A-23, r. 2 - Ordre des arpenteurs-géomètres du Québec Liability Insurance Regulation

Full text
chapter A-23, r. 2
Ordre des arpenteurs-géomètres du Québec Liability Insurance Regulation
LAND SURVEYORS — LIABILITY INSURANCE
Land Surveyors Act
(chapter A-23, s. 4)
A-23
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 93, par. d)
C-26
September 1 2012
Replaced, Décision 2012-02-09, 2012 G.O. 2, 915; eff. 2012-04-01; see c. A-23, r. 1.1
DIVISION I
DEFINITIONS
1. In this Regulation, unless the context indicates otherwise:
“insurer” means the one who issues or proposes to issue an insurance contract, collects premiums under such a contract and undertakes to pay insurance benefits;
“associate member” means any land surveyor who, while not engaged in professional practice, is enrolled in the Ordre des arpenteurs-géomètres du Québec (Order);
“retired” means any person who has stopped practising the profession of land surveyor and is no longer on the roll of the Order; and
“claim” means one or more claims resulting from the same event or set of circumstances at the time professional advice or services were rendered or should have been rendered to one or more persons.
O.C. 255-84, s. 1.
DIVISION II
LIABILITY INSURANCE
2. A land surveyor in professional practice on his own account, whether on a part-time or full-time basis, either alone or as member of a partnership and the land surveyor employed in any manner whatsoever by an individual land surveyor, a partnership, a joint-stock company or a company in which the Government is not majority shareholder must hold and keep in force liability insurance that covers professional fault and negligence by subscribing to the group insurance plan taken out by the Order.
O.C. 255-84, s. 2.
3. Any land surveyor not covered by section 2 must file a statement to that effect with the secretary of the Order during the month before the policy renewal date; this statement, as prescribed in Schedule 1, must be written under his oath of office.
O.C. 255-84, s. 3.
4. An insurance contract of the Order must provide for:
(1)  a minimum guarantee of $100,000 for each claim;
(2)  a commitment by the insurer to pay, on behalf of the insured, any amount (except for a group and an individual deductible set by resolution of the board of directors) within the limits of the guarantee that the insured may be legally bound to pay in damages to a third party for a claim submitted during the guarantee period arising from professional advice or services that were rendered or should have been rendered by the insured or his agent in the performance of duty;
(3)  a clause under which the guarantee applies to services rendered or omitted before the insurance contract came into force, up to the end of the guarantee period and extends to all land surveyors, except for those not covered by section 2, enrolled in the Order, including deceased and retired members, providing that they were or should have been eligible for the protection offered by the policy on the date of death or retirement.
However, deceased, associate and retired members, as well as those not in professional practice under the terms set forth in section 2 but who had previously practised under these terms, are considered insured only for claims arising from professional services that were rendered or should have been rendered when practising according to the terms of section 2 and covered by the said policy or would have been if it had been in force;
(4)  a commitment by the insurer to institute legal proceedings on behalf of the insured and assume his defense in any lawsuit brought against him before a civil court; in addition to the amount prescribed in paragraph 1 above, the costs of a lawsuit brought against the insured, including his defense as well as any interest on the amount of the guarantee, shall be assumed by the insurer;
(5)  a clause to the effect that the insurer promises to give the Order 90 days’s notice of a cancellation, non-renewal or change to a contract.
O.C. 255-84, s. 4; O.C. 1725-91, s. 1.
DIVISION III
PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY INSURANCE COMMITTEE AND CLAIMS COMMITTEE
5. The board of directors shall form a professional liability insurance committee consisting of a least 5 members including a chair and a secretary.
O.C. 255-84, s. 5.
6. The committee shall hold its meetings at the time and place the chair decides. Three members constitute a quorum.
O.C. 255-84, s. 6.
7. The committee may add any person it requires to carry out its mandate as long as this entails no professional expense for the Order. Where expenses are involved, the prior approval of the executive committee must be obtained.
O.C. 255-84, s. 7.
8. The purpose of the professional liability insurance committee is:
(1)  to represent the board of directors and members of the Order in dealings with the insurer and the broker concerning all group insurance plan matters, especially negotiations, changes, implementation and control;
(2)  to put together a file and gather data on each claim;
(3)  to see that the insurer abides by all terms of the insurance contract and that this Regulation is applied in its entirety by both the insurer and insured;
(4)  to make any general recommendation to the board of directors about compliance with this Regulation and any Order regulation where it affects this Regulation;
(5)  to suggest means of preventing and reducing accidents for the better protection of the public.
O.C. 255-84, s. 8.
9. Where a majority of committee members have serious grounds for believing that failure to observe a standard of practice prescribed by Order regulation was the cause of an accident, the committee chair must so advise the board of directors.
O.C. 255-84, s. 9.
10. The board of directors shall form a claims committee and decide on its membership, mandate and operating procedures.
O.C. 255-84, s. 10.
11. (Omitted).
O.C. 255-84, s. 11.
12. (Omitted).
O.C. 255-84, s. 12.
SCHEDULE 1
(s. 3)
EXEMPTION STATEMENT
I, the undersigned ______________________________, land surveyor,(registration number ____________________ ) declare, under my oath of office, that I am exempt from subscribing to the group insurance plan of the Order for one of the following reasons:
(1) I am not in professional practice on my own account, either on a part-time or a full-time basis, alone or as member of a partnership, nor am I employed in any manner whatsoever by an individual land surveyor, a partnership, a joint-stock company or a company in which the Government is not majority shareholder: I practice my profession exclusively for ______________________________;
and outside the framework of such employment I do none of the tasks mentioned in section 34 of the Land Surveyors Act (chapter A-23), namely:
(a) the surveying of land, the taking of measurements for boundary purposes; the drawing of boundaries, mapping, the drawing up of all types of maps, minutes, reports, territorial descriptions, certificates of localization as well as all documents and operations made by direct, photogrammetric, electronic or other methods connected in any way with the fixing of boundaries, the laying out of lots, establishing the seat of servitudes, the staking of lots and the scaling of lakes, rivers and other bodies of water in Québec, with calculating the area of public and private property, all cadastral operations, or compiling of lots or parts thereof and cartographic description of territory for the aforesaid purposes;
(b) establishing and updating a skeletal map of geodetic points to any degree of precision and the defining of photogrammetric controls for purposes listed in paragraph a;
(2) I am enrolled as member of the Ordre des arpenteurs-géomètres du Québec and under no circumstances whatsoever do I carry out any of the tasks mentioned in section 34 of the Land Surveyors Act. I agree not to perform any of the said tasks, and, outside the employment framework to which paragraph 1 refers, not to sign or certify, within the meaning of section 36 of the Land Surveyors Act, any document connected with land surveying or an operation defined in section 34 of the said Act.
I also promise to immediately advise the Ordre if I begin to practise professionally under any of the terms prescribed by section 2 of this Regulation and to subscribe to the group insurance plan.
DATE ___________________________________ ___________________________________
Signature
O.C. 255-84, Sch. 1.
REFERENCES
O.C. 255-84, 1984 G.O. 2, 1081
O.C. 1725-91, 1991 G.O. 2, 5012
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, ss. 212

A-23, r. 2 - Règlement sur l’assurance responsabilité de l’Ordre des arpenteurs-géomètres du Québec

Texte complet
chapitre A-23, r. 2
Règlement sur l’assurance responsabilité de l’Ordre des arpenteurs-géomètres du Québec
ARPENTEURS-GÉOMÈTRES — ASSURANCE-RESPONSABILITÉ
Loi sur les arpenteurs-géomètres
(chapitre A-23, a. 4)
A-23
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. d)
C-26
1er septembre 2012
Remplacé, Décision 2012-02-09, 2012 G.O. 2, 915; eff. 2012-04-01; voir c. A-23, r. 1.1
SECTION I
DÉFINITIONS
1. Dans le présent règlement, à moins que le contexte n’indique un sens différent, on entend par:
«assureur»: quiconque émet un contrat d’assurance ou s’engage à en émettre un, touche des primes en vertu d’un tel contrat et s’engage à payer des prestations d’assurance;
«membre associé»: tout arpenteur-géomètre qui, sans exercer sa profession, est inscrit au tableau de l’Ordre des arpenteurs-géomètres du Québec;
«retraité»: toute personne qui a cessé d’exercer sa profession comme arpenteur-géomètre et qui n’est plus inscrit au tableau de l’Ordre;
«sinistre»: une ou plusieurs réclamations résultant de la même circonstance ou du même événement, à l’occasion de services, de conseils ou d’avis professionnels rendus ou qui auraient dû être rendus à une ou plusieurs personnes.
D. 255-84, a. 1.
SECTION II
ASSURANCE RESPONSABILITÉ
2. L’arpenteur-géomètre qui exerce sa profession à son propre compte, à temps partiel ou à temps plein, soit seul, soit à titre de membre d’une société, ainsi que l’arpenteur-géomètre employé de quelque façon que ce soit d’un tel arpenteur-géomètre, d’une société, d’une société par actions ou d’une compagnie non détenue majoritairement par l’État, doit détenir et maintenir en vigueur une assurance responsabilité couvrant les fautes ou négligences commises dans l’exercice de sa profession, en adhérant au régime d’assurance collectif contracté par l’Ordre.
D. 255-84, a. 2.
3. L’arpenteur-géomètre qui n’est pas visé par l’article 2, doit fournir une attestation à cet effet, au secrétaire de l’Ordre, dans le mois qui précède la date de renouvellement de la police; cette attestation doit être rédigée sous son serment d’office, conformément à l’annexe 1.
D. 255-84, a. 3.
4. Le contrat d’assurance de l’Ordre doit prévoir:
1°  un montant minimal de garantie de 100 000 $ par sinistre;
2°  l’engagement par l’assureur de payer au lieu et place de l’assuré, dans le cadre des limites de la garantie, tout montant (à l’exception d’une franchise de groupe et d’une franchise individuelle fixées par résolution du Conseil d’administration) que l’assuré peut légalement être tenu de payer à un tiers à titre de dommages-intérêts relativement à une réclamation présentée pendant la période couverte par la garantie et résultant de services, de conseils ou d’avis professionnels rendus ou qui auraient dû être rendus par l’assuré ou ses préposés dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions;
3°  que la garantie s’étend aux services rendus ou à l’omission de rendre des services avant l’entrée en vigueur du contrat d’assurance jusqu’à l’expiration de la période de garantie, et couvre, à l’exception de l’arpenteur-géomètre qui n’est pas visé par l’article 2, tout arpenteur-géomètre inscrit au tableau de l’Ordre y compris les membres décédés et les retraités pour autant qu’à la date du décès ou de la retraite, ces membres, étaient ou auraient été admissibles à la protection accordée par la police.
Toutefois, les membres décédés, les membres associés et les retraités ainsi que les membres qui à la date du renouvellement de la police n’exercent pas dans les circonstances prévues à l’article 2 mais qui ont déjà exercé dans ces circonstances avant cette date, ne sont considérés assurés que pour les réclamations résultant de services professionnels rendus ou qui auraient dû être rendus alors qu’ils exerçaient dans les circonstances de l’article 2 et étaient assurés en vertu de cette police d’assurance ou l’auraient été si celle-ci avait été en vigueur;
4°  que l’assureur s’engage à prendre fait et cause pour l’assuré et à assumer sa défense dans toute action intentée contre lui devant un tribunal d’une juridiction civile; les frais et dépens des poursuites contre l’assuré, y compris ceux de la défense et les intérêts sur le montant de la garantie, sont à la charge de l’assureur en plus des montants prévus au paragraphe 1;
5°  une stipulation à l’effet que l’assureur s’engage à donner à l’Ordre un avis de 90 jours de la résiliation, du non-renouvellement ou d’une modification du contrat.
D. 255-84, a. 4; D. 1725-91, a. 1.
SECTION III
COMITÉ D’ASSURANCE RESPONSABILITÉ PROFESSIONNELLE ET COMITÉ DE SINISTRE
5. Le Conseil d’administration forme un comité d’assurance responsabilité professionnelle composé d’au moins 5 membres dont un président et un secrétaire.
D. 255-84, a. 5.
6. Le comité tient ses séances aux dates, heures et lieux que détermine son président. Le quorum du comité est de 3 membres.
D. 255-84, a. 6.
7. Le comité peut s’adjoindre toute personne jugée nécessaire pour l’exécution de son mandat pourvu que cela n’entraîne pas de frais professionnels pour l’Ordre. Dans le cas contraire, il doit obtenir l’autorisation préalable du comité exécutif.
D. 255-84, a. 7.
8. Le comité a pour objets:
1°  de servir d’interlocuteur du Conseil d’administration et des membres auprès du courtier et de l’assureur pour tout ce qui concerne le régime d’assurance collectif, en particulier sa négociation, sa modification, sa mise en vigueur, sa surveillance;
2°  de constituer un dossier et rassembler des donnés relativement à tout sinistre;
3°  de veiller au respect par l’assurer de tous les termes du contrat d’assurance et à l’application intégrale du présent règlement tant par l’assureur que par l’assuré;
4°  de faire toute recommandation générale au Conseil d’administration sur l’observance du présent règlement, et s’il y a lieu sur l’observance d’un règlement de l’Ordre pour autant qu’il affecte l’application du présent règlement;
5°  d’aviser de tout moyen à prendre pour prévenir et réduire les sinistres pour mieux protéger le public.
D. 255-84, a. 8.
9. Lorsque la majorité des membres du comité a des motifs sérieux de croire qu’un sinistre a été causé par l’inobservance d’une norme de pratique édictée par règlement de l’ordre, le président du comité est tenu d’en aviser le Conseil d’administration.
D. 255-84, a. 9.
10. Le Conseil d’administration forme un comité de sinistre; il fixe le nombre de ses membres et détermine son mandat de même que les mécanismes de son fonctionnement.
D. 255-84, a. 10.
11. (Omis).
D. 255-84, a. 11.
12. (Omis).
D. 255-84, a. 12.
ANNEXE 1
(a. 3)
ATTESTATION D’EXEMPTION
Je soussigné ______________________________, ______________________________ arpenteur-géomètre, numéro d’immatriculation ______________________________, déclare, sous la foi de mon serment d’office, que je suis exempté d’adhérer au régime d’assurance collectif de l’Ordre pour l’une des raisons suivantes:
1. Je n’exerce pas ma profession à mon propre compte, à temps partiel ou à temps plein, soit seul, soit à titre de membre d’une société, ni ne suis employé de quelque façon que ce soit d’un arpenteur-géomètre, d’une société, d’une société par action ou d’une compagnie non détenue majoritairement par l’État; je suis au service exclusif de _______________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________________;
et ne pose pas en dehors du cadre de cet emploi l’un des actes mentionnés à l’article 34 de la Loi sur les arpenteurs-géomètres (chapitre A-23), à savoir:
a) tous arpentages de terrains, mesurages aux fins de borner, bornages, levés de plans, toutes confections de plans, procès-verbaux, de rapports, de descriptions techniques de territoires, de certificats de localisation et de tous documents ainsi que toutes opérations faites par méthode directe, photogrammétrique, électronique ou autres se rapportant de quelque manière que ce soit au bornage, lotissement, établissement d’assiette de servitude, piquetage de lots, et relevés de lacs, rivières, fleuves et autres eaux du Québec, aux calculs de superficies de propriétés publiques et privés, à toutes les opérations cadastrales ou aux compilations de lots ou de parties de lots, ainsi qu’à la représentation cartographique de territoire aux fins susdites;
b) l’établissement et la tenue à jour du canevas des points géodésiques de tout ordre de précision et l’établissement des contrôles photogrammétriques aux fins des travaux énumérés au paragraphe a;
2. Je suis inscrit au tableau de l’Ordre des arpenteurs-géomètres du Québec et ne pose en aucune circonstance l’un des actes mentionnés à l’article 34 de la Loi sur les arpenteurs-géomètres. Je m’engage à ne pas poser l’un des actes précités et à ne pas signer ou certifier, au sens de l’article 36 de la Loi sur les arpenteurs-géomètres, en dehors du cadre de l’emploi mentionné au paragraphe 1, tout document quelconque se rapportant à un arpentage ou à une opération définie à l’article 34 de cette Loi.
Je m’engage également à avertir immédiatement l’Ordre et à adhérer au régime d’assurance collectif si je commence à exercer suivant l’une des circonstances prévues à l’article 2 du présent règlement.
DATE ___________________________________ ___________________________________
(signature)
D. 255-84, Ann. 1.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 255-84, 1984 G.O. 2, 1199
D. 1725-91, 1991 G.O. 2, 7170
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212