A-21, r. 4 - Regulation respecting the cessation of practice of a member of the Ordre des architectes du Québec

Table of contents
Full text
chapter A-21, r. 4
Regulation respecting the cessation of practice of a member of the Ordre des architectes du Québec
ARCHITECTS — CESSATION OF PRACTICE
Architects Act
(chapter A-21, s. 3)
A-21
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 91)
C-26
September 1 2012
DIVISION I
SCOPE
1. This Regulation applies to the disposal of the records, books, registers, products, substances, apparatus and equipment of a member of the Ordre des architectes du Québec who ceases to practise.
Notwithstanding the foregoing, this Regulation does not apply to a member who is employed by a natural person, a legal person, a partnership or a government and who ceases to practise.
O.C. 1354-93, s. 1.
2. An architect, a Québec university, Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec or, subject to approval by the board of directors, any other person or organization may act as a transferee of the items referred to in section 1 for an architect who permanently ceases to practise.
O.C. 1354-93, s. 2.
DIVISION II
PERMANENT CESSATION OF PRACTICE
3. A member who decides to permanently cease to practise shall, within 30 days before the date on which the cessation is to take effect, notify the secretary by registered mail of the date of cessation and of the name, address and telephone number of the transferee of the items referred to in section 1, and shall send a copy of the transfer agreement to the secretary.
Where the member has not been able to arrange for a transfer, the notice to the secretary shall indicate the date on which the member will hand over the items referred to in section 1 to the secretary.
O.C. 1354-93, s. 3.
4. Where a member dies or is permanently struck off the roll, or where a member’s permit is revoked, the secretary shall take possession of the items referred to in section 1 within 30 days following the event, unless the member had arranged for a transfer, a copy of which shall be sent by the member to the secretary within the same time.
O.C. 1354-93, s. 4.
5. Where a transfer had been arranged for but cannot be carried out, the secretary shall take possession of the items referred to in section 1.
O.C. 1354-93, s. 5.
6. Where a member permanently ceases to practise, the transferee or the secretary, as the case may be, shall, within 30 days following the date on which the transferee or secretary takes possession of the items referred to in section 1,
(1)  have a notice published twice, at a 10-day interval, in a newspaper serving the region in which the member practised; the notice shall state
(a)  the date of taking of possession and the reasons therefor;
(b)  the time that clients have to accept the transfer, to take back from the records the items that belong to them or to request that the items be transferred to another professional; and
(c)  the address and telephone number of the transferee or the secretary and the office hours during which that person can be reached; or
(2)  send a notice in writing to each client of the member who has ceased to practise, stating the information prescribed in subparagraph 1.
Where the notice has been published, a notice in writing stating the information prescribed in subparagraph 1 shall also be sent to any client whose interests so warrant.
Where the notice is sent by the transferee, a copy shall likewise be sent to the secretary.
O.C. 1354-93, s. 6.
7. Where a transferee or the secretary is in possession of the items referred to in section 1, that person shall take the necessary measures to safeguard the interests of the member’s clients.
O.C. 1354-93, s. 7.
8. A transferee or the secretary, as the case may be, shall respect a person’s right to consult and obtain copies of documents concerning the person and contained in a record made in the person’s regard.
O.C. 1354-93, s. 8.
9. Where a transferee or the secretary takes possession of the items referred to in section 1, that person shall keep the items for a period of not less than 5 years. Furthermore, the transferee or the secretary shall remit any sums collected as royalties on the plans to the architect, who signed and sealed the plans, or to the architect’s heirs and successors.
During that period, the secretary may transfer the items referred to in section 1 to a transferee, in which case the transferee is bound by the requirements of section 6.
For the purposes of this section, the conservation period begins on the date of the final service rendered by the architect, or, if the project has been completed, on the date of completion of the work.
O.C. 1354-93, s. 9.
DIVISION III
TEMPORARY CESSATION OF PRACTICE
10. A member who decides to temporarily cease to practise shall, within 15 days before the date on which the cessation is to take effect, notify the secretary by registered mail of the date of cessation, of the name, address and telephone number of the member who has agreed to be the provisional custodian of the items referred to in section 1, and shall send a copy of the provisional custodianship agreement to the secretary.
Where the member has not been able to arrange for provisional custodianship, the member shall so inform the secretary, who shall then notify the member of the date on which the secretary or the provisional custodian appointed for that purpose by the board of directors will take possession of the items referred to in section 1.
O.C. 1354-93, s. 10.
11. In the case of a member temporarily struck off the roll or under permit suspension, the secretary shall take possession of the items referred to in section 1 within 15 days of the event, unless the member had arranged for provisional custodianship, a copy of which shall be sent by the member to the secretary within the same time.
Where the member has not been able to arrange for provisional custodianship within that time, the secretary shall take possession of the items referred to in section 1, unless a provisional custodian has been appointed for that purpose by the board of directors.
O.C. 1354-93, s. 11.
12. Where provisional custodianship has been arranged for but cannot be carried out, the secretary shall take possession of the items referred to in section 1.
O.C. 1354-93, s. 12.
13. Sections 7 and 8 apply to a provisional custodian or to the secretary where that person takes possession of the items referred to in section 1 pursuant to this Division.
O.C. 1354-93, s. 13.
14. Where a member is temporarily struck off the roll or is under practice suspension for at least 6 months, the provisional custodian or the secretary is bound by the requirements of section 6.
O.C. 1354-93, s. 14.
15. Where the secretary is the provisional custodian of an architect’s records, the secretary shall remit any sums collected as royalties on the plans signed and sealed by the architect, to the architect.
O.C. 1354-93, s. 15.
16. The secretary or the provisional custodian, as the case may be, shall remit the records to the architect immediately following the termination of the temporary cessation of practice.
O.C. 1354-93, s. 16.
17. Sections 3 to 9 apply to an architect who no longer wishes to practise during or after the expiry of the period during which he temporarily ceased to practise.
O.C. 1354-93, s. 17.
DIVISION IV
RESTRICTION OF THE RIGHT TO PRACTISE
18. Where a decision is made against a member restricting the member’s right to practise and determining the professional acts that the member is not authorized to perform, the member shall find a provisional custodian within 15 days of the date on which the restriction is to take effect for the items referred to in section 1 that relate to such unauthorized acts.
Where the member has not been able to arrange for provisional custodianship within that time, the provisional custodian appointed for that purpose by the board of directors or the secretary shall take possession of the items referred to in section 1 that relate to such unauthorized acts.
O.C. 1354-93, s. 18.
19. Sections 7 and 8 apply to a provisional custodian or to the secretary where that person takes possession of the items referred to in section 1 pursuant to this Division.
O.C. 1354-93, s. 19.
20. Where the restriction of the right to practise is for a period of at least 6 months, the secretary or the provisional custodian is bound by the requirements of section 6.
O.C. 1354-93, s. 20.
21. This Regulation replaces the Regulation respecting the records of an architect who ceases to practise (R.R.Q., 1981, c. A-21, r. 5).
O.C. 1354-93, s. 21.
22. (Omitted).
O.C. 1354-93, s. 22.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1354-93, 1993 G.O. 2, 5375
S.Q. 2004, c. 25, s. 70
S.Q. 2008, c. 11, s. 212

A-21, r. 4 - Règlement sur la cessation d’exercice d’un membre de l’Ordre des architectes du Québec

Texte complet
chapitre A-21, r. 4
Règlement sur la cessation d’exercice d’un membre de l’Ordre des architectes du Québec
ARCHITECTES — CESSATION D’EXERCICE
Loi sur les architectes
(chapitre A-21, a. 3)
A-21
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 91)
C-26
1er septembre 2012
SECTION I
CHAMP D’APPLICATION
1. Le présent règlement s’applique à la disposition des dossiers, livres et registres tenus et des produits, substances, appareils et équipements détenus par un membre de l’Ordre des architectes du Québec qui cesse d’exercer sa profession.
Toutefois, le présent règlement ne s’applique pas à un membre qui cesse d’exercer sa profession alors qu’il est employé d’une personne physique ou morale, d’une société ou d’un gouvernement.
D. 1354-93, a. 1.
2. Un architecte, une université québécoise, Bibliothèque et Archives nationales du Québec ou, sur approbation du Conseil d’administration, toute autre personne ou organisme peuvent agir comme cessionnaires des éléments visés à l’article 1 d’un architecte cessant définitivement d’exercer.
D. 1354-93, a. 2.
SECTION II
CESSATION DÉFINITIVE D’EXERCICE
3. Lorsqu’un membre décide de cesser définitivement d’exercer sa profession, il doit dans les 30 jours de la date prévue pour la cessation d’exercice, aviser le secrétaire, par poste recommandée, de la date de cessation, des nom, adresse et numéro de téléphone du cessionnaire des éléments visés à l’article 1 et transmettre au secrétaire une copie de la convention de cession.
Si le membre n’a pu convenir d’une cession, l’avis au secrétaire doit alors indiquer la date à laquelle il le mettra en possession des éléments visés à l’article 1.
D. 1354-93, a. 3; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
4. Lorsqu’un membre décède, est radié de façon permanente ou que son permis est révoqué, le secrétaire prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1 dans les 30 jours suivant la survenance de l’une de ces éventualités, sauf si le membre avait convenu d’une cession dont copie doit être transmise au secrétaire dans le même délai.
D. 1354-93, a. 4.
5. Dans les cas où une cession avait été convenue et qu’elle ne peut être exécutée, le secrétaire prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1.
D. 1354-93, a. 5.
6. Dans le cas d’une cessation définitive d’exercice, le cessionnaire ou le secrétaire, selon le cas, doit, dans les 30 jours qui suivent la date où il prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1, donner l’un ou l’autre des avis suivants:
1°  un avis publié 2 fois, à 10 jours d’intervalle, dans un journal desservant la région où exerçait le membre et qui donne les informations suivantes:
a)  la date et le motif de la prise de possession;
b)  le délai que les clients ont pour accepter la cession, reprendre les éléments du dossier qui leur appartiennent, ou en demander le transfert à un autre professionnel;
c)  les adresse, numéro de téléphone et heures de bureau où le cessionnaire ou le secrétaire peut être rejoint;
2°  un avis écrit qui donne à chaque client du membre qui a cessé d’exercer les informations prévues au paragraphe 1.
Lorsque l’avis a été publié et que l’intérêt d’un client le requiert, un avis écrit contenant les informations prévues au paragraphe 1 doit en outre lui être adressé.
Lorsque l’avis est donné par le cessionnaire, il doit en transmettre copie au secrétaire.
D. 1354-93, a. 6.
7. Lorsqu’il est en possession des éléments visés à l’article 1, le cessionnaire ou le secrétaire doit prendre les mesures conservatoires nécessaires afin de sauvegarder les intérêts des clients de ce membre.
D. 1354-93, a. 7.
8. Le cessionnaire ou le secrétaire, selon le cas, doit respecter le droit d’une personne de prendre connaissance des documents qui la concernent dans tout dossier constitué à son sujet et d’obtenir copie de ces documents.
D. 1354-93, a. 8.
9. Le cessionnaire ou le secrétaire qui prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1 doit les conserver pendant une période d’au moins 5 ans. Il doit en outre remettre à l’architecte qui a signé et scellé les plans ou à ses successeurs et ayants cause toute somme perçue à titre de droit d’auteur sur ces plans.
Le secrétaire peut, durant cette période, céder les éléments visés à l’article 1 à un cessionnaire mais ce dernier est alors assujetti aux obligations prévues à l’article 6.
Aux fins du présent article, le délai de conservation commence à courir à compter de la date du dernier service rendu par l’architecte ou, lorsque le projet est réalisé, à partir de la date de la fin des travaux.
D. 1354-93, a. 9.
SECTION III
CESSATION TEMPORAIRE D’EXERCICE
10. Lorsqu’un membre décide de cesser temporairement d’exercer sa profession, il doit, dans les 15 jours de la date prévue pour la cessation d’exercice, aviser le secrétaire, par poste recommandée, de la date et de la durée de la cessation, des nom, adresse et numéro de téléphone du membre qui a accepté d’être le gardien provisoire des éléments visés à l’article 1 et transmettre au secrétaire une copie de la convention de garde provisoire.
Si le membre n’a pu convenir d’une garde provisoire, il en avise le secrétaire. Le secrétaire l’avise alors de la date à laquelle lui ou le gardien provisoire nommé par le Conseil d’administration à cette fin, prendra possession des éléments visés à l’article 1.
D. 1354-93, a. 10; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
11. Lorsqu’un membre est radié de façon temporaire ou que son permis est suspendu, le secrétaire prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1 dans les 15 jours de la survenance de l’une de ces éventualités, sauf si ce membre avait convenu d’une garde provisoire dont il doit transmettre une copie au secrétaire dans le même délai.
Si le membre n’a pu convenir d’une garde provisoire dans ce délai, le secrétaire prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1, à moins qu’un gardien provisoire n’ait été nommé à cette fin par le Conseil d’administration.
D. 1354-93, a. 11.
12. Dans les cas où une garde provisoire avait été convenue et qu’elle ne peut être exécutée, le secrétaire prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1.
D. 1354-93, a. 12.
13. Les articles 7 et 8 s’appliquent au gardien provisoire ou au secrétaire qui prend possession d’éléments visés à l’article 1 conformément à la présente section.
D. 1354-93, a. 13.
14. Dans le cas où la radiation temporaire ou la suspension du droit d’exercice est d’au moins 6 mois, le gardien provisoire ou le secrétaire est alors assujetti aux obligations prévues à l’article 6.
D. 1354-93, a. 14.
15. Lorsque le secrétaire est le gardien provisoire des dossiers d’un architecte, il doit remettre à l’architecte qui a signé et scellé les plans toute somme perçue à titre de droit d’auteur sur ces plans.
D. 1354-93, a. 15.
16. Le secrétaire ou, le cas échéant, le gardien provisoire doit remettre à l’architecte ses dossiers immédiatement après la fin de la période de cessation temporaire d’exercice.
D. 1354-93, a. 16.
17. Les articles 3 à 9 s’appliquent à l’architecte qui ne désire plus reprendre l’exercice de sa profession pendant ou après l’expiration de la période où il avait temporairement cessé d’exercer.
D. 1354-93, a. 17.
SECTION IV
LIMITATION DU DROIT D’EXERCICE
18. Lorsqu’une décision a été rendue contre un membre limitant son droit d’exercice et déterminant les actes professionnels qu’il n’est pas autorisé à poser, celui-ci doit trouver un gardien provisoire dans les 15 jours de prise d’effet de cette limitation pour les éléments visés à l’article 1 relatifs aux actes professionnels qu’il n’est pas autorisé à poser.
Si le membre n’a pu convenir d’une garde provisoire dans ce délai, le gardien provisoire nommé à cette fin par le Conseil d’administration ou le secrétaire prend possession des éléments visés à l’article 1 relatifs aux actes professionnels que le membre n’est pas autorisé à poser.
D. 1354-93, a. 18.
19. Les articles 7 et 8 s’appliquent au gardien provisoire ou au secrétaire qui prend possession d’éléments visés à l’article 1 conformément à la présente section.
D. 1354-93, a. 19.
20. Dans le cas où la limitation du droit d’exercice est d’au moins 6 mois, le secrétaire ou le gardien provisoire est alors assujetti aux obligations prévues à l’article 6.
D. 1354-93, a. 20.
21. Le présent règlement remplace le Règlement sur les dossiers d’un architecte cessant d’exercer (R.R.Q., 1981, c. A-21, r. 5).
D. 1354-93, a. 21.
22. (Omis).
D. 1354-93, a. 22.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1354-93, 1993 G.O. 2, 6948
L.Q. 2004, c. 25, a. 70
L.Q. 2008, c. 11, a. 212