E-15.1.0.1 - Municipal Ethics and Good Conduct Act

Full text
6. The code of ethics and conduct must include rules prohibiting a member of a council of the municipality from
(1)  acting or attempting to act, or omitting to act, in any way, in carrying out the duties of office, so as to further his or her private interests or improperly further those of another person;
(2)  using his or her position to influence or attempt to influence another person’s decision so as to further his or her private interests or improperly further those of another person;
(3)  soliciting, eliciting, accepting or receiving any benefit, whether for himself or herself or for another person, in exchange for taking a position on a matter that may be brought before a council, a committee or a commission on which the council member sits;
(4)  accepting any gift, hospitality or other benefit, whatever its value, that may impair his or her independence of judgment in carrying out the duties of office, or that may compromise his or her integrity;
(5)  using the resources of the municipality or of any other body referred to in subparagraph 1 of the first paragraph of section 5 for personal purposes or for purposes other than activities related to the duties of office;
(6)  using or communicating, or attempting to use or communicate, whether during or after his or her term, information obtained in or in connection with the carrying out of the duties of office that is not generally available to the public so as to further his or her private interests or those of another person; and
(7)  within 12 months after the expiry of his or her term, serve as a director or officer or senior executive of a legal person or hold employment or any other position so as to obtain for himself or herself or another person undue benefit from his or her prior office as council member.
The rules must also require a member of a council of the municipality to file a disclosure statement in writing with the clerk or the secretary-treasurer of the municipality within 30 days after receiving a gift, hospitality or other benefit not prohibited under subparagraph 4 of the first paragraph that is not of a purely private nature and whose value exceeds the value specified in the code, which may not be greater than $200. The disclosure statement must contain an accurate description of the gift, hospitality or benefit received and specify the name of the donor and the date on which and the circumstances under which it was received.
The clerk or the secretary-treasurer keeps a public register in which such disclosure statements are recorded.
At the last regular council sitting in the month of December, the clerk or the secretary-treasurer tables an extract from the register containing the disclosure statements filed since the last sitting at which such an extract was tabled.
2010, c. 27, s. 6.

E-15.1.0.1 - Loi sur l’éthique et la déontologie en matière municipale

Texte complet
6. Les règles prévues au code d’éthique et de déontologie doivent notamment interdire à tout membre d’un conseil de la municipalité:
1°  d’agir, de tenter d’agir ou d’omettre d’agir de façon à favoriser, dans l’exercice de ses fonctions, ses intérêts personnels ou, d’une manière abusive, ceux de toute autre personne;
2°  de se prévaloir de sa fonction pour influencer ou tenter d’influencer la décision d’une autre personne de façon à favoriser ses intérêts personnels ou, d’une manière abusive, ceux de toute autre personne;
3°  de solliciter, de susciter, d’accepter ou de recevoir, pour lui-même ou pour une autre personne, quelque avantage que ce soit en échange d’une prise de position sur une question dont un conseil, un comité ou une commission dont il est membre peut être saisi;
4°  d’accepter tout don, toute marque d’hospitalité ou tout autre avantage, quelle que soit sa valeur, qui peut influencer son indépendance de jugement dans l’exercice de ses fonctions ou qui risque de compromettre son intégrité;
5°  d’utiliser des ressources de la municipalité ou de tout autre organisme visé au paragraphe 1º du premier alinéa de l’article 5 à des fins personnelles ou à des fins autres que les activités liées à l’exercice de ses fonctions;
6°  d’utiliser, de communiquer ou de tenter d’utiliser ou de communiquer, tant pendant son mandat qu’après celui-ci, des renseignements obtenus dans l’exercice ou à l’occasion de l’exercice de ses fonctions et qui ne sont généralement pas à la disposition du public pour favoriser ses intérêts personnels ou ceux de toute autre personne;
7°  dans les 12 mois qui suivent la fin de son mandat, d’occuper un poste d’administrateur ou de dirigeant d’une personne morale, un emploi ou toute autre fonction de telle sorte que lui-même ou toute autre personne tire un avantage indu de ses fonctions antérieures à titre de membre d’un conseil de la municipalité.
Ces règles doivent également prévoir que tout don, toute marque d’hospitalité ou tout autre avantage reçu par un membre d’un conseil de la municipalité et qui n’est pas de nature purement privée ou visé par le paragraphe 4º du premier alinéa doit, lorsque sa valeur excède celle que doit fixer le code, laquelle ne peut être supérieure à 200 $, faire l’objet dans les 30 jours de sa réception d’une déclaration écrite par ce membre auprès du greffier ou du secrétaire-trésorier de la municipalité. Cette déclaration doit contenir une description adéquate du don, de la marque d’hospitalité ou de l’avantage reçu et préciser le nom du donateur ainsi que la date et les circonstances de sa réception.
Le greffier ou le secrétaire-trésorier tient un registre public de ces déclarations.
Lors de la dernière séance ordinaire du conseil du mois de décembre, le greffier ou le secrétaire-trésorier dépose un extrait de ce registre qui contient les déclarations visées au deuxième alinéa qui ont été faites depuis la dernière séance au cours de laquelle un tel extrait a été déposé.
2010, c. 27, a. 6.