S-2.2 - Public Health Act

Full text
46. An institution that maintains a facility in which a death occurs must cause a certificate of death to be drawn up by a physician, for the purposes of this Act.
Where a death occurs elsewhere than in a facility maintained by an institution, the last physician who treated the person shall fill out the certificate of death. If the physician is not accessible, the certificate of death may be drawn up by another physician, a nurse or a coroner. If no person acting in any of such capacities is available within a radius of 16 km, the certificate of death may be drawn up by two persons of full age.
Where a death is the subject of an investigation and, where applicable, of an inquest under the Act respecting the determination of the causes and circumstances of death (chapter R-0.2), the certificate of death shall be drawn up by the coroner.
Where the remains of a person who died outside Québec are transported into Québec, the certificate of death shall be drawn up by the funeral services director of the funeral services business transporting the remains, unless the case falls within the competence of the coroner.
2001, c. 60, s. 46; 2016, c. 12016, c. 1, s. 140.
46. An institution that maintains a facility in which a death occurs must cause a certificate of death to be drawn up by a physician, for the purposes of this Act.
Where a death occurs elsewhere than in a facility maintained by an institution, the last physician who treated the person shall fill out the certificate of death. If the physician is not accessible, the certificate of death may be drawn up by another physician, a nurse or a coroner. If no person acting in any of such capacities is available within a radius of 16 kilometres, the certificate of death may be drawn up by two persons of full age.
Where a death is the subject of an investigation and, where applicable, of an inquest under the Act respecting the determination of the causes and circumstances of death (chapter R-0.2), the certificate of death shall be drawn up by the coroner.
Where the remains of a person who died outside Québec are transported into Québec, the certificate of death shall be drawn up by the funeral director transporting the remains, unless the case falls within the competence of the coroner.
2001, c. 60, s. 46.

S-2.2 - Loi sur la santé publique

Texte complet
46. Un établissement qui maintient une installation dans laquelle décède une personne doit prendre les mesures pour qu’un bulletin de décès soit dressé au sujet du défunt par un médecin, aux fins de la présente loi.
Lorsqu’une personne décède ailleurs que dans une installation maintenue par un établissement, le dernier médecin ayant soigné la personne doit remplir le bulletin de décès. Si tel médecin est inaccessible, le bulletin de décès peut être rempli par un autre médecin, un infirmier ou un coroner. Si aucune personne possédant l’une de ces qualités n’est disponible dans un rayon de 16 km, le bulletin de décès peut être rempli par deux personnes majeures.
Dans le cas d’un décès faisant l’objet d’une investigation et, le cas échéant, d’une enquête en vertu de la Loi sur la recherche des causes et des circonstances des décès (chapitre R-0.2), le bulletin de décès doit être fait par le coroner.
Lors de l’entrée au Québec du cadavre d’une personne décédée hors du Québec, le bulletin de décès doit être fait par le directeur des services funéraires de l’entreprise de services funéraires qui effectue le transport du cadavre, à moins que le cas ne relève de la compétence du coroner.
2001, c. 60, a. 46; 2016, c. 12016, c. 1, a. 140.
46. Un établissement qui maintient une installation dans laquelle décède une personne doit prendre les mesures pour qu’un bulletin de décès soit dressé au sujet du défunt par un médecin, aux fins de la présente loi.
Lorsqu’une personne décède ailleurs que dans une installation maintenue par un établissement, le dernier médecin ayant soigné la personne doit remplir le bulletin de décès. Si tel médecin est inaccessible, le bulletin de décès peut être rempli par un autre médecin, un infirmier ou un coroner. Si aucune personne possédant l’une de ces qualités n’est disponible dans un rayon de 16 kilomètres, le bulletin de décès peut être rempli par deux personnes majeures.
Dans le cas d’un décès faisant l’objet d’une investigation et, le cas échéant, d’une enquête en vertu de la Loi sur la recherche des causes et des circonstances des décès (chapitre R-0.2), le bulletin de décès doit être fait par le coroner.
Lors de l’entrée au Québec du cadavre d’une personne décédée hors du Québec, le bulletin de décès doit être fait par le directeur de funérailles qui effectue le transport du cadavre, à moins que le cas ne relève de la compétence du coroner.
2001, c. 60, a. 46.