C-23.1 - Code of ethics and conduct of the Members of the National Assembly

Full text
chapter C-23.1
Code of ethics and conduct of the Members of the National Assembly
CODE OF ETHICS AND CONDUCT OF MEMBERS OF NATIONAL ASSEMBLYDecember 8 2010December 8 2010
AS, in their capacity as representatives of the people of Québec, Members of the National Assembly take part in the passage of legislation and the making of regulations, exercise the National Assembly’s power of supervision over the actions of the Government and its departments, bodies and agencies, assist individuals and groups who request help in their relations with the State, and participate in public debate;
AS, because of those functions, the people of Québec expect Members to embrace the values of the National Assembly and to observe certain rules of conduct, including, if they are members of the Conseil exécutif, when carrying out their duties as Ministers;

THE PARLIAMENT OF QUÉBEC ENACTS AS FOLLOWS:
TITLE PRELIMINARY
PURPOSE, APPLICATION AND INTERPRETATION
1. The purpose of this Code is to affirm the principal values of the National Assembly embraced by its Members, to set out the rules of conduct which they must observe, and to provide for the application and enforcement of those rules.
2010, c. 30, s. 1.
2. This Code applies to all Members of the National Assembly (“Members”). It also applies to the members of the Conseil exécutif (“Cabinet Ministers”) when carrying out their duties as Ministers.
For the purposes of this Code,
(1)  a Cabinet Minister who has not been elected to the National Assembly, or
(2)  as far as the imposition of a sanction for a violation of this Code is concerned, a person who has ceased to be a Member
is deemed to be a Member.
2010, c. 30, s. 2.
3. The Ethics Commissioner is responsible for the administration of this Code and comes under the National Assembly.
The Ethics Commissioner exercises the duties of office within the framework of the rights, privileges and immunities of the National Assembly.
This Code does not operate to limit the rights, privileges or immunities of the National Assembly.
2010, c. 30, s. 3.
4. This Code in no way affects the authority conferred by law on the Office of the National Assembly.
2010, c. 30, s. 4.
5. For the purposes of this Code,
(1)  “public body” means
(a)  a government agency or a government enterprise governed by the Auditor General Act (chapter V-5.01);
(b)  a body referred to in section 6 of that Act, a public or private institution under agreement governed by the Act respecting health services and social services (chapter S-4.2) or the regional council established by the Act respecting health services and social services for Cree Native persons (chapter S-5); or
(c)  any person designated by the National Assembly to carry out duties that come under the National Assembly and any body to which the National Assembly or a committee of the National Assembly appoints the majority of members;
(2)  “family member” means the Member’s spouse within the meaning of the Interpretation Act (chapter I-16), or a dependent child of the Member or the Member’s spouse.
2010, c. 30, s. 5.
TITLE I
VALUES AND ETHICAL PRINCIPLES
6. The following are the values of the National Assembly:
(1)  commitment to improving the social and economic situation of Quebecers;
(2)  high regard for and the protection of the National Assembly and its democratic institutions; and
(3)  respect for other Members, public servants and citizens.
The conduct of Members must be characterized by benevolence, integrity, adaptability, wisdom, honesty, sincerity and justice. Consequently, Members
(1)  show loyalty towards the people of Québec;
(2)  recognize that it is their duty to serve the citizens;
(3)  show rigour and diligence;
(4)  seek the truth and keep their word; and
(5)  preserve the memory of how the National Assembly and its democratic institutions function.
2010, c. 30, s. 6.
7. Members embrace the values set out in this Title.
2010, c. 30, s. 7.
8. Members recognize that these values must guide them in carrying out their duties of office and determining the rules of conduct applicable to them, and be taken into account in interpreting those rules. They strive for consistency between their actions and the values set out in this Title, even when their actions do not in themselves contravene the applicable rules of conduct.
2010, c. 30, s. 8.
9. Members recognize that their adherence to these values is essential to maintain the confidence of the people in them and the National Assembly and enable them to fully achieve their mission of serving the public interest.
2010, c. 30, s. 9.
TITLE IV
ADMINISTRATION AND ENFORCEMENT
CHAPTER I
ETHICS COMMISSIONER
DIVISION I
APPOINTMENT, FUNCTIONS AND ORGANIZATION
62. On the joint motion of the Premier and the Leader of the Official Opposition, after consulting with the Leaders of the other authorized parties represented in the National Assembly and with the approval of two thirds of the Members, the National Assembly appoints an Ethics Commissioner to be responsible for the administration of this Code.
2010, c. 30, s. 62.
63. The Assembly determines in the same manner the remuneration, employment benefits and other conditions of employment of the Ethics Commissioner.
2010, c. 30, s. 63.
64. The Ethics Commissioner exercises the duties of office exclusively and on a full-time basis.
The Ethics Commissioner exercises any other function assigned by law to the Ethics Commissioner.
2010, c. 30, s. 64.
65. In exercising the duties of office, the Ethics Commissioner focusses on information and prevention and maintains high standards of confidentiality, objectivity and impartiality.
In all interventions and more particularly in determining the rules of conduct applicable to Members, the Ethics Commissioner takes into account the Members’ adherence to the values of the National Assembly and the principles set out in Title I.
2010, c. 30, s. 65.
66. The Ethics Commissioner is appointed for a fixed term of five years or less. At the expiry of the term, the Ethics Commissioner remains in office until reappointed or replaced.
The Ethics Commissioner may resign at any time by giving notice in writing to the President of the National Assembly. The Ethics Commissioner may only be removed by a resolution of the Assembly approved by two thirds of the Members.
2010, c. 30, s. 66.
67. If the Ethics Commissioner leaves office or is unable to act, the Government, after consulting with the Leaders of the authorized parties that are represented in the National Assembly, may designate a person to act as Ethics Commissioner for a period not exceeding six months. The Government determines the designated person’s remuneration and conditions of employment.
2010, c. 30, s. 67.
68. Before entering into office, the Ethics Commissioner must take the oath set out in the schedule before the President of the National Assembly.
2010, c. 30, s. 68.
69. The Ethics Commissioner may not
(1)  be related by blood, or connected by marriage or civil union, to a Member of the National Assembly, a person described in the second paragraph of section 2 or the Premier’s chief of staff up to the third degree inclusively; or
(2)  be a member of a federal, provincial or municipal political party or be a candidate on a ticket in a school election.
2010, c. 30, s. 69.
70. The Ethics Commissioner must not place himself or herself in a situation involving any direct or indirect conflict between the Ethics Commissioner’s private interests and the Ethics Commissioner’s duties of office.
2010, c. 30, s. 70.
71. The Office of the National Assembly may, by a regulation adopted by a unanimous decision, establish rules applicable to the Ethics Commissioner concerning conflicts of interest.
In force: 2011-07-01
The Ethics Commissioner must make a disclosure statement every year in accordance with section 38 and publish a disclosure summary in accordance with section 40.
2010, c. 30, s. 71.
72. If, in a specific case, the Ethics Commissioner finds that he or she cannot act in particular because of a conflict of interest situation or because his or her impartiality could be questioned, the Ethics Commissioner, after consulting with the Leaders of the authorized parties that are represented in the National Assembly, refers the case to an ad hoc commissioner.
The provisions applicable to the Ethics Commissioner apply, with the necessary modifications, to the ad hoc Commissioner, and any advisory opinion or report of the ad hoc Commissioner has the same effect as if it had been produced by the Ethics Commissioner.
2010, c. 30, s. 72.
73. Subject to the appropriations voted by the Office of the National Assembly, the Ethics Commissioner determines the maximum number of staff members needed for the exercise of the Ethics Commissioner’s functions, their assignment and the level of their positions.
Ethics Commissioner staff members are appointed in accordance with the Public Service Act (chapter F-3.1.1).
2010, c. 30, s. 73.
DIVISION II
FINANCIAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE PROVISIONS
74. The Ethics Commissioner prepares budget estimates every year and submits them before 1 April to the Office of the National Assembly, which approves them with or without modification.
At the Ethics Commissioner’s request, the Office of the National Assembly may determine the human, physical, financial and information management resource services to be provided at no charge to the Ethics Commissioner by the National Assembly.
2010, c. 30, s. 74.
75. If, during a fiscal year, the Ethics Commissioner foresees that the budget estimates approved by the Office of the National Assembly will be exceeded, the Ethics Commissioner prepares supplementary budget estimates and submits them to the Office of the National Assembly, which approves them with or without modification.
2010, c. 30, s. 75.
76. Chapter III, Chapter IV with the exception of section 44, of the second and fourth paragraphs of section 45, of sections 46 and 53 and of the third paragraph of section 57, Chapter VI and section 73 of the Public Administration Act (chapter A-6.01) apply to the Ethics Commissioner.
The Office of the National Assembly may, however, by a regulation adopted by a unanimous decision, derogate from that Act by specifying the provisions derogated from and the provisions that are to apply in their place.
2010, c. 30, s. 76.
77. The provisions of the Financial Administration Act (chapter A-6.001) applicable to budget-funded bodies, except sections 30 and 31, apply to the management of the financial resources of the Ethics Commissioner.
The Office of the National Assembly may, however, by a regulation adopted by a unanimous decision, derogate from that Act by specifying the provisions derogated from and the provisions that are to apply in their place.
2010, c. 30, s. 77.
78. The Ethics Commissioner may, by regulation, determine the conditions applicable to the contracts of the Ethics Commissioner.
A regulation under this section comes into force on the date it is approved by the Office of the National Assembly, and is published in the Gazette officielle du Québec.
2010, c. 30, s. 78.
80. The sums required for the administration of this Code and for the carrying out of the duties of office assigned by law to the Ethics Commissioner are taken out of the Consolidated Revenue Fund.
2010, c. 30, s. 80.
DIVISION III
MISCELLANEOUS
81. The Ethics Commissioner retains his or her authority in respect of a former Member for a period of five years after the end of the person’s term. Even after the expiry of that period, the Ethics Commissioner may continue an inquiry that had already begun.
2010, c. 30, s. 81.
82. The Ethics Commissioner must retain all documents relating to a Member for a period of 60 months after he or she ceases to be a Member. The documents are then to be destroyed unless an inquiry under this Code is in progress or has been suspended or a charge has been laid against the Member under an Act, and the documents may be relevant.
2010, c. 30, s. 82.
83. The Ethics Commissioner and the Ethics Commissioner’s staff members may not be prosecuted for an act or omission in good faith in the exercise of their functions.
2010, c. 30, s. 83.
84. No civil action may be brought by reason of the publication of a report of the Ethics Commissioner or the publication, in good faith, of an extract from or summary of such a report.
2010, c. 30, s. 84.
85. The Ethics Commissioner and the persons the Ethics Commissioner has authorized to conduct an inquiry may not be compelled to give testimony relating to information obtained in the exercise of their functions or to produce a document containing such information.
2010, c. 30, s. 85.
86. No remedy under the Code of Civil Procedure (chapter C-25), including an extraordinary recourse, may be exercised nor any injunction granted against the Ethics Commissioner or the persons the Ethics Commissioner has authorized to conduct an inquiry.
A judge of the Court of Appeal may, on a motion, annul by a summary proceeding any decision rendered or order or injunction issued contrary to the first paragraph.
2010, c. 30, s. 86.
CHAPTER II
ADVISORY OPINIONS OF THE ETHICS COMMISSIONER
89. The Ethics Commissioner may publish guidelines for the Members regarding the application of this Code, provided that no personal information is included.
2010, c. 30, s. 89.
90. The Ethics Commissioner organizes educational activities for Members and the general public on the role of the Ethics Commissioner and the application of this Code.
2010, c. 30, s. 90.
TITLE V
MISCELLANEOUS, AMENDING, TRANSITIONAL AND FINAL PROVISIONS
113. Despite section 168 of the Act respecting Access to documents held by public bodies and the Protection of personal information (chapter A-2.1), that Act does not apply to this Code or to any other legislative provision that assigns a function to the Ethics Commissioner.
2010, c. 30, s. 113.
130. A Cabinet Minister in office on 1 July 2011 must, not later than 30 September 2011, file a disclosure statement with the Ethics Commissioner in accordance with section 51.
A Member who is not a Cabinet Minister and is in office on 1 October 2011 must, not later than 31 December 2011, file a disclosure statement with the Ethics Commissioner in accordance with section 37.
2010, c. 30, s. 130.
131. No request for an advisory opinion submitted by a Member who is not a Cabinet Minister may be accepted by the Ethics Commissioner before 1 October 2011.
2010, c. 30, s. 131.
132. The Office of the National Assembly may appoint a jurisconsult in accordance with section 108 before 1 July 2011. However, no request for an advisory opinion submitted by a Cabinet Minister may be accepted by the jurisconsult before 1 July 2011, and no such request submitted by a Member who is not a Cabinet Minister may be accepted by the jurisconsult before 1 October 2011.
2010, c. 30, s. 132.
133. (Omitted).
2010, c. 30, s. 133.
SCHEDULE
(Section 68)
OATH
I, (name), declare under oath that I will exercise the functions of Ethics Commissioner with honesty and justice.
I further declare under oath that I will not reveal or disclose, unless duly authorized, anything that may come to my knowledge in or in connection with the exercise of my functions.
2010, c. 30, Schedule.

C-23.1 - Code d’éthique et de déontologie des membres de l’Assemblée nationale

Texte complet
chapitre C-23.1
Code d’éthique et de déontologie des membres de l’Assemblée nationale
CODE D’ÉTHIQUE ET DE DÉONTOLOGIE DES DÉPUTÉS8 décembre 20108 décembre 2010
ATTENDU qu’à titre de représentant de la population du Québec, le député contribue à l’adoption de lois et règlements, participe au pouvoir de surveillance de l’Assemblée nationale sur tout acte du gouvernement, de ses ministères et de ses organismes, porte assistance aux personnes et aux groupes qui demandent son aide dans leurs rapports avec l’État et participe aux débats publics;
ATTENDU qu’en raison de ces fonctions, la population s’attend, de la part du député, à ce qu’il adhère aux valeurs de l’Assemblée nationale et respecte certaines règles déontologiques, y compris dans l’exercice de sa charge de membre du Conseil exécutif, le cas échéant;

LE PARLEMENT DU QUÉBEC DÉCRÈTE CE QUI SUIT:
TITRE PRÉLIMINAIRE
OBJET, APPLICATION ET INTERPRÉTATION
1. Le présent code a pour objet d’affirmer les principales valeurs de l’Assemblée nationale auxquelles adhèrent les députés, d’édicter les règles déontologiques qu’ils doivent respecter et de prévoir les mécanismes d’application et de contrôle de ces règles.
2010, c. 30, a. 1.
2. Le présent code s’applique aux députés, y compris ceux qui sont membres du Conseil exécutif. À l’égard de ces derniers, il s’applique également dans l’exercice de leur charge de membre du Conseil exécutif.
Pour l’application du présent code, est réputée être un député une personne:
1°  qui est membre du Conseil exécutif sans être membre de l’Assemblée nationale;
2°  qui a été un député mais qui ne l’est plus, aux fins de l’application d’une sanction pour un manquement au présent code.
2010, c. 30, a. 2.
3. Le commissaire à l’éthique et à la déontologie est responsable de l’application du présent code et relève de l’Assemblée nationale.
Le commissaire s’acquitte de ses fonctions dans le cadre des droits, privilèges et immunités de l’Assemblée nationale.
Le présent code n’a pas pour effet de restreindre les droits, privilèges et immunités de l’Assemblée nationale.
2010, c. 30, a. 3.
4. Le présent code n’a pas pour effet de limiter la compétence que confère la loi au Bureau de l’Assemblée nationale.
2010, c. 30, a. 4.
5. Aux fins du présent code:
1°  un organisme public est:
a)  un organisme du gouvernement ou une entreprise du gouvernement visé par la Loi sur le vérificateur général (chapitre V-5.01);
b)  un organisme visé à l’article 6 de cette loi, un établissement public ou privé conventionné visé par la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux (chapitre S-4.2) ainsi que le conseil régional institué par la Loi sur les services de santé et les services sociaux pour les autochtones cris (chapitre S-5);
c)  toute personne que l’Assemblée nationale désigne pour exercer une fonction qui en relève ou tout organisme dont l’Assemblée nationale ou l’une de ses commissions nomme la majorité des membres;
2°  un membre de la famille immédiate du député est son conjoint au sens de la Loi d’interprétation (chapitre I-16) ou un enfant à charge du député ou de son conjoint.
2010, c. 30, a. 5.
TITRE I
VALEURS ET PRINCIPES ÉTHIQUES
6. Les valeurs de l’Assemblée nationale sont les suivantes:
1°  l’engagement envers l’amélioration des conditions sociales et économiques des Québécois;
2°  le respect et la protection de l’Assemblée nationale et de ses institutions démocratiques;
3°  le respect envers les membres de l’Assemblée nationale, les fonctionnaires de l’État et les citoyens.
La conduite du député est empreinte de bienveillance, de droiture, de convenance, de sagesse, d’honnêteté, de sincérité et de justice. Par conséquent, le député:
1°  fait preuve de loyauté envers le peuple du Québec;
2°  reconnaît qu’il est au service des citoyens;
3°  fait preuve de rigueur et d’assiduité;
4°  recherche la vérité et respecte la parole donnée;
5°  a un devoir de mémoire envers le fonctionnement de l’Assemblée nationale et de ses institutions démocratiques.
2010, c. 30, a. 6.
7. Les députés adhèrent aux valeurs énoncées au présent titre.
2010, c. 30, a. 7.
8. Les députés reconnaissent que ces valeurs doivent les guider dans l’exercice de leur charge ainsi que dans l’appréciation des règles déontologiques qui leur sont applicables et qu’il doit être tenu compte de ces valeurs dans l’interprétation de ces règles. Ils recherchent la cohérence entre leurs actions et les valeurs énoncées au présent titre, même si, en soi, leurs actions ne contreviennent pas aux règles déontologiques qui leur sont applicables.
2010, c. 30, a. 8.
9. Les députés reconnaissent que le respect de ces valeurs constitue une condition essentielle afin de maintenir la confiance de la population envers eux et l’Assemblée nationale et afin de réaliser pleinement la mission d’intérêt public qui leur est confiée.
2010, c. 30, a. 9.
TITRE IV
MÉCANISMES D’APPLICATION ET DE CONTRÔLE
CHAPITRE I
COMMISSAIRE À L’ÉTHIQUE ET À LA DÉONTOLOGIE
SECTION I
NOMINATION, FONCTIONS ET ORGANISATION
62. Sur proposition conjointe du premier ministre et du chef de l’Opposition officielle, après consultation auprès des chefs des autres partis autorisés représentés à l’Assemblée nationale et avec l’approbation des deux tiers de ses membres, l’Assemblée nationale nomme un commissaire à l’éthique et à la déontologie chargé de l’application du présent code.
2010, c. 30, a. 62.
63. De la même manière, l’Assemblée détermine la rémunération, les avantages sociaux et les autres conditions de travail du commissaire.
2010, c. 30, a. 63.
64. Le commissaire exerce ses fonctions à temps plein et de façon exclusive.
Le commissaire exerce également toute autre fonction qui lui est confiée par la loi.
2010, c. 30, a. 64.
65. Le commissaire exerce ses fonctions dans un souci d’information, de prévention, de confidentialité, d’objectivité et d’impartialité.
Dans l’exécution de ses fonctions et plus particulièrement dans l’appréciation des règles déontologiques applicables aux députés, il tient compte de l’adhésion des députés aux valeurs de l’Assemblée nationale et aux principes énoncés au titre I.
2010, c. 30, a. 65.
66. Le mandat du commissaire est d’une durée fixe qui ne peut excéder cinq ans. À l’expiration de son mandat, il demeure en fonction jusqu’à ce qu’il soit nommé de nouveau ou remplacé.
Le commissaire peut en tout temps démissionner en donnant un avis écrit au président de l’Assemblée nationale. Il ne peut être destitué que par une résolution de l’Assemblée approuvée par les deux tiers de ses membres.
2010, c. 30, a. 66.
67. Lorsque le commissaire cesse de remplir ses fonctions ou est empêché d’agir, le gouvernement peut, après consultation auprès des chefs des partis autorisés représentés à l’Assemblée nationale, désigner une personne pour remplir pour une période d’au plus six mois les fonctions de commissaire. Le gouvernement détermine la rémunération et les conditions de travail de cette personne.
2010, c. 30, a. 67.
68. Le commissaire doit, avant de commencer à exercer ses fonctions, prêter le serment prévu en annexe devant le président de l’Assemblée nationale.
2010, c. 30, a. 68.
69. Le commissaire ne peut:
1°  être parent ou allié d’un membre de l’Assemblée nationale, d’une personne visée au deuxième alinéa de l’article 2 ou du chef de cabinet du premier ministre jusqu’au troisième degré inclusivement;
2°  être membre d’un parti politique fédéral, provincial ou municipal ou d’une équipe partie à une élection scolaire.
2010, c. 30, a. 69.
70. Le commissaire ne peut se placer dans une situation où il y a un conflit direct ou indirect entre son intérêt personnel et les devoirs de ses fonctions.
2010, c. 30, a. 70.
71. Le Bureau de l’Assemblée nationale peut, par règlement adopté à l’unanimité, établir des règles applicables au commissaire concernant les conflits d’intérêts.
En vig.: 2011-07-01
Le commissaire doit, chaque année, faire une déclaration d’intérêts conformément à l’article 38 et en publier un sommaire conformément à l’article 40.
2010, c. 30, a. 71.
72. Si, dans un cas particulier, le commissaire constate qu’il ne peut agir, notamment parce qu’il se trouve en situation de conflit d’intérêts ou que son impartialité peut être mise en cause, il confie alors, après consultation auprès des chefs des partis autorisés représentés à l’Assemblée nationale, l’étude du cas à un commissaire ad hoc.
Les dispositions applicables au commissaire s’appliquent, compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires, au commissaire ad hoc et tout avis ou rapport de ce dernier a le même effet que s’il avait été produit par le commissaire.
2010, c. 30, a. 72.
73. Le commissaire établit, sous réserve des crédits accordés par le Bureau de l’Assemblée nationale, les effectifs maxima dont il a besoin pour l’exercice de ses fonctions et détermine leur répartition ainsi que le niveau de leur emploi.
Les membres du personnel du commissaire sont nommés conformément à la Loi sur la fonction publique (chapitre F-3.1.1).
2010, c. 30, a. 73.
SECTION II
DISPOSITIONS FINANCIÈRES ET ADMINISTRATIVES
74. Le commissaire à l’éthique et à la déontologie prépare chaque année ses prévisions budgétaires et les soumet avant le 1er avril au Bureau de l’Assemblée nationale qui les approuve avec ou sans modification.
À la demande du commissaire, le Bureau de l’Assemblée nationale peut déterminer les services en matière de gestion des ressources humaines, matérielles, financières et informationnelles que l’Assemblée lui fournit sans frais.
2010, c. 30, a. 74.
75. Lorsqu’en cours d’exercice financier le commissaire prévoit devoir excéder les prévisions budgétaires approuvées par le Bureau de l’Assemblée nationale, il prépare des prévisions budgétaires supplémentaires et les remet au Bureau de l’Assemblée nationale qui les approuve avec ou sans modification.
2010, c. 30, a. 75.
76. Le chapitre III, le chapitre IV, à l’exception de l’article 44, du deuxième et du quatrième alinéa de l’article 45, des articles 46 et 53 et du troisième alinéa de l’article 57, le chapitre VI et l’article 73 de la Loi sur l’administration publique (chapitre A-6.01) s’appliquent au commissaire.
Toutefois, le Bureau de l’Assemblée nationale peut, par règlement adopté à l’unanimité, déroger à cette loi en indiquant précisément les dispositions auxquelles il est dérogé et les dispositions qui s’appliquent en leur lieu et place.
2010, c. 30, a. 76.
77. Les dispositions de la Loi sur l’administration financière (chapitre A-6.001) applicables aux organismes budgétaires s’appliquent à la gestion des ressources financières du commissaire, à l’exception de celles des articles 30 et 31.
Toutefois, le Bureau de l’Assemblée nationale peut, par règlement adopté à l’unanimité, déroger à cette loi en indiquant précisément les dispositions auxquelles il est dérogé et les dispositions qui s’appliquent en leur lieu et place.
2010, c. 30, a. 77.
78. Le commissaire peut, par règlement, déterminer les conditions des contrats qu’il peut conclure.
Ce règlement entre en vigueur à la date de son approbation par le Bureau de l’Assemblée nationale. Il est publié à la Gazette officielle du Québec.
2010, c. 30, a. 78.
80. Les sommes requises pour l’application du présent code et pour l’exercice de toute autre fonction confiée par la loi au commissaire sont prises sur le fonds consolidé du revenu.
2010, c. 30, a. 80.
SECTION III
DISPOSITIONS DIVERSES
81. Le commissaire à l’éthique et à la déontologie conserve sa compétence à l’égard d’une personne qui a cessé d’être député durant une période de cinq ans suivant la fin de son mandat. Il peut toutefois, après cette échéance, poursuivre une enquête qu’il avait entreprise.
2010, c. 30, a. 81.
82. Le commissaire conserve les documents relatifs à un membre de l’Assemblée nationale pendant les 60 mois suivant la cessation des fonctions parlementaires de celui-ci. Ces documents sont ensuite détruits, sauf si une enquête est en cours ou a été suspendue aux termes du présent code ou qu’une accusation a été portée contre le député en vertu d’une loi et que les documents peuvent être pertinents.
2010, c. 30, a. 82.
83. Le commissaire et ses employés ne peuvent être poursuivis en justice en raison d’une omission ou d’un acte accompli de bonne foi dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions.
2010, c. 30, a. 83.
84. Aucune action civile ne peut être intentée en raison de la publication d’un rapport du commissaire ou de la publication, faite de bonne foi, d’un extrait ou d’un résumé d’un tel rapport.
2010, c. 30, a. 84.
85. Le commissaire et les personnes qu’il a autorisées à enquêter ne peuvent être contraints de faire une déposition ayant trait à un renseignement obtenu dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions ou de produire un document contenant un tel renseignement.
2010, c. 30, a. 85.
86. Aucun recours en vertu du Code de procédure civile (chapitre C-25), notamment un recours extraordinaire, ne peut être exercé, ni aucune injonction accordée contre le commissaire ou les personnes qu’il a autorisées à enquêter.
Tout juge de la Cour d’appel peut, sur requête, annuler sommairement toute décision rendue, toute ordonnance ou toute injonction prononcée à l’encontre du premier alinéa.
2010, c. 30, a. 86.
CHAPITRE II
AVIS DU COMMISSAIRE
89. Le commissaire peut publier des lignes directrices pour guider les députés dans l’application du présent code, à condition de ne pas révéler de renseignements personnels.
2010, c. 30, a. 89.
90. Le commissaire organise des activités afin de renseigner les députés et le public sur son rôle et sur l’application du présent code.
2010, c. 30, a. 90.
TITRE V
DISPOSITIONS DIVERSES, MODIFICATIVES, TRANSITOIRES ET FINALES
113. Malgré l’article 168 de la Loi sur l’accès aux documents des organismes publics et sur la protection des renseignements personnels (chapitre A-2.1), cette loi ne s’applique pas au présent code ni à toute autre disposition législative qui confie une fonction au commissaire à l’éthique et à la déontologie.
2010, c. 30, a. 113.
130. Un membre du Conseil exécutif en fonction le 1er juillet 2011 doit, au plus tard le 30 septembre 2011, déposer auprès du commissaire à l’éthique et à la déontologie la déclaration visée à l’article 51.
Un député qui n’est pas membre du Conseil exécutif et qui est en fonction le 1er octobre 2011 doit, au plus tard le 31 décembre 2011, déposer auprès du commissaire la déclaration visée à l’article 37.
2010, c. 30, a. 130.
131. Le commissaire à l’éthique et à la déontologie ne peut recevoir une demande d’avis de la part d’un député qui n’est pas membre du Conseil exécutif avant le 1er octobre 2011.
2010, c. 30, a. 131.
132. Le Bureau de l’Assemblée nationale peut procéder, avant le 1er juillet 2011, à la nomination du jurisconsulte conformément à l’article 108. Toutefois, le jurisconsulte ne peut recevoir une demande d’avis d’un membre du Conseil exécutif avant le 1er juillet 2011 et d’un député qui n’est pas membre du Conseil exécutif avant le 1er octobre 2011.
2010, c. 30, a. 132.
133. (Omis).
2010, c. 30, a. 133.
ANNEXE
(Article 68)
SERMENT
Je, (nom), déclare sous serment que je remplirai les fonctions de commissaire à l’éthique et à la déontologie avec honnêteté et justice.
De plus, je déclare sous serment que je ne révélerai et ne ferai connaître, sans y être dûment autorisé, quoi que ce soit dont j’aurai eu connaissance dans l’exercice ou à l’occasion de l’exercice de mes fonctions.
2010, c. 30, annexe.