S-10 - Act respecting the Société de développement coopératif

Full text
chapter S-10
Act respecting the Société de développement coopératif
SOCIÉTÉ DE DÉVELOPPEMENT COOPÉRATIFMay 23 1984June 6 1984
Chapter S-10 is replaced by the Act respecting the Société de développement des coopératives (chapter S-10.001). (1984, c. 8, s. 41).
1984, c. 8, s. 41.
DIVISION I
DEFINITIONS
1. In this Act, unless the context indicates a different meaning,
(a)  Conseil de la coopération du Québec means the Conseil de la coopération du Québec incorporated 8 January 1940 by letters patent granted under Part III of the Companies Act (chapter C-38);
(b)  subscribing cooperator means a federation of savings and credit unions incorporated under the Savings and Credit Unions Act (chapter C-4) or a member of the Conseil de la coopération du Québec paying, in conformity with this Act;
(c)  cooperative undertaking means a cooperative governed by the Cooperatives Act (chapter C-67.2), a cooperative syndicate incorporated under the Cooperative Syndicates Act (chapter S-38) for economic purposes other than credit and providence and a federation of cooperatives or a confederation of federations of those cooperatives;
(d)  Minister means the Minister of Financial Institutions and Cooperatives;
(e)  corporation means the Société de développement coopératif incorporated under this Act.
1977, c. 69, s. 1; 1981, c. 9, s. 24; 1982, c. 26, s. 321.
DIVISION II
INCORPORATION AND ORGANIZATION
2. A body, hereinafter called “the corporation”, is incorporated under the name of “Société de développement coopératif”.
1977, c. 69, s. 2.
3. The corporation is a corporation within the meaning of the Civil Code and has the general powers of such a corporation and the special powers conferred upon it by this act.
1977, c. 69, s. 3.
4. The head office of the corporation is in the territory of the Communauté urbaine de Québec, but it may be transferred to another place in Québec with the approval of the Government; such change shall come into force upon publication of a notice thereof in Gazette officielle du Québec.
1977, c. 69, s. 4.
5. The corporation may hold its sittings anywhere in Québec.
1977, c. 69, s. 5.
6. The object of the corporation is to supply cooperative undertakings with financial assistance and any service designed to aid in their establishment and development.
1977, c. 69, s. 6.
7. The affairs of the corporation shall be administered by a board of eleven directors.
1977, c. 69, s. 7.
8. No one shall be a member of the board of directors of the corporation unless he is domiciled in Québec.
1977, c. 69, s. 8.
9. The Government shall appoint five members to the board of directors upon the recommendation of the Conseil de la coopération du Québec, and one other member, to be chosen from a list of five members of one or more cooperative undertakings not affiliated with a federation.
The list shall be forwarded by the Conseil de la coopération du Québec as soon as possible after 12 October 1977 and, thereafter, before the first of February preceding the expiry of the term of office of the member to be replaced.
1977, c. 69, s. 9.
10. Five other members shall be appointed by the Government.
1977, c. 69, s. 10.
11. Should the Conseil de la coopération du Québec fail to comply with sections 9 and 13, the Government shall itself appoint the persons it deems representative of the cooperative field.
1977, c. 69, s. 11.
12. The members of the board of directors shall be appointed for two fiscal years of the corporation.
1977, c. 69, s. 12.
13. The first member of the board of directors shall be appointed as soon as possible after 12 October 1977 and shall remain in office for the period between the date of their appointment and 31 March following the twelve month period beginning with the date of that appointment.
1977, c. 69, s. 13.
14. The members of the board of directors shall remain in office notwithstanding the expiry of their term of office, until they are reappointed or replaced. However, they shall not be so appointed or replaced except for the unexpired portion of the period contemplated in section 12.
1977, c. 69, s. 14.
15. Where a vacancy occurs among the members of the board of directors, the Government shall fill the vacancy by proceeding according to sections 9 and 10.
1977, c. 69, s. 15.
16. Every vacancy among the members of the board of directors shall be filled for only the unexpired portion of the term of office of the member to be replaced.
1977, c. 69, s. 16.
17. The Government shall fix the salary or, if necessary, the additional salary, allowances and fees of the members of the board of directors.
1977, c. 69, s. 17.
18. The members of the board of directors shall elect each year from among their number a chairman and a vice-chairman of the corporation, and every officer whose election is provided for in the regulations.
1977, c. 69, s. 18.
19. The chairman shall see that the decisions of the board of directors are carried out.
If the chairman is absent or temporarily unable to act, he shall be replaced by the vice-chairman.
1977, c. 69, s. 19.
20. The board of directors shall appoint five of its members, including at least three of those contemplated in section 9, to be an executive committee. The chairman of the corporation is, exofficio, a member and the chairman of the executive committee.
The executive committee shall exercise the powers assigned to it by the internal management by-laws of the corporation.
1977, c. 69, s. 20.
21. The board of directors shall meet at least bi-monthly, and the executive committee, at least monthly.
1977, c. 69, s. 21.
22. The chairman of the corporation or two members of the board of directors may call a meeting of the board of directors; the chairman of the executive committee or two members thereof may call a meeting of the executive committee.
1977, c. 69, s. 22.
23. Six members are a quorum of the board of directors. Three members are a quorum of the executive committee.
1977, c. 69, s. 23.
24. The minutes of the sittings of the board of directors or of the executive committee, signed by the chairman of the corporation or by any other person authorized therefor by the internal management by-laws of the corporation, are primafacie proof of their contents.
1977, c. 69, s. 24.
25. The corporation may make by-laws for its internal management and administration.
These by-laws shall be submitted for approval to the Minister, and come into force on the date of that approval.
1977, c. 69, s. 25.
26. No director shall, on pain of forfeiture of office, have a direct or indirect interest in an undertaking, other than a cooperative undertaking, creating a conflict between his personal interest and that of the corporation.
However, he shall not be removed from office if such an interest devolves to him by succession or gift, provided he renounces or disposes of it with all possible dispatch.
Every director having a direct or indirect interest in a cooperative undertaking with which the corporation is or intends to become engaged in business dealings shall, on pain of forfeiture of office, mention such interest and refrain from voting on any question in connection with that cooperative undertaking.
1977, c. 69, s. 26.
DIVISION III
FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE
27. The Minister of Finance shall advance to the corporation, out of the consolidated revenue fund, $700,000 during the fiscal year of the Government ending 31 March 1978, $600,000 during the fiscal year of the Government ending 31 March 1979, $5 000 000 for the fiscal year ending 31 March 1980 and $2 000 000 for each of the four subsequent fiscal years.
In addition to the advances provided for in the first paragraph, the Minister of Finance may, with the authorization of the Government, pay to the corporation, out of the consolidated revenue fund, advances not exceeding $12 000 000 in all for the fiscal years ending 31 March 1981, 1982, 1983 and 1984.
1977, c. 69, s. 27; 1979, c. 40, s. 1.
28. The obligation devolving on the Minister of Finance under the first paragraph of section 27 applies only if the subscribing cooperators advance on their part to the corporation an amount of $300,000 during the fiscal year of the corporation ending 31 March 1978, $400,000 during the fiscal year of the corporation ending 31 March 1979 and at least $500 000 for each fiscal year ending 31 March 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983 and 1984.
1977, c. 69, s. 28; 1979, c. 40, s. 2.
29. By means of such amounts advanced, the corporation may, to achieve its objects, make loans to a cooperative undertaking, subscribe common or preferred shares of the capital stock of a cooperative undertaking or guarantee the repayment of a loan made to such an undertaking.
The corporation may also acquire real property required for the operation of a cooperative undertaking, for the purpose of selling or leasing it to a cooperative undertaking which previously committed itself to buying or leasing it from the corporation, on the conditions determined by the corporation.
The corporation may also acquire shares in a corporation the objects of which are the acquisition and management or development of real property, with a view to selling or leasing it to a cooperative undertaking. It may also advance amounts to a corporation having the same objects.
A corporation to which the corporation has advanced an amount or in which the corporation has acquired shares shall not, except with the authorization of the corporation and of the Minister, sell or lease real property to a person other than a cooperative undertaking nor otherwise alienate real property to a person other than a cooperative undertaking, a subscribing cooperator or a savings and credit union
(a)  if, at the time that corporation acquired the property, the corporation was one of its shareholders or if, at that time, an amount advanced to it by the corporation had not been repaid; or
(b)  if, at the time that corporation sells, leases or otherwise alienates the property, the corporation is one of its shareholders, or if, at that time, an amount advanced to it by the corporation has not been repaid.
The corporation shall not sell or otherwise dispose of its shares in that corporation except to a cooperative undertaking or a subscribing cooperator.
1977, c. 69, s. 29; 1979, c. 40, s. 3; 1979, c. 55, s. 1.
30. The corporation shall not subscribe capital stock of a single cooperative undertaking for an amount greater than three times the total amount of the common or preferred shares, otherwise subscribed and paid-up, of the capital stock of that undertaking.
For the purposes of the preceding paragraph, the total amount of the common or preferred shares subscribed and paid-up must not include the amount of the common or preferred shares previously subscribed by the corporation.
1977, c. 69, s. 30.
31. The total financial assistance granted by the corporation in a fiscal year to a single cooperative undertaking under the first paragraph of section 29 shall not exceed $500,000.
1977, c. 69, s. 31; 1979, c. 40, s. 4.
32. The total amount of the loans guaranteed by hypothec which may be granted by the corporation in a fiscal year shall not exceed $500,000 in addition to the sums from the repayment of those hypothecary loans, which may be re-used for the same purpose.
1977, c. 69, s. 32; 1979, c. 40, s. 5.
33. When the corporation guarantees the repayment of a loan granted to a cooperative undertaking, it shall set aside and keep for the duration of that guarantee a reserve fund equivalent to at least 50% of the amount of the guarantee.
1977, c. 69, s. 33; 1979, c. 40, s. 6.
34. The corporation may require a cooperative undertaking to which it has granted financial assistance, to convene and admit to the sittings of its board of directors, for a stated time, and observer designated by the corporation.
1977, c. 69, s. 34.
DIVISION IV
SERVICES
35. The Minister of Finance may pay to the corporation, out of the consolidated revenue fund, for the fiscal year of the Government ending 31 March 1978, and for the fiscal year ending 31 March 1979, the sum of $400,000.
Furthermore, the Minister of Finance shall pay to the corporation, out of the consolidated revenue fund, the sum of $1 000 000 for each fiscal year ending 31 March 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983 and 1984.
1977, c. 69, s. 35; 1979, c. 40, s. 7.
36. The Minister may also pay to the corporation, out of the appropriations voted each year for that purpose by the National Assembly, any sum additional to those paid under section 35, provided that the subscribing cooperators have agreed to pay an equivalent amount on the same conditions.
1977, c. 69, s. 36; 1979, c. 40, s. 8.
37. The sums paid by the Minister of Finance or the Minister under sections 35 and 36 shall be used to meet the administrative expenses and all other expenses of the corporation incurred for the carrying out of this division.
1977, c. 69, s. 37.
38. To achieve its objects, the corporation may, free of charge or for a consideration:
(a)  supply technical assistance and consulting services to cooperative undertakings;
(b)  offer training programmes for the directors, officers and employees of cooperative undertakings;
(c)  for the members of cooperative undertakings or the persons intending to set up such undertakings, collect, analyse, publish and distribute information, and supply consulting services, on:
i.  the techniques, methods and practices necessary to administer a cooperative undertaking;
ii.  the government programmes of assistance and promotion for various forms of undertakings;
iii.  any other forms of assistance to undertakings;
(d)  temporarily assume, at the request of a cooperative undertaking in difficulty, a part or the whole of the management of that undertaking;
(e)  supervise the management of a cooperative undertaking to which it has granted or intends to grant financial assistance.
1977, c. 69, s. 38.
39. The corporation may cooperate with any body dedicated to the development of undertakings, in order to coordinate training and assistance programmes offered to members of cooperative undertakings.
1977, c. 69, s. 39.
40. The corporation may assume the expenses, excluding interest, connected with the financial assistance contemplated in Division III, as technical assistance.
1977, c. 69, s. 40.
DIVISION V
LOANS AND INVESTMENTS
41. The corporation shall not borrow except to acquire real property for its own use, for the application of the second paragraph of section 29 or to meet its temporary cash needs.
1977, c. 69, s. 41; 1979, c. 40, s. 9.
42. The sums the corporation cannot use immediately in the pursuit of its objects may be invested in bonds or other evidences of indebtedness, provided their term is not over one year and repayment of capital and interest is guaranteed or insured by the Government of Québec or of Canada.
1977, c. 69, s. 42.
43. Moneys neither used nor invested by the corporation shall be deposited in a bank or in an institution registered with the Régie de l’assurance-dépôts du Québec.
1977, c. 69, s. 43.
DIVISION VI
MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS
44. The corporation shall not acquire or hold real property except for its own use, for the application of the second paragraph of section 29, or to secure total or partial payment of any sum owed to it. In this last case, it shall dispose of the real property so acquired within a delay of three years, which may be extended by the Minister.
1977, c. 69, s. 44; 1979, c. 40, s. 10.
45. The fiscal year of the corporation ends 31 March each year.
1977, c. 69, s. 45.
46. Before the commencement of each fiscal year, the corporation shall prepare, and submit for approval to the Government, on the date and in the form and tenor determined by it, a plan of financial assistance as contemplated in Division III and a budget of the expenses contemplated in Division IV.
1977, c. 69, s. 46; 1979, c. 40, s. 11.
47. Without restricting the application of the Financial Administration Act (chapter A-6), the corporation shall, quarterly, send to the Minister a statement of its revenues and expenditures and a statement of their correlation with the budgetary estimates of the corporation.
1977, c. 69, s. 47.
48. The corporation shall also provide the Minister, at his request and within such delay as he may fix, a report on any matter respecting its operations.
1977, c. 69, s. 48.
49. The books and accounts of the corporation shall be audited by an accountant who is a member in good standing of the Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec.
1977, c. 69, s. 49; 1977, c. 5, s. 229.
50. Not later than 30 June each year, the corporation shall supply the Minister and the subscribing cooperators with the financial statements and a report of its operations for the preceding fiscal year. That report shall be tabled in the National Assembly within thirty days if it is in session, or, if it is not in session, within ten days after the opening of the next session.
1977, c. 69, s. 50.
DIVISION VII
FINAL PROVISIONS
51. The Minister is responsible for the administration of this act.
1977, c. 69, s. 51.
52. This Act shall operate notwithstanding the provisions of sections 2 and 7 to 15 of the Constitution Act, 1982 (Schedule B of the Canada Act, chapter 11 in the 1982 volume of the Acts of the Parliament of the United Kingdom).
1982, c. 21, s. 1.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 69 of the statutes of 1977, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed, except section 52, effective from the coming into force of chapter S-10 of the Revised Statutes.

S-10 - Loi sur la Société de développement coopératif

Texte complet
chapitre S-10
Loi sur la Société de développement coopératif
SOCIÉTÉ DE DÉVELOPPEMENT COOPÉRATIF23 mai 19846 juin 1984
Le chapitre S-10 est remplacé par la Loi sur la Société de développement des coopératives (chapitre S‐10.001). (1984, c. 8, a. 41).
1984, c. 8, a. 41.
SECTION I
DÉFINITIONS
1. Dans la présente loi, à moins que le contexte n’indique un sens différent, on entend par:
a)  «Conseil de la coopération du Québec» : le Conseil de la coopération du Québec constitué par lettres patentes octroyées en vertu de la partie III de la Loi sur les compagnies (chapitre C‐38) le 8 janvier 1940;
b)  «coopérateur-souscripteur» : une fédération de caisses d’épargne et de crédit constituée en vertu de la Loi sur les caisses d’épargne et de crédit (chapitre C‐4) ou un membre du Conseil de la coopération du Québec qui verse, conformément à la présente loi, des avances ou autres sommes à la Société de développement coopératif;
c)  «entreprise coopérative» : une coopérative régie par la Loi sur les coopératives (chapitre C‐67.2), un syndicat coopératif constitué en vertu de la Loi sur les syndicats coopératifs (chapitre S‐38) pour des fins économiques autres que le crédit et la prévoyance et une fédération de coopératives ou confédération de fédérations de ces coopératives;
d)  «ministre» : le ministre des Institutions financières et Coopératives;
e)  «Société» : la Société de développement coopératif constituée en vertu de la présente loi.
1977, c. 69, a. 1; 1981, c. 9, a. 24; 1982, c. 26, a. 321.
SECTION II
CONSTITUTION ET ORGANISATION
2. Un organisme est constitué sous le nom de Société de développement coopératif.
1977, c. 69, a. 2.
3. La Société est une corporation au sens du Code civil et elle est investie des pouvoirs généraux d’une telle corporation et des pouvoirs particuliers que la présente loi lui confère.
1977, c. 69, a. 3.
4. La Société a son siège social dans le territoire de la Communauté urbaine de Québec; elle peut toutefois le transporter dans un autre endroit au Québec, avec l’approbation du gouvernement; un tel changement entre en vigueur sur publication d’un avis à cet effet dans la Gazette officielle du Québec.
1977, c. 69, a. 4.
5. La Société peut tenir ses séances à tout endroit au Québec.
1977, c. 69, a. 5.
6. La Société a pour objet d’apporter aux entreprises coopératives une aide financière et les services susceptibles de stimuler leur création et leur développement.
1977, c. 69, a. 6.
7. Les affaires de la Société sont administrées par un conseil d’administration de onze membres.
1977, c. 69, a. 7.
8. Nul ne peut être membre du conseil d’administration de la Société s’il n’est pas domicilié au Québec.
1977, c. 69, a. 8.
9. Le gouvernement nomme cinq membres du conseil d’administration sur la recommandation du Conseil de la coopération du Québec et un autre membre qui est choisi à même une liste de cinq membres d’une ou plusieurs entreprises coopératives non affiliées à une fédération.
Cette liste est transmise par le Conseil de la coopération du Québec dans les plus brefs délais après le 12 octobre 1977 et, par la suite, avant le premier février qui précède l’expiration du mandat du membre à remplacer.
1977, c. 69, a. 9.
10. Cinq autres membres sont nommés par le gouvernement.
1977, c. 69, a. 10.
11. À défaut par le Conseil de la coopération du Québec de se conformer aux articles 9 et 13, le gouvernement nomme lui-même les personnes qu’il juge représentatives dans le milieu coopératif.
1977, c. 69, a. 11.
12. Les membres du conseil d’administration sont nommés pour deux années financières de la Société.
1977, c. 69, a. 12.
13. Les premiers membres du conseil d’administration sont nommés dans les plus brefs délais après le 12 octobre 1977 et demeurent en fonctions durant la période comprise entre la date de leur nomination et le 31 mars suivant les douze mois qui suivent la date de cette nomination.
1977, c. 69, a. 13.
14. Les membres du conseil d’administration restent en fonctions nonobstant l’expiration de leur mandat, jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient nommés de nouveau ou remplacés. Cependant, ils ne peuvent être ainsi nommés ou remplacés que pour la durée non écoulée de la période visée à l’article 12.
1977, c. 69, a. 14.
15. Lorsqu’il survient une vacance parmi les membres du conseil d’administration, le gouvernement comble la vacance en se conformant aux articles 9 et 10.
1977, c. 69, a. 15.
16. Toute vacance parmi les membres du conseil d’administration est comblée seulement pour la durée non écoulée du mandat du membre à remplacer.
1977, c. 69, a. 16.
17. Le gouvernement fixe le traitement ou, s’il y a lieu, le traitement additionnel, les allocations ou les honoraires des membres du conseil d’administration.
1977, c. 69, a. 17.
18. Les membres du conseil d’administration élisent chaque année, parmi eux, un président et un vice-président de la Société ainsi que tout autre officier dont les règlements de la Société prévoient l’élection.
1977, c. 69, a. 18.
19. Le président doit veiller à l’exécution des décisions du conseil d’administration.
Au cas d’absence ou d’incapacité temporaire du président, le vice-président le remplace.
1977, c. 69, a. 19.
20. Le conseil d’administration constitue parmi ses membres un comité exécutif composé de cinq membres, dont au moins trois des membres visés dans l’article 9. Le président de la Société en est membre d’office et président.
Le comité exécutif exerce les pouvoirs qui lui sont délégués par les règlements de régie interne de la Société.
1977, c. 69, a. 20.
21. Le conseil d’administration se réunit au moins une fois tous les deux mois et le comité exécutif au moins une fois par mois.
1977, c. 69, a. 21.
22. Le président de la Société ou deux membres du conseil d’administration peuvent convoquer une séance du conseil d’administration; le président du comité exécutif ou deux membres de ce comité peuvent convoquer une séance du comité exécutif.
1977, c. 69, a. 22.
23. Le quorum du conseil d’administration est de six membres. Celui du comité exécutif est de trois membres.
1977, c. 69, a. 23.
24. Les procès-verbaux des séances du conseil d’administration ou du comité exécutif, signés par le président de la Société ou par toute autre personne autorisée à cette fin par les règlements de régie interne de la Société, font preuve par eux-mêmes de leur contenu.
1977, c. 69, a. 24.
25. La société peut adopter des règlements pour sa régie interne et son administration.
Ces règlements doivent être soumis à l’approbation du ministre et entrent en vigueur à la date de cette approbation.
1977, c. 69, a. 25.
26. Un membre du conseil d’administration de la Société ne peut, sous peine de déchéance de sa charge, avoir un intérêt direct ou indirect dans une entreprise autre qu’une entreprise coopérative mettant en conflit son intérêt personnel et celui de la Société.
Toutefois, cette déchéance n’a pas lieu si un tel intérêt lui échoit par succession ou donation pourvu qu’il y renonce ou en dispose avec toute la diligence possible.
Un membre du conseil d’administration qui a un intérêt direct ou indirect dans une entreprise coopérative avec laquelle la Société a ou a l’intention d’avoir des relations d’affaires doit, sous peine de déchéance de sa charge, divulguer son intérêt et s’abstenir de voter sur toute question qui est relative à cette entreprise coopérative.
1977, c. 69, a. 26.
SECTION III
AIDE FINANCIÈRE
27. Le ministre des Finances verse, à même le fonds consolidé du revenu, des avances à la Société pour un montant de 700 000 $ durant l’année financière du gouvernement se terminant le 31 mars 1978, de 600 000 $ durant l’année financière du gouvernement se terminant le 31 mars 1979 de 5 000 000 $ pour l’année financière se terminant le 31 mars 1980 et de 2 000 000 $ pour chacune des quatre années financières subséquentes.
En plus des avances prévues au premier alinéa, le ministre des Finances peut, avec l’autorisation du gouvernement, verser à la Société, à même le fonds consolidé du revenu, des avances ne pouvant excéder 12 000 000 $ pour l’ensemble des années financières se terminant le 31 mars des années 1981, 1982, 1983 et 1984.
1977, c. 69, a. 27; 1979, c. 40, a. 1.
28. L’obligation qui incombe au ministre des Finances en vertu du premier alinéa de l’article 27 est conditionnelle à ce que des coopérateurs-souscripteurs versent de semblables avances à la Société pour une somme de 300 000 $ durant l’année financière de la Société se terminant le 31 mars 1978, de 400 000 $ durant l’année financière de la Société se terminant le 31 mars 1979 et d’au moins 500 000 $ pour chacune des années financières se terminant le 31 mars des années 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983 et 1984.
1977, c. 69, a. 28; 1979, c. 40, a. 2.
29. Au moyen de ces avances, la Société peut, dans la poursuite de ces objets, consentir des prêts à une entreprise coopérative, souscrire des actions, parts sociales ou parts privilégiées du capital social d’une entreprise coopérative ou garantir le remboursement d’un prêt qui a été consenti à cette dernière.
La Société peut également acquérir des biens-fonds requis pour l’exploitation d’une entreprise coopérative, aux fins de les vendre ou de les louer à une entreprise coopérative qui s’est engagée préalablement à les lui acheter ou à les lui louer aux conditions déterminées par la Société.
La Société peut également acquérir des actions d’une corporation dont les objets sont d’acquérir des biens-fonds, de les gérer ou de les mettre en valeur en vue de les vendre ou de les louer à une entreprise coopérative. Elle peut en outre consentir des avances à une corporation ayant les mêmes objets.
Une corporation à qui la Société a consenti une avance ou de qui la Société a acquis des actions ne peut, sans l’autorisation de la Société et celle du ministre, vendre ou louer un bien-fonds à une personne autre qu’une entreprise coopérative ou l’aliéner autrement à une personne autre qu’une entreprise coopérative, un coopérateur-souscripteur ou une caisse d’épargne et de crédit:
a)  si, au moment où elle l’a acquis, la Société détenait de ses actions ou si, au même moment, une avance que la Société lui avait consentie n’était pas remboursée; ou
b)  si, au moment où elle le vend, le loue ou l’aliène autrement, la Société détient de ses actions ou si, au même moment, une avance que la Société lui a consentie n’est pas remboursée.
La Société ne peut vendre ses actions dans la corporation ou autrement en disposer qu’en faveur d’une entreprise coopérative ou d’un coopérateur-souscripteur.
1977, c. 69, a. 29; 1979, c. 40, a. 3; 1979, c. 55, a. 1.
30. La Société ne peut souscrire dans le capital social d’une même entreprise coopérative une somme supérieure à trois fois le montant total des actions, parts sociales ou parts privilégiées autrement souscrites et payées dans le capital social de cette entreprise.
Pour les fins de l’alinéa précédent, le montant total des actions, parts sociales ou parts privilégiées souscrites et payées ne doit pas inclure le montant d’actions, parts sociales ou parts privilégiées que la Société a souscrit antérieurement.
1977, c. 69, a. 30.
31. L’aide financière totale accordée par la Société durant une année financière à une même entreprise coopérative en vertu du premier alinéa de l’article 29 ne peut excéder 500 000 $.
1977, c. 69, a. 31; 1979, c. 40, a. 4.
32. Le montant total des prêts garantis par hypothèque que peut consentir la Société durant une année financière ne peut excéder 500 000 $ plus les sommes provenant des remboursements de ces prêts hypothécaires, lesquelles peuvent être remployées à cette fin.
1977, c. 69, a. 32; 1979, c. 40, a. 5.
33. Lorsque la Société garantit le remboursement d’un prêt qui a été consenti à une entreprise coopérative, elle doit établir et maintenir pour la durée de cette garantie une réserve équivalente à au moins 50% du montant de cette garantie.
1977, c. 69, a. 33; 1979, c. 40, a. 6.
34. La Société peut imposer à une entreprise coopérative, à qui elle a accordé une aide financière, l’obligation de convoquer et d’admettre aux séances de son conseil d’administration, pour une durée déterminée, un observateur qu’elle désigne.
1977, c. 69, a. 34.
SECTION IV
SERVICES
35. Le ministre des Finances est autorisé à verser à la Société, à même le fonds consolidé du revenu, pour l’année financière du gouvernement se terminant le 31 mars 1978 et pour l’année financière se terminant le 31 mars 1979 la somme de 400 000 $.
De plus le ministre des Finances verse à la Société, à même le fonds consolidé du revenu, une somme de 1 000 000 $ pour chacune des années financières se terminant le 31 mars des années 1980, 1981, 1982, 1983 et 1984.
1977, c. 69, a. 35; 1979, c. 40, a. 7.
36. Le ministre peut également verser à la Société, à même les crédits votés annuellement à cette fin par l’Assemblée nationale, toute somme additionnelle à celles versées en vertu de l’article 35 à la condition que des coopérateurs-souscripteurs se soient engagés à verser, aux mêmes conditions, une somme équivalente.
1977, c. 69, a. 36; 1979, c. 40, a. 8.
37. Les sommes versées par le ministre des Finances ou le ministre en vertu des articles 35 et 36 servent à défrayer les dépenses d’administration et toutes autres dépenses de la Société encourues pour l’application de la présente section.
1977, c. 69, a. 37.
38. Dans la poursuite de ses objets, la Société peut, à titre gratuit ou onéreux:
a)  fournir une assistance technique et des services de consultation aux entreprises coopératives;
b)  offrir des programmes de formation pour les administrateurs, les cadres et les employés des entreprises coopératives;
c)  à l’intention des membres des entreprises coopératives ou des personnes qui ont l’intention de constituer de telles entreprises, recueillir, analyser, publier et diffuser des renseignements et fournir des services de consultation sur:
i.  les techniques, les méthodes et les pratiques nécessaires à l’administration d’une entreprise coopérative;
ii.  les programmes gouvernementaux d’aide et d’encouragement aux diverses formes d’entreprises;
iii.  toutes autres formes d’aide aux entreprises;
d)  assumer temporairement, à la demande d’une entreprise coopérative en difficulté, la gestion partielle ou totale de cette entreprise;
e)  superviser l’administration d’une entreprise coopérative à qui elle a apporté ou se propose d’apporter une aide financière.
1977, c. 69, a. 38.
39. La Société peut collaborer avec tout organisme voué au développement des entreprises, à la coordination des programmes de formation et d’assistance offerts aux membres des entreprises coopératives.
1977, c. 69, a. 39.
40. La Société peut assumer, à titre d’assistance technique, à l’exclusion des intérêts, les frais incidents à l’aide financière prévue à la section III.
1977, c. 69, a. 40.
SECTION V
EMPRUNTS ET PLACEMENTS
41. La Société ne peut emprunter que pour acquérir des biens-fonds pour son propre usage, pour l’application du deuxième alinéa de l’article 29 ou pour combler ses besoins temporaires de liquidité.
1977, c. 69, a. 41; 1979, c. 40, a. 9.
42. Les sommes que la Société ne peut utiliser immédiatement dans la poursuite de ses objets peuvent être placées dans des obligations ou autres titres de créance pourvu que leur échéance n’excède pas un an et que le remboursement du principal et des intérêts soit garanti ou assuré par le gouvernement du Québec ou celui du Canada.
1977, c. 69, a. 42.
43. Les fonds non utilisés ou placés par la Société doivent être déposés dans une banque ou dans une institution inscrite à la Régie de l’assurance-dépôts du Québec.
1977, c. 69, a. 43.
SECTION VI
DISPOSITIONS DIVERSES
44. La Société ne peut acquérir et détenir des biens-fonds que pour son propre usage, pour l’application du deuxième alinéa de l’article 29 ou pour assurer le paiement total ou partiel de toute somme qui lui est due. Dans ce dernier cas, elle doit disposer des biens-fonds ainsi acquis dans un délai de trois ans qui peut être prolongé par le ministre.
1977, c. 69, a. 44; 1979, c. 40, a. 10.
45. L’année financière de la Société se termine le 31 mars de chaque année.
1977, c. 69, a. 45.
46. Avant le début de chaque année financière, la Société doit préparer et soumettre à l’approbation du gouvernement, à la date, dans la forme et la teneur que celui-ci détermine, un plan de l’aide financière visée dans la section III ainsi qu’un budget des dépenses visées dans la section IV.
1977, c. 69, a. 46; 1979, c. 40, a. 11.
47. Sans restreindre l’application de la Loi sur l’administration financière (chapitre A‐6), la Société doit fournir trimestriellement au ministre, un état de ses revenus et dépenses et un état de leur appariement aux prévisions budgétaires de la Société.
1977, c. 69, a. 47.
48. La Société doit en outre fournir au ministre, sur demande et dans le délai qu’il fixe, un rapport sur toute matière relative à ses activités.
1977, c. 69, a. 48.
49. Les livres et comptes de la Société sont vérifiés par un comptable qui est membre en règle de l’Ordre des comptables agréés du Québec.
1977, c. 69, a. 49.
50. La Société doit, au plus tard le 30 juin de chaque année, produire au ministre et aux coopérateurs-souscripteurs les états financiers ainsi qu’un rapport de ses activités de l’année financière précédente. Ce rapport est déposé devant l’Assemblée nationale dans les trente jours si elle est en session ou, si elle ne l’est pas, dans les dix jours de l’ouverture de la session suivante.
1977, c. 69, a. 50.
SECTION VII
DISPOSITIONS FINALES
51. Le ministre est chargé de l’application de la présente loi.
1977, c. 69, a. 51.
52. La présente loi a effet indépendamment des dispositions des articles 2 et 7 à 15 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 (annexe B de la Loi sur le Canada, chapitre 11 du recueil des lois du Parlement du Royaume-Uni pour l’année 1982).
1982, c. 21, a. 1.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 69 des lois de 1977, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, à l’exception de l’article 52, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre S-10 des Lois refondues.