T-4 - Telecommunications Tax Act

Full text
chapter T-4
Telecommunications Tax Act
TELECOMMUNICATIONS TAXDecember 31 1977
Chapter T-4 ceased to apply in respect of any telecommunication sent or received after 30 June 1992 and in respect of the rent attributable to a period after 30 June 1992.
(1991, c. 67, s. 617).
1. In this Act:
(a)  telecommunication means a message transmitted by means of electromagnetic waves or otherwise in the form of words, writing, images, symbols or other indications;
(b)  line includes the space between a transmitter and a receiver of telecommunications and any other channel of transmission of telecommunications;
(c)  rent includes any sum payable for the use of a telecommunication service, except the installation costs of such a service if they are indicated on an invoice in such a way as not to be mistaken for any other sum;
(d)  user means a person who sends or receives a telecommunication at his own expense, in Québec, or who uses in Québec a telecommunication service other than a telephone service which is movable property within the meaning of the Retail Sales Tax Act (chapter I-1);
(e)  registration certificate means a registration certificate issued under this Act;
(f)  regulation means a regulation made by the Government under this Act.
1965 (1st sess.), c. 28, s. 1; 1971, c. 30, s. 1; 1984, c. 35, s. 45.
2. (1)  Every person who operates a telecommunication service in Québec must hold a registration certificate in force.
(2)  The application for the registration certificate shall be filed with the Minister of Revenue.
(3)  Such registration certificate must be issued by the Minister of Revenue or by such other person as he appoints. It must be kept at the operator’s chief place of business in Québec, and cannot be transferred.
(4)  The Minister of Revenue may refuse to issue such registration certificate to any person who has been convicted of an offence against this Act. He may also, in the case of a person who has been convicted of any offence against this Act, suspend or cancel the certificate issued.
(5)  The following information must be given when a certificate is applied for:
(a)  by one or more persons doing business under a firm name, the name and address of such person or persons;
(b)  by a partnership, the name and address of each partner;
(c)  by a corporation, club, association or syndicate, the name and address of the president, if he resides in Québec; if not, the name and address of its manager or representative residing in Québec and the address of its place of business there.
(6)  The Minister may require as a condition of registration of a person who neither resides nor has his place of business in Québec security in such amount as the Minister may fix.
(7)  The Minister may also require of any person, as a condition for the issue or continuance in force of a certificate in his name, security in such amount as the Minister may fix, taking into account the amount of tax which such person had to remit for the six months preceding the date on which security is required, if such person:
(a)  has been convicted of an offence against this Act;
(b)  is insolvent; or
(c)  owes dues or taxes under a fiscal law within the meaning of the Act respecting the Ministère du Revenu (chapter M-31), and does not contest his obligation to pay such dues or taxes before the competent court.
1971, c. 30, s. 2; 1972, c. 22, s. 98; 1981, c. 24, s. 23; 1990, c. 4, s. 851.
3. The Minister of Revenue is entrusted with the carrying out of this Act.
1972, c. 25, s. 31; 1979, c. 20, s. 7.
The Minister of Finance exercises the functions of the Minister of Revenue provided for in this Act. Order in Council 821-2019 dated 14 August 2019, (2019) 151 G.O. 2 (French), 3788.
3.1. Notwithstanding any other general law or special Act, this Act is binding on the Government, Government departments and agencies and mandataries of the Crown.
1979, c. 20, s. 8.
4. A tax of 8% is imposed on the price of every telecommunication sent or received by a user, and on the rent due or paid by a user. Such price or rent includes the tax paid or payable under Part IX of the Excise Tax Act (Revised Statutes of Canada, 1985, chapter E-15), determined without reference to the input tax credit provided for in that Part.
In the case of rent payable for the private use of a line partly outside Québec, such tax shall only be imposed in the proportion of the length of the part of the line within Québec to the total length.
If the rent is only partly payable for the private use of such a line, the Minister of Revenue may determine what portion is imputable to such use.
Similarly, if a charge includes rent and payment for anything else, the Minister of Revenue may determine what portion of such charge is rent.
1965 (1st sess.), c. 28, s. 2; 1966-67, c. 35, s. 1; 1982, c. 56, s. 38; 1983, c. 44, s. 66; 1990, c. 60, s. 55.
4.1. The tax prescribed in section 4 is not imposed on the rent of a telecommunications service used directly and solely for the provision, by an operator, of any other telecommunications service the rent of which is subject to the tax imposed by this Act.
1990, c. 7, s. 234.
5. The tax shall be payable at the same time as the price of the telecommunication or the rent.
The operator of the telecommunication service shall, as agent of the Minister of Revenue, collect it at the same time as the price or rent.
The operator shall indicate to the user, in the manner prescribed by regulation or on the invoice, receipt, writing or other document recording the price of the telecommunication or the rent, that the price or rent includes the tax or so indicate to him the tax separately from the price or rent, in which case he may indicate a total amount consisting of both that tax and the tax provided for in Part IX of the Excise Tax Act (Revised Statutes of Canada, 1985, chapter E-15). Where the operator indicates the rate of the tax to the user, he shall do so separately from the rate of any other tax.
Any fraction of a cent of such tax, if equal to or greater than one-half of a cent, shall be counted as one cent.
Nevertheless, where a telecommunication is sent through an instrument whereby the price is collected immediately in cash or counters and the tax is a fraction of $0.05 or is the total of a multiple of $0.05 and a fraction of $0.05, the fraction
(1)  if less than $0.025, may be disregarded; and
(2)  if equal to or greater than $0.025, shall be counted as $0.05.
1965 (1st sess.), c. 28, s. 3; 1971, c. 30, s. 3; 1990, c. 60, s. 56; 1994, c. 22, s. 646.
6. (Repealed).
1971, c. 30, s. 4; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1978, c. 25, s. 25.
7. Every user who has not paid the operator the tax imposed by this Act must immediately report and remit such tax to the Minister of Revenue.
1971, c. 30, s. 4.
8. Every operator of a telecommunication service shall remit to the Minister of Revenue, within the first fifteen days of each month, the tax collected during the previous month and send him a report in the manner indicated by the latter even if he has collected nothing.
1965 (1st sess.), c. 28, s. 4; 1981, c. 24, s. 24.
8.1. No person is entitled to any reimbursement of the tax paid by him in respect of an amount that is refunded or credited to him under Part IX of the Excise Tax Act (Revised Statutes of Canada, 1985, chapter E-15), unless the amount is an amount described in section 232 or 261 of the said Act.
1990, c. 60, s. 57.
9. (1)  Every person who:
(a)  does not furnish a report or any other document or information, in the manner and at the time prescribed under this Act or the regulations; or
(b)  being an agent of the Minister, refuses or neglects to collect, account for, report or remit the tax, the whole in accordance with this Act and the regulations,
commits an offence and is liable to a fine of not less than $25 for each day that the offence continues.
(2)  Every person who:
(a)  operates a telecommunication service in Québec without a registration certificate still in force, or otherwise contravenes section 2 or the regulations; or
(b)  contravenes the third paragraph of section 5,
commits an offence and is liable to a fine of not less than $200 nor more than $5,000.
1965 (1st sess.), c. 28, s. 5; 1971, c. 30, s. 12; 1972, c. 25, s. 42.
10. (Repealed).
1966-67, c. 35, s. 3; 1971, c. 30, s. 13; 1983, c. 49, s. 53.
11. (Repealed).
1966-67, c. 35, s. 3; 1971, c. 30, s. 13; 1983, c. 49, s. 53.
12. The Government may make any regulation deemed necessary for the carrying out of this Act and in particular to prescribe the vouchers and documents which an operator must prepare and preserve with a view to controlling, collecting and remitting the tax and to grant to operators an indemnity for such collection and remittance.
Regulations made under this Act come into force on the date of their publication in the Gazette officielle du Québec or on any later date fixed therein; they may also, once published and if they so provide, apply to a date prior to their publication but not prior to the current year.
1965 (1st sess.), c. 28, s. 6; 1979, c. 78, s. 10.
13. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
14. This Act ceases to apply in respect of any telecommunication sent or received after 30 June 1992 and in respect of the rent attributable to a period after 30 June 1992.
1991, c. 67, s. 617.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 28 of the statutes of 1965 (1st session), in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed, except sections 7 and 8, effective from the coming into force of chapter T-4 of the Revised Statutes.

T-4 - Loi concernant la taxe sur les télécommunications

Texte complet
chapitre T-4
Loi concernant la taxe sur les télécommunications
TAXE SUR LES TÉLÉCOMMUNICATIONS31 décembre 1977
Le chapitre T-4 a cessé de s’appliquer à l’égard d’une télécommunication expédiée ou reçue après le 30 juin 1992 et à l’égard du loyer imputable à une période postérieure au 30 juin 1992.
(1991, c. 67, a. 617).
1. Dans la présente loi:
a)  «télécommunication» désigne un message transmis par ondes électromagnétiques ou autrement sous forme de paroles, d’écriture, d’images, de symboles ou autres indications;
b)  «ligne» comprend l’espace entre un émetteur et un récepteur de télécommunications de même que toute autre voie de transmission de télécommunications;
c)  «loyer» comprend toute somme payable pour l’usage d’un service de télécommunications, à l’exclusion des frais d’installation d’un tel service s’ils sont indiqués sur une facture de façon à n’être confondus avec aucune autre somme;
d)  «usager» signifie une personne qui, au Québec, expédie ou reçoit à ses frais une télécommunication ou qui y utilise un service de télécommunications autre qu’un service de téléphone qui est un bien mobilier au sens de la Loi concernant l’impôt sur la vente en détail (chapitre I‐1);
e)  «certificat d’enregistrement» signifie un certificat d’enregistrement délivré en vertu de la présente loi;
f)  «règlement» signifie un règlement adopté par le gouvernement en vertu de la présente loi.
1965 (1re sess.), c. 28, a. 1; 1971, c. 30, a. 1; 1984, c. 35, a. 45.
2. 1.  Toute personne qui exploite un service de télécommunications au Québec doit détenir un certificat d’enregistrement en vigueur.
2.  La demande pour l’obtention d’un certificat d’enregistrement doit être transmise au ministre du Revenu.
3.  Ce certificat d’enregistrement doit être délivré par le ministre du Revenu ou par toute autre personne qu’il désigne. Il doit être gardé à la principale place d’affaires de l’exploitant au Québec et ne peut être transféré.
4.  Le ministre du Revenu peut refuser de délivrer ce certificat d’enregistrement à toute personne déclarée coupable d’une infraction à la présente loi. Il peut également, dans le cas d’une personne déclarée coupable d’une infraction à la présente loi, suspendre ou annuler le certificat délivré.
5.  Les renseignements suivants sont requis quand un certificat est demandé:
a)  par une ou plusieurs personnes faisant affaires sous un nom collectif ou une raison sociale, leurs noms et adresses;
b)  par une société, le nom et l’adresse de chaque associé;
c)  par une corporation, un club, une association ou un syndicat, le nom et l’adresse du président, s’il réside au Québec; sinon, le nom et l’adresse de son gérant ou représentant résidant au Québec, de même que l’adresse de sa place d’affaires au Québec.
6.  Le ministre peut exiger comme condition de l’enregistrement de celui qui n’a ni résidence, ni place d’affaires au Québec, un cautionnement dont il fixe le montant.
7.  Le ministre peut aussi exiger de toute personne, comme condition de la délivrance ou du maintien en vigueur d’un certificat en son nom, un cautionnement dont le ministre établit le montant en tenant compte du montant de la taxe que cette personne devait remettre à l’égard des six mois précédant la date à laquelle le cautionnement est exigé, si cette personne:
a)  a été déclarée coupable d’une infraction à la présente loi;
b)  est insolvable; ou
c)  doit des impôts ou des taxes en vertu d’une loi fiscale au sens de la Loi sur le ministère du revenu (chapitre M‐31), et ne conteste pas son obligation de payer ces impôts ou taxes devant le tribunal compétent.
1971, c. 30, a. 2; 1972, c. 22, a. 98; 1981, c. 24, a. 23; 1990, c. 4, a. 851.
3. Le ministre du Revenu est chargé de l’application de la présente loi.
1972, c. 25, a. 31; 1979, c. 20, a. 7.
Le ministre des Finances exerce les fonctions du ministre du Revenu prévues à la présente loi. Décret 821-2019 du 14 août 2019, (2019) 151 G.O. 2, 3788.
3.1. Malgré les dispositions d’une autre loi générale ou spéciale, la présente loi lie le gouvernement, ses ministères et organismes ainsi que les mandataires de la Couronne.
1979, c. 20, a. 8.
4. Une taxe de 8% est imposée sur le prix de toute télécommunication expédiée ou reçue par un usager de même que sur le loyer dû ou payé par un usager. Ce prix ou ce loyer comprend la taxe payée ou à payer en vertu de la partie IX de la Loi sur la taxe d’accise (Lois révisées du Canada (1985), chapitre E-15), déterminée sans égard au crédit de taxe sur les intrants prévu à cette partie.
Dans le cas d’un loyer payable pour l’usage particulier d’une ligne en partie hors du Québec, cette taxe n’est imposée qu’en proportion de la longueur de la partie de la ligne au Québec par rapport à la longueur totale.
Si le loyer n’est payable qu’en partie pour l’usage particulier d’une telle ligne, le ministre du Revenu peut déterminer quelle partie est imputable à cet usage.
De même, si une redevance comprend du loyer et un paiement pour autre chose, le ministre du Revenu peut déterminer quelle partie de cette redevance est un loyer.
1965 (1re sess.), c. 28, a. 2; 1966-67, c. 35, a. 1; 1982, c. 56, a. 38; 1983, c. 44, a. 66; 1990, c. 60, a. 55.
4.1. La taxe prévue à l’article 4 n’est pas imposée sur le loyer d’un service de télécommunications servant directement et uniquement à la fourniture, par un exploitant, d’un autre service de télécommunications dont le loyer est sujet à la taxe imposée par la présente loi.
1990, c. 7, a. 234.
5. La taxe est payable en même temps que le prix de la télécommunication ou le loyer.
L’exploitant du service de télécommunications est tenu de la percevoir comme mandataire du ministre du Revenu en même temps que le prix ou loyer.
L’exploitant doit, de la manière prévue par règlement ou sur toute facture, reçu, écrit ou autre document constatant le prix de la télécommunication ou le loyer, indiquer à l’usager que ce prix ou ce loyer comprend la taxe ou lui indiquer la taxe séparément de ce prix ou de ce loyer, auquel cas il peut indiquer un montant total constitué à la fois de cette taxe et de celle prévue à la partie IX de la Loi sur la taxe d’accise (Lois révisées du Canada (1985), chapitre E-15). Lorsque cet exploitant indique à l’usager le taux de la taxe, il doit l’indiquer séparément du taux de toute autre taxe.
Toute fraction d’un cent de cette taxe égale ou supérieure à un demi-cent doit être comptée comme un cent entier.
Cependant, s’il s’agit d’une télécommunication expédiée d’un appareil par lequel le prix en est perçu immédiatement en monnaie ou en jetons et que cette taxe est égale soit à une fraction de 0,05 $, soit au total d’un multiple de 0,05 $ et d’une fraction de 0,05 $:
1°  si la fraction est inférieure à 0,025 $, il peut ne pas être tenu compte de cette fraction;
2°  si la fraction est égale ou supérieure à 0,025 $, elle est comptée comme 0,05 $.
1965 (1re sess.), c. 28, a. 3; 1971, c. 30, a. 3; 1990, c. 60, a. 56; 1994, c. 22, a. 646.
6. (Abrogé).
1971, c. 30, a. 4; 1978, c. 25, a. 25.
7. Tout usager qui n’a pas payé à l’exploitant la taxe imposée par la présente loi doit faire immédiatement rapport et remise de cette taxe au ministre du Revenu.
1971, c. 30, a. 4.
8. Tout exploitant d’un service de télécommunications doit remettre au ministre du Revenu, dans les quinze premiers jours de chaque mois, la taxe perçue pendant le mois précédent et lui transmettre un rapport en la manière que ce dernier indique même si l’exploitant n’a rien perçu.
1965 (1re sess.), c. 28, a. 4; 1981, c. 24, a. 24.
8.1. Une personne n’a pas droit au remboursement de la taxe qu’elle a payée à l’égard d’un montant qui lui est remboursé ou crédité en vertu de la partie IX de la Loi sur la taxe d’accise (Lois révisées du Canada (1985), chapitre E-15), sauf s’il s’agit d’un montant visé aux articles 232 ou 261 de cette loi.
1990, c. 60, a. 57.
9. 1.  Toute personne qui:
a)  ne fournit pas un rapport ou tout autre document ou renseignement, en la manière et à l’époque prescrites en vertu de la présente loi ou des règlements; ou
b)  étant mandataire du ministre, refuse ou néglige de percevoir la taxe, d’en tenir compte, d’en faire rapport ou d’en faire remise, le tout conformément aux dispositions de la présente loi ou des règlements,
commet une infraction et est passible d’une amende d’au moins 25 $ pour chaque jour que dure l’infraction.
2.  Toute personne qui:
a)  exploite au Québec un service de télécommunications, sans être munie d’un certificat d’enregistrement encore valide, ou contrevient autrement à l’article 2 ou aux règlements; ou
b)  contrevient au troisième alinéa de l’article 5,
commet une infraction et encourt une amende d’au moins 200 $ et d’au plus 5 000 $.
1965 (1re sess.), c. 28, a. 5; 1971, c. 30, a. 12; 1972, c. 25, a. 42.
10. (Abrogé).
1966-67, c. 35, a. 3; 1971, c. 30, a. 13; 1983, c. 49, a. 53.
11. (Abrogé).
1966-67, c. 35, a. 3; 1971, c. 30, a. 13; 1983, c. 49, a. 53.
12. Le gouvernement peut faire tout règlement jugé nécessaire pour la mise à exécution de la présente loi et en particulier pour prescrire les pièces justificatives et documents qu’un exploitant doit préparer et conserver en vue du contrôle, de la perception et de la remise de la taxe ainsi que pour accorder aux exploitants une indemnité pour cette perception et remise.
Les règlements adoptés en vertu de la présente loi entrent en vigueur à la date de leur publication à la Gazette officielle du Québec ou à une date ultérieure qui y est fixée; ils peuvent aussi, une fois publiés et s’ils en disposent ainsi, s’appliquer à une date antérieure à leur publication mais non antérieure à l’année en cours.
1965 (1re sess.), c. 28, a. 6; 1968, c. 23, a. 8; 1979, c. 78, a. 10.
13. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
14. La présente loi cesse de s’appliquer à l’égard d’une télécommunication expédiée ou reçue après le 30 juin 1992 et à l’égard du loyer imputable à une période postérieure au 30 juin 1992.
1991, c. 67, a. 617.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 28 des lois de 1965 (1re session), tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, à l’exception des articles 7 et 8, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre T-4 des Lois refondues.