par l’Autorité des marchés financiers :
1° respecter le rang respectif des créances et parts visées par l’article 40.50 de la Loi sur les institutions de dépôts et la protection des dépôts (chapitre A-26) qui sont alors toujours existantes, lequel pourrait être établi comme si le groupe coopératif faisait l’objet d’une fusion-liquidation conformément aux dispositions du chapitre XIII.1 de la Loi sur les coopératives de services financiers (chapitre C-67.3);
2° veiller à ce que ces créances et parts bénéficient d’un traitement proportionnel lorsqu’elles sont de même rang;
3° veiller à ce qu’un instrument visé par les pouvoirs de l’article 40.50 de la Loi sur les institutions de dépôts et la protection des dépôts (chapitre A-26) bénéficie d’un traitement plus avantageux qu’un autre instrument visé par ces pouvoirs qui possède un rang qui lui est subordonné. ».
2019-03A.M. 2019-03, a. 6.
7. L’institution de dépôts faisant partie d’un groupe coopératif ne peut, à l’égard des créances visées, faire usage du terme « dépôt » ni de l’une de ses variantes pour en faire la promotion ou la publicité, notamment en ce qui a trait aux noms qui leur sont attribués.
2019-03A.M. 2019-03, a. 7.
CHAPITRE III
DISPOSITIONS TRANSITOIRES ET FINALES
2019-03, c. IIIA.M. 2019-03, c. III.
8. Le présent règlement doit, pour la période du 31 mars 2019 au 12 juin 2019, se lire en y apportant les modifications suivantes :
1°  à l’article 1, en y remplaçant, dans ce qui précède le paragraphe 1, « institution de dépôts » par « institution inscrite »;
2°  aux articles 1, 2 et 3, en y remplaçant « Loi sur les institutions de dépôts et la protection des dépôts » par « Loi sur l’assurance-dépôts »;
3°  au paragraphe 4 de l’article 3 et au paragraphe 1 du deuxième alinéa de l’article 4, en y remplaçant, « institution de dépôts » par « institution inscrite »;
4°  à l’article 5 :
a)  en y remplaçant, dans ce qui précède le paragraphe 1, « institution de dépôts » par « institution inscrite »;
b)  en y remplaçant, dans les paragraphes 1 et 2, « Loi sur les institutions de dépôts et la protection des dépôts » par « Loi sur l’assurance-dépôts »;
5°  à l’article 6 :
a)  en y remplaçant, dans ce qui précède le paragraphe 1, « institution de dépôts » par « institution inscrite »;
b)  en y remplaçant, dans le paragraphe 1, « Loi sur les institutions de dépôts et la protection des dépôts » par « Loi sur l’assurance-dépôts »;
c)  en y remplaçant la mention prévue au deuxième alinéa par la suivante :
« Mesures d’annulation, de radiation et de conversion
Advenant la résolution d’un groupe coopératif, l’Autorité des marchés financiers peut exercer plusieurs pouvoirs, notamment ceux qui lui sont conférés par l’article 40.50 de la Loi sur l’assurance-dépôts (chapitre A-26), dont le titre sera modifié par Loi sur les institutions de dépôts et la protection des dépôts (chapitre A-26) à compter du 13 juin 2019.
L’Autorité des marchés financiers est responsable des opérations de résolution. Conformément à l’article 40.9 de cette loi, ces opérations ont pour objectif d’assurer la pérennité des activités d’institution de dépôt d’un groupe coopératif, malgré sa défaillance, sans recours aux fonds publics.
En fonction des circonstances et de la situation, l’Autorité des marchés financiers fera de son mieux, au moment de l’exercice des pouvoirs qui lui sont conférés par l’article 40.50 de cette loi, pour permettre un traitement équitable entre les détenteurs de créances et parts visés par cet article. À cet égard, des mesures comme les suivantes pourraient être appliquées le cas échéant par l’Autorité des marchés financiers :
1° respecter le rang respectif des créances et parts visées par l’article 40.50 de la Loi sur l’assurance-dépôts (chapitre A-26) qui sont alors toujours existantes, lequel pourrait être établi comme si le groupe coopératif faisait l’objet d’une fusion-liquidation conformément aux dispositions du chapitre XIII.1 de la Loi sur les coopératives de services financiers (chapitre C-67.3);
2° veiller à ce que ces créances et parts bénéficient d’un traitement proportionnel lorsqu’elles sont de même rang;
3° veiller à ce qu’un instrument visé par les pouvoirs de l’article 40.50 de la Loi sur l’assurance-dépôts (chapitre A-26) bénéficie d’un traitement plus avantageux qu’un autre instrument visé par ces pouvoirs qui possède un rang qui lui est subordonné. ».
6°  à l’article 7, en y remplaçant « institution de dépôts » par « institution inscrite ».
2019-03A.M. 2019-03, a. 8.
9. (Omis).
2019-03A.M. 2019-03, a. 9.
RÉFÉRENCES
A.M. 2019-03, 2019 G.O. 2, 849