R-8.1, r. 2 - Regulation respecting the criteria for the fixing of rent

Full text
3. The tribunal hearing an application to determine or adjust rent modifies the rent at the end of the lease by applying the following factors in the proportion attributable to the dwelling:
(1)  the variation in municipal property taxes and services due in the reference period and those due in the following year as well as the variation in school taxes due in the year preceding the reference period and those due in the reference period;
(2)  the variation in insurance premiums included in operating expenses, for a maximum period of 12 months, due in the year preceding the reference period and those due during the reference period;
(3)  the percentage applicable for the reference period with respect to electricity and fuel; notwithstanding the foregoing, if that percentage is not representative for the building in question, the tribunal, if it has the required information at its disposal, shall take into account the variation, on a percentage basis, of the unit cost in the reference period and that in the preceding period;
(4)  the percentage applicable to maintenance costs for the reference period;
(5)  the percentage applicable to service costs for the reference period;
(6)  the percentage applicable to management costs for the reference period which are established at 5% of income without supporting documents and up to 10% with supporting documents;
(7)  operating expenses relating to a new service or accessory or dependency during the reference period, estimated for the entire year;
(8)  the percentage applicable to net income for the reference period;
(9)  the percentage applicable to capital expenditures for the reference period; notwithstanding the foregoing, if a capital expenditure is subsidized by way of a loan at reduced interest, the annual increase of rent corresponding to the portion of the expenditure financed by that loan may not excede the amount of annual reimbursement of capital and interest.
The tribunal shall also take into account any change in rent during the 12 months prior to the end of the lease so as to ensure the rent that may be charged conforms to all applicable laws and the provisions of this Regulation.
O.C. 738-85, s. 3; O.C. 454-94, s. 2; O.C. 1506-97, s. 2.

R-8.1, r. 2 - Règlement sur les critères de fixation de loyer

Texte complet
3. Le tribunal saisi d’une demande de fixation ou de réajustement de loyer modifie le loyer au terme du bail en tenant compte, le cas échéant, selon la part attribuable au logement, des critères suivants:
1°  la variation entre les taxes foncières municipales et de services exigibles au cours de la période de référence et celles exigibles durant l’année suivante et, la variation entre les taxes foncières scolaires exigibles au cours de l’année précédant la période de référence et celles exigibles durant cette période;
2°  la variation entre les primes des assurances, comprises dans les dépenses d’exploitation, pour une période maximale de 12 mois, exigibles au cours de l’année précédant la période de référence et celles exigibles au cours de cette période;
3°  le pourcentage applicable pour la période de référence aux frais d’électricité et de combustible. Toutefois, si ce pourcentage n’est pas représentatif pour l’immeuble concerné, le tribunal, s’il dispose des renseignements nécessaires, applique à ces frais, la variation en pourcentage du coût unitaire entre la période de référence et la période précédente;
4°  le pourcentage applicable pour la période de référence aux frais d’entretien;
5°  le pourcentage applicable pour la période de référence aux frais de services;
6°  le pourcentage applicable pour la période de référence aux frais de gestion, établis à 5% des revenus sans pièce justificative, lesquels peuvent aller jusqu’à 10% sur justification de ces frais;
7°  les dépenses d’exploitation découlant de la mise en place d’un service ou de l’ajout d’un accessoire ou d’une dépendance pendant la période de référence, estimées pour une année complète;
8°  le pourcentage applicable pour la période de référence au revenu net;
9°  le pourcentage applicable pour la période de référence aux dépenses d’immobilisation. Toutefois, si une dépense d’immobilisation est l’objet d’une subvention sous forme d’un prêt à intérêt réduit, l’augmentation du loyer sur une base annuelle, correspondant à la partie de la dépense financée par ce prêt ne peut excéder le montant du remboursement annuel en capital et intérêts.
Le tribunal tient compte également, le cas échéant, des variations de loyer survenues au cours des 12 mois précédant le terme du bail, afin d’assurer la conformité du loyer exigible avec les dispositions de toute loi applicable et du présent règlement.
D. 738-85, a. 3; D. 454-94, a. 2; D. 1506-97, a. 2.