H-4.2 - Petroleum Resources Act

Full text
128. An exploration, production or storage licence holder or a pipeline construction or use authorization holder is required, irrespective of any fault alleged against anyone and up to, for each event, an amount the Government determines by regulation, to make reparation for any injury caused through or in the course of their work or activities, including a loss of non-use value relating to a public resource, in particular due to emanations or migrations of gas or spills of oil or other liquids. Beyond that amount, the holder may be required to make reparation for injury caused through their fault or the fault of any of their employees or subcontractors in the performance of their functions. The holder nevertheless has a right to bring any legal remedy, for the entire injury, against the person who committed the fault.
The holder may not be relieved of liability by proving that the injury resulted from superior force. The cases of apportionment of liability set out in the Civil Code apply to any action brought against the holder for sums in excess of the amount determined under the first paragraph and to any recursory action brought by the holder.
The holder must provide proof, in the form and manner the Government determines by regulation, that they are solvent to an amount determined by the Government.
Only the Government may bring a legal action to recover a loss of non-use value relating to a public resource.
2016, c. 35, s. 232016, c. 35, s. 23.
Not in force
128. An exploration, production or storage licence holder or a pipeline construction or use authorization holder is required, irrespective of any fault alleged against anyone and up to, for each event, an amount the Government determines by regulation, to make reparation for any injury caused through or in the course of their work or activities, including a loss of non-use value relating to a public resource, in particular due to emanations or migrations of gas or spills of oil or other liquids. Beyond that amount, the holder may be required to make reparation for injury caused through their fault or the fault of any of their employees or subcontractors in the performance of their functions. The holder nevertheless has a right to bring any legal remedy, for the entire injury, against the person who committed the fault.
The holder may not be relieved of liability by proving that the injury resulted from superior force. The cases of apportionment of liability set out in the Civil Code apply to any action brought against the holder for sums in excess of the amount determined under the first paragraph and to any recursory action brought by the holder.
The holder must provide proof, in the form and manner the Government determines by regulation, that they are solvent to an amount determined by the Government.
Only the Government may bring a legal action to recover a loss of non-use value relating to a public resource.
2016, c. 35, s. 232016, c. 35, s. 23.

H-4.2 - Loi sur les hydrocarbures

Texte complet
128. Le titulaire d’une licence d’exploration, de production ou de stockage ou d’une autorisation de construction ou d’utilisation d’un pipeline est tenu, sans égard à la faute de quiconque et jusqu’à concurrence, par événement, d’un montant que le gouvernement détermine par règlement, de réparer le préjudice causé par le fait ou à l’occasion de ses activités, incluant la perte de valeur de non-usage liée aux ressources publiques, notamment en raison d’émanation ou de migration de gaz ou d’écoulement de pétrole ou d’autres liquides. Au-delà de ce montant, le titulaire peut être tenu de réparer le préjudice causé par sa faute ou celle de ses sous-contractants ou de ses préposés dans l’exécution de leurs fonctions. Il conserve néanmoins son recours contre l’auteur de la faute pour la totalité du préjudice.
Le titulaire ne peut se dégager de sa responsabilité en prouvant que le préjudice résulte d’une force majeure. Les cas de partage de la responsabilité prévus au Code civil s’appliquent à toute action intentée contre le titulaire pour les sommes excédant le montant prévu au premier alinéa de même qu’à toute action récursoire intentée par celui-ci.
Le titulaire doit fournir la preuve, selon la forme et les modalités que le gouvernement détermine par règlement, qu’il est solvable pour le montant déterminé par le gouvernement.
Seul le gouvernement peut prendre une action en justice pour recouvrer la perte de valeur de non-usage liée aux ressources publiques.
2016, c. 35, a. 232016, c. 35, a. 23.
Non en vigueur
128. Le titulaire d’une licence d’exploration, de production ou de stockage ou d’une autorisation de construction ou d’utilisation d’un pipeline est tenu, sans égard à la faute de quiconque et jusqu’à concurrence, par événement, d’un montant que le gouvernement détermine par règlement, de réparer le préjudice causé par le fait ou à l’occasion de ses activités, incluant la perte de valeur de non-usage liée aux ressources publiques, notamment en raison d’émanation ou de migration de gaz ou d’écoulement de pétrole ou d’autres liquides. Au-delà de ce montant, le titulaire peut être tenu de réparer le préjudice causé par sa faute ou celle de ses sous-contractants ou de ses préposés dans l’exécution de leurs fonctions. Il conserve néanmoins son recours contre l’auteur de la faute pour la totalité du préjudice.
Le titulaire ne peut se dégager de sa responsabilité en prouvant que le préjudice résulte d’une force majeure. Les cas de partage de la responsabilité prévus au Code civil s’appliquent à toute action intentée contre le titulaire pour les sommes excédant le montant prévu au premier alinéa de même qu’à toute action récursoire intentée par celui-ci.
Le titulaire doit fournir la preuve, selon la forme et les modalités que le gouvernement détermine par règlement, qu’il est solvable pour le montant déterminé par le gouvernement.
Seul le gouvernement peut prendre une action en justice pour recouvrer la perte de valeur de non-usage liée aux ressources publiques.
2016, c. 35, a. 232016, c. 35, a. 23.