P-38 - Settlers Protection Act

Full text
chapter P-38
Settlers Protection Act
PROTECTION OF SETTLERSApril 8 1982July 1 1984
Repealed, 1982, c. 13, s. 68.
1982, c. 13, s. 68.
1. No public lands granted to a bona fide settler by instruments in the form of location tickets, occupation licenses or sale or other titles of a similar nature or to the same effect, in virtue of the law, and according to the orders-in-council and regulations passed in virtue thereof, as well as the improvements made, the buildings erected and the expenses incurred by such settlers, shall, so long as letters patent are not issued therefor, be pledged or hypothecated by judgment or otherwise, or be liable to seizure or execution for any debt whatsoever, except for the price of such lands, the payment of municipal or school taxes, costs of road work and assessments for the building of churches, parsonages or cemeteries, the whole notwithstanding articles 1980 and 1981 of the Civil Code, and articles 569 and 572 of the Code of Civil Procedure.
R. S. 1964, c. 106, s. 1; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 80, a. 1.
2. Nevertheless, such right of exemption from seizure and execution shall not extend beyond six years from the date of the location ticket, occupation license, certificate of sale or other similar title as aforesaid.
R. S. 1964, c. 106, s. 2.
3. Every grantee of public lands in Québec who acquires the same by location ticket, occupation license, certificate of sale or other similar title, issued in his name or in the name of another person of whom he has become the grantee, assignee or legal representative, may, during the three months next after the issue of his letters patent, select a certain number of acres of such land, not exceeding one hundred, as his homestead.
So soon as he has made a solemn declaration of such selection, according to form 1, and such declaration has been acknowledged, in accordance with the Canada Evidence Act (Revised Statutes of Canada, 1970, chapter E-10), and has been registered by deposit, within the said three months, in the registry office for the registration division of the place where such property is situated, the land so selected as a homestead, with the buildings and appurtenances thereon erected, and so long as they shall remain in the possession of such grantee or assignee, or in the possession of his surviving spouse or children, his heirs, legatees or donees, as well as every right, title and interest they may have therein, shall, notwithstanding articles 1980 and 1981 of the Civil Code and articles 569 and 572 of the Code of Civil Procedure, be exempt from seizure and execution, during the fifteen years next after the date of the registration of such declaration, for the payment of debts contracted, either before or during such period, unless it be for the price of such lands or for the extinction of the lawful charges and hypothecs for which they themselves have pledged the property after the issue of such letters patent.
Upon receipt of such declaration and upon payment of a fee of fifty cents, the registrar shall register such declaration and furnish, upon payment of a similar fee of fifty cents, to the grantee or assignee or his representatives as aforesaid, a certificate in accordance with form 2, which certificate shall be valid before all courts.
R. S. 1964, c. 106, s. 3; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 80, a. 1; 1982, c. 17, s. 69.
4. Without prejudice to articles 552 and following of the Code of Civil Procedure, the moveables and effects hereinafter enumerated, whether they be in the possession of a bona fide settler, as described in section 1, or in the possession of his surviving spouse, or of his or their children or descendants in the direct line, shall, so long as the party upon whom the seizure is made is owner of the land in virtue of the said section, be exempt from seizure and execution for any debt whatsoever except for the payment of the taxes, charges and dues mentioned in section 1, from the date of the grant of such land and during fifteen years from the issue of the letters patent, to wit:
(1)  The beds, bedding and bedsteads in ordinary use by his family;
(2)  The necessary and ordinary wearing apparel of himself and his family;
(3)  One stove and pipes, one crane and its appendages, one pair of andirons, one set of cooking utensils, one pair of tongs and a shovel, one table, six chairs, six knives, six spoons, six forks, six plates, six tea-cups, six saucers, one sugar-basin, one milk-jug, one tea-pot, all spinning-wheels and weaving-looms in domestic use, one axe, one saw, one gun, six traps, and such fishing nets and seines as are in common use, and ten volumes of books;
(4)  All necessary fuel, meat, fish, flour and vegetables sufficient for him and his family for three months;
(5)  Seed grain necessary to sow his land;
(6)  Two draught horses or two draught oxen, ten other head of horned cattle, six sheep, five pigs, all the poultry, and the grain and other forage intended for the support or fattening of such animals and poultry;
(7)  Farm vehicles and implements of agriculture;
(8)  The building materials intended to be employed in the construction of or repairs or improvements to the buildings and mills on his land.
The debtor may select the chattels mentioned in paragraphs 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 from any larger number of the same kind.
The chattels mentioned in paragraphs 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8 of this section shall not be exempt from seizure and execution for the purchase price thereof or if they have been pledged or pawned.
R. S. 1964, c. 106, s. 4; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 80, a. 1; 1974, c. 79, s. 6; 1982, c. 17, s. 70.
5. If a settler has occupied Crown lands for more than five years before the issue of the letters patent, the excess over such five years shall be deducted from the fifteen years’ exemption mentioned in section 4.
R. S. 1964, c. 106, s. 5.
6. The owner of a homestead and of public lands in virtue of sections 1 and 3 shall have the right to alienate the same by gratuitous or by onerous title, even without the consent of his consort expressed in a notarial deed.
R. S. 1964, c. 106, s. 6.
7. Nothing in this act shall exempt a lot on Crown lands occupied under a location-ticket from the payment of municipal or school taxes or assessments for church purposes.
R. S. 1964, c. 106, s. 7.
8. This act shall apply to fishermen who are also settlers.
R. S. 1964, c. 106, s. 8.
9. This Act shall operate notwithstanding the provisions of sections 2 and 7 to 15 of the Constitution Act, 1982 (Schedule B of the Canada Act, chapter 11 in the 1982 volume of the Acts of the Parliament of the United Kingdom).
1982, c. 21, s. 1.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 106 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter P-38 of the Revised Statutes.

P-38 - Loi sur la protection des colons

Texte complet
chapitre P-38
Loi sur la protection des colons
PROTECTION DES COLONS8 avril 19821er juillet 1984
Abrogée, 1982, c. 13, a. 68.
1982, c. 13, a. 68.
1. Les terres publiques octroyées aux colons de bonne foi, sous forme de billets de location, permis d’occupation, certificat de vente, ou autres titres semblables, ou aux mêmes fins, en vertu de la loi, ainsi qu’en vertu des arrêtés en conseil et règlements adoptés suivant la loi, de même que les améliorations, impenses et constructions faites par ces colons, ne peuvent, tant que les lettres patentes ne sont pas émises, être engagées ou hypothéquées, par jugement ou autrement, ni être saisies et exécutées, pour aucune dette quelconque, à moins que ce ne soit pour le prix de telle terre, pour le paiement des taxes municipales ou scolaires, frais de voirie, et répartition pour constructions d’églises, presbytères ou cimetières, et ce, nonobstant les articles 1980 et 1981 du Code civil, et les articles 569 et 572 du Code de procédure civile.
S. R. 1964, c. 106, a. 1; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 80, a. 1.
2. Toutefois, ce droit d’exemption de la saisie et exécution, ne doit pas s’étendre à plus de six ans de la date du billet de location, du permis d’occupation, du certificat de vente ou autre titre semblable, comme susdit.
S. R. 1964, c. 106, a. 2.
3. Tout concessionnaire de terre publique au Québec, qui acquiert, par billet de location ou permis d’occupation, un certificat de vente ou autre titre semblable, émis soit en son nom, soit au nom d’une autre personne dont il est devenu le concessionnaire ou le représentant légal, peut, dans les trois mois qui suivent l’émission de ses lettres patentes, choisir un certain nombre d’acres de telles terres, mais ne dépassant pas cent, pour se créer un patrimoine de famille (home-stead).
Lorsqu’il a fait une déclaration solennelle de ce choix, selon la formule 1, que ladite déclaration a été reconnue, conformément à la Loi sur la preuve au Canada (Statuts revisés du Canada, 1970, chapitre E-10), et qu’elle a été enregistrée par dépôt dans lesdits trois mois au bureau d’enregistrement de l’endroit où sont situées telles propriétés, les terres ainsi choisies comme patrimoine de famille, avec les bâtiments ou autres constructions y érigés, tant qu’ils sont entre les mains du concessionnaire, ou entre les mains de son conjoint survivant ou de ses enfants, héritiers, légataires ou donataires, de même que les droits, titres et intérêts qu’ils peuvent y avoir, sont, nonobstant les articles 1980 et 1981 du Code civil et les articles 569 et 572 du Code de procédure civile, exempts de la saisie et exécution, durant les quinze années suivant la date de l’enregistrement de cette déclaration, pour le paiement des dettes qu’ils ont contractées soit avant, soit pendant cette période, à moins que ce ne soit pour le prix de ces terres, ou pour purger les charges ou hypothèques valides qu’ils ont consenties eux-mêmes sur la propriété, après l’émission des lettres patentes.
Sur réception de cette déclaration et sur paiement de l’honoraire de cinquante centins, le registrateur est tenu d’enregistrer telle déclaration et de fournir, sur paiement d’un semblable honoraire de cinquante centins, au concessionnaire ou à ses représentants comme susdit, un certificat suivant la formule 2, lequel certificat est valable devant tout tribunal.
S. R. 1964, c. 106, a. 3; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 80, a. 1; 1982, c. 17, a. 69.
4. Sans préjudicier aux articles 552 et suivants du Code de procédure civile, les meubles et effets ci-dessous énumérés, qu’ils soient entre les mains d’un colon de bonne foi, tel que mentionné dans l’article 1, ou entre les mains de son conjoint survivant ou de ses enfants ou descendants en ligne directe, sont, tant que la personne sur laquelle la saisie est faite est propriétaire du fonds en vertu dudit article, exempts pour toute dette quelconque de la saisie et exécution, excepté pour le paiement des taxes, charges et redevances mentionnées à l’article 1, et cela à compter de la date de l’octroi de telles terres, et durant quinze ans après l’émission des lettres patentes, savoir:
1°  Les lits, literies et bois de lits à l’usage ordinaire de sa famille;
2°  Les vêtements ordinaires et nécessaires pour lui et sa famille;
3°  Un poêle et son tuyau, une crémaillère et ses accessoires, une paire de chenêts, un assortiment d’ustensiles de cuisine, une paire de pincettes et une pelle, une table, six chaises, six couteaux, six cuillères, six fourchettes, six assiettes, six tasses à thé, six soucoupes, un sucrier, un pot au lait, une théière, tout rouet à filer et métier à tisser destinés à l’usage domestique, une hache, une scie, un fusil, six pièges, les rets et seines de pêche ordinairement en usage et dix volumes;
4°  Du combustible, de la viande, du poisson, de la farine et des légumes, suffisants pour lui et sa famille pendant trois mois;
5°  Les grains de semence nécessaires pour ensemencer sa terre;
6°  Deux chevaux ou deux boeufs de labour, dix autres bêtes à cornes, six moutons, cinq cochons, les animaux de basse-cour, les grains et fourrages nécessaires à l’hivernement ou à l’engraissement de ces animaux;
7°  Les voitures et instruments d’agriculture;
8°  Les matériaux de construction destinés à la construction, à la réparation ou à l’amélioration des bâtiments, ou moulins sur sa terre.
Les effets mentionnés aux paragraphes 1°, 2°, 3°, 4°, 5° et 6° sont laissés sur un plus grand nombre, au choix du débiteur.
Les effets mentionnés aux paragraphes 3°, 4°, 5°, 6°, 7° et 8° ne sont pas exempts de la saisie et de la vente, s’il s’agit du prix de leur acquisition ou s’ils ont été donnés en gage ou en nantissement.
S. R. 1964, c. 106, a. 4; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 80, a. 1; 1974, c. 79, a. 6; 1982, c. 17, a. 70.
5. Si un colon a occupé une terre de la couronne plus de cinq années avant l’émission des lettres patentes, le surplus de ces cinq années doit être retranché des quinze années de l’exemption mentionnée dans l’article 4.
S. R. 1964, c. 106, a. 5.
6. Le propriétaire du patrimoine de famille et des terres publiques en vertu des articles 1 et 3 a droit de l’aliéner à titre gratuit ou onéreux, même sans le consentement notarié de son conjoint.
S. R. 1964, c. 106, a. 6.
7. Rien, dans la présente loi, ne doit être interprété de manière à exempter une terre de la couronne occupée avec permis d’occupation, du paiement des taxes municipales et scolaires et des répartitions d’églises.
S. R. 1964, c. 106, a. 7.
8. La présente loi s’applique aux pêcheurs qui sont en même temps colons.
S. R. 1964, c. 106, a. 8.
9. La présente loi a effet indépendamment des dispositions des articles 2 et 7 à 15 de la Loi constitutionnelle de 1982 (annexe B de la Loi sur le Canada, chapitre 11 du recueil des lois du Parlement du Royaume-Uni pour l’année 1982).
1982, c. 21, a. 1.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 106 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre P-38 des Lois refondues.