Q-2, r. 31 - Regulation respecting snow elimination sites

Full text
chapter Q-2, r. 31
Regulation respecting snow elimination sites
ENVIRONMENT QUALITY — SNOW ELIMINATION SITES
Environment Quality Act
(chapter Q-2, ss. 31, 115.27, 115.34 and 124.1).
Q-2
September 1 2012
1. Snow that is removed and transported for elimination purposes may be placed for final deposit only at an elimination site for which a certificate of authorization has been issued under section 22 of the Environment Quality Act (chapter Q-2) or, in the case of an elimination site established before 18 September 1997, for which a depollution program has been approved by the Minister of Sustainable Development, Environment and Parks under sections 116.2 to 116.4 of that Act.
The operator of a snow elimination site established before 18 September 1997 shall, notwithstanding the foregoing, have 2 years from that date to have a depollution program for the site approved by the Minister; in the meantime, the operator may continue to receive the snow brought to the site. The depollution program shall be such that not later than the expiry of the period agreed upon in the program, which period may not extend beyond 1 November 2002, all the corrective measures provided for by the program have been applied.
The provisions of the second paragraph do not apply to the operator of a snow elimination site established in whole or in part on the shore of a body of water or the bank of a watercourse: the deposit of snow at such a site is, for the purposes of this Regulation, considered to be a discharging of snow into the body of water or the watercourse, and therefore the deposit is allowed only under the conditions provided for in section 2 which applies, with the necessary modifications.
For the purposes of this Regulation, the words “shore and “bank” have the meaning assigned by the Protection Policy for Lakeshores, Riverbanks, Littoral Zones and Floodplains (chapter Q-2, r. 35).
O.C. 1063-97, s. 1; O.C. 320-2006, s. 5.
2. Notwithstanding the provisions of the first paragraph of section 1, the discharging of snow into a body of water or a watercourse is allowed under the following conditions:
(1)  the discharging of snow into the body of water or the watercourse is carried out by a person or a municipality that, during the winter period extending from November 1996 to April 1997, was already using that elimination method;
(2)  the discharging of snow into the body of water or the watercourse is done at the same place where it was done during the winter period mentioned in subparagraph 1, and in a volume that may not exceed the volume discharged during that same period;
(3)  the person or municipality mentioned in subparagraph 1 had, before 1 November 1997, the Minister of Sustainable Development, Environment and Parks approve, under sections 116.2 to 116.4 of the Environment Quality Act (chapter Q-2), a depollution program ensuring that not later than the expiry of the period agreed upon in the program, which period may not extend beyond 1 November 2000, the discharging of snow into the body of water or the watercourse will have ceased completely; and
(4)  the person or municipality covered by the depollution program mentioned in subparagraph 3 complies with the conditions of the program and pays the duties required under section 3.
The provisions of section 22 of the Environment Quality Act do not apply to the discharging of snow into a body of water or a watercourse carried out under the conditions prescribed by this section.
O.C. 1063-97, s. 2.
3. Every person or municipality governed by a depollution program referred to in section 2 shall pay, for each cubic metre of snow discharged into a body of water or watercourse during the winter period extending from November 1999 to April 2000, or deposited during that period at a snow elimination site established in whole or in part on the shore of a body of water or the bank of a watercourse, annual duties corresponding to amount d in the following formula:
d = a + b × (c/100) × (1 - Ir / It)),
a” being the average cost of operation on an annual basis of a snow elimination site, which is established at $0.39/m3 for the purposes of this Regulation;
b” being the average cost of development on an annual basis of a snow elimination site, which is established at $0.21/m3 for the purposes of this Regulation;
c” being the property value index of the municipality from which the snow is removed, as computed annually by the Ministère des Affaires municipales, des Régions et de l’Occupation du territoire and published in the document entitled “Prévisions budgétaires des municipalités” (Les Publications du Québec), for the year 1998;
“Ir” being the total investments carried out under the depollution program, the expenditures of which were effectively paid before the date on which the duties became payable, namely before 31 May 2000; and
“It” being the total investments necessary to carry out the depollution program.
The total duties payable by a person or municipality under the first paragraph may not exceed a maximum of $1,000,000.
The duties shall be payable to the Minister of Finance in only 1 instalment not later than 31 May 2000. Duties not paid within the period prescribed shall bear interest, from the due date, at the rate determined according to section 28 of the Tax Administration Act (chapter A-6.002).
The payment of duties shall, in addition, be accompanied by a statement or, in the case of a municipality, a certified true copy of a resolution certifying
(1)  the volume of snow (in m3) which, during the winter period extending from November 1999 to April 2000, was discharged into a body of water or a watercourse or deposited at an elimination site established in whole or in part on the shore or bank of a body or water, calculated for each discharge site or deposit if there is more than 1; and
(2)  the total investments carried out under the depollution program, the expenditures for which were effectively paid before 31 May 2000.
O.C. 1063-97, s. 3; O.C. 488-98, s. 1.
4. A person is liable to a fine of $2,000 to $15,000 if the person,
(1)  in violation of the provisions of section 1, deposits snow elsewhere than at an elimination site in accordance with the prescriptions of that section;
(2)  owns, leases or operates a snow elimination site where snow is deposited in violation of the provisions of section 1 or 2;
(3)  discharges snow into a body of water or a watercourse, or deposits snow at an elimination site established in whole or in part on the shore of a body of water or the bank of a watercourse, in a case where the discharge or deposit does not comply with all the conditions prescribed by section 2 in order for such discharge or deposit to be allowed;
(4)  does not pay the duties payable under section 3; or
(5)  fails to provide any statement, resolution or information prescribed by section 3 or includes false or inaccurate information in such statement or resolution or causes such information to be included therein.
Where the offences referred to in the first paragraph are committed by a legal person, that person is liable to a fine of $5,000 to $100,000.
In the case of any subsequent offence, those fines shall be doubled.
O.C. 1063-97, s. 4.
5. This Regulation applies in a reserved area or an agricultural zone established under the Act respecting the preservation of agricultural land and agricultural activities (chapter P-41.1).
O.C. 1063-97, s. 5.
6. (Omitted).
O.C. 1063-97, s. 6.
REFERENCES
O.C. 1063-97, 1997 G.O. 2, 4522
O.C. 488-98, 1998 G.O. 2, 1602
O.C. 320-2006, 2006 G.O. 2, 1344
S.Q. 2010, c. 31, s. 91

Q-2, r. 31 - Règlement sur les lieux d’élimination de neige

Texte complet
chapitre Q-2, r. 31
Règlement sur les lieux d’élimination de neige
QUALITÉ DE L’ENVIRONNEMENT — LIEUX D’ÉLIMINATION DE NEIGE
Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement
(chapitre Q-2, a. 31, 115.27, 115.34 et 124.1).
Q-2
1er septembre 2012
1. Les neiges qui font l’objet d’un enlèvement et d’un transport en vue de leur élimination, ne peuvent être déposées définitivement que dans un lieu d’élimination pour lequel a été délivré un certificat d’autorisation en application de l’article 22 de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement (chapitre Q-2) ou, s’il s’agit d’un lieu d’élimination établi avant 18 septembre 1997, pour lequel un programme d’assainissement a été approuvé par le ministre du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs en application des articles 116.2 à 116.4 de cette loi.
L’exploitant d’un lieu d’élimination de neige établi avant le 18 septembre 1997 bénéficie toutefois d’un délai de 2 ans, à compter de cette date, pour faire approuver par le ministre un programme d’assainissement relatif à ce lieu; entre-temps, l’exploitant peut continuer d’admettre les neiges qui y sont apportées. Ce programme d’assainissement doit faire en sorte qu’au plus tard à l’expiration de la période convenue dans le programme, laquelle ne pourra excéder le 1er novembre 2002, toutes les mesures correctives prévues par le programme auront été appliquées.
Les dispositions du deuxième alinéa ne sont pas applicables à l’exploitant d’un lieu d’élimination de neige établi en tout ou en partie sur la rive d’un plan ou cours d’eau: le dépôt de neige dans un tel lieu est, pour les fins du présent règlement, assimilé à un déversement de neige dans le plan ou cours d’eau, de sorte que ce dépôt n’est permis que dans les conditions prévues à l’article 2, lequel s’applique compte tenu des adaptations nécessaires.
Pour l’application du présent règlement, le mot «rive» a le sens qui lui est donné dans la Politique de protection des rives, du littoral et des plaines inondables (chapitre Q-2, r. 35).
D. 1063-97, a. 1; D. 320-2006, a. 5.
2. Malgré les dispositions du premier alinéa de l’article 1, le déversement de neige dans un plan ou cours d’eau est permis dans les conditions qui suivent:
1°  le déversement de neige dans le plan ou cours d’eau est effectué par une personne ou une municipalité qui, au cours de la période hivernale s’étendant de novembre 1996 à avril 1997, utilisait déjà ce mode d’élimination;
2°  le déversement de neige dans le plan ou cours d’eau intervient à l’endroit même où il s’effectuait au cours de la période hivernale mentionnée au paragraphe 1 et ce, dans une proportion qui ne peut excéder celle déversée durant cette même période;
3°  la personne ou municipalité mentionnée au paragraphe 1 ci-dessus a, avant le 1er novembre 1997, fait approuver par le ministre du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et des Parcs, en vertu des articles 116.2 à 116.4 de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement (chapitre Q-2), un programme d’assainissement faisant en sorte qu’au plus tard à l’expiration de la période convenue au programme, laquelle ne pourra excéder le 1er novembre 2000, le déversement de neige au plan ou cours d’eau aura cessé complètement;
4°  la personne ou municipalité visée par le programme d’assainissement mentionné au paragraphe 3 en respecte les conditions et acquitte les droits exigibles en vertu de l’article 3.
Les dispositions de l’article 22 de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement ne sont pas applicables au déversement de neige dans un plan ou cours d’eau effectué dans les conditions prescrites par le présent article.
D. 1063-97, a. 2.
3. Toute personne ou municipalité visée par un programme d’assainissement mentionné à l’article 2 doit, pour chaque mètre cube de neige déversé dans un plan ou cours d’eau pendant la période hivernale s’étendant de novembre 1999 à avril 2000, ou déposé pendant cette période dans un lieu d’élimination établi en tout ou en partie sur la rive de celui-ci, acquitter des droits annuels correspondant au montant d de la formule suivante:
d = a + b × (c/100) × (1 - Ir / It))
«a» représente le coût moyen d’exploitation, sur une base annuelle, d’un lieu d’élimination de neige, lequel est établi, aux fins du présent règlement, à 0,39 $/m3;
«b» représente le coût moyen d’aménagement, sur une base annuelle, d’un lieu d’élimination de neige, lequel est établi, aux fins du présent règlement, à 0,21 $/m3;
«c» représente l’indice de richesse foncière de la municipalité d’où provient la neige, tel que calculé annuellement par le ministère des Affaires municipales, des Régions et de l’Occupation du territoire et publié dans le document intitulé «Prévisions budgétaires des municipalités» (Les Publications du Québec), pour l’année 1998;
«Ir» représente le total des investissements réalisés en application du programme d’assainissement et dont les dépenses ont été effectivement acquittées avant la date à laquelle les droits deviennent exigibles, soit avant le 31 mai 2000;
«It» représente le total des investissements nécessaires à la réalisation du programme d’assainissement.
Le total des droits exigibles d’une personne ou municipalité en application du premier alinéa ne peut cependant excéder le plafond de 1 000 000 $.
Ces droits sont payables au ministre des Finances, en un seul versement et au plus tard le 31 mai 2000. Les droits non versés dans les délais prescrits portent intérêt, à compter de la date du défaut, au taux déterminé suivant l’article 28 de la Loi sur l’administration fiscale (chapitre A-6.002).
Le paiement des droits doit en outre être accompagné d’une déclaration ou, dans le cas d’une municipalité, d’une copie vidimée d’une résolution attestant:
1°  le volume (en m3) de neige qui, pendant la période hivernale s’étendant de novembre 1999 à avril 2000, a été déversé dans un plan ou cours d’eau, ou déposé dans un lieu d’élimination établi en tout ou en partie sur la rive de celui-ci, et ce pour chaque lieu de déversement ou de dépôt s’il en est plus d’un;
2°  le total des investissements réalisés en application du programme d’assainissement et dont les dépenses ont été effectivement acquittées avant le 31 mai 2000.
D. 1063-97, a. 3; D. 488-98, a. 1.
4. Est passible d’une amende de 2 000 $ à 15 000 $ celui qui:
1°  en violation des dispositions de l’article 1, dépose des neiges ailleurs que dans un lieu d’élimination conforme aux prescriptions de cet article;
2°  est propriétaire, locataire ou exploitant d’un lieu d’élimination de neige où sont déposées des neiges en violation des dispositions de l’article 1 ou 2;
3°  déverse des neiges dans un plan ou cours d’eau, ou dépose des neiges dans un lieu d’élimination établi en tout ou en partie sur la rive de celui-ci, alors que ce déversement ou ce dépôt ne remplit pas toutes les conditions prescrites par l’article 2 pour être permis;
4°  n’acquitte pas les droits exigibles en vertu de l’article 3;
5°  omet de fournir une déclaration, une résolution ou une information prescrite en vertu de l’article 3, ou inscrit ou fait inscrirer dans cette déclaration ou résolution des informations fausses ou inexactes.
Lorsque les infractions visées au premier alinéa sont commises par une personne morale, celle-ci se rend passible d’une amende de 5 000 $ à 100 000 $.
En cas de récidive, ces amendes sont portées au double.
D. 1063-97, a. 4.
5. Le présent règlement s’applique notamment dans une aire retenue pour fins de contrôle et dans une zone agricole établies suivant la Loi sur la protection du territoire et des activités agricoles (chapitre P-41.1).
D. 1063-97, a. 5; L.Q., 1996, c. 26, a. 85.
6. (Omis).
D. 1063-97, a. 6.
RÉFÉRENCES
D. 1063-97, 1997 G.O. 2, 5765
D. 488-98, 1998 G.O. 2, 2150
D. 320-2006, 2006 G.O. 2, 1748
L.Q. 2010, c. 31, a. 91