C-26 - Professional Code

Full text
86.1. The board of directors may establish a professional liability insurance fund and administer it in accordance with the provisions of the Insurers Act (chapter A-32.1) that are applicable to self-regulatory organizations.
In addition to the exclusive functions and powers delegated to the professional liability insurance decision-making committee by the board of directors under the second paragraph of section 354 of the Insurers Act, the board may delegate other functions and powers to it within the limits provided for in sections 354 and 355 of that Act. The order must take the measures necessary to preserve at all times the autonomy of the decision-making committee in the exercise of its functions and powers relating to the processing of notices of loss likely to fall under the coverage of the insurance contracts underwritten by the order.
Professional liability claims for any professional fault committed, by persons who have ceased being members of the order for five years or less or, if applicable, for a period of time determined in a regulation made under paragraph d or g of section 93, while they were still members and were contributing to the fund must be paid out of the assets of the fund and according to the limits and the conditions and procedures determined by the board of directors.
Nothing in this Code prevents a professional order, if it is so authorized in accordance with the Insurers Act, from providing the services described in section 41 of that Act.
1987, c. 54, s. 34; 1990, c. 52, s. 1; 1994, c. 40, s. 74; 2001, c. 34, s. 4; 2003, c. 1, s. 15; 2008, c. 11, s. 1, s. 55; 2018, c. 232018, c. 23, s. 6.
86.1. The board of directors may set up a professional liability insurance fund and administer it in accordance with the Act respecting insurance (chapter A-32).
The resolution creating the fund is effective only if the Minister of Finance authorizes the professional order to act as insurer in accordance with section 174.5 of the Act respecting insurance.
Professional liability claims for any professional fault committed, by persons who have ceased being members of the order for five years or less, while they were still members and were contributing to the fund must be paid out of the equity of the fund and according to the limits and the conditions and procedures determined by the board of directors.
Nothing in this Code shall prevent a professional order from setting up, acquiring or managing an insurance company to insure its members in respect of professional liability and, where applicable, other risks referred to in the second paragraph of section 220 of the Act respecting insurance, or the liability of a partnership or company which may arise from fault on the part of members authorized to carry on their professional activities within the partnership or company in accordance with section 187.11.
1987, c. 54, s. 34; 1990, c. 52, s. 1; 1994, c. 40, s. 74; 2001, c. 34, s. 4; 2003, c. 1, s. 15; 2008, c. 11, s. 1, s. 55.
86.1. The Bureau may, by resolution, set up a professional liability insurance fund and administer it in accordance with the Act respecting insurance (chapter A-32).
The resolution is effective only if the Minister of Finance authorizes the professional order to act as insurer in accordance with section 174.5 of the Act respecting insurance.
Where so prescribed by resolution of the Bureau, claims based on the professional liability of former members of the order by reason of professional fault or negligence committed while they were members of the order must be satisfied out of the fund’s equity and according to the limits and the terms and conditions set out in the resolution.
Nothing in this Code shall prevent a professional order from setting up, acquiring or managing an insurance company to insure its members in respect of professional liability and, where applicable, other risks referred to in the second paragraph of section 220 of the Act respecting insurance, or the liability of a partnership or company which may arise from fault or negligence on the part of members authorized to carry on their professional activities within the partnership or company in accordance with section 187.11.
Notwithstanding section 96, the administrative committee is not authorized to exercise the powers provided for in the first and third paragraphs.
1987, c. 54, s. 34; 1990, c. 52, s. 1; 1994, c. 40, s. 74; 2001, c. 34, s. 4; 2003, c. 1, s. 15.
86.1. The Bureau may, by resolution, set up a professional liability insurance fund and administer it in accordance with the Act respecting insurance (chapter A-32).
The resolution is effective only if the Minister of Finance authorizes the professional order to act as insurer in accordance with section 174.5 of the Act respecting insurance.
Where so prescribed by resolution of the Bureau, claims based on the professional liability of former members of the order by reason of professional fault or negligence committed while they were members of the order must be satisfied out of the fund’s equity and according to the limits and the terms and conditions set out in the resolution.
Nothing in this Code shall prevent a professional order from setting up, acquiring or managing an insurance company to insure its members in respect of professional liability or the liability of a partnership or company which may arise from fault or negligence on the part of members authorized to carry on their professional activities within the partnership or company in accordance with section 187.11.
Notwithstanding section 96, the administrative committee is not authorized to exercise the powers provided for in the first and third paragraphs.
1987, c. 54, s. 34; 1990, c. 52, s. 1; 1994, c. 40, s. 74; 2001, c. 34, s. 4.
86.1. The Bureau may, by resolution, set up a professional liability insurance fund and administer it in accordance with the Act respecting insurance (chapter A-32).
The resolution is effective only if the Minister of Finance authorizes the professional order to act as insurer to insure its members in respect of professional liability pursuant to a regulation adopted under paragraph d of section 93.
Where so prescribed by resolution of the Bureau, claims based on the professional liability of former members of the order by reason of professional fault or negligence committed while they were members of the order must be satisfied out of the fund’s equity and according to the limits and the terms and conditions set out in the resolution.
Nothing in this Code shall prevent a professional order from setting up, acquiring or managing an insurance company to insure its members in respect of professional liability.
Notwithstanding section 96, the administrative committee is not authorized to exercise the powers provided for in the first and third paragraphs.
1987, c. 54, s. 34; 1990, c. 52, s. 1; 1994, c. 40, s. 74.
86.1. The Bureau may, by resolution, set up a professional liability insurance fund and administer that fund in accordance with the Act respecting insurance (chapter A-32).
The resolution is effective only if the Minister of Finance authorizes the professional corporation to act as insurer to insure its members in respect of professional liability pursuant to a regulation made under paragraph l of section 94.
Where so prescribed by the Bureau by resolution, claims based on the professional liability of former members of the corporation by reason of professional fault or negligence committed while they were members of the corporation must be satisfied out of the funds’ equity and according to the limits and the terms and conditions set out in the resolution.
Nothing in this Code prevents a professional corporation from setting up, acquiring or managing an insurance company to insure its members in respect of professional liability.
Notwithstanding section 96, the administrative committee is not authorized to exercise the powers provided for in the first and third paragraphs.
1987, c. 54, s. 34; 1990, c. 52, s. 1.
86.1. The Bureau may, by resolution, set up a professional liability insurance fund and administer that fund in accordance with the Act respecting insurance (chapter A-32).
The resolution is effective only if the Minister of Finance authorizes the professional corporation to act as insurer to insure its members in respect of professional liability pursuant to a regulation made under paragraph l of section 94.
Nothing in this Code prevents a professional corporation from setting up, acquiring or managing an insurance company to insure its members in respect of professional liability.
Notwithstanding section 96, the administrative committee is not authorized to exercise the powers provided for in the first paragraph.
1987, c. 54, s. 34.

C-26 - Code des professions

Texte complet
86.1. Le Conseil d’administration peut constituer un fonds d’assurance de la responsabilité professionnelle et l’administrer conformément aux dispositions applicables aux organismes d’autoréglementation prévues à la Loi sur les assureurs (chapitre A-32.1).
En outre des fonctions et pouvoirs exclusifs délégués au comité de décision en matière d’assurance de la responsabilité professionnelle par le Conseil d’administration en vertu du deuxième alinéa de l’article 354 de la Loi sur les assureurs, le Conseil peut lui déléguer d’autres fonctions et pouvoirs dans les limites prévues aux articles 354 et 355 de cette loi. L’ordre doit prendre les mesures pour préserver en tout temps l’autonomie du comité de décision dans l’exercice de ses fonctions et pouvoirs relatifs au traitement des déclarations de sinistre de nature à mettre en jeu la garantie prévue par les contrats d’assurance souscrits par l’ordre.
Les réclamations fondées sur la responsabilité professionnelle de personnes qui ne sont plus membres de l’ordre depuis cinq ans ou moins ou, le cas échéant, depuis le délai déterminé dans un règlement pris en application du paragraphe d ou g de l’article 93, en raison de fautes commises dans l’exercice de la profession alors qu’elles étaient membres de l’ordre et souscrivaient au fonds, doivent être acquittées sur les actifs du fonds et selon les limites, conditions et modalités que le Conseil d’administration détermine.
Rien dans le présent code n’empêche un ordre professionnel, s’il y est autorisé conformément à la Loi sur les assureurs, de fournir les services visés à l’article 41 de cette loi.
1987, c. 54, a. 34; 1990, c. 52, a. 1; 1994, c. 40, a. 74; 2001, c. 34, a. 4; 2003, c. 1, a. 15; 2008, c. 11, a. 1, a. 55; 2018, c. 232018, c. 23, a. 6.
86.1. Le Conseil d’administration peut créer un fonds d’assurance de la responsabilité professionnelle et l’administrer conformément à la Loi sur les assurances (chapitre A-32).
La résolution créant le fonds n’entre en vigueur que si le ministre des Finances autorise l’ordre professionnel à agir à titre d’assureur conformément à l’article 174.5 de la Loi sur les assurances.
Les réclamations fondées sur la responsabilité professionnelle de personnes qui ne sont plus membres de l’ordre depuis cinq ans ou moins, en raison de fautes commises dans l’exercice de la profession alors qu’elles étaient membres de l’ordre et souscrivaient au fonds, doivent être acquittées sur les avoirs du fonds et selon les limites, conditions et modalités que le Conseil d’administration détermine.
Rien dans le présent code n’empêche un ordre professionnel de constituer, acquérir ou administrer une compagnie d’assurance pour assurer la responsabilité professionnelle de ses membres et, le cas échéant, les autres risques visés au deuxième alinéa de l’article 220 de la Loi sur les assurances ou pour assurer la responsabilité que peut encourir une société en raison des fautes commises par les membres autorisés à y exercer leurs activités professionnelles conformément à l’article 187.11.
1987, c. 54, a. 34; 1990, c. 52, a. 1; 1994, c. 40, a. 74; 2001, c. 34, a. 4; 2003, c. 1, a. 15; 2008, c. 11, a. 1, a. 55.
86.1. Le Bureau peut, par résolution, créer un fonds d’assurance de la responsabilité professionnelle et l’administrer conformément à la Loi sur les assurances (chapitre A‐32).
Cette résolution n’entre en vigueur que si le ministre des Finances autorise l’ordre professionnel à agir à titre d’assureur conformément à l’article 174.5 de la Loi sur les assurances.
Lorsque le Bureau le prescrit par résolution, les réclamations fondées sur la responsabilité professionnelle des ex-membres de l’ordre, en raison de fautes ou de négligences commises dans l’exercice de la profession alors qu’ils étaient membres de l’ordre, doivent être acquittées sur les avoirs du fonds et selon les limites, conditions et modalités que la résolution indique.
Rien dans le présent code n’empêche un ordre professionnel de constituer, acquérir ou administrer une compagnie d’assurance pour assurer la responsabilité professionnelle de ses membres et, le cas échéant, les autres risques visés au deuxième alinéa de l’article 220 de la Loi sur les assurances ou pour assurer la responsabilité que peut encourir une société en raison des fautes ou négligences commises par les membres autorisés à y exercer leurs activités professionnelles conformément à l’article 187.11.
Malgré l’article 96, le comité administratif ne peut exercer les pouvoirs prévus aux premier et troisième alinéas.
1987, c. 54, a. 34; 1990, c. 52, a. 1; 1994, c. 40, a. 74; 2001, c. 34, a. 4; 2003, c. 1, a. 15.
86.1. Le Bureau peut, par résolution, créer un fonds d’assurance de la responsabilité professionnelle et l’administrer conformément à la Loi sur les assurances (chapitre A‐32).
Cette résolution n’entre en vigueur que si le ministre des Finances autorise l’ordre professionnel à agir à titre d’assureur conformément à l’article 174.5 de la Loi sur les assurances.
Lorsque le Bureau le prescrit par résolution, les réclamations fondées sur la responsabilité professionnelle des ex-membres de l’ordre, en raison de fautes ou de négligences commises dans l’exercice de la profession alors qu’ils étaient membres de l’ordre, doivent être acquittées sur les avoirs du fonds et selon les limites, conditions et modalités que la résolution indique.
Rien dans le présent code n’empêche un ordre professionnel de constituer, acquérir ou administrer une compagnie d’assurance pour assurer la responsabilité professionnelle de ses membres ou la responsabilité que peut encourir une société en raison des fautes ou négligences commises par les membres autorisés à y exercer leurs activités professionnelles conformément à l’article 187.11.
Malgré l’article 96, le comité administratif ne peut exercer les pouvoirs prévus aux premier et troisième alinéas.
1987, c. 54, a. 34; 1990, c. 52, a. 1; 1994, c. 40, a. 74; 2001, c. 34, a. 4.
86.1. Le Bureau peut, par résolution, créer un fonds d’assurance de la responsabilité professionnelle et l’administrer conformément à la Loi sur les assurances (chapitre A‐32).
Cette résolution n’entre en vigueur que si le ministre des Finances autorise l’ordre professionnel à agir à titre d’assureur pour assurer la responsabilité professionnelle de ses membres conformément à un règlement adopté en vertu du paragraphe d de l’article 93.
Lorsque le Bureau le prescrit par résolution, les réclamations fondées sur la responsabilité professionnelle des ex-membres de l’ordre, en raison de fautes ou de négligences commises dans l’exercice de la profession alors qu’ils étaient membres de l’ordre, doivent être acquittées sur les avoirs du fonds et selon les limites, conditions et modalités que la résolution indique.
Rien dans le présent code n’empêche un ordre professionnel de constituer, acquérir ou administrer une compagnie d’assurance pour assurer la responsabilité professionnelle de ses membres.
Malgré l’article 96, le comité administratif ne peut exercer les pouvoirs prévus aux premier et troisième alinéas.
1987, c. 54, a. 34; 1990, c. 52, a. 1; 1994, c. 40, a. 74.
86.1. Le Bureau peut, par résolution, créer un fonds d’assurance de la responsabilité professionnelle et l’administrer conformément à la Loi sur les assurances (chapitre A‐32).
Cette résolution n’entre en vigueur que si le ministre des Finances autorise la corporation professionnelle à agir à titre d’assureur pour assurer la responsabilité professionnelle de ses membres conformément à un règlement adopté en vertu du paragraphe l de l’article 94.
Lorsque le Bureau le prescrit par résolution, les réclamations fondées sur la responsabilité professionnelle des ex-membres de la corporation, en raison de fautes ou de négligences commises dans l’exercice de la profession alors qu’ils étaient membres de la corporation, doivent être acquittées sur les avoirs du fonds et selon les limites, conditions et modalités que la résolution indique.
Rien dans le présent code n’empêche une corporation professionnelle de constituer, acquérir ou administrer une compagnie d’assurance pour assurer la responsabilité professionnelle de ses membres.
Malgré l’article 96, le Comité administratif ne peut exercer les pouvoirs prévus aux premier et troisième alinéas.
1987, c. 54, a. 34; 1990, c. 52, a. 1.
86.1. Le Bureau peut, par résolution, créer un fonds d’assurance de la responsabilité professionnelle et l’administrer conformément à la Loi sur les assurance (chapitre A‐32).
Cette résolution n’entre en vigueur que si le ministre des Finances autorise la corporation professionnelle à agir à titre d’assureur pour assurer la responsabilité professionnelle de ses membres conformément à un règlement adopté en vertu du paragraphe l de l’article 94.
Rien dans le présent code n’empêche une corporation professionnelle de constituer, acquérir ou administrer une compagnie d’assurance pour assurer la responsabilité professionnelle de ses membres.
Malgré l’article 96, le Comité administratif ne peut exercer les pouvoirs prévus au premier alinéa.
1987, c. 54, a. 34.