S-2 - Act respecting the salaries of officers of justice

Full text
chapter S-2
Act respecting the salaries of officers of justice
OFFICERS OF JUSTICE SALARIESDecember 31 1977
DIVISION I
DEPUTIES AND CLERKS OF OFFICERS OF JUSTICE
1983, c. 54, s. 70.
1. Each officer of justice shall have the deputies and clerks necessary for the due performance of the duties of his office.
R. S. 1964, c. 31, s. 16.
2. The deputies and permanent employees of the officers of justice shall be appointed by order of the Minister of Justice, to each of whom he shall assign a salary in accordance with the provisions of the Public Administration Act (chapter A‐6.01).
The other employees shall be appointed by the Minister of Justice, to each of whom he shall assign a salary, in accordance with the provisions of the Public Administration Act, payable in the same manner as the salaries of the permanent employees.
The Minister of Justice or any functionary of his department designated by him in writing may appoint among the staff of the officers of justice deputies who shall perform the duties of such officers, if the circumstances so require, in particular for cause of absence or illness, for a period not exceeding three months at one time.
R. S. 1964, c. 31, s. 17 (part); 1965 (1st sess.), c. 14, s. 81; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 16, s. 21; 1974, c. 11, s. 36; 1978, c. 15, s. 140; 1983, c. 54, s. 71; 1983, c. 55, s. 161; 2000, c. 8, s. 186.
3. Every salaried officer shall enter, in the court register, the number and date of the order-in-council appointing a deputy as well as the date of the swearing in of the latter.
The officer remunerated by fees shall enter, in the court register, the instrument appointing the deputies as well as the date of their being sworn in.
R. S. 1964, c. 31, s. 20.
4. The instrument appointing a deputy may limit his powers to the exercise of any special portion of the duties assigned to his chief, which portion shall be specially and clearly indicated in the said instrument and be entered in the court register.
In that respect, every such deputy is authorized to perform the special duties assigned to him in like manner as his chief.
R. S. 1964, c. 31, s. 21.
5. The deputy whose appointment contains no restriction may perform the duties of his chief, and, if he is the only deputy so appointed, shall continue to perform the said duties in the event of the decease, dismissal, suspension, or resignation of his said chief, or vacancy in the office of the latter, until the successor appointed has received his commission, if any, and has discharged the duties imposed by section 9 of the Public Officers Act (chapter E-6).
He shall also continue to perform his duties as deputy under the direction of the joint officer in the cases provided for in section 1 of the Public Officers Act (chapter E-6).
R. S. 1964, c. 31, s. 22; 1979, c. 43, s. 9.
6. If there be several deputies, each shall continue to perform the duties assigned to him under the direction of the one designated as the first deputy in the instrument appointing him or, in the cases provided for in section 1 of the Public Officers Act (chapter E-6), under the direction of the joint officers continued in office.
If there be no first deputy, the Minister of Justice shall designate which deputy is to act as such.
R. S. 1964, c. 31, s. 23; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 16, s. 21.
7. Any duty required by law which has not been performed by an officer of justice at the time of his death, of his suspension or before his office becomes vacant, may be performed with the same effect by his deputy or by his successor; and any act entered in the register, but not signed and not completed by such officer of justice, may be so signed and completed by his deputy or successor.
R. S. 1964, c. 31, s. 24.
DIVISION II
Repealed, 1992, c. 61, s. 543.
1992, c. 61, s. 543.
8. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 31, s. 25; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 17, s. 2; 1969, c. 21, s. 35; 1986, c. 95, s. 300; 1988, c. 21, s. 66; 1992, c. 61, s. 543.
DIVISION III
Repealed, 1992, c. 61, s. 544.
1988, c. 21, s. 66; 1992, c. 61, s. 544.
9. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 31, s. 29; 1969, c. 26, s. 115; 1988, c. 21, s. 66; 1992, c. 61, s. 544.
10. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 31, s. 30; 1990, c. 4, s. 797; 1992, c. 61, s. 544.
11. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 31, s. 31; 1988, c. 21, s. 136; 1992, c. 61, s. 544.
DIVISION IV
This Division ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987.
12. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 31 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter S-2 of the Revised Statutes.

S-2 - Loi sur les salaires d’officiers de justice

Texte complet
chapitre S-2
Loi sur les salaires d’officiers de justice
SALAIRES D’OFFICIERS DE JUSTICE31 décembre 1977
SECTION I
DES ADJOINTS ET EMPLOYÉS DES OFFICIERS DE JUSTICE
1983, c. 54, a. 70.
1. Chaque officier de justice doit avoir le nombre d’adjoints et d’employés nécessaires pour la due exécution des devoirs de sa charge.
S. R. 1964, c. 31, a. 16; 1974, c. 11, a. 49.
2. Les adjoints et les employés permanents des officiers de justice sont nommés par arrêté du ministre de la Justice, à chacun desquels il assigne le traitement, suivant les dispositions de la Loi sur l’administration publique (chapitre A‐6.01).
Les autres employés sont nommés par le ministre de la Justice, à chacun desquels il assigne le traitement, conformément aux dispositions de la Loi sur l’administration publique, payable de la même manière que le traitement des employés permanents.
Le ministre de la Justice ou tout fonctionnaire de son ministère qu’il désigne par écrit peut nommer au sein du personnel des officiers de justice des adjoints qui exercent les fonctions de ces derniers, si les circonstances l’exigent, notamment pour cause d’absence ou de maladie, pour une période n’excédant pas trois mois à la fois.
S. R. 1964, c. 31, a. 17 (partie); 1965 (1re sess.), c. 14, a. 81; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 16, a. 21; 1974, c. 11, a. 36, a. 49; 1978, c. 15, a. 140; 1983, c. 54, a. 71; 1983, c. 55, a. 161; 2000, c. 8, a. 186.
3. L’officier à traitement inscrit, dans le registre du tribunal, le numéro et la date de l’arrêté ministériel nommant un adjoint, ainsi que la date de l’assermentation de ce dernier.
L’officier à honoraires inscrit, dans le registre du tribunal, l’acte de nomination des adjoints, ainsi que la date de leur assermentation.
S. R. 1964, c. 31, a. 20; 1974, c. 11, a. 49.
4. L’acte de nomination d’un adjoint peut limiter ses pouvoirs à l’exercice d’une partie spéciale quelconque des devoirs assignés à son chef, laquelle partie doit être spécialement et clairement indiquée dans l’acte de nomination et inscrite dans le registre du tribunal.
À cet égard, tout tel adjoint est autorisé à remplir les fonctions spéciales qui lui sont assignées de la même manière que le pourrait faire son chef.
S. R. 1964, c. 31, a. 21; 1974, c. 11, a. 49.
5. Le député dont la nomination ne contient pas de restriction peut remplir tous les devoirs assignés à son chef et, s’il est le seul député ainsi nommé, il continue à les remplir advenant le décès, la destitution, la suspension, la démission ou la caducité de la commission de son chef jusqu’à ce que le successeur nommé ait reçu sa commission, s’il y a lieu et ait rempli les devoirs imposés par l’article 9 de la Loi sur les employés publics (chapitre E‐6).
Il continue aussi à remplir ses devoirs d’adjoint sous la direction du conjoint dans les cas prévus dans l’article 1 de la Loi sur les employés publics (chapitre E‐6).
S. R. 1964, c. 31, a. 22; 1974, c. 11, a. 49; 1979, c. 43, a. 9.
6. Dans le cas où il y a plusieurs adjoints, chacun continue à remplir les fonctions qui lui étaient assignées sous la direction de celui désigné comme premier adjoint dans l’acte de sa nomination ou, dans les cas prévus par l’article 1 de la Loi sur les employés publics (chapitre E‐6), sous la direction des conjoints continués dans l’exercice de la charge.
À défaut de premier adjoint, le ministre de la Justice désigne l’adjoint qui doit agir comme tel.
S. R. 1964, c. 31, a. 23; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 16, a. 21; 1974, c. 11, a. 49.
7. Tout devoir prescrit par la loi qui n’a pas été rempli par un officier de justice lors de son décès, sa suspension ou avant que sa commission devienne caduque, peut être rempli avec le même effet par son adjoint ou par son successeur; et tout acte inséré dans le registre mais non signé et non complété par cet officier de justice, peut l’être par son adjoint ou son successeur.
S. R. 1964, c. 31, a. 24; 1974, c. 11, a. 49.
SECTION II
Abrogée, 1992, c. 61, a. 543.
1992, c. 61, a. 543.
8. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 31, a. 25; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 17, a. 2; 1969, c. 21, a. 35; 1986, c. 95, a. 300; 1988, c. 21, a. 66; 1992, c. 61, a. 543.
SECTION III
Abrogée, 1992, c. 61, a. 544.
1988, c. 21, a. 66; 1992, c. 61, a. 544.
9. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 31, a. 29; 1969, c. 26, a. 115; 1988, c. 21, a. 66; 1992, c. 61, a. 544.
10. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 31, a. 30; 1990, c. 4, a. 797; 1992, c. 61, a. 544.
11. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 31, a. 31; 1988, c. 21, a. 136; 1992, c. 61, a. 544.
SECTION IV
Cette section a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987.
12. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 31 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre S-2 des Lois refondues.