a-12, r. 7.2 - Regulation respecting the practice of agrology within a partnership or a joint-stock company

Table of contents
Full text
chapter A-12, r. 7.2
Regulation respecting the practice of agrology within a partnership or a joint-stock company
AGROLOGY — PRACTICE WITHIN A PARTNERSHIP
Agrologists Act
(chapter A-12, s. 3)
A-12
Professional Code
(chapter C-26, s. 93, pars. g and h, and s. 94, par. p)
C-26
December 31 2015
DIVISION I
TERMS AND CONDITIONS OF PRACTICE
1. An agrologist may carry on professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company within the meaning of Chapter VI.3 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), if
(1)  more than 50% of the voting rights attached to the shares of the partnership or joint-stock company are held by
(a)  at least one agrologist;
(b)  a legal person, trust or any other enterprise whose voting rights attached to the shares or other participation are held wholly by at least one agrologist; or
(c)  both a person, a trust or other enterprise referred to in subparagraphs a and b;
(2)  a majority of the directors of the joint-stock company or, as the case may be, the partners or, where applicable, the managers appointed by the partners to manage the activities of the limited liability partnership are agrologists;
(3)  the quorum at the meetings of the board of directors or, as the case may be, the internal management board is composed of a majority of agrologists; and
(4)  the chair of the board of directors of the joint-stock company or the person who performs similar duties within the limited liability partnership is an agrologist.
An agrologist must ensure that the conditions set out in the first paragraph appear in the articles of constitution of the joint-stock company or are stipulated in the contract constituting the limited liability partnership, in the unanimous shareholders’ agreement or in any other document relating to the constitution and operation of the partnership or joint-stock company. The agrologist must also ensure that it is also provided that the partnership or joint-stock company is constituted for the purposes of carrying on professional activities.
O.C. 1070-2015, s. 1.
2. An agrologist may carry on professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company referred to in Chapter VI.3 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) that does not hold itself out to be a partnership or a joint-stock company of agrologists, if
(1)  more than 50% of the voting rights attached to the shares of the partnership or joint-stock company are held by
(a)  professionals governed by the Professional Code;
(b)  persons who have a legal authorization to practise the profession, issued in another Canadian province or in a Canadian territory;
(c)  a legal person, trust or any other enterprise whose voting rights attached to the shares or other participation are held in majority by one or more persons referred to in subparagraphs a and b; or
(d)  a combination of persons, trusts or any other enterprise referred to in subparagraphs a to c;
(2)  a majority of the directors of the joint-stock company or, as the case may be, the partners or, where applicable, the managers appointed by the partners to manage the activities of the limited liability partnership are in majority persons referred to in subparagraph a or subparagraph b of subparagraph 1; and
(3)  the quorum at the meetings of the board of directors or, as the case may be, the internal management board, is composed of a majority of persons referred to in subparagraph a or subparagraph b of subparagraph 1.
An agrologist must ensure that the conditions set out in the first paragraph appear in the articles of constitution of the joint-stock company or are stipulated in the contract constituting the limited liability partnership, in the unanimous shareholders’ agreement or in any other document relating to the constitution and operation of the partnership or joint-stock company. The agrologist must also ensure that it is also provided that the partnership or joint-stock company is constituted for the purposes of carrying on professional activities.
O.C. 1070-2015, s. 2.
3. An agrologist who becomes aware that a condition set out in section 1 or 2 is no longer met must, within 21 days, make sure that the situation is remedied, failing which the agrologist is no longer authorized to carry on activities within the partnership or joint-stock company.
O.C. 1070-2015, s. 3.
4. An agrologist who is struck off the roll for more than 90 days or whose permit has been revoked may not, during the period of the striking off or revocation, be a director, officer or representative of the partnership or joint-stock company and may not directly or indirectly hold any voting share in the partnership or joint-stock company.
O.C. 1070-2015, s. 4.
5. An agrologist may carry on professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company only after transmitting to the Ordre des agronomes du Québec
(1)  a declaration complying with the provisions of section 6, together with payment of the fees prescribed by the board of directors of the Order;
(2)  a written document from a competent authority certifying that the partnership or joint-stock company complies with the security requirements of Division III;
(3)  where applicable, a certified true copy of the declaration from the competent authority indicating that the general partnership has been continued as a limited liability partnership;
(4)  a written document from a competent authority certifying that the partnership or joint-stock company is registered in Québec;
(5)  a written document from a competent authority certifying that the partnership or joint-stock company maintains an establishment in Québec; and
(6)  a written undertaking by the partnership or joint-stock company to provide to a person, a committee, a disciplinary body or a tribunal referred to in section 192 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26) that requires it any document mentioned in section 13 or a copy of such document, as well as to take the measures necessary to ensure that the document or copy is provided as effectively and as quickly as possible.
O.C. 1070-2015, s. 5.
6. The declaration provided for in paragraph 1 of section 5 or in section 7 must be made on the form provided by the Order and contain
(1)  the name of the partnership or joint-stock company and any other names used in Québec and the business number assigned to it by the competent authority;
(2)  the agrologist’s name and home address, member number and status within the partnership or joint-stock company;
(3)  the legal form of the partnership or joint-stock company;
(4)  in the case of a joint-stock company, the address of its head office and the address of its establishments in Québec, the names and home addresses of the shareholders with voting rights, of the directors and of the officers of the joint-stock company, and the professional order or equivalent body of which they are members, if applicable;
(5)  in the case of a limited liability partnership, the address of its establishments in Québec, specifying the address of the principal establishment, the names and home addresses of the partners and, where applicable, the names and home addresses of the managers appointed by the partners, whether or not they reside in Québec, and the professional order or equivalent body of which they are members, if applicable; and
(6)  an attestation to the effect that the partnership or joint-stock company complies with the conditions set out in this Regulation, in particular those regarding the voting shares held.
O.C. 1070-2015, s. 6.
7. To retain the right to carry on professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company, an agrologist must update and provide the declaration described in section 6 and, where applicable, pay the fees prescribed by the board of directors of the Order, before 31 March of each year.
The agrologist must also inform the Order without delay of any change in the security under Division III or in the information provided in the declaration referred to in the first paragraph or paragraph 1 of section 5 that may affect compliance with the conditions set out in this Regulation.
O.C. 1070-2015, s. 7.
DIVISION II
REPRESENTATIVE
8. If several agrologists carry on their professional activities within the same partnership or joint-stock company, they may designate a representative to act on their behalf in connection with the terms and conditions provided for in sections 5 and 7.
The representative must be an agrologist, carry on professional activities within the partnership or joint-stock company and be a director and, as the case may be, a shareholder or partner of the joint-stock company or partnership.
The representative must ensure the accuracy of the information provided in the declaration, except for the information referred to in paragraph 2 of section 6.
The representative must also reply to every request made by the syndic, an inspector, an investigator or any other representative of the Order and provide any document that agrologists are required to submit.
O.C. 1070-2015, s. 8.
DIVISION III
PROFESSIONAL LIABILITY
9. To be authorized to carry on professional activities within a partnership or joint-stock company in accordance with this Regulation, an agrologist must furnish and maintain security for that partnership or joint-stock company, by an insurance or suretyship contract, by participation in group insurance contracted by the Order or by subscribing to a professional liability insurance fund established in accordance with section 86.1 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26), against the liability that the partnership or joint-stock company may incur as the result of a fault on the part of the agrologist committed while practising within the partnership or joint-stock company.
O.C. 1070-2015, s. 9.
10. The security must include the following minimum conditions:
(1)  coverage of at least $1,000,000 per claim and of at least $3,000,000 for all claims filed against the partnership or joint-stock company during a coverage period of 12 months; the amount must be of at least $4,000,000 when the partnership or joint-stock company has more than 3 agrologists;
(2)  an undertaking by the insurer or surety to pay in lieu of the partnership or joint-stock company, up to the amount of the security, any sum that the partnership or joint-stock company may be legally bound to pay in damages to a third person on a claim filed during the coverage period and arising from fault on the part of the agrologist committed while practising within the partnership or joint-stock company;
(3)  an undertaking by the insurer or surety to take up the cause of the partnership or joint-stock company and defend it in any action against it and to pay, in addition to the amounts covered by the security, all costs and expenses of proceedings against the partnership or joint-stock company, including the costs of the inquiry and defence and the interest on the amount of the security;
(4)  an undertaking by the insurer or surety to extend the security to any claim filed against the partnership or joint-stock company within 5 years following the end of the coverage;
(5)  an undertaking by the insurer or surety to provide the secretary of the Order with a 30-day notice prior to any cancellation or amendment to the security if the amendment affects a condition set out in this section or to any non-renewal of the security.
O.C. 1070-2015, s. 10.
11. The suretyship contract must be entered into with a bank, savings and credit union, trust or insurance company domiciled in Canada. The surety must also maintain sufficient property in Québec to honour the coverage provided for in this Division.
The surety must undertake to provide security in accordance with the conditions of this Division and to pay the amount due on behalf of the partnership or joint-stock company by waiving the benefit of division and discussion, up to the amount of the coverage.
O.C. 1070-2015, s. 11.
DIVISION IV
ADDITIONAL INFORMATION
12. Where a general partnership is continued as a limited liability partnership or where a joint-stock company is constituted, agrologists who carry on professional activities within the partnership or joint-stock company must, on the date of the constitution or continuation, send a notice to their clients informing them of the nature and effects of the status change of the partnership or joint-stock company, in particular with respect to their professional liability and that of the partnership or joint-stock company.
O.C. 1070-2015, s. 12.
13. The documents that may be required from the partnership or joint-stock company pursuant to paragraph 6 of section 5 are the following:
(1)  if the agrologist carries on professional activities within a joint-stock company:
(a)  an up-to-date register of the articles of constitution and by-laws of the joint-stock company;
(b)  any unanimous shareholders’ agreement, voting agreements and amendments;
(c)  the declaration of registration and certificate of constitution of the joint-stock company and any update;
(d)  an up-to-date register of the securities of the joint-stock company;
(e)  an up-to-date register of the directors of the joint-stock company;
(f)  an up-to-date list of the principal officers of the joint-stock company and their home addresses;
(2)  if the agrologist carries on activities within a limited liability partnership:
(a)  the partnership agreement and amendments;
(b)  the declaration of registration of the partnership and any update;
(c)  an up-to-date register of the partners;
(d)  where applicable, an up-to-date register of the managers of the partnership; and
(e)  the names and home addresses of the principal officers of the partnership.
O.C. 1070-2015, s. 13.
DIVISION V
TRANSITIONAL AND FINAL
14. An agrologist carrying on professional activities within a joint-stock company constituted for that purpose before 31 december 2015 must comply with the requirements set out in this Regulation at the latest within 1 year following that date.
O.C. 1070-2015, s. 14.
15. (Omitted).
O.C. 1070-2015, s. 15.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1070-2015, 2015 G.O. 2, 3267

A-12, r. 7.2 - Règlement sur l’exercice de la profession d’agronome en société

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre A-12, r. 7.2
Règlement sur l’exercice de la profession d’agronome en société
AGRONOMES — EXERCICE EN SOCIÉTÉ
Loi sur les agronomes
(chapitre A-12, a. 3)
A-12
Code des professions
(chapitre C-26, a. 93, par. g et h et a. 94, par. p)
C-26
31 décembre 2015
SECTION I
CONDITIONS ET MODALITÉS D’EXERCICE
1. Un agronome est autorisé à exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société visée au chapitre VI.3 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) si les conditions suivantes sont respectées:
1°  plus de 50% des droits de vote rattachés aux actions ou aux parts sociales de la société sont détenus:
a)  soit par au moins un agronome;
b)  soit par une personne morale, une fiducie ou toute autre entreprise dont les droits de vote rattachés aux actions, aux parts sociales ou aux autres titres de participation sont détenus en totalité par au moins un agronome;
c)  soit à la fois par une personne, une fiducie ou toute autre entreprise visée aux sous-paragraphes a et b;
2°  les administrateurs de la société par actions ou, selon le cas, les associés ou, le cas échéant, les administrateurs nommés par les associés pour gérer les affaires de la société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée sont en majorité des agronomes;
3°  le quorum aux réunions du conseil d’administration ou, selon le cas, du conseil de gestion interne est constitué d’une majorité d’agronomes;
4°  le président du conseil d’administration de la société par actions ou la personne qui exerce des fonctions similaires dans une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée est un agronome.
L’agronome doit s’assurer que les conditions énoncées au premier alinéa sont, selon le cas, inscrites dans les statuts de constitution de la société par actions ou stipulées dans le contrat de constitution de la société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée, dans la convention unanime entre actionnaires ou dans tout autre document relatif à la constitution et au fonctionnement de la société. Il doit également s’assurer qu’il y est aussi, selon le cas, inscrit ou stipulé que cette société est constituée aux fins d’exercer des activités professionnelles.
D. 1070-2015, a. 1.
2. Un agronome peut exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société visée au chapitre VI.3 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) qui ne se présente pas comme une société d’agronomes si les conditions suivantes sont respectées:
1°  plus de 50% des droits de vote rattachés aux actions ou aux parts sociales de la société sont détenus:
a)  soit par des professionnels régis par le Code des professions;
b)  soit par des personnes qui sont titulaires d’une autorisation légale d’exercer la profession délivrée dans une autre province canadienne ou dans un territoire canadien;
c)  soit par une personne morale, une fiducie ou toute autre entreprise dont les droits de vote rattachés aux actions, aux parts sociales ou aux autres titres de participation sont détenus en majorité par une ou plusieurs personnes visées aux sous-paragraphes a et b;
d)  soit à la fois par des personnes, des fiducies ou toute autre entreprise visées aux sous-paragraphes a à c;
2°  les administrateurs de la société par actions ou, selon le cas, les associés ou, le cas échéant, les administrateurs nommés par les associés pour gérer les affaires de la société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée sont en majorité des personnes visées au sous-paragraphe a ou au sous-paragraphe b du paragraphe 1;
3°  le quorum aux réunions du conseil d’administration ou, selon le cas, du conseil de gestion interne est constitué d’une majorité de personnes visées au sous-paragraphe a ou au sous-paragraphe b du paragraphe 1.
L’agronome doit s’assurer que les conditions énoncées au premier alinéa sont, selon le cas, inscrites dans les statuts de constitution de la société par actions ou stipulées dans le contrat de constitution de la société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée, dans la convention unanime entre actionnaires ou dans tout autre document relatif à la constitution et au fonctionnement de la société. Il doit également s’assurer qu’il y est aussi, selon le cas, inscrit ou stipulé que cette société est constituée aux fins d’exercer des activités professionnelles.
D. 1070-2015, a. 2.
3. L’agronome qui constate que l’une des conditions prévues à l’article 1 ou à l’article 2 n’est plus satisfaite doit, dans les 21 jours de ce constat, s’assurer que la situation soit corrigée à défaut de quoi, il cesse d’être autorisé à exercer ses activités au sein de la société.
D. 1070-2015, a. 3.
4. L’agronome qui est radié pour plus de 90 jours ou dont le permis est révoqué ne peut, pendant la période de radiation ou de révocation, agir à titre d’administrateur, de dirigeant ou de représentant d’une société, ni détenir, directement ou indirectement, des actions votantes ou des parts sociales votantes dans une société.
D. 1070-2015, a. 4.
5. Un agronome ne peut exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société qu’après avoir transmis à l’Ordre des agronomes du Québec:
1°  une déclaration conforme aux dispositions de l’article 6, accompagnée du paiement des frais prescrits par le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre;
2°  un document écrit d’une autorité compétente attestant que la société fait l’objet d’une garantie conforme à la section III;
3°  le cas échéant, une copie certifiée conforme de la déclaration donnée par l’autorité compétente, indiquant que la société en nom collectif a été continuée en société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée;
4°  un document écrit fourni par l’autorité compétente attestant que la société est immatriculée au Québec;
5°  un document écrit d’une autorité compétente attestant que la société maintient un établissement au Québec;
6°  un engagement écrit de la société de fournir à une personne, un comité, une instance disciplinaire ou un tribunal mentionnés à l’article 192 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26) qui l’exige, tout document visé à l’article 13 ou une copie d’un tel document de même que de prendre les mesures nécessaires pour que ce document ou cette copie soit fourni le plus efficacement et rapidement possible.
D. 1070-2015, a. 5.
6. La déclaration prévue au paragraphe 1 de l’article 5 ou à l’article 7 doit être faite sur le formulaire fourni à cette fin par l’Ordre et contenir les renseignements suivants:
1°  le nom de la société ainsi que les autres noms qu’elle utilise au Québec et le numéro d’entreprise attribué par l’autorité compétente;
2°  le nom et l’adresse résidentielle de l’agronome, son numéro de membre ainsi que son statut au sein de la société;
3°  la forme juridique de la société;
4°  s’il s’agit d’une société par actions, l’adresse de son siège et celle de ses établissements au Québec, le nom et l’adresse résidentielle des actionnaires avec droit de vote, des administrateurs et des dirigeants de la société ainsi que l’ordre professionnel ou son équivalent dont ils sont membres, le cas échéant;
5°  s’il s’agit d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée, l’adresse de ses établissements au Québec, en précisant celle du principal, le nom et l’adresse résidentielle des associés ainsi que, le cas échéant, le nom et l’adresse résidentielle des administrateurs nommés par les associés, qu’ils résident ou non au Québec, ainsi que l’ordre professionnel ou son équivalent dont ils sont membres, le cas échéant;
6°  une attestation à l’effet que la société respecte les conditions prévues au présent règlement, particulièrement celles relatives aux actions votantes ou part sociales détenues.
D. 1070-2015, a. 6.
7. Pour conserver son droit d’exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société, l’agronome doit mettre à jour et fournir, avant le 31 mars de chaque année, la déclaration décrite à l’article 6 et, le cas échéant, payer les frais prescrits par le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre.
Il doit en outre informer l’Ordre sans délai de toute modification à la garantie prévue à la section III ou aux renseignements transmis dans la déclaration visée au premier alinéa ou au paragraphe 1 de l’article 5 qui aurait pour effet d’affecter le respect des conditions prévues au présent règlement.
D. 1070-2015, a. 7.
SECTION II
RÉPONDANT
8. Lorsque plusieurs agronomes exercent leurs activités professionnelles au sein d’une même société, ceux-ci peuvent désigner un répondant pour agir en leur nom relativement aux conditions et modalités prévues aux articles 5 et 7.
Le répondant doit être agronome, exercer ses activités professionnelles au sein de la société et être administrateur et, selon le cas, actionnaire ou associé de la société.
Le répondant doit s’assurer de l’exactitude des renseignements fournis dans la déclaration, à l’exception de ceux visés au paragraphe 2 de l’article 6.
Il doit également répondre à toute demande formulée par le syndic, un inspecteur, un enquêteur ou un autre représentant de l’Ordre et fournir tout document que les agronomes sont tenus de transmettre.
D. 1070-2015, a. 8.
SECTION III
GARANTIE DE LA RESPONSABILITÉ PROFESSIONNELLE
9. L’agronome qui exerce ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société doit, pour être autorisé à les exercer conformément au présent règlement, fournir et maintenir pour cette société, soit par contrat d’assurance ou de cautionnement, soit par l’adhésion à une assurance collective contractée par l’Ordre, soit par la souscription à un fonds d’assurance de la responsabilité professionnelle établi conformément à l’article 86.1 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26), une garantie contre la responsabilité que cette société peut encourir en raison des fautes commises par l’agronome dans l’exercice de sa profession au sein de cette société.
D. 1070-2015, a. 9.
10. La garantie doit prévoir les conditions minimales suivantes:
1°  un montant de garantie d’au moins 1 000 000 $ par réclamation et d’au moins 3 000 000 $ pour l’ensemble des réclamations présentées contre la société au cours d’une période de garantie de 12 mois; ce dernier montant est d’au moins 4 000 000 $ si la société compte plus de 3 agronomes;
2°  l’engagement de l’assureur ou de la caution de payer au lieu et place de la société, jusqu’à concurrence du montant de la garantie, toute somme que celle-ci peut être légalement tenue de payer à un tiers à titre de dommages-intérêts relativement à une réclamation présentée pendant la période couverte par la garantie et résultant d’une faute commise par un agronome dans l’exercice de sa profession au sein de la société;
3°  l’engagement de l’assureur ou de la caution de prendre fait et cause pour la société et d’assumer sa défense dans toute action dirigée contre elle et de payer, outre les sommes couvertes par la garantie, tous les frais et dépens des actions contre la société, y compris ceux de l’enquête et de la défense, et les intérêts sur le montant de la garantie;
4°  l’engagement de l’assureur ou de la caution d’étendre la garantie à toute réclamation présentée contre la société pendant les 5 années suivant celle où elle cesse d’être maintenue;
5°  l’engagement de l’assureur ou de la caution de donner au secrétaire de l’Ordre un préavis de 30 jours lorsqu’il entend résilier la garantie, la modifier quant à l’une des conditions prévues au présent article ou ne pas la renouveler.
D. 1070-2015, a. 10.
11. Le contrat de cautionnement doit être conclu auprès d’une banque, d’une caisse d’épargne et de crédit ou d’une compagnie de fiducie ou d’assurance qui doit être domiciliée au Canada. La caution doit en outre maintenir au Québec des biens suffisants pour honorer la garantie prévue par la présente section.
La caution doit s’engager à fournir une garantie conforme aux conditions prévues par la présente section et à payer la somme due par la société en ses lieu et place en renonçant aux bénéfices de division et de discussion, jusqu’à concurrence du montant du cautionnement.
D. 1070-2015, a. 11.
SECTION IV
RENSEIGNEMENTS ADDITIONNELS
12. Lorsqu’une société en nom collectif est continuée en société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée ou lorsqu’une société par actions est constituée, l’agronome qui y exerce ses activités professionnelles doit transmettre à ses clients, à la date de la continuation ou de la constitution, un avis les informant de la nature et des effets de la modification du statut de la société, notamment quant à sa responsabilité professionnelle et à la responsabilité de la société.
D. 1070-2015, a. 12.
13. Les documents qui peuvent être exigés de la société en application du paragraphe 6 de l’article 5 sont les suivants:
1°  si l’agronome exerce ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société par actions:
a)  le registre à jour des statuts de constitution et les règlements de la société;
b)  toute convention unanime entre actionnaires, toute entente relative à l’exercice du droit de vote ainsi que toute modification afférente;
c)  la déclaration d’immatriculation et le certificat de constitution de la société et leurs mises à jour;
d)  le registre à jour des valeurs mobilières de la société;
e)  le registre à jour des administrateurs de la société;
f)  le nom et l’adresse résidentielle des principaux dirigeants de la société;
2°  si l’agronome exerce ses activités au sein d’une société en nom collectif à responsabilité limitée:
a)  le contrat de société et ses modifications;
b)  la déclaration d’immatriculation de la société et sa mise à jour;
c)  le registre à jour des associés de la société;
d)  le cas échéant, le registre à jour des administrateurs nommés pour administrer la société;
e)  le nom et l’adresse résidentielle des principaux dirigeants de la société.
D. 1070-2015, a. 13.
SECTION V
DISPOSITIONS TRANSITOIRE ET FINALE
14. L’agronome qui exerce ses activités professionnelles au sein d’une société par actions constituée à cette fin avant le 31 décembre 2015 doit, au plus tard dans l’année qui suit cette date, se conformer aux exigences qui y sont prévues.
D. 1070-2015, a. 14.
15. (Omis).
D. 1070-2015, a. 15.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1070-2015, 2015 G.O. 2, 4719