C-24.2, r. 32 - Regulation respecting safety standards for road vehicles

Full text
31. The internal components of the brakes shall comply with the following standards when the wheel, drum brake or dust shield is removed or when inspected through the inspection holes:
(1)  no mechanical component of the service, parking or emergency brake shall be missing, so worn as to affect the good working order or out of order, misaligned, not properly installed, not securely attached, broken, cracked, seized up, slack, weakened, out of shape, disconnected or damaged;
(2)  bonded brake linings shall be at least 1.6 mm thick for a hydraulic or electric braking system and at least 5 mm for a pneumatic braking system; furthermore, the riveted pads shall be at least 4.8 mm thick on the active steering axle and 8 mm on the other axles or 1 mm above the rivets, bolted linings at least 8 mm thick or 1 mm above the fittings, parking brake linings at least 1.6 mm if they are distinct from the service brake linings; those measurements shall be taken at the thinnest point excluding the bevelled part;
(3)  the linings shall not be unbound from their segment, broken, contaminated by oil or grease, cracked more deeply than half the remaining thickness or worn in an extremely uneven way; furthermore, the linings shall be securely attached to the segment and no bolt or rivet shall be missing, loose or in contact with the friction surface of the drum or disc;
(4)  the brake linings shall be adjusted according to the manufacturer’s standards, or so that the clearance between the linings and the drum, where applicable, be as reduced as possible without causing friction when the brakes are not applied; in the case of disc brakes, the brake linings shall be adjusted according to the manufacturer’s standards, or so that the clearance between the linings and the disc, where applicable, be as reduced as possible without causing abnormal resistance when the brakes are released;
(5)  the wear indicator shall not be in contact with the drum or disc;
(6)  the pistons of a hydraulic brake shall move when a light pressure is applied on the brake pedal and there shall be no fuild leaks around them, nor in the lines and fittings;
(7)  only superficial cracks caused by heat may be present and reach the outer edge of the friction surface of the drum or disc; there shall be no crack on the other parts of the drum or disc;
(8)  the inside diameter of a brake drum shall at no point be greater than the dimension stamped by the manufacturer or, where no dimension is stamped, 1.5 mm more than the original diameter in the case of a passenger vehicle, 2.3 mm more than an original diameter of 366 mm or less, 3 mm more than an original diameter if it is greater than 356 mm;
(9)  a brake drum shall not show overheating signs or signs of oil or grease contamination on the friction surface, nor have a groove whose depth increases the inside diameter in excess of the maximum value specified in paragraph 8 or a friction surface that is uneven or is out-of-round in excess of 0.25 mm in the case of a drum whose diameter is 280 mm or less or 0.63 mm if the diameter is greater;
(10)  a brake disc shall not be thinner than the stamped dimension or the dimension specified by the manufacturer and shall not have a groove whose depth reduces the thickness below the minimum value authorized, nor have a lateral deviation greater than 0.13 mm in the case of a disc whose diameter is 380 mm or less or more than 0.25 mm if the diameter is greater furthermore, the friction surface shall not be contaminated by oil or grease;
(11)  the calliper shall not be seized, cracked, broken, not securely or properly installed or leak; and
(12)  the electro-magnets of electric brakes shall be present, adequate and securely fixed.
O.C. 1483-98, s. 31; 370-2016O.C. 370-2016, s. 21.
31. The internal components of the service brakes shall comply with the following standards when the wheel, drum brake or dust shield is removed or when inspected through the inspection holes:
(1)  no mechanical component of the service, parking or emergency brake shall be missing, so worn as to affect the good working order or out of order, misaligned, not securely attached, broken, cracked, seized up, slack, weakened, out of shape, disconnected or damaged;
(2)  bonded brake linings shall be at least 1.6 mm thick, riveted pads at least 4.8 mm on the steering axle and 8 mm on the other axles or 1 mm above the rivets, bolted linings at least 8 mm thick or 1 mm above the fittings, parking brake linings at least 1.6 mm if they are distinct from the service brake linings; those measurements shall be taken at the thinnest point excluding the bevelled part;
(3)  the linings shall not be unbound from their support, broken, contaminated by oil or grease, cracked more deeply than half the remaining thickness or worn in an extremely uneven way; furthermore, the linings shall be securely attached to the support and no bolt or rivet shall be missing or loose;
(4)  the brake linings shall be adjusted according to the manufacturer’s standards, or so that the clearance between the linings and the drum, where applicable, be as reduced as possible without causing friction when the brakes are not applied;
(5)  the wear indicator shall not be in contact with the drum or disc;
(6)  the pistons of a hydraulic brake shall move when a light pressure is applied on the brake pedal and there shall be no fuild leaks around them, nor in the lines and fittings;
(7)  only superficial cracks caused by heat may be present and reach the outer edge of the friction surface of the drum or disc; there shall be no crack on the other parts of the drum or disc;
(8)  the inside diameter of a brake drum shall at no point be greater than the dimension stamped by the manufacturer or, where no dimension is stamped, 1.5 mm more than the original diameter in the case of a passenger vehicle, 2.3 mm more than an original diameter of 366 mm or less, 3 mm more than an original diameter if it is greater than 356 mm;
(9)  a brake drum shall not show overheating signs on the friction surface, nor have a groove whose depth increases the inside diameter in excess of the maximum value specified in paragraph 8 or a friction surface that is uneven or is out-of-round in excess of 0.25 mm in the case of a drum whose diameter is 280 mm or less or 0.63 mm if the diameter is greater;
(10)  a brake disc shall not be thinner than the stamped dimension or the dimension specified by the manufacturer and shall not have a groove whose depth reduces the thickness below the minimum value authorized, nor have a lateral deviation greater than 0.13 mm in the case of a disc whose diameter is 380 mm or less or more than 0.25 mm if the diameter is greater;
(11)  the calliper shall not be seized, cracked, broken, not securely or properly installed or leak; and
(12)  the electro-magnets of electric brakes shall be present, adequate and securely fixed.
O.C. 1483-98, s. 31.

C-24.2, r. 32 - Règlement sur les normes de sécurité des véhicules routiers

Texte complet
31. Les éléments internes des freins doivent satisfaire aux normes suivantes lors du démontage de la roue, du tambour ou du pare-poussière ou lors d’une vérification par les orifices d’inspection:
1°  aucun élément mécanique du frein de service, du frein de stationnement ou d’urgence ne doit manquer, être usé au point de nuire à leur bon fonctionnement ou inopérant, désaligné, installé incorrectement, mal fixé, cassé, fissuré, grippé, détendu, affaibli, déformé, non-raccordé ou endommagé;
2°  les garnitures de frein collées doivent avoir une épaisseur d’au moins 1,6 mm pour un système de freinage hydraulique ou électrique et d’au moins 5 mm pour un système de freinage pneumatique; de plus, les garnitures rivetées doivent avoir une épaisseur d’au moins 4,8 mm sur l’essieu relié à la direction et 8 mm sur les autres essieux ou 1 mm au-dessus des rivets, les garnitures boulonnées, d’au moins 8 mm ou 1 mm au-dessus des pièces de fixation, les garnitures du frein de stationnement, d’au moins 1,6 mm si elles sont distinctes de celles du frein de service et ces mesures sont prises à l’endroit le plus mince excluant la partie chanfreinée;
3°  les garnitures ne doivent en aucun point être décollées de leur segment, cassées, contaminées par l’huile ou la graisse, fissurées d’une profondeur supérieure à la moitié de l’épaisseur résiduelle, usées d’une façon extrêmement inégale; de plus, les garnitures doivent être solidement fixées au segment et aucun boulon ou rivet ne doit manquer, être lâche ou en contact avec la surface de frottement du tambour ou du disque;
4°  les garnitures de frein doivent être ajustées selon les normes du fabricant ou de façon à ce que le jeu entre les garnitures et le tambour, le cas échéant, soit réduit à son minimum sans créer de frottement lorsque les freins sont relâchés; dans le cas de freins à disque, les garnitures de frein doivent être ajustées selon les normes du fabricant ou de façon à ce que le jeu entre les garnitures et le disque, le cas échéant, soit réduit à son minimum sans créer de résistance anormale lorsque les freins sont relâchés;
5°  l’indicateur d’usure ne doit pas être en contact avec le tambour ou le disque;
6°  les pistons d’un système de freinage à commande hydraulique doivent se déplacer lorsqu’est appliquée une légère pression sur la pédale de frein et il ne doit y avoir aucune fuite de liquide autour des pistons, aux canalisations et aux raccords;
7°  seules des fissures superficielles de surface causées par la chaleur peuvent être présentes et s’étendre jusqu’au bord extérieur de la surface de frottement du tambour ou du disque et il ne doit y avoir aucune fissure sur les autres parties du tambour ou du disque;
8°  un tambour de frein ne doit avoir en aucun point un diamètre intérieur supérieur à la cote inscrite par le fabricant ou, à défaut de cette cote, à 1,5 mm au-dessus du diamètre original dans le cas d’un véhicule de promenade, à 2,3 mm au-dessus du diamètre original de 356 mm ou moins, à 3 mm au-dessus du diamètre original s’il est supérieur à 356 mm;
9°  un tambour de frein ne doit pas présenter d’indication de surchauffe ou de contamination par l’huile ou la graisse sur la surface de frottement, de rainure dont la profondeur augmente le diamètre intérieur au-delà de la valeur maximale fixée au paragraphe 8, ni de surface de friction inégale ou ovalisée de plus de 0,25 mm pour un tambour d’un diamètre de 280 mm ou moins ou de plus de 0,63 mm pour tout autre diamètre;
10°  un disque de frein ne doit pas avoir une épaisseur inférieure à la valeur inscrite sur le disque ou à celle du fabricant, de rainure dont la profondeur réduit l’épaisseur en-deçà de ces valeurs, ni de déviation latérale excédant 0,13 mm pour un disque d’un diamètre de 380 mm ou moins ou excédant 0,25 mm pour tout autre diamètre de plus, la surface de frottement ne doit pas être contaminée par l’huile ou la graisse;
11°  l’étrier ne doit pas être saisi, fissuré, cassé, mal fixé, installé incorrectement ou présenter de fuites;
12°  les électro-aimants d’un système de freinage électrique doivent être présents, adéquats et solidement fixés.
D. 1483-98, a. 31; 370-2016D. 370-2016, a. 21.
31. Les éléments internes des freins de service doivent satisfaire aux normes suivantes lors du démontage de la roue, du tambour ou du pare-poussière ou lors d’une vérification par les orifices d’inspection:
1°  aucun élément mécanique du frein de service, du frein de stationnement ou d’urgence ne doit manquer, être usé au point de nuire à leur bon fonctionnement ou inopérant, désaligné, mal fixé, cassé, fissuré, grippé, détendu, affaibli, déformé, non-raccordé ou endommagé;
2°  les garnitures de frein collées doivent avoir une épaisseur d’au moins 1,6 mm, les garnitures rivetées, d’au moins 4,8 mm sur l’essieu de direction et 8 mm sur les autres essieux ou 1 mm au-dessus des rivets, les garnitures boulonnées, d’au moins 8 mm ou 1 mm au-dessus des pièces de fixation, les garnitures du frein de stationnement, d’au moins 1,6 mm si elles sont distinctes de celles du frein de service et ces mesures sont prises à l’endroit le plus mince excluant la partie chanfreinée;
3°  les garnitures ne doivent en aucun point être décollées de leur support, cassées, contaminées par l’huile ou la graisse, fissurées d’une profondeur supérieure à la moitié de l’épaisseur résiduelle, usées d’une façon extrêmement inégale; de plus, les garnitures doivent être solidement fixées au support et aucun boulon ou rivet ne doit manquer ou être lâche;
4°  les garnitures de frein doivent être ajustées selon les normes du fabricant ou de façon à ce que le jeu entre les garnitures et le tambour, le cas échéant, soit réduit à son minimum sans créer de frottement lorsque les freins sont relâchés;
5°  l’indicateur d’usure ne doit pas être en contact avec le tambour ou le disque;
6°  les pistons d’un système de freinage à commande hydraulique doivent se déplacer lorsqu’est appliquée une légère pression sur la pédale de frein et il ne doit y avoir aucune fuite de liquide autour des pistons, aux canalisations et aux raccords;
7°  seules des fissures superficielles de surface causées par la chaleur peuvent être présentes et s’étendre jusqu’au bord extérieur de la surface de frottement du tambour ou du disque et il ne doit y avoir aucune fissure sur les autres parties du tambour ou du disque;
8°  un tambour de frein ne doit avoir en aucun point un diamètre intérieur supérieur à la cote inscrite par le fabricant ou, à défaut de cette cote, à 1,5 mm au-dessus du diamètre original dans le cas d’un véhicule de promenade, à 2,3 mm au-dessus du diamètre original de 356 mm ou moins, à 3 mm au-dessus du diamètre original s’il est supérieur à 356 mm;
9°  un tambour de frein ne doit pas présenter d’indication de surchauffe sur la surface de frottement, de rainure dont la profondeur augmente le diamètre intérieur au-delà de la valeur maximale fixée au paragraphe 8, ni de surface de friction inégale ou ovalisée de plus de 0,25 mm pour un tambour d’un diamètre de 280 mm ou moins ou de plus de 0,63 mm pour tout autre diamètre;
10°  un disque de frein ne doit pas avoir une épaisseur inférieure à la valeur inscrite sur le disque ou à celle du fabricant, de rainure dont la profondeur réduit l’épaisseur en-deçà de ces valeurs, ni de déviation latérale excédant 0,13 mm pour un disque d’un diamètre de 380 mm ou moins ou excédant 0,25 mm pour tout autre diamètre;
11°  l’étrier ne doit pas être saisi, fissuré, cassé, mal fixé, installé incorrectement ou présenter de fuites;
12°  les électro-aimants d’un système de freinage électrique doivent être présents, adéquats et solidement fixés.
D. 1483-98, a. 31.