S-8 - Act respecting the Société d’habitation du Québec

Full text
68.14. The Société may require that major repair or improvement work to low-rental housing immovables be carried out within the time limit it determines, by sending a notice to the body in charge of operating them. The body has 45 days after receiving the notice to inform the Société that it undertakes to carry out all the work required within the specified time limit or, if not, to present its observations in writing. If the undertaking required is not received within the specified time limit, the Société may designate a person to manage all or part of the work on behalf and in the name of that body and at the latter’s expense. The decision of the Société must contain reasons and be sent with dispatch to the directors of the housing agency.
Subject to the conditions that may be imposed by the Société, the person so designated has all the powers required to manage that work, in particular the power to grant contracts on behalf and in the name of the body. If the person designated is a bureau, it may exercise those powers elsewhere than in the territory of the municipality whose agent it is. The designated person may, in addition, for the sole purpose of managing the work, act in the name of the body as the lessor of the immovable affected by that work in order to do such things as send the notices required by law, have access to the dwellings, carry out the procedures related to the temporary evacuation of the lessees or institute proceedings before the court.
No proceedings may be brought against the person so designated acting in the exercise of the powers and duties conferred on the person under this section in respect of an act performed in good faith while exercising those powers and duties. No recourse under article 407 of the Code of Civil Procedure (chapter C‑25.01) may be exercised or application for judicial review under that Code presented or any injunction granted against that person to the extent that the person is acting in the exercise of the powers and duties conferred on the person under this section. A judge of the Court of Appeal may, on an application, summarily quash any judgment or decision rendered, any order made or any injunction granted contrary to this section.
2016, c. 172016, c. 17, s. 120.

S-8 - Loi sur la Société d’habitation du Québec

Texte complet
68.14. La Société peut exiger que des travaux majeurs de réparation ou d’amélioration relativement à des immeubles d’habitation à loyer modique soient effectués dans le délai qu’elle détermine, en transmettant un avis à l’organisme responsable de l’exploitation. L’organisme a 45 jours suivant la réception de cet avis pour informer la Société qu’il s’engage à effectuer la totalité des travaux exigés dans le délai imparti ou, à défaut, pour présenter par écrit ses observations. Si l’engagement requis n’est pas reçu dans le délai imparti, la Société peut désigner une personne pour gérer ces travaux, en totalité ou en partie, pour et au nom de cet organisme et aux frais de ce dernier. La décision motivée de la Société doit être communiquée avec diligence aux administrateurs de l’organisme.
Sous réserve des conditions que peut imposer la Société, la personne ainsi désignée a tous les pouvoirs requis pour la gestion de ces travaux, notamment le pouvoir d’octroyer des contrats pour et au nom de l’organisme. Si la personne désignée est un office, ce dernier peut exercer ces pouvoirs ailleurs que sur le territoire de la municipalité dont il est l’agent. La personne désignée peut en outre, aux seules fins de la gestion des travaux, agir au nom de l’organisme, en tant que locateur de l’immeuble visé par ces travaux, afin notamment de transmettre les avis requis par la loi, d’avoir accès aux logements, de procéder aux démarches relatives à l’évacuation temporaire des locataires ou de déposer une demande au tribunal.
La personne ainsi désignée, qui agit dans l’exercice des pouvoirs et fonctions qui lui sont confiés en vertu du présent article, ne peut être poursuivie en justice pour un acte accompli de bonne foi dans l’exercice de ces pouvoirs et fonctions. Aucun recours en vertu de l’article 407 du Code de procédure civile (chapitre C-25.01) ou pourvoi en contrôle judiciaire prévu à ce code ne peut être exercé, ni aucune injonction accordée, contre cette personne dans la mesure où elle agit dans l’exercice des pouvoirs et fonctions qui lui sont confiés en vertu du présent article. Un juge de la Cour d’appel peut, sur demande, annuler sommairement un jugement, une décision, une ordonnance ou une injonction rendu ou prononcé à l’encontre du présent article.
2016, c. 172016, c. 17, a. 120.