C-19 - Cities and Towns Act

Full text
114.1. In application of sections 113 and 114, the director general shall, in particular, perform the following duties:
(1)  he shall ensure communication between the council, the executive committee and other committees, on the one hand, and the other officers and employees of the municipality on the other hand; for that purpose, the director general shall have access to every document of the municipality and may require any document or information from any officer or employee except where, in the opinion of the head of the police department, it would disclose the content of a record concerning a police investigation;
(2)  he shall prepare the budget and, where such is the case, the municipality’s program of capital expenditures and the plans, programs and projects intended for the orderly functioning of the municipality with the collaboration of the heads of departments and the other officers and employees of the municipality;
(3)  he shall examine the complaints and claims against the municipality;
(4)  he shall examine the draft by-laws of the municipality;
(5)  he shall submit to the council, the executive committee or another committee, as the case may be, the budgets, programs of capital expenditures, plans, programs and projects prepared by him together with his observations and recommendations concerning the complaints, claims and draft by-laws that he has examined;
(6)  he shall make to the council, the executive committee or another committee, as the case may be, a report on any matter that he believes should be brought to it in view of the sound management of public funds, the progress of the municipality and the welfare of its citizens provided that the report does not, in the opinion of the head of the police department, tend to disclose the content of a record concerning a police investigation; and, he shall, where he considers it expedient, add his own conclusions to the record of any matter submitted to the council, the executive committee or another committee;
(7)  he shall attend the meetings of the council, of the executive committee and of other committees and, with the permission of the chairman of the meeting, give his advice and present recommendations on the matters debated, without having the right to vote;
(8)  subject to the powers of the mayor, he shall see to it that the by-laws of the municipality and the decisions of the council are implemented and, particularly, see to it that the funds are used for the purposes for which they were voted.
1983, c. 57, s. 50.

C-19 - Loi sur les cités et villes

Texte complet
114.1. Dans l’application des articles 113 et 114, le directeur général exerce notamment les fonctions suivantes:
1°  il assure les communications entre le conseil, le comité exécutif et les commissions, d’une part, et les autres fonctionnaires et employés de la municipalité, d’autre part; à cette fin, il a accès à tous les documents de la municipalité et il peut obliger tout fonctionnaire ou employé à lui fournir tout document ou tout renseignement, sauf si celui-ci est, de l’avis du directeur du service de police, de nature à révéler le contenu d’un dossier concernant une enquête policière;
2°  il prépare le budget et le programme d’immobilisations de la municipalité et les plans, les programmes et les projets destinés à assurer son bon fonctionnement, avec la collaboration des directeurs de services et des autres fonctionnaires ou employés de la municipalité;
3°  il examine les plaintes et les réclamations contre la municipalité;
4°  il étudie les projets de règlements de la municipalité;
5°  il soumet au conseil, au comité exécutif ou à une commission, selon le cas, les budgets, les programmes d’immobilisations, les plans, les programmes et les projets qu’il a préparés ainsi que ses observations et ses recommandations concernant les plaintes, les réclamations et les projets de règlements qu’il a étudiés;
6°  il fait rapport au conseil, au comité exécutif ou à une commission, selon le cas, sur tout sujet qu’il croit devoir porter à sa connaissance en vue de la saine administration des deniers publics, du progrès de la municipalité et du bien-être des citoyens, pourvu que ce rapport ne soit pas, de l’avis du directeur du service de police, de nature à révéler le contenu d’un dossier concernant une enquête policière; s’il le juge à propos, il verse ses propres conclusions au dossier sur tout sujet soumis au conseil, au comité exécutif ou à une commission;
7°  il assiste aux séances du conseil, du comité exécutif et des commissions et, avec la permission du président de la séance, il donne son avis et présente ses recommandations sur les sujets discutés, sans avoir le droit de voter;
8°  sous réserve des pouvoirs du maire, il veille à l’exécution des règlements de la municipalité et des décisions du conseil, et notamment il veille à l’emploi des fonds aux fins pour lesquelles ils ont été votés.
1983, c. 57, a. 50.