H-4.2 - Petroleum Resources Act

Full text
6. In this Act,
body of water means a lake, a constant or intermittent watercourse, including a bed created or altered by human intervention, except a ditch as defined in subparagraph 4 of the first paragraph of section 103 of the Municipal Powers Act (chapter C-47.1), or a marine environment;
brine means any natural aqueous solution containing more than 4% by weight of dissolved solids;
commercial discovery means a discovery of petroleum that has been demonstrated to contain petroleum reserves that justify the investment of capital and effort to bring the discovery to production;
fracturing means any operation that consists in creating fractures in a geological formation by injecting a fluid under pressure through a well;
gas means natural gas and includes all substances, other than oil, that are produced in association with natural gas;
geochemical surveying means any method of exploration for petroleum or underground reservoirs by indirect measurement to determine and quantify the distribution and migration of chemical elements in rocks, soils, sediments and water;
geophysical surveying means any method of exploration for petroleum or underground reservoirs by indirect measurement of the physical properties of the subsoil effected on the surface of the ground or in the air, particularly seismic reflection, seismic refraction, gravimetric, magnetic or resistivity surveying and any other geophysical method used to indirectly determine any characteristic of the subsoil;
oil means crude oil, regardless of gravity, produced at a well head in liquid form and any other hydrocarbons, except coal and gas, and, in particular, hydrocarbons that may be extracted or recovered from deposits of oil sand, bitumen, bituminous sand, oil shale or from any other types of deposits on the subsoil;
petroleum means oil or gas;
pipeline means any pipe or system of pipes, including associated facilities such as pumps, compressors, pumping stations and surface reservoirs, designed or used to gather or transport gas or petroleum, except
(1)  lines used to transport and distribute gas, and petroleum equipment installations governed by the Building Act (chapter B-1.1); and
(2)  pipes, including associated facilities, situated on the premises of an industrial enterprise and used for refining operation;
pool means a natural underground reservoir containing or appearing to contain an accumulation of petroleum that is or appears to be separated from any other such accumulation;
significant discovery means a discovery indicated by the first well on a geological feature that demonstrates by testing the existence of petroleum in that feature and, having regard to geological and engineering factors, suggests the existence of an accumulation of petroleum that has potential for sustained production;
stratigraphic survey means any opening in the ground, other than a seismic shotpoint, that is made to collect data on a geological formation, using samples and their analysis and technical surveys, conducted as part of preliminary investigations to eventually locate, design and construct a drilling site for exploration for or the production of petroleum or brine, or for exploration for or the operation of an underground reservoir and the well or wells which will be present on the site; and
underground reservoir means a subsurface geological environment that contains or may contain petroleum in a natural porosity system or in a source rock;
well means any opening in the ground on a drilling site, other than a seismic shotpoint, that is made, is to be made or is in the process of being made for the production of petroleum, for the purpose of exploring for or obtaining petroleum, for the purpose of withdrawing water to inject into an underground formation, for the purpose of injecting gas, air, water or any other substance into an underground formation, or for any other purpose.
2016, c. 35, s. 232016, c. 35, s. 23.
Not in force
6. In this Act,
body of water means a lake, a constant or intermittent watercourse, including a bed created or altered by human intervention, except a ditch as defined in subparagraph 4 of the first paragraph of section 103 of the Municipal Powers Act (chapter C-47.1), or a marine environment;
brine means any natural aqueous solution containing more than 4% by weight of dissolved solids;
commercial discovery means a discovery of petroleum that has been demonstrated to contain petroleum reserves that justify the investment of capital and effort to bring the discovery to production;
fracturing means any operation that consists in creating fractures in a geological formation by injecting a fluid under pressure through a well;
gas means natural gas and includes all substances, other than oil, that are produced in association with natural gas;
geochemical surveying means any method of exploration for petroleum or underground reservoirs by indirect measurement to determine and quantify the distribution and migration of chemical elements in rocks, soils, sediments and water;
geophysical surveying means any method of exploration for petroleum or underground reservoirs by indirect measurement of the physical properties of the subsoil effected on the surface of the ground or in the air, particularly seismic reflection, seismic refraction, gravimetric, magnetic or resistivity surveying and any other geophysical method used to indirectly determine any characteristic of the subsoil;
oil means crude oil, regardless of gravity, produced at a well head in liquid form and any other hydrocarbons, except coal and gas, and, in particular, hydrocarbons that may be extracted or recovered from deposits of oil sand, bitumen, bituminous sand, oil shale or from any other types of deposits on the subsoil;
petroleum means oil or gas;
pipeline means any pipe or system of pipes, including associated facilities such as pumps, compressors, pumping stations and surface reservoirs, designed or used to gather or transport gas or petroleum, except
(1)  lines used to transport and distribute gas, and petroleum equipment installations governed by the Building Act (chapter B-1.1); and
(2)  pipes, including associated facilities, situated on the premises of an industrial enterprise and used for refining operation;
pool means a natural underground reservoir containing or appearing to contain an accumulation of petroleum that is or appears to be separated from any other such accumulation;
significant discovery means a discovery indicated by the first well on a geological feature that demonstrates by testing the existence of petroleum in that feature and, having regard to geological and engineering factors, suggests the existence of an accumulation of petroleum that has potential for sustained production;
stratigraphic survey means any opening in the ground, other than a seismic shotpoint, that is made to collect data on a geological formation, using samples and their analysis and technical surveys, conducted as part of preliminary investigations to eventually locate, design and construct a drilling site for exploration for or the production of petroleum or brine, or for exploration for or the operation of an underground reservoir and the well or wells which will be present on the site; and
underground reservoir means a subsurface geological environment that contains or may contain petroleum in a natural porosity system or in a source rock;
well means any opening in the ground on a drilling site, other than a seismic shotpoint, that is made, is to be made or is in the process of being made for the production of petroleum, for the purpose of exploring for or obtaining petroleum, for the purpose of withdrawing water to inject into an underground formation, for the purpose of injecting gas, air, water or any other substance into an underground formation, or for any other purpose.
2016, c. 35, s. 232016, c. 35, s. 23.

H-4.2 - Loi sur les hydrocarbures

Texte complet
6. Dans la présente loi, on entend par:
«découverte exploitable» , une découverte de réserves d’hydrocarbures suffisantes pour justifier les investissements et les travaux nécessaires à leur mise en production;
«découverte importante» , une découverte mise en évidence par le premier puits qui, pénétrant une structure géologique particulière, y démontre, d’après les essais, la présence d’hydrocarbures et révèle, compte tenu de facteurs géologiques et techniques, la présence d’une accumulation de ces hydrocarbures offrant des possibilités de production régulière;
«fracturation» , toute opération qui consiste à créer des fractures dans une formation géologique en y injectant un fluide, sous pression, par l’entremise d’un puits;
«gaz» , le gaz naturel et toutes substances produites avec celui-ci, à l’exclusion du pétrole;
«gisement» , un réservoir souterrain naturel contenant ou paraissant contenir un dépôt de pétrole, de gaz ou les deux, et séparé ou paraissant séparé de tout autre dépôt de ce genre;
«hydrocarbures» , le pétrole et le gaz;
«levé géochimique» , toute méthode de recherche d’hydrocarbures ou d’un réservoir souterrain par des mesures indirectes visant à quantifier et à connaître la distribution et la migration des éléments chimiques dans le roc, le sol, les sédiments et l’eau;
«levé géophysique» , toute méthode de recherche d’hydrocarbures ou d’un réservoir souterrain par des mesures indirectes des propriétés physiques du sous-sol effectuées à la surface du sol ou dans les airs, notamment un levé de sismique-réflection, de sismique-réfraction, de gravimétrie, de magnétisme, de résistivité ainsi que toute autre méthode géophysique employée pour déterminer indirectement toute caractéristique du sous-sol;
«milieu hydrique» , un lac ou un cours d’eau à débit régulier ou intermittent, y compris un lit créé ou modifié par une intervention humaine, à l’exception d’un fossé tel que défini au paragraphe 4° du premier alinéa de l’article 103 de la Loi sur les compétences municipales (chapitre C-47.1), ainsi que le milieu marin;
«pétrole» , le pétrole brut, quelle que soit sa densité, qui est extrait à la tête de puits sous une forme liquide et les autres composés organiques de carbure d’hydrogène, à l’exclusion du gaz et du charbon, notamment ceux qui peuvent être extraits ou récupérés de gisements de sables pétrolifères, de bitume, de sables ou de schistes bitumineux ou autres du sous-sol;
«pipeline» , toute conduite ou tout réseau de conduites, incluant les installations connexes telles que les pompes, les compresseurs, les stations de pompage et les réservoirs de surface, conçu ou utilisé pour la collecte ou le transport de gaz ou de pétrole, à l’exception:
1°  des canalisations destinées à transporter et à distribuer du gaz ainsi que des installations d’équipements pétroliers régies par la Loi sur le bâtiment (chapitre B-1.1);
2°  des conduites, incluant les installations connexes, situées sur la propriété d’une entreprise industrielle et servant aux opérations de raffinage;
«puits» , tout trou creusé dans le sol sur un site de forage, à l’exclusion des points de tir pour les levés sismiques, en vue de la recherche, de l’obtention ou de la production d’hydrocarbures, de prélèvement d’eau pour injection dans une formation souterraine, de l’injection de substances – gaz, air, eau ou autre – dans une telle formation souterraine, ou à toute autre fin, y compris les trous en cours de creusement ou dont le creusement est prévu;
«réservoir souterrain» , un environnement géologique présent en sous-surface contenant ou pouvant contenir notamment des hydrocarbures dans un réseau de porosité naturelle ou dans la roche-mère;
«saumure» , toute solution aqueuse naturelle contenant plus de 4% en poids de solides dissous;
«sondage stratigraphique» , tout trou creusé dans le sol, à l’exclusion des points de tir pour les levés sismiques, visant à recueillir des données sur une formation géologique, à l’aide notamment d’échantillons et de leurs analyses ainsi que de relevés techniques, réalisé dans le cadre de travaux préliminaires d’investigation pour éventuellement localiser, concevoir et aménager un site de forage destiné à rechercher ou à produire des hydrocarbures, de la saumure ou un réservoir souterrain et le ou les puits qui s’y trouveront.
2016, c. 35, a. 232016, c. 35, a. 23.
Non en vigueur
6. Dans la présente loi, on entend par:
«découverte exploitable» , une découverte de réserves d’hydrocarbures suffisantes pour justifier les investissements et les travaux nécessaires à leur mise en production;
«découverte importante» , une découverte mise en évidence par le premier puits qui, pénétrant une structure géologique particulière, y démontre, d’après les essais, la présence d’hydrocarbures et révèle, compte tenu de facteurs géologiques et techniques, la présence d’une accumulation de ces hydrocarbures offrant des possibilités de production régulière;
«fracturation» , toute opération qui consiste à créer des fractures dans une formation géologique en y injectant un fluide, sous pression, par l’entremise d’un puits;
«gaz» , le gaz naturel et toutes substances produites avec celui-ci, à l’exclusion du pétrole;
«gisement» , un réservoir souterrain naturel contenant ou paraissant contenir un dépôt de pétrole, de gaz ou les deux, et séparé ou paraissant séparé de tout autre dépôt de ce genre;
«hydrocarbures» , le pétrole et le gaz;
«levé géochimique» , toute méthode de recherche d’hydrocarbures ou d’un réservoir souterrain par des mesures indirectes visant à quantifier et à connaître la distribution et la migration des éléments chimiques dans le roc, le sol, les sédiments et l’eau;
«levé géophysique» , toute méthode de recherche d’hydrocarbures ou d’un réservoir souterrain par des mesures indirectes des propriétés physiques du sous-sol effectuées à la surface du sol ou dans les airs, notamment un levé de sismique-réflection, de sismique-réfraction, de gravimétrie, de magnétisme, de résistivité ainsi que toute autre méthode géophysique employée pour déterminer indirectement toute caractéristique du sous-sol;
«milieu hydrique» , un lac ou un cours d’eau à débit régulier ou intermittent, y compris un lit créé ou modifié par une intervention humaine, à l’exception d’un fossé tel que défini au paragraphe 4° du premier alinéa de l’article 103 de la Loi sur les compétences municipales (chapitre C-47.1), ainsi que le milieu marin;
«pétrole» , le pétrole brut, quelle que soit sa densité, qui est extrait à la tête de puits sous une forme liquide et les autres composés organiques de carbure d’hydrogène, à l’exclusion du gaz et du charbon, notamment ceux qui peuvent être extraits ou récupérés de gisements de sables pétrolifères, de bitume, de sables ou de schistes bitumineux ou autres du sous-sol;
«pipeline» , toute conduite ou tout réseau de conduites, incluant les installations connexes telles que les pompes, les compresseurs, les stations de pompage et les réservoirs de surface, conçu ou utilisé pour la collecte ou le transport de gaz ou de pétrole, à l’exception:
1°  des canalisations destinées à transporter et à distribuer du gaz ainsi que des installations d’équipements pétroliers régies par la Loi sur le bâtiment (chapitre B-1.1);
2°  des conduites, incluant les installations connexes, situées sur la propriété d’une entreprise industrielle et servant aux opérations de raffinage;
«puits» , tout trou creusé dans le sol sur un site de forage, à l’exclusion des points de tir pour les levés sismiques, en vue de la recherche, de l’obtention ou de la production d’hydrocarbures, de prélèvement d’eau pour injection dans une formation souterraine, de l’injection de substances – gaz, air, eau ou autre – dans une telle formation souterraine, ou à toute autre fin, y compris les trous en cours de creusement ou dont le creusement est prévu;
«réservoir souterrain» , un environnement géologique présent en sous-surface contenant ou pouvant contenir notamment des hydrocarbures dans un réseau de porosité naturelle ou dans la roche-mère;
«saumure» , toute solution aqueuse naturelle contenant plus de 4% en poids de solides dissous;
«sondage stratigraphique» , tout trou creusé dans le sol, à l’exclusion des points de tir pour les levés sismiques, visant à recueillir des données sur une formation géologique, à l’aide notamment d’échantillons et de leurs analyses ainsi que de relevés techniques, réalisé dans le cadre de travaux préliminaires d’investigation pour éventuellement localiser, concevoir et aménager un site de forage destiné à rechercher ou à produire des hydrocarbures, de la saumure ou un réservoir souterrain et le ou les puits qui s’y trouveront.
2016, c. 35, a. 232016, c. 35, a. 23.