P-34.1 - Youth Protection Act

Full text
39. Every professional who, by the very nature of his profession, provides care or any other form of assistance to children and who, in the practice of his profession, has reasonable grounds to believe that the security or development of a child is or may be considered to be in danger within the meaning of section 38 or 38.1, must bring the situation to the attention of the director without delay. The same obligation is incumbent upon any employee of an institution, any teacher, any person working in a childcare establishment or any policeman who, in the performance of his duties, has reasonable grounds to believe that the security or development of a child is or may be considered to be in danger within the meaning of the said provisions.
Any person, other than a person referred to in the first paragraph, who has reasonable grounds to believe that the security or development of a child is considered to be in danger within the meaning of subparagraphs d and e of the second paragraph of section 38 must bring the situation to the attention of the director without delay.
Any person, other than a person referred to in the first paragraph, who has reasonable grounds to believe that the security or development of a child is or may be considered to be in danger within the meaning of subparagraph a, b, c or f of the second paragraph of section 38 or within the meaning of section 38.1 may bring the situation to the attention of the director.
Every person referred to in this section may, after reporting a child’s situation to the director, communicate to the director any relevant information about the situation that is related to the report, with a view to ensuring the child’s protection.
The first, second and fourth paragraphs apply even to persons who are bound by professional secrecy, except to advocates or notaries who, in the practice of their profession, receive information concerning a situation described in section 38 or 38.1.
1977, c. 20, s. 39; 1981, c. 2, s. 9; 1984, c. 4, s. 19; 1992, c. 21, s. 375; 1994, c. 35, s. 25; 2006, c. 34, s. 16; 2017, c. 182017, c. 18, s. 21.
39. Every professional who, by the very nature of his profession, provides care or any other form of assistance to children and who, in the practice of his profession, has reasonable grounds to believe that the security or development of a child is or may be considered to be in danger within the meaning of section 38 or 38.1, must bring the situation to the attention of the director without delay. The same obligation is incumbent upon any employee of an institution, any teacher, any person working in a childcare establishment or any policeman who, in the performance of his duties, has reasonable grounds to believe that the security or development of a child is or may be considered to be in danger within the meaning of the said provisions.
Any person, other than a person referred to in the first paragraph, who has reasonable grounds to believe that the security or development of a child is considered to be in danger within the meaning of subparagraphs d and e of the second paragraph of section 38 must bring the situation to the attention of the director without delay.
Any person, other than a person referred to in the first paragraph, who has reasonable grounds to believe that the security or development of a child is or may be considered to be in danger within the meaning of subparagraph a, b, c or f of the second paragraph of section 38 or within the meaning of section 38.1 may bring the situation to the attention of the director.
The first and second paragraphs apply even to those persons who are bound by professional secrecy, except to an advocate who, in the practice of his profession, receives information concerning a situation described in section 38 or 38.1.
1977, c. 20, s. 39; 1981, c. 2, s. 9; 1984, c. 4, s. 19; 1992, c. 21, s. 375; 1994, c. 35, s. 25; 2006, c. 34, s. 16.
39. Every professional who, by the very nature of his profession, provides care or any other form of assistance to children and who, in the practice of his profession, has reasonable grounds to believe that the security or development of a child is or may be considered to be in danger within the meaning of section 38 or 38.1, must bring the situation to the attention of the director without delay. The same obligation is incumbent upon any employee of an institution, any teacher or any policeman who, in the performance of his duties, has reasonable grounds to believe that the security or development of a child is or may be considered to be in danger within the meaning of the said provisions.
Any person, other than a person referred to in the first paragraph, who has reasonable grounds to believe that the security or development of a child is considered to be in danger within the meaning of subparagraph g of the first paragraph of section 38 must bring the situation to the attention of the director without delay.
Any person, other than a person referred to in the first paragraph, who has reasonable grounds to believe that the security or development of a child is or may be considered to be in danger within the meaning of subparagraph a, b, c, d, e, f or h of the first paragraph of section 38 or within the meaning of section 38.1 may bring the situation to the attention of the director.
The first and second paragraphs apply even to those persons who are bound by professional secrecy, except to an advocate who, in the practice of his profession, receives information concerning a situation described in section 38 or 38.1.
1977, c. 20, s. 39; 1981, c. 2, s. 9; 1984, c. 4, s. 19; 1992, c. 21, s. 375; 1994, c. 35, s. 25.
39. Every person, even one having privileged information, who has reasonable cause to believe that the security or development of a child is in danger within the meaning of paragraph g of section 38, is bound to bring the situation to the attention of the director without delay.
Every professional who, by the very nature of his profession, provides care or any other form of assistance to children and who, in the discharge of his duties, has reasonable cause to believe that the security or development of a child is in danger within the meaning of paragraph a, b, c, d, e, f, or h of section 38 or within the meaning of section 38.1, is bound to bring the situation to the attention of the director without delay. The same obligation devolves upon any employee of an institution, any teacher or any policeman who, in the discharge of his duties, has reasonable cause to believe that the security or development of a child is or may be considered to be in danger within the meaning of the said provisions.
Any person, other than a person contemplated in the second paragraph, who has reasonable cause to believe that the security or development of a child is or may be considered to be in danger within the meaning of paragraph a, b, c, d, e, f, or h of section 38 or within the meaning of section 38.1, may bring the situation to the attention of the director.
The first and second paragraphs do not apply to an advocate who, in the discharge of his profession, receives information respecting a situation contemplated in section 38 or 38.1.
1977, c. 20, s. 39; 1981, c. 2, s. 9; 1984, c. 4, s. 19; 1992, c. 21, s. 375.
39. Every person, even one having privileged information, who has reasonable cause to believe that the security or development of a child is in danger within the meaning of paragraph g of section 38, is bound to bring the situation to the attention of the director without delay.
Every professional who, by the very nature of his profession, provides care or any other form of assistance to children and who, in the discharge of his duties, has reasonable cause to believe that the security or development of a child is in danger within the meaning of paragraph a, b, c, d, e, f, or h of section 38 or within the meaning of section 38.1, is bound to bring the situation to the attention of the director without delay. The same obligation devolves upon any employee of an establishment, any teacher or any policeman who, in the discharge of his duties, has reasonable cause to believe that the security or development of a child is or may be considered to be in danger within the meaning of the said provisions.
Any person, other than a person contemplated in the second paragraph, who has reasonable cause to believe that the security or development of a child is or may be considered to be in danger within the meaning of paragraph a, b, c, d, e, f, or h of section 38 or within the meaning of section 38.1, may bring the situation to the attention of the director.
The first and second paragraphs do not apply to an advocate who, in the discharge of his profession, receives information respecting a situation contemplated in section 38 or 38.1.
1977, c. 20, s. 39; 1981, c. 2, s. 9; 1984, c. 4, s. 19.
39. Every person, even one having privileged information, who has reasonable cause to believe that the security or development of a child is in danger within the meaning of paragraph f of section 38, is bound to bring the situation to the attention of the director without delay.
Every professional who, by the very nature of his profession, provides care or any other form of assistance to children and who, in the discharge of his duties, has reasonable cause to believe that the security or development of a child is in danger within the meaning of subparagraph a, b, c, d, g, h or i of the first paragraph of section 38 or within the meaning of subparagraph a or b of the second paragraph of the same section, is bound to bring the situation to the attention of the director without delay. The same obligation devolves upon any employee of an establishment, any teacher or any policeman who, in the discharge of his duties, has reasonable cause to believe that the security or development of a child is in danger within the meaning of the said subparagraphs of section 38.
Any person, other than a person contemplated in the preceding paragraph, who has reasonable cause to believe that the security or development of a child is in danger within the meaning of paragraph a, b, c, d, g, h or i of the first paragraph of section 38 or within the meaning of subparagraph a or b of the second paragraph of the same section, may bring the situation to the attention of the director.
This section applies notwithstanding section 9 of the Charter of human rights and freedoms (chapter C-12) but the first and second paragraphs do not apply to an advocate who, in the discharge of his profession, receives information respecting a situation contemplated in section 38.
1977, c. 20, s. 39; 1981, c. 2, s. 9.
39. Every person, even one having privileged information, who has reasonable cause to believe that the security or development of a child is in danger within the meaning of paragraph f of section 38, is bound to bring the situation to the attention of the director without delay.
Every professional who, by the very nature of his profession, provides care or any other form of assistance to children and who, in the discharge of his duties, has reasonable cause to believe that the security or development of a child is in danger within the meaning of paragraph a, b, c, d, e, g, h or i of section 38 is bound to bring the situation to the attention of the director without delay. The same obligation devolves upon any employee of an establishment, any teacher or any policeman who, in the discharge of his duties, has reasonable cause to believe that the security or development of a child is in danger within the meaning of the said paragraphs of section 38.
Any person, other than a person contemplated in the preceding paragraph, who has reasonable cause to believe that the security or development of a child is in danger within the meaning of paragraph a, b, c, d, e, g, h or i of section 38 may bring the situation to the attention of the director.
The first and second paragraphs do not apply to an advocate who, in the exercise of his profession, receives information respecting a situation contemplated in section 38.
1977, c. 20, s. 39.

P-34.1 - Loi sur la protection de la jeunesse

Texte complet
39. Tout professionnel qui, par la nature même de sa profession, prodigue des soins ou toute autre forme d’assistance à des enfants et qui, dans l’exercice de sa profession, a un motif raisonnable de croire que la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est ou peut être considéré comme compromis au sens de l’article 38 ou au sens de l’article 38.1, est tenu de signaler sans délai la situation au directeur; la même obligation incombe à tout employé d’un établissement, à tout enseignant, à toute personne oeuvrant dans un milieu de garde ou à tout policier qui, dans l’exercice de ses fonctions, a un motif raisonnable de croire que la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est ou peut être considéré comme compromis au sens de ces dispositions.
Toute personne autre qu’une personne visée au premier alinéa qui a un motif raisonnable de croire que la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est considéré comme compromis au sens des paragraphes d et e du deuxième alinéa de l’article 38 est tenue de signaler sans délai la situation au directeur.
Toute personne autre qu’une personne visée au premier alinéa qui a un motif raisonnable de croire que la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est ou peut être considéré comme compromis au sens des paragraphes a, b, c ou f du deuxième alinéa de l’article 38 ou au sens de l’article 38.1, peut signaler la situation au directeur.
Toute personne visée au présent article peut, à la suite du signalement qu’elle a effectué, communiquer au directeur toute information pertinente liée au signalement concernant la situation de l’enfant, en vue d’assurer la protection de ce dernier.
Les premier, deuxième et quatrième alinéas s’appliquent même aux personnes liées par le secret professionnel, sauf à l’avocat et au notaire qui, dans l’exercice de leur profession, reçoivent des informations concernant une situation visée à l’article 38 ou 38.1.
1977, c. 20, a. 39; 1981, c. 2, a. 9; 1984, c. 4, a. 19; 1994, c. 35, a. 25; 2006, c. 34, a. 16; 2017, c. 182017, c. 18, a. 21.
39. Tout professionnel qui, par la nature même de sa profession, prodigue des soins ou toute autre forme d’assistance à des enfants et qui, dans l’exercice de sa profession, a un motif raisonnable de croire que la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est ou peut être considéré comme compromis au sens de l’article 38 ou au sens de l’article 38.1, est tenu de signaler sans délai la situation au directeur; la même obligation incombe à tout employé d’un établissement, à tout enseignant, à toute personne oeuvrant dans un milieu de garde ou à tout policier qui, dans l’exercice de ses fonctions, a un motif raisonnable de croire que la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est ou peut être considéré comme compromis au sens de ces dispositions.
Toute personne autre qu’une personne visée au premier alinéa qui a un motif raisonnable de croire que la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est considéré comme compromis au sens des paragraphes d et e du deuxième alinéa de l’article 38 est tenue de signaler sans délai la situation au directeur.
Toute personne autre qu’une personne visée au premier alinéa qui a un motif raisonnable de croire que la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est ou peut être considéré comme compromis au sens des paragraphes a, b, c ou f du deuxième alinéa de l’article 38 ou au sens de l’article 38.1, peut signaler la situation au directeur.
Les premier et deuxième alinéas s’appliquent même à ceux liés par le secret professionnel, sauf à l’avocat qui, dans l’exercice de sa profession, reçoit des informations concernant une situation visée à l’article 38 ou 38.1.
1977, c. 20, a. 39; 1981, c. 2, a. 9; 1984, c. 4, a. 19; 1994, c. 35, a. 25; 2006, c. 34, a. 16.
39. Tout professionnel qui, par la nature même de sa profession, prodigue des soins ou toute autre forme d’assistance à des enfants et qui, dans l’exercice de sa profession, a un motif raisonnable de croire que la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est ou peut être considéré comme compromis au sens de l’article 38 ou au sens de l’article 38.1, est tenu de signaler sans délai la situation au directeur; la même obligation incombe à tout employé d’un établissement, à tout enseignant ou à tout policier qui, dans l’exercice de ses fonctions, a un motif raisonnable de croire que la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est ou peut être considéré comme compromis au sens de ces dispositions.
Toute personne autre qu’une personne visée au premier alinéa qui a un motif raisonnable de croire que la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est considéré comme compromis au sens du paragraphe g de l’article 38 est tenue de signaler sans délai la situation au directeur.
Toute personne autre qu’une personne visée au premier alinéa qui a un motif raisonnable de croire que la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est ou peut être considéré comme compromis au sens des paragraphes a, b, c, d, e, f ou h de l’article 38 ou au sens de l’article 38.1, peut signaler la situation au directeur.
Les premier et deuxième alinéas s’appliquent même à ceux liés par le secret professionnel, sauf à l’avocat qui, dans l’exercice de sa profession, reçoit des informations concernant une situation visée à l’article 38 ou 38.1.
1977, c. 20, a. 39; 1981, c. 2, a. 9; 1984, c. 4, a. 19; 1994, c. 35, a. 25.
39. Toute personne, même liée par le secret professionnel, qui a un motif raisonnable de croire que la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est compromis au sens du paragraphe g de l’article 38 est tenue de signaler sans délai la situation au directeur.
Tout professionnel qui, par la nature même de sa profession, prodigue des soins ou toute autre forme d’assistance à des enfants et qui, dans l’exercice de sa profession, a un motif raisonnable de croire que la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est compromis au sens des paragraphes a, b, c, d, e, f, ou h de l’article 38 ou au sens de l’article 38.1, est tenu de signaler sans délai la situation au directeur; la même obligation incombe à tout employé d’un établissement, à tout enseignant ou à tout policier qui, dans l’exercice de ses fonctions, a un motif raisonnable de croire que la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est ou peut être considéré compromis au sens de ces dispositions.
Toute personne autre qu’une personne visée dans le deuxième alinéa qui a un motif raisonnable de croire que la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est ou peut être considéré compromis au sens des paragraphes a, b, c, d, e, f, ou h de l’article 38 ou au sens de l’article 38.1, peut signaler la situation au directeur.
Les premier et deuxième alinéas ne s’appliquent pas à l’avocat qui, dans l’exercice de sa profession, reçoit des informations concernant une situation visée dans l’article 38 ou 38.1.
1977, c. 20, a. 39; 1981, c. 2, a. 9; 1984, c. 4, a. 19.
39. Toute personne, même liée par le secret professionnel, qui a un motif raisonnable de croire que la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est compromis au sens du paragraphe f de l’article 38 est tenue de signaler sans délai la situation au directeur.
Tout professionnel qui, de par la nature même de sa profession, prodigue des soins ou toute autre forme d’assistance à des enfants et qui, dans l’exercice de sa profession, a un motif raisonnable de croire que la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est compromis au sens des paragraphes a, b, c, d, g, h ou i du premier alinéa de l’article 38 ou au sens des paragraphes a ou b du deuxième alinéa du même article, est tenu de signaler sans délai la situation au directeur; la même obligation incombe à tout employé d’un établissement, à tout enseignant ou à tout policier qui, dans l’exercice de ses fonctions, a un motif raisonnable de croire que la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est compromis au sens desdits paragraphes de l’article 38.
Toute personne autre qu’une personne visée dans l’alinéa précédent, qui a un motif raisonnable de croire que la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est compromis au sens des paragraphes a, b, c, d, g, h ou i du premier alinéa de l’article 38 ou au sens des paragraphes a ou b du deuxième alinéa du même article, peut signaler la situation au directeur.
Le présent article s’applique malgré l’article 9 de la Charte des droits et libertés de la personne (chapitre C‐12) mais les premier et deuxième alinéas ne s’appliquent pas à l’avocat qui, dans l’exercice de sa profession, reçoit des informations concernant une situation visée dans l’article 38.
1977, c. 20, a. 39; 1981, c. 2, a. 9.
39. Toute personne, même liée par le secret professionnel, qui a un motif raisonnable de croire que la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est compromis au sens du paragraphe f de l’article 38 est tenue de signaler sans délai la situation au directeur.
Tout professionnel qui, de par la nature même de sa profession, prodigue des soins ou toute autre forme d’assistance à des enfants et qui, dans l’exercice de sa profession, a un motif raisonnable de croire que la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est compromis au sens des paragraphes a, b, c, d, e, g, h ou i de l’article 38 est tenu de signaler sans délai la situation au directeur; la même obligation incombe à tout employé d’un établissement, à tout enseignant ou à tout policier qui, dans l’exercice de ses fonctions, a un motif raisonnable de croire que la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est compromis au sens desdits paragraphes de l’article 38.
Toute personne autre qu’une personne visée à l’alinéa précédent, qui a un motif raisonnable de croire que la sécurité ou le développement d’un enfant est compromis au sens des paragraphes a, b, c, d, e, g, h ou i de l’article 38 peut signaler la situation au directeur.
Les premier et deuxième alinéas ne s’appliquent pas à l’avocat qui, dans l’exercice de sa profession, reçoit des informations concernant une situation visée à l’article 38.
1977, c. 20, a. 39.