V-6 - Mining Villages Act

Full text
chapter V-6
Mining Villages Act
MINING VILLAGESJune 17 1988January 1 1989
Repealed, 1988, c. 19, s. 261.
1988, c. 19, s. 261.
1. Upon the recommendation of the Minister of Energy and Resources and of the Minister of Municipal Affairs, the Government may constitute as a village municipal corporation, by letters patent, any territory wherein a mining village is established under the authority of sections 130, 131 and 132 of the Mining Act (chapter M-13) and annex thereto any adjacent territory which it may deem necessary for the proper administration of such village and of such territory.
R. S. 1964, c. 195, s. 1; 1979, c. 81, s. 20.
2. The Minister of Municipal Affairs shall give notice of the issuing of the letters patent by publishing them in the Gazette officielle du Québec.
From and after the date fixed for such purpose in the letters patent, the territory designated therein shall become a mining village municipality and the inhabitants and ratepayers of such municipality shall be incorporated under the name indicated in the letters patent.
R. S. 1964, c. 195, s. 2.
3. Every mining village corporation shall be governed by the provisions of the Municipal Code (chapter C-27.1), saving the derogations hereinafter prescribed and save where inconsistent with this act.
An officer called director general , appointed by the Government, and who must be a Canadian citizen or a citizen of the Commonwealth, shall be substituted, during the first five years of the corporation’s existence, for the municipal council, which can be elected only at the expiration of such period, and such director general shall have the rights, exercise the powers and be subject to the obligations of a village municipal council.
Every decision made and every action taken by the director general respecting the administration of the municipality for which he is appointed shall have the same effect as if they issued from a municipal council.
R. S. 1964, c. 195, s. 3; S. C. 1974-75-76, c. 108, s. 31; 1983, c. 57, s. 168.
4. The director general shall in every case proceed by ordinance which shall become obligatory on and from the day of its signing or on any subsequent date fixed for such purpose in the ordinance.
R. S. 1964, c. 195, s. 4; 1983, c. 57, s. 168.
5. The by-law regulating powers contemplated by section 118 of the Act respecting land use planning and development (chapter A-19.1) may be exercised by any mining village corporation, although the territory thereof does not adjoin a city of twenty thousand souls or more.
R. S. 1964, c. 195, s. 5; 1979, c. 51, s. 253.
6. A mining village municipality shall not form part of any county municipality nor be subject to the jurisdiction of any county council.
R. S. 1964, c. 195, s. 7.
7. The expenditures made by the Ministère de l’Énergie et des Ressources and by the Ministère des Affaires municipales, for the benefit of mining village corporations, before or after their organization, shall be reimbursed to the Government by such corporations to the extent and in the manner determined by the Government.
R. S. 1964, c. 195, s. 8; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1979, c. 81, s. 20.
8. The remuneration of any director general and the costs incurred by the latter in the performance of his functions shall form part of the expenses of the mining village corporation administered by him.
R. S. 1964, c. 195, s. 9; 1983, c. 57, s. 168.
9. At the expiration of the five years mentioned in section 3, or at any earlier time fixed by the Government, every mining village corporation shall cease to be governed by this act.
The Government may, however, extend for one or more additional periods, not exceeding five years in all, the term contemplated by the preceding paragraph and by the second paragraph of section 3.
Such order shall be published in the Gazette officielle du Québec within thirty days after it is passed.
It shall, however, retain its corporate identity, become subject to all the provisions of the Municipal Code (chapter C-27.1) governing local corporations and be designated in the manner prescribed by article 5 of the said Code.
It shall continue to be subject to the obligations assumed and to benefit from the rights acquired whilst it was governed by this Act.
R. S. 1964, c. 195, s. 10.
10. All acts or ordinances in force in a mining village municipality when this statute ceases to apply to it shall remain in force until annulled, amended or replaced by the competent authority in such municipality.
R. S. 1964, c. 195, s. 11.
11. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 195 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter V-6 of the Revised Statutes.
The Minister for Mines and Native Affairs exercises, under the authority of the Minister of Energy and Resources, the functions relating to the application of this Act, and in exercising those functions is responsible for setting out government policy with respect to the Native population and for coordinating its implementation. O.C. 2650-85 of 85.12.13, (1986) 118 G.O. 2 (French), 171; O.C. 339-86 of 86.03.26, (1986) 118 G.O. 2 (French), 1071.

V-6 - Loi sur les villages miniers

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre V-6
Loi sur les villages miniers
VILLAGES MINIERS17 juin 19881er janvier 1989
Abrogée, 1988, c. 19, a. 261.
1988, c. 19, a. 261.
1. Sur la recommandation du ministre de l’Énergie et des Ressources et du ministre des Affaires municipales, le gouvernement peut constituer en corporation municipale de village, par lettres patentes, tout territoire où est établi un village minier sous l’autorité des articles 130, 131 et 132 de la Loi sur les mines (chapitre M‐13) et y adjoindre tout territoire adjacent qu’il juge nécessaire pour la bonne administration de ce village et de ce territoire.
S. R. 1964, c. 195, a. 1; 1979, c. 81, a. 20.
2. Le ministre des Affaires municipales donne avis de l’émission de lettres patentes en les publiant dans la Gazette officielle du Québec.
À compter de la date fixée à cette fin dans les lettres patentes, le territoire y désigné devient une municipalité de village minier et les habitants et contribuables de cette municipalité sont constitués en corporation sous le nom indiqué dans les lettres patentes.
S. R. 1964, c. 195, a. 2; 1968, c. 23, a. 8.
3. Sauf les dérogations ci-après prévues et sauf incompatibilité avec la présente loi, toute corporation de village minier est régie par les dispositions du Code municipal (chapitre C‐27.1).
Un officier appelé «directeur général» , nommé par le gouvernement et qui devra être citoyen canadien ou citoyen du Commonwealth, est substitué, pendant les cinq premières années de l’existence de la corporation, au conseil municipal, qui ne peut être élu qu’à l’expiration de cette période, et ce directeur général possède les droits, exerce les pouvoirs et est soumis aux obligations d’un conseil de municipalité de village.
Toute décision prise et tout acte posé par le directeur général touchant l’administration de la municipalité pour laquelle il est nommé a le même effet que s’ils émanaient d’un conseil municipal.
S. R. 1964, c. 195, a. 3; S. C. 1974-75-76, c. 108, a. 31; 1983, c. 57, a. 168.
4. Le directeur général procède dans chaque cas par ordonnance, laquelle devient obligatoire dès le jour de sa signature ou à toute date ultérieure fixée à cette fin dans l’ordonnance.
S. R. 1964, c. 195, a. 4; 1983, c. 57, a. 168.
5. Les pouvoirs de réglementation prévus par l’article 118 de la Loi sur l’aménagement et l’urbanisme (chapitre A‐19.1) peuvent être exercés par toute corporation de village minier, bien que son territoire ne soit pas adjacent à une cité de vingt mille âmes ou plus.
S. R. 1964, c. 195, a. 5; 1979, c. 51, a. 253.
6. Les municipalités de villages miniers ne font partie d’aucune municipalité de comté et ne sont pas soumises à la juridiction des conseils de comté.
S. R. 1964, c. 195, a. 7.
7. Les dépenses faites par le ministre de l’Énergie et des Ressources et par celui des Affaires municipales, pour le bénéfice des corporations de villages miniers, avant ou après leur organisation, doivent être remboursées au gouvernement par ces corporations, dans la mesure et en la manière déterminées par le gouvernement.
S. R. 1964, c. 195, a. 8; 1979, c. 81, a. 20.
8. Le traitement de tout directeur général et les frais encourus par celui-ci dans l’exercice de ses fonctions font partie des dépenses de la corporation du village minier qu’il administre.
S. R. 1964, c. 195, a. 9; 1983, c. 57, a. 168.
9. À l’expiration du terme de cinq années fixé par l’article 3, ou à toute autre époque plus rapprochée fixée par le gouvernement, toute corporation de village minier cesse d’être régie par la présente loi.
Le gouvernement peut toutefois prolonger pour une ou des périodes additionnelles n’excédant pas en tout cinq années le terme prévu à l’alinéa précédent et au deuxième alinéa de l’article 3.
Ce décret doit être publié dans la Gazette officielle du Québec dans les trente jours qui suivent son adoption.
Elle conserve cependant son entité corporative, devient sujette à l’application de toutes les dispositions du Code municipal (chapitre C‐27.1) régissant les corporations locales et est désignée en la manière prévue par l’article 5 de ce code.
Elle continue d’être soumise aux obligations assumées et de bénéficier des droits acquis pendant qu’elle a été régie par la présente loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 195, a. 10; 1968, c. 23, a. 8.
10. Tous actes ou ordonnances en vigueur dans une municipalité de village minier lorsque la présente loi cesse de s’y appliquer demeurent en vigueur jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient annulés, modifiés ou remplacés par l’autorité compétente dans telle municipalité.
S. R. 1964, c. 195, a. 11.
11. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 195 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre V-6 des Lois refondues.
Le ministre délégué aux Mines et aux Affaires autochtones exerce, sous la direction du ministre de l’Énergie et des Ressources, les fonctions relatives à l’application de la présente loi et dans le cadre de l’exécution de ses fonctions il est chargé d’élaborer les politiques du gouvernement concernant les Autochtones et d’en coordonner la mise en oeuvre. D. 2650-85 du 85.12.13, (1986) 118 G.O. 2, 171; D. 339-86 du 86.03.26, (1986) 118 G.O. 2, 1071.