A-3 - Workers’ Compensation Act

Full text
24. (1)  Where a worker has upon the request of his employer submitted himself for examination, or has been examined by a duly qualified medical practitioner selected by himself, and a copy of the report of the medical practitioner has been furnished in the former case by the employer to the worker, and in the latter case by the worker to the employer, the Commission may, on the application of either of the parties, refer the matter to an expert.
(2)  The expert to whom a reference is made under subsection 1 of this section or who has examined the worker by the direction of the Commission under subsection 1 of section 23, shall certify to the Commission as to the condition of the worker and his fitness for employment, specifying, where necessary, the Kind of employment, and, if unfit, the cause and degree of such unfitness.
(3)  The Commission may suspend the payment of the indemnity to which the worker may be entitled if such worker refuses to submit to any examination required by this Act or ordered under any of its provisions, or in any way obstructs any examination; and payment of his indemnity shall be so suspended until such examination has taken place.
(4)  The Commission may also, in its discretion, diminish the indemnity to which a worker is entitled, or suspend payment thereof, whenever the worker persists in dangerous and unsanitary practices imperilling or retarding his cure and whenever he refuses to submit to such medical treatment, as the Commission, on the advice of the expert, may deem necessary for his cure. But this subsection 4 shall not apply in the event of the worker refusing to submit to surgical aid.
R. S. 1964, c. 159, s. 23; 1978, c. 57, s. 1, s. 16.
24. (1)  Where a workman has upon the request of his employer submitted himself for examination, or has been examined by a duly qualified medical practitioner selected by himself, and a copy of the report of the medical practitioner has been furnished in the former case by the employer to the workman, and in the latter case by the workman to the employer, the Commission may, on the application of either of the parties, refer the matter to an expert.
(2)  The expert to whom a reference is made under subsection 1 of this section or who has examined the workman by the direction of the Commission under subsection 1 of section 23, shall certify to the Commission as to the condition of the workman and his fitness for employment, specifying, where necessary, the kind of employment, and, if unfit, the cause and degree of such unfitness. The expert’s certificate, unless the Commission otherwise directs, shall be conclusive as to its contents.
(3)  The Commission may suspend the payment of the compensation to which the workman may be entitled if such workman refuses to submit to any examination required by this act or ordered under any of its provisions, or in any way obstructs any examination; and payment of his compensation shall be so suspended until such examination has taken place.
(4)  The Commission may also, in its discretion, diminish the compensation to which a workman is entitled, or suspend payment thereof, whenever the workman persists in dangerous and unsanitary practices imperilling or retarding his cure and whenever he refuses to submit to such medical treatment, as the Commission, on the advice of the expert, may deem necessary for his cure. But this subsection 4 shall not apply in the event of the workman refusing to submit to surgical aid.
R. S. 1964, c. 159, s. 23.

A-3 - Loi sur les accidents du travail

Texte complet
24. 1.  Lorsqu’un examen médical du travailleur a été fait à la demande de l’employeur, ou lorsque le travailleur a subi un examen fait par un médecin dûment qualifié et choisi par lui-même et qu’une copie de ce rapport a été transmise, dans le premier cas, par l’employeur au travailleur, et dans le second cas, par le travailleur à l’employeur, la commission peut, à la demande d’une des parties, soumettre le cas à un expert.
2.  L’expert qui procède en vertu du présent article ou qui examine le travailleur sur l’ordre de la commission en vertu du paragraphe 1 de l’article 23, doit faire un rapport à la commission constatant l’état du travailleur, sa capacité de travail et, si nécessaire, la nature de son emploi et, dans le cas d’incapacité, la cause et le degré de cette incapacité.
3.  La commission peut suspendre le paiement de l’indemnité à laquelle le travailleur a droit s’il refuse de se soumettre à l’un des examens prescrits par la présente loi ou ordonnés en vertu de l’une de ses dispositions, ou s’il entrave en quelque façon que ce soit l’un de ces examens; et le paiement de l’indemnité reste ainsi suspendu jusqu’à ce que l’examen ait été fait.
4.  La commission peut, à sa discrétion, réduire l’indemnité à laquelle un travailleur a droit ou en suspendre le paiement, lorsque le travailleur persiste dans des pratiques dangereuses et malsaines qui empêchent ou retardent sa guérison et lorsqu’il refuse de se soumettre à tel traitement médical que la commission, sur l’avis de l’expert, croit nécessaire à sa guérison. Mais le présent paragraphe 4 ne s’applique pas au cas du refus du travailleur de se soumettre à une intervention chirurgicale.
S. R. 1964, c. 159, a. 23; 1978, c. 57, a. 1, a. 16.
24. 1.  Lorsqu’un examen médical de l’ouvrier a été fait à la demande de l’employeur, ou lorsque l’ouvrier a subi un examen fait par un médecin dûment qualifié et choisi par lui-même et qu’une copie de ce rapport a été transmise, dans le premier cas, par l’employeur à l’ouvrier, et dans le second cas, par l’ouvrier à l’employeur, la commission peut, à la demande d’une des parties, soumettre le cas à un expert.
2.  L’expert qui procède en vertu du présent article ou qui examine l’ouvrier sur l’ordre de la commission en vertu du paragraphe 1 de l’article 23, doit faire un rapport à la commission constatant l’état de l’ouvrier, sa capacité de travail et, si nécessaire, la nature de son emploi et, dans le cas d’incapacité, la cause et le degré de cette incapacité. Ce rapport, à moins que la commission n’en décide autrement, est final quant aux constatations qu’il comporte.
3.  La commission peut suspendre le paiement de la compensation à laquelle l’ouvrier a droit s’il refuse de se soumettre à l’un des examens prescrits par la présente loi ou ordonnés en vertu de l’une de ses dispositions, ou s’il entrave en quelque façon que ce soit l’un de ces examens; et le paiement de la compensation reste ainsi suspendu jusqu’à ce que l’examen ait été fait.
4.  La commission peut, à sa discrétion, réduire la compensation à laquelle un ouvrier a droit ou en suspendre le paiement, lorsque l’ouvrier persiste dans des pratiques dangereuses et malsaines qui empêchent ou retardent sa guérison et lorsqu’il refuse de se soumettre à tel traitement médical que la commission, sur l’avis de l’expert, croit nécessaire à sa guérison. Mais le présent paragraphe 4 ne s’applique pas au cas du refus de l’ouvrier de se soumettre à une intervention chirurgicale.
S. R. 1964, c. 159, a. 23.