P-34.1 - Youth Protection Act

Full text
37.5. In order to better adapt the application of this Act to the realities of Native life, the Government is authorized, subject to the applicable legislative provisions, to enter into an agreement with a first nation represented by all the band councils of the communities making up that nation, with a Native community represented by its band council or by the council of a northern village, with a group of communities so represented or, in the absence of such councils, with any other Native group, for the establishment of a special youth protection program applicable to any child whose security or development is or may be considered to be in danger within the meaning of this Act.
The program established by such an agreement must be compatible with the general principles stated in this Act and with children’s rights thereunder, and is subject to the provisions of Division I of Chapter III thereof. In particular, the powers provided for in section 26 may be exercised with respect to the record relating to the case of a child to whom such an agreement applies.
The agreement shall specify the persons to whom it applies and define the territory in which the services are to be organized and provided. It shall identify the persons or authorities that will be entrusted with exercising, with full authority and independence, all or part of the responsibilities assigned to the director, and may provide, as regards the exercise of the entrusted responsibilities, procedures different from those provided for in this Act. The agreement shall contain provisions determining the manner in which a situation is to be taken in charge by the youth protection system provided for in this Act.
The agreement shall also provide measures to evaluate its implementation, and specify the cases, conditions and circumstances in which the provisions of the agreement cease to have effect.
To the extent that they are in conformity with the provisions of this section, the provisions of an agreement shall have precedence over any inconsistent provision of this Act and, as regards the organization and provision of services, of the Act respecting health services and social services (chapter S-4.2) or of the Act respecting health services and social services for Cree Native persons (chapter S-5).
Any agreement entered into under this section shall be tabled in the National Assembly within 15 days of being signed, or, if the Assembly is not in session, within 15 days of resumption. It shall also be published in the Gazette officielle du Québec.
2001, c. 33, s. 1.

P-34.1 - Loi sur la protection de la jeunesse

Texte complet
37.5. Afin de mieux adapter les modalités d’application de la présente loi aux réalités autochtones, le gouvernement est autorisé à conclure, conformément à la loi, avec une nation autochtone représentée par l’ensemble des conseils de bande des communautés qui la constituent, avec une communauté autochtone représentée par son conseil de bande ou par le conseil du village nordique, avec un regroupement de communautés ainsi représentées ou, en l’absence de tels conseils, avec tout autre regroupement autochtone, une entente établissant un régime particulier de protection de la jeunesse applicable à un enfant dont la sécurité ou le développement est ou peut être considéré comme compromis au sens de la présente loi.
Le régime établi par une telle entente doit être conforme aux principes généraux et aux droits des enfants prévus à la présente loi et est soumis aux dispositions de la section I du chapitre III de celle-ci. Notamment, les pouvoirs prévus à l’article 26 peuvent être exercés à l’égard du dossier pertinent au cas d’un enfant visé dans le cadre de l’application d’une telle entente.
L’entente prévoit les personnes à qui elle s’applique et définit le territoire sur lequel seront organisés et dispensés les services. Elle indique les personnes ou les instances à qui seront confiées pour l’exercice, en pleine autorité et en toute indépendance, de tout ou partie des responsabilités dévolues au directeur et peut prévoir des modalités d’exercice des responsabilités ainsi confiées, différentes de celles prévues par la présente loi. Elle contient des dispositions régissant la reprise en charge d’une situation en vertu du système de protection de la jeunesse prévu par la présente loi.
L’entente prévoit également des mesures visant à en évaluer l’application ainsi que les cas, conditions et circonstances dans lesquels ses dispositions cessent d’avoir effet.
Dans la mesure où elles sont conformes aux dispositions du présent article, les dispositions d’une entente prévalent sur toute disposition inconciliable de la présente loi et, en matière d’organisation ou de prestation de services, de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (chapitre S-4.2) ou de la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux pour les autochtones cris (chapitre S-5).
Toute entente conclue en vertu du présent article est déposée à l’Assemblée nationale dans les 15 jours de sa signature ou, si elle ne siège pas, dans les 15 jours de la reprise de ses travaux. Elle est en outre publiée à la Gazette officielle du Québec.
2001, c. 33, a. 1.