P-34.1 - Youth Protection Act

Full text
46. If the director accepts the report, he may take immediate protective measures to ensure the security of the child for a maximum period of 48 hours even before making an assessment to determine if the security or development of the child is in danger in accordance with section 49.
If the circumstances warrant it, the director may also take immediate protective measures for a maximum period of 48 hours at any point during the intervention, whether or not a new report has been made.
As far as possible, the child and the child’s parents must be consulted with respect to the application of immediate protective measures.
The director may apply the following, as immediate protective measures:
(a)  immediate removal of the child from his present environment;
(b)  entrusting the child to an institution operating a rehabilitation centre or a hospital centre, to one of the child’s parents, to a person who is important to the child, in particular a grandparent or another member of the extended family, to a foster family, to an appropriate body or to any other person without delay;
(c)  (subparagraph repealed);
(d)  restricting contact between the child and his parents;
(e)  prohibiting the child from contacting certain persons designated by the director, or prohibiting those persons from contacting the child;
(e.1)  prohibiting the disclosure of specific information to one or both of the parents or any other person designated by the director;
(f)  requiring a person to ensure that the child and his parents comply with the conditions imposed on them and to inform the director if the conditions are not complied with;
(g)  applying any other measure he considers necessary in the interest of the child.
Where it is decided to entrust the child to an institution referred to in subparagraph b of the fourth paragraph, the director shall specify whether or not foster care is included in the measure. The designated institution is bound to receive the child.
1977, c. 20, s. 46; 1981, c. 2, s. 11; 1984, c. 4, s. 22; 1992, c. 21, s. 222; 1994, c. 35, s. 26; 2006, c. 34, s. 22; 2016, c. 122016, c. 12, s. 40.
46. If the director accepts the report, he may take immediate protective measures to ensure the security of the child for a maximum period of 48 hours even before making an assessment to determine if the security or development of the child is in danger in accordance with section 49.
If the circumstances warrant it, the director may also take immediate protective measures for a maximum period of 48 hours at any point during the intervention, whether or not a new report has been made.
As far as possible, the child and the child’s parents must be consulted with respect to the application of immediate protective measures.
The director may apply the following, as immediate protective measures:
(a)  immediate removal of the child from his present environment;
(b)  entrusting the child to an institution operating a rehabilitation centre or a hospital centre, to one of the child’s parents, to a person who is important to the child, in particular a grandparent or another member of the extended family, to a foster family, to an appropriate body or to any other person without delay;
(c)  (subparagraph repealed);
(d)  restricting contact between the child and his parents;
(e)  prohibiting the child from contacting certain persons designated by the director, or prohibiting those persons from contacting the child;
(f)  requiring a person to ensure that the child and his parents comply with the conditions imposed on them and to inform the director if the conditions are not complied with;
(g)  applying any other measure he considers necessary in the interest of the child.
Where it is decided to entrust the child to an institution referred to in subparagraph b of the fourth paragraph, the director shall specify whether or not foster care is included in the measure. The designated institution is bound to receive the child.
1977, c. 20, s. 46; 1981, c. 2, s. 11; 1984, c. 4, s. 22; 1992, c. 21, s. 222; 1994, c. 35, s. 26; 2006, c. 34, s. 22.
46. The director may apply the following, as urgent measures:
(a)  immediate removal of the child from his present environment;
(b)  entrusting the child to an institution operating a rehabilitation centre or a hospital centre, to a foster family, to an appropriate body or to any other person without delay;
(c)  (subparagraph repealed).
Where it is decided to entrust the child to an institution referred to in subparagraph b of the first paragraph, the director shall specify whether or not foster care is included in the measure. The designated institution is bound to receive the child.
1977, c. 20, s. 46; 1981, c. 2, s. 11; 1984, c. 4, s. 22; 1992, c. 21, s. 222; 1994, c. 35, s. 26.
46. The director may apply the following measures provisionally:
(a)  immediate removal of the child from his present environment;
(b)  entrusting the child to an institution operating a rehabilitation centre, a reception centre or a hospital centre, to a foster family, to an appropriate body or to any other person without delay;
(c)  (subparagraph repealed).
Where it is decided to entrust the child to an institution referred to in subparagraph b of the first paragraph, the director shall specify whether or not foster care is included in the measure. The designated institution is bound to receive the child.
1977, c. 20, s. 46; 1981, c. 2, s. 11; 1984, c. 4, s. 22; 1992, c. 21, s. 222.
46. The director may apply the following measures provisionally:
(a)  immediate removal of the child from his present environment;
(b)  entrusting the child to a reception centre, a foster family, a hospital centre, an appropriate body or any other person without delay;
(c)  (subparagraph repealed).
In force: 1984-04-16
Where it is decided to entrust the child to a reception centre or hospital centre, the director shall specify whether or not foster care is included in the measure. The designated reception centre or hospital centre is bound to receive the child.
1977, c. 20, s. 46; 1981, c. 2, s. 11; 1984, c. 4, s. 22.
46. The director may apply the following measures provisionally:
(a)  immediate removal of the child from his present environment;
(b)  entrusting the child to a reception centre, a foster family, a hospital centre, an appropriate body or any other person without delay;
(c)  placing of the child fourteen years of age or over in a security unit if he has reasonable cause to believe that the child is guilty of an offence against any act or regulation in force in Québec and that such placing appears necessary because of the danger that the child represents or because there are strong presumptions that he will attempt to elude the application of the law.
1977, c. 20, s. 46; 1981, c. 2, s. 11.
46. The director may apply the following measures provisionally:
(a)  immediate removal of the child from his present environment;
(b)  entrusting of the child to a reception centre, a foster family, a hospital centre or an appropriate body without delay;
(c)  placing of the child fourteen years of age or over in a security unit if he has reasonable cause to believe that the child is guilty of an offence against any act or regulation in force in Québec and that such placing appears necessary because of the danger that the child represents or because there are strong presumptions that he will attempt to elude the application of the law.
1977, c. 20, s. 46.

P-34.1 - Loi sur la protection de la jeunesse

Texte complet
46. Si le directeur retient le signalement, il peut, avant même de procéder à l’évaluation lui permettant de décider si la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est compromis conformément à l’article 49 et afin d’assurer la sécurité de l’enfant, prendre, pour une durée maximale de 48 heures, des mesures de protection immédiate.
Le directeur peut en outre, à tout moment de l’intervention, prendre, pour une durée maximale de 48 heures, des mesures de protection immédiate, si les circonstances le justifient, peu importe qu’il y ait ou non un nouveau signalement.
Dans toute la mesure du possible, l’enfant et ses parents doivent être consultés sur l’application des mesures de protection immédiate.
À titre de mesures de protection immédiate, le directeur peut:
a)  retirer immédiatement l’enfant du lieu où il se trouve;
b)  confier l’enfant sans délai à un établissement qui exploite un centre de réadaptation ou un centre hospitalier, à l’un de ses parents, à une personne significative, notamment les grands-parents et les autres membres de la famille élargie, à une famille d’accueil, à un organisme approprié ou à toute autre personne;
c)  (paragraphe abrogé);
d)  restreindre les contacts entre l’enfant et ses parents;
e)  interdire à l’enfant d’entrer en contact avec certaines personnes qu’il désigne ou à de telles personnes d’entrer en contact avec l’enfant;
e.1)  interdire que certains renseignements soient divulgués aux parents ou à l’un d’eux ou à toute autre personne qu’il désigne;
f)  requérir d’une personne qu’elle s’assure que l’enfant et ses parents respectent les conditions qui leur sont imposées et de l’aviser si les conditions ne sont pas respectées;
g)  appliquer toute autre mesure qu’il estime nécessaire dans l’intérêt de l’enfant.
Lorsque la mesure retenue est de confier l’enfant à un établissement visé au paragraphe b du quatrième alinéa, le directeur doit préciser si la mesure comporte un hébergement. L’établissement désigné est tenu de recevoir l’enfant.
1977, c. 20, a. 46; 1981, c. 2, a. 11; 1984, c. 4, a. 22; 1992, c. 21, a. 222; 1994, c. 35, a. 26; 2006, c. 34, a. 22; 2016, c. 122016, c. 12, a. 40.
46. Si le directeur retient le signalement, il peut, avant même de procéder à l’évaluation lui permettant de décider si la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est compromis conformément à l’article 49 et afin d’assurer la sécurité de l’enfant, prendre, pour une durée maximale de 48 heures, des mesures de protection immédiate.
Le directeur peut en outre, à tout moment de l’intervention, prendre, pour une durée maximale de 48 heures, des mesures de protection immédiate, si les circonstances le justifient, peu importe qu’il y ait ou non un nouveau signalement.
Dans toute la mesure du possible, l’enfant et ses parents doivent être consultés sur l’application des mesures de protection immédiate.
À titre de mesures de protection immédiate, le directeur peut:
a)  retirer immédiatement l’enfant du lieu où il se trouve;
b)  confier l’enfant sans délai à un établissement qui exploite un centre de réadaptation ou un centre hospitalier, à l’un de ses parents, à une personne significative, notamment les grands-parents et les autres membres de la famille élargie, à une famille d’accueil, à un organisme approprié ou à toute autre personne;
c)  (paragraphe abrogé);
d)  restreindre les contacts entre l’enfant et ses parents;
e)  interdire à l’enfant d’entrer en contact avec certaines personnes qu’il désigne ou à de telles personnes d’entrer en contact avec l’enfant;
f)  requérir d’une personne qu’elle s’assure que l’enfant et ses parents respectent les conditions qui leur sont imposées et de l’aviser si les conditions ne sont pas respectées;
g)  appliquer toute autre mesure qu’il estime nécessaire dans l’intérêt de l’enfant.
Lorsque la mesure retenue est de confier l’enfant à un établissement visé au paragraphe b du quatrième alinéa, le directeur doit préciser si la mesure comporte un hébergement. L’établissement désigné est tenu de recevoir l’enfant.
1977, c. 20, a. 46; 1981, c. 2, a. 11; 1984, c. 4, a. 22; 1992, c. 21, a. 222; 1994, c. 35, a. 26; 2006, c. 34, a. 22.
46. À titre de mesures d’urgence, le directeur peut:
a)  retirer immédiatement l’enfant du lieu où il se trouve;
b)  confier l’enfant sans délai à un établissement qui exploite un centre de réadaptation ou un centre hospitalier, à une famille d’accueil, à un organisme approprié ou à toute autre personne;
c)  (paragraphe abrogé).
Lorsque la mesure retenue est de confier l’enfant à un établissement visé au paragraphe b du premier alinéa, le directeur doit préciser si la mesure comporte un hébergement. L’établissement désigné est tenu de recevoir l’enfant.
1977, c. 20, a. 46; 1981, c. 2, a. 11; 1984, c. 4, a. 22; 1992, c. 21, a. 222; 1994, c. 35, a. 26.
46. Le directeur peut appliquer provisoirement les mesures suivantes:
a)  retirer immédiatement l’enfant du lieu où il se trouve;
b)  confier l’enfant sans délai à un établissement qui exploite un centre de réadaptation, un centre d’accueil ou un centre hospitalier, à une famille d’accueil, à un organisme approprié ou à toute autre personne;
c)  (paragraphe abrogé).
Lorsque la mesure retenue est de confier l’enfant à un établissement visé au paragraphe b du premier alinéa, le directeur doit préciser si la mesure comporte un hébergement. L’établissement désigné est tenu de recevoir l’enfant.
1977, c. 20, a. 46; 1981, c. 2, a. 11; 1984, c. 4, a. 22; 1992, c. 21, a. 222.
46. Le directeur peut appliquer provisoirement les mesures suivantes:
a)  retirer immédiatement l’enfant du lieu où il se trouve;
b)  confier l’enfant sans délai à un centre d’accueil, une famille d’accueil, un centre hospitalier, un organisme approprié ou à toute autre personne;
c)  (paragraphe abrogé).
En vig.: 1984-04-16
Lorsque la mesure retenue est de confier l’enfant à un centre d’accueil ou à un centre hospitalier, le directeur doit préciser si la mesure comporte un hébergement. Le centre d’accueil ou le centre hospitalier désigné est tenu de recevoir l’enfant.
1977, c. 20, a. 46; 1981, c. 2, a. 11; 1984, c. 4, a. 22.
46. Le directeur peut appliquer provisoirement les mesures suivantes:
a)  retirer immédiatement l’enfant du lieu où il se trouve;
b)  confier l’enfant sans délai à un centre d’accueil, une famille d’accueil, un centre hospitalier, un organisme approprié ou à toute autre personne;
c)  faire héberger l’enfant âgé de quatorze ans ou plus dans une unité sécuritaire s’il a un motif raisonnable de croire que l’enfant a commis une infraction à une loi ou à un règlement en vigueur au Québec, et qu’un tel hébergement s’avère nécessaire à cause du danger que présente l’enfant ou parce qu’il existe de fortes présomptions qu’il tentera de se soustraire à l’application de la loi.
1977, c. 20, a. 46; 1981, c. 2, a. 11.
46. Le directeur peut appliquer provisoirement les mesures suivantes:
a)  retirer immédiatement l’enfant du lieu où il se trouve;
b)  confier l’enfant sans délai à un centre d’accueil, une famille d’accueil, un centre hospitalier ou un organisme approprié;
c)  faire héberger l’enfant âgé de quatorze ans ou plus dans une unité sécuritaire s’il a un motif raisonnable de croire que l’enfant a commis une infraction à une loi ou à un règlement en vigueur au Québec, et qu’un tel hébergement s’avère nécessaire à cause du danger que présente l’enfant ou parce qu’il existe de fortes présomptions qu’il tentera de se soustraire à l’application de la loi.
1977, c. 20, a. 46.