P-39.2 - Act to ensure the protection of veterans’ graves and war graves

Full text
chapter P-39.2
Act to ensure the protection of veterans’ graves and war graves
PROTECTION OF VETERANS’ GRAVES AND WAR GRAVESDecember 18 2003December 18 2003
1. The graves referred to in this Act are those of Canadian Armed Forces or Allied Forces veterans or any war graves protected by the Geneva Conventions for the Protection of War Victims signed at Geneva on 12 August 1949 and the Protocols Additional to the Geneva Conventions reproduced in Schedules I through VI of the Geneva Conventions Act (Revised Statutes of Canada, 1985, chapter G-3).
2003, c. 22, s. 1.
2. The administrator of a cemetery must ensure the protection of the veterans’ graves and war graves located in the cemetery. The remains interred in these graves or the markers placed on them may be moved only in such a manner that they may be found again.
2003, c. 22, s. 2.
3. The administrator of a cemetery may agree with the appropriate federal minister or the Commonwealth War Graves Commission on the financial or other arrangements needed to protect and maintain the graves. If the administrator has received notice from the federal minister or the Commission that the federal minister or the Commission has undertaken to pay the maintenance and concession costs with respect to a gravesite, the administrator may not allow the remains interred in the grave or the marker placed on it to be moved unless the federal minister or the Commission has been given three months’ advance notice of the intention to do so.
2003, c. 22, s. 3.
4. The minister responsible for the administration of this Act is the minister designated by the Government.
2003, c. 22, s. 4.
5. (Omitted).
2003, c. 22, s. 5.
REPEAL SCHEDULE
In accordance with section 9 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes and regulations (chapter R-3), chapter 22 of the statutes of 2003, in force on 1 March 2004, is repealed, except section 5, effective from the coming into force of chapter P-39.2 of the Revised Statutes.

P-39.2 - Loi sur la protection des sépultures des anciens combattants et des sépultures de guerre

Texte complet
chapitre P-39.2
Loi sur la protection des sépultures des anciens combattants et des sépultures de guerre
PROTECTION DES SÉPULTURES DES ANCIENS COMBATTANTS18 décembre 200318 décembre 2003
1. Les sépultures visées par la présente loi sont celles des anciens combattants des forces armées canadiennes ou alliées ainsi que toute sépulture de guerre protégée par les conventions de Genève pour la protection des victimes de guerre, signées à Genève le 12 août 1949, et leurs protocoles additionnels, reproduits aux annexes I à VI de la Loi sur les conventions de Genève (Lois révisées du Canada (1985), chapitre G-3).
2003, c. 22, a. 1.
2. L’administrateur d’un cimetière est tenu d’assurer la protection des sépultures des anciens combattants et des sépultures de guerre se trouvant dans ce cimetière. Les restes ou le monument funéraire de ces sépultures ne peuvent, notamment, être déplacés que d’une façon qui permet de les retrouver.
2003, c. 22, a. 2.
3. L’administrateur d’un cimetière peut convenir avec le ministre fédéral responsable ou la Commission des sépultures de guerre du Commonwealth d’arrangements financiers ou autres nécessaires à la protection et à l’entretien des sépultures. Si cet administrateur a reçu un avis lui indiquant que l’un ou l’autre s’engage à assumer les frais d’entretien et de concession des lieux d’une sépulture, il ne peut permettre le déplacement des restes ou du monument funéraire de cette sépulture que s’il a donné au ministre fédéral ou à la Commission un avis de trois mois lui faisant part de son intention de le faire.
2003, c. 22, a. 3.
4. Le gouvernement désigne le ministre responsable de l’application de la présente loi.
2003, c. 22, a. 4.
5. (Omis).
2003, c. 22, a. 5.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE
Conformément à l’article 9 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois et des règlements (chapitre R-3), le chapitre 22 des lois de 2003, tel qu’en vigueur le 1er mars 2004, à l’exception de l’article 5, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre P-39.2 des Lois refondues.