C-37.02 - Act respecting the Communauté métropolitaine de Québec

Full text
168. Subject to the third and fourth paragraphs, the expenses of the Community, including those resulting from payment of interest on and accessories and amortization of its loans, shall be charged to the municipalities whose territories are situated within the territory of the Community.
Except the expenses relating to a service governed by a special tariff or those otherwise governed by this Act or by other Acts, those expenses shall be apportioned among the municipalities in proportion to their respective fiscal potentials, within the meaning of section 261.5 of the Act respecting municipal taxation (chapter F‐2.1).
However, the Community may, by by-law, provide
(1)  that all or part of its expenditures are to be apportioned on the basis of another criterion;
(2)  that a municipality does not contribute to the payment of part of its expenditures.
A municipality whose representative is not qualified to take part in the deliberations and vote of the council of the Community shall not contribute to the payment of the expenditures related to the exercise of the functions that are the subject of the deliberations and vote.
2000, c. 56, Sch. VI, s. 168.