S-4.2, r. 0.01 - Regulation respecting the certification of private seniors’ residence

Full text
54. The operator of a private seniors’ residence may not use control measures involving force, isolation or mechanical means on a resident. In addition, the operator may not use any chemical substance as a control measure.
Despite the first paragraph, as a last resort, the operator of a category 3 or 4 residence may use control measures involving force, isolation or mechanical means in an emergency situation, when alternative control measures have been ineffective in reducing the danger or may not be applied in due time and it is imperative to protect the resident or another person from a serious and imminent danger of injury. In such a case, the operator must apply the control measures temporarily and in the least constraining way possible. The operator must also record in the resident’s file the reasons for which the alternative measures proved ineffective or could not be applied in due time. The operator may not use any chemical substance as a control measure.
259-2018O.C. 259-2018, s. 54.
In force: 2018-04-05
54. The operator of a private seniors’ residence may not use control measures involving force, isolation or mechanical means on a resident. In addition, the operator may not use any chemical substance as a control measure.
Despite the first paragraph, as a last resort, the operator of a category 3 or 4 residence may use control measures involving force, isolation or mechanical means in an emergency situation, when alternative control measures have been ineffective in reducing the danger or may not be applied in due time and it is imperative to protect the resident or another person from a serious and imminent danger of injury. In such a case, the operator must apply the control measures temporarily and in the least constraining way possible. The operator must also record in the resident’s file the reasons for which the alternative measures proved ineffective or could not be applied in due time. The operator may not use any chemical substance as a control measure.
259-2018O.C. 259-2018, s. 54.

S-4.2, r. 0.01 - Règlement sur la certification des résidences privées pour aînés

Texte complet
54. L’exploitant d’une résidence privée pour aînés ne peut avoir recours à des mesures de contrôle d’un résident impliquant la force, l’isolement ou tout moyen mécanique. Il ne peut, de plus, employer aucune substance chimique comme mesure de contrôle.
Malgré les dispositions du premier alinéa, en dernier recours, l’exploitant d’une résidence des catégories 3 ou 4 peut utiliser des mesures de contrôle impliquant la force, l’isolement ou tout moyen mécanique lorsqu’une situation d’urgence survient, que des mesures de remplacement des mesures de contrôle se sont avérées inefficaces pour réduire le danger ou ne peuvent être appliquées en temps utile et qu’il est impératif de protéger le résident ou autrui d’un danger grave et imminent de blessures. Dans un tel cas, l’exploitant doit appliquer les mesures de contrôle de manière temporaire et de la façon la moins contraignante possible. Il doit également consigner au dossier du résident les raisons pour lesquelles les mesures de remplacement se sont avérées inefficaces ou ne pouvaient être appliquées en temps utile. L’exploitant ne peut employer aucune substance chimique comme mesure de contrôle.
259-2018D. 259-2018, a. 54.
En vig.: 2018-04-05
54. L’exploitant d’une résidence privée pour aînés ne peut avoir recours à des mesures de contrôle d’un résident impliquant la force, l’isolement ou tout moyen mécanique. Il ne peut, de plus, employer aucune substance chimique comme mesure de contrôle.
Malgré les dispositions du premier alinéa, en dernier recours, l’exploitant d’une résidence des catégories 3 ou 4 peut utiliser des mesures de contrôle impliquant la force, l’isolement ou tout moyen mécanique lorsqu’une situation d’urgence survient, que des mesures de remplacement des mesures de contrôle se sont avérées inefficaces pour réduire le danger ou ne peuvent être appliquées en temps utile et qu’il est impératif de protéger le résident ou autrui d’un danger grave et imminent de blessures. Dans un tel cas, l’exploitant doit appliquer les mesures de contrôle de manière temporaire et de la façon la moins contraignante possible. Il doit également consigner au dossier du résident les raisons pour lesquelles les mesures de remplacement se sont avérées inefficaces ou ne pouvaient être appliquées en temps utile. L’exploitant ne peut employer aucune substance chimique comme mesure de contrôle.
259-2018D. 259-2018, a. 54.