C-24.2, r. 32 - Regulation respecting safety standards for road vehicles

Full text
167. The following are major defects:
(1)  a mounting component of the steering that is missing, cracked or broken. A displacement of the steering column, of the steering box, rack-and-pinion steering or steering wheel from their normal position when there is a risk of separation;
(2)  an articulation or a slip joint or cross and roller universal joint of the steering shaft that is very likely to let down shortly;
(3)  a power steering system that is out of order;
(4)  a line or belt that has a cut or cracks likely to cause an imminent break, or an auxiliary cylinder or the pump that is not securely mounted where there is a risk of breaking off;
(5)  a component of the steering linkage that is cracked, broken, or repaired with welds. Furthermore, a component of the steering linkage that is so damaged or not securely mounted as to affect the parallelism of the wheels;
(6)  a ball joint of the steering linkage that has play exceeding 3.2 mm;
(7)  play in the steering wheel in excess of
(a)  in the case of a road vehicle of a gross vehicle weight rating of less than 4,500 kg, 15 mm for a rack-and-pinion steering gear and, for the other types of steering: 60 mm for a power steering and 87 mm for mechanical steering;
(b)  in the case of a vehicle of a gross vehicle weight rating of 4,500 kg or more, for power steering, 87 mm for a steering wheel whose diameter is 500 mm or less and 100 mm if the diameter is more than 500 mm; for mechanical steering, 140 mm for a steering wheel whose diameter is 500 mm or less and 196 mm if the diameter is more than 500 mm;
(8)  play in a ball and socket joint linked to a suspension component that exceeds by 50% the manufacturer’s standard or a that could come out of its housing after a shock.
O.C. 1483-98, s. 167; O.C. 1049-2010, s. 11; 370-2016O.C. 370-2016, s. 83.
167. The following are major defects:
(1)  a mounting component of the steering that is missing, cracked, broken or a misplacement of the steering column, of the steering box or steering wheel in relation to the normal position when there is a risk of separation;
(2)  an articulation or a slip joint or cross and roller universal joint of the steering column that is very likely to let down shortly;
(3)  a power steering system that is out of order;
(4)  a line or belt that has a crack that could cause it to break off or an auxiliary cylinder or the pump that is poorly mounted while there is a risk of breaking off;
(5)  a component of the steering linkage that is cracked, broken, not securely mounted, repaired with welds or so damaged as to affect the parallelism of the wheels;
(6)  a ball joint of the steering linkage that has play exceeding 3.2 mm;
(7)  play in the steering wheel in excess of
(a)  in the case of a road vehicle of a gross vehicle weight rating of less than 4,500 kg, 15 mm for a rack-and-pinion steering gear and, for the other types of steering: 60 mm for a power steering and 87 mm for mechanical steering;
(b)  in the case of a vehicle of a gross vehicle weight rating of 4,500 kg or more, for power steering, 180 mm for a steering wheel whose diameter is 500 mm or less and 200 mm if the diameter exceeds 500 mm, for mechanical steering, 133 mm for a steering wheel whose diameter is 500 mm or less and 200 mm if the diameter exceeds 500 mm; and
(8)  play in a ball and socket joint linked to a suspension component that exceeds by 50% the manufacturer’s standard or a that could come out of its housing after a shock.
O.C. 1483-98, s. 167; O.C. 1049-2010, s. 11.

C-24.2, r. 32 - Règlement sur les normes de sécurité des véhicules routiers

Texte complet
167. Constitue une défectuosité majeure l’une ou l’autre des situations suivantes:
1°  un élément de fixation de la direction qui est manquant, fissuré ou cassé. Un déplacement de la colonne de direction, du boîtier, de la crémaillère ou du volant par rapport à leur position normale alors qu’il y a un risque de séparation;
2°  une articulation ou un joint coulissant ou à croisillon de l’arbre de direction qui présente un risque de rupture imminente;
3°  une servodirection qui ne fonctionne plus;
4°  un conduit ou une courroie qui comporte une coupure ou des fissures qui sont susceptibles de causer une rupture imminente ou un cylindre auxiliaire ou la pompe qui est mal fixé alors qu’il y a risque de rupture;
5°  un élément de la timonerie de la direction qui est fissuré, cassé ou réparé par soudage. De plus, un élément de la timonerie de la direction est endommagé ou mal fixé de façon à modifier le parallélisme des roues;
6°  une articulation à rotule de la timonerie de direction qui présente un jeu excédant 3,2 mm;
7°  un jeu du volant qui excède les valeurs suivantes:
a)  dans le cas d’un véhicule routier d’un poids nominal brut inférieur à 4 500 kg, 15 mm pour une direction à crémaillère et, pour les autres types de direction, 60 mm pour une direction assistée et 87 mm pour une direction non assistée;
b)  dans le cas d’un véhicule d’un poids nominal brut de 4 500 kg ou plus, pour une direction assistée, 87 mm pour un volant ayant un diamètre de 500 mm et moins et 100 mm si le diamètre est de plus de 500 mm, pour une direction non assistée, 140 mm pour un volant ayant un diamètre de 500 mm et moins et 196 mm si le diamètre est de plus de 500 mm;
8°  un jeu d’une rotule reliée à un élément de suspension qui excède de 50% la norme du fabricant ou la rotule qui est susceptible de sortir de son logement à la suite d’un choc.
D. 1483-98, a. 167; D. 1049-2010, a. 11; 370-2016D. 370-2016, a. 83.
167. Constitue une défectuosité majeure l’une ou l’autre des situations suivantes:
1°  un élément de fixation de la direction qui est manquant, fissuré, cassé ou un déplacement de la colonne de direction, du boîtier ou du volant par rapport à leur position normale alors qu’il y a un risque de séparation;
2°  une articulation ou un joint coulissant ou à croisillon de la colonne de direction qui présente un risque de rupture imminente;
3°  une servodirection qui ne fonctionne plus;
4°  un conduit ou une courroie qui comporte une coupure qui est susceptible de causer une rupture imminente ou un cylindre auxiliaire ou la pompe qui est mal fixé alors qu’il y a risque de rupture;
5°  un élément de la timonerie de la direction qui est fissuré, cassé, mal fixé, réparé par soudage ou endommagé de façon à modifier le parallélisme des roues;
6°  une articulation à rotule de la timonerie de direction qui présente un jeu excédant 3,2 mm;
7°  un jeu du volant qui excède les valeurs suivantes:
a)  dans le cas d’un véhicule routier d’un poids nominal brut inférieur à 4 500 kg, 15 mm pour une direction à crémaillère et, pour les autres types de direction, 60 mm pour une direction assistée et 87 mm pour une direction non assistée;
b)  dans le cas d’un véhicule d’un poids nominal brut de 4 500 kg ou plus, pour une direction assistée, 180 mm pour un volant ayant un diamètre de 500 mm et moins et 200 mm si le diamètre est de plus de 500 mm, pour une direction non assistée, 133 mm pour un volant ayant un diamètre de 500 mm et moins et 200 mm si le diamètre est de plus de 500 mm;
8°  un jeu d’une rotule reliée à un élément de suspension qui excède de 50% la norme du fabricant ou la rotule qui est susceptible de sortir de son logement à la suite d’un choc.
D. 1483-98, a. 167; D. 1049-2010, a. 11.