P-22 - Photographic Proof of Documents Act

Full text
chapter P-22
Photographic Proof of Documents Act
PHOTOGRAPHIC PROOFDecember 18 1992January 1 1994
Repealed, 1992, c. 57, s. 656.
1992, c. 57, s. 656.
1. In this Act,
(a)  document , in addition to its usual meaning, includes an entry in a book or a register;
(b)  institution means the Gouvernement du Québec, the school boards, the federally chartered banks, insurance companies carrying on business in Québec, by virtue of a licence issued under the Act respecting insurance (chapter A-32), trust companies licensed under the Act respecting trust companies and savings companies (chapter S-29.01) and any other society, firm or corporation to which this Act may be made applicable pursuant to an order contemplated in section 6;
(c)  photographic film includes a photographic plate, a microphotographic film and a photostat negative.
R. S. 1964, c. 280, s. 1; 1971, c. 67, s. 96; 1974, c. 70, s. 473; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1987, c. 95, s. 402; 1988, c. 84, s. 665.
2. A print, enlarged or not, made from a photographic film of a document in the custody or possession of an institution, shall make the same proof for all purposes of the contents of such document as its original, provided that such document has been
(a)  accurately reproduced on such photographic film in the presence of at least two employees of such institution specially authorized by it for the purposes of such operation; and
(b)  destroyed in the presence of at least two employees of the institution specially authorized by it for that purpose, immediately after such reproduction or subsequently, but never before the expiry of five years from the date of such document.
Notwithstanding subparagraph b of the first paragraph, documents in the custody or possession of the Government or of a public company, a public corporation or a public body subject to the application of this Act and referred to in the schedule to the Archives Act (chapter A-21.1) must be photographically reproduced and destroyed within the time limit provided in the retention schedule contemplated in the Archives Act in the presence of at least two public servants or employees of the Government, of the public company, of the public corporation or of the public body designated by the Keeper of the Archives nationales du Québec.
R. S. 1964, c. 280, s. 2; 1969, c. 26, s. 68; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1983, c. 38, s. 74.
3. The persons who were present at the reproduction or destruction of any document mentioned in section 2 shall immediately afterwards attest the carrying out thereof by means of a sworn declaration in duplicate, signed by them, mentioning the authorization received from the institution concerned and, in the case of the reproduction of a document, certifying the accuracy of such reproduction.
With respect to documents in the possession of the Government, one copy of such declaration shall be remitted to the Minister having custody of the document and the other to the Keeper of the Archives nationales du Québec; in every other case, one copy shall be preserved by the institution concerned and the other shall be deposited in the office of a notary practising in Québec.
R. S. 1964, c. 280, s. 3; 1969, c. 26, s. 69; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1983, c. 38, s. 75.
4. Proof of a document photographed and destroyed in accordance with this act shall be made by means of the declaration mentioned in section 3 and a print made from the film containing the accurate reproduction of the photographed document.
Any extract or copy of the declaration certified true by the Keeper of the Archives nationales du Québec or the person specially authorized by him for that purpose in the case of documents in the custody or possession of the Government, a public company, a public corporation or a public body or, in all other cases, by the notary in whose records a copy has been deposited in Québec or, as the case may be, by the notary to or with whom such records have been transferred or deposited, may be received in evidence on the same footing as the original.
R. S. 1964, c. 280, s. 4; 1969, c. 26, s. 70; 1977, c. 5, s. 14; 1983, c. 38, s. 76.
5. This act shall not apply to a document in the custody or possession of an institution but which belongs to a third party and must be delivered to him.
R. S. 1964, c. 280, s. 5.
6. The Government may enact that this act shall be applicable to any society, firm or corporation, public or private, not included in the enumeration contained in paragraph b of section 1.
The orders in council passed under this provision shall be published forthwith in the Gazette officielle du Québec and shall be deemed to form part of this Act from such publication.
R. S. 1964, c. 280, s. 6.
7. Notwithstanding the repeal of chapter 44 of the statutes of 1948, chapter 43 of the statutes of 1950-1951, and chapter 12 of the statutes of 1954-1955, proof may be made, in accordance with these acts, of the documents photographically reproduced and destroyed in accordance with their provisions.
R. S. 1964, c. 280, s. 7.
8. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 280 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter P-22 of the Revised Statutes.

P-22 - Loi sur la preuve photographique de documents

Texte complet
chapitre P-22
Loi sur la preuve photographique de documents
PREUVE PHOTOGRAPHIQUE18 décembre 19921er janvier 1994
Abrogée, 1992, c. 57, a. 656.
1992, c. 57, a. 656.
1. Dans la présente loi,
a)  «document» , en outre de son sens ordinaire, comprend une inscription dans un livre ou un registre;
b)  «institution» désigne le gouvernement du Québec, les commissions scolaires, les banques à charte fédérale, les compagnies d’assurances faisant affaires au Québec en vertu d’un permis émis sous l’empire de la Loi sur les assurances (chapitre A‐32), les sociétés de fiducie titulaires d’un permis en vertu de la Loi sur les sociétés de fiducie et les sociétés d’épargne (chapitre S‐29.01) et toute autre association, société ou corporation à laquelle la présente loi deviendra applicable en vertu d’un décret visé à l’article 6;
c)  «pellicule photographique» comprend une plaque photographique, une pellicule microphotographique et un cliché au photostat.
S. R. 1964, c. 280, a. 1; 1971, c. 67, a. 96; 1974, c. 70, a. 473; 1987, c. 95, a. 402; 1988, c. 84, a. 665.
2. Une épreuve, agrandie ou non, tirée d’une pellicule photographique d’un document sous la garde ou en la possession d’une institution fait preuve, pour toutes fins, de la teneur de ce document, au même titre que son original, pourvu que ce document ait été
a)  fidèlement reproduit sur cette pellicule photographique en présence d’au moins deux employés de l’institution spécialement autorisés par elle aux fins de cette opération; et
b)  détruit, en présence d’au moins deux employés de l’institution spécialement autorisés par elle à cette fin, immédiatement après cette reproduction ou subséquemment, mais dans aucun cas avant l’expiration de cinq années de la date de ce document.
Malgré le paragraphe b du premier alinéa, dans le cas de documents sous la garde ou en la possession du gouvernement, d’une société publique, d’une corporation publique ou d’un organisme public soumis à l’application de la présente loi et visé à l’annexe de la Loi sur les archives (chapitre A‐21.1), ils doivent être reproduits photographiquement et détruits dans le délai prévu au calendrier de conservation visé dans la Loi sur les archives, en présence d’au moins deux fonctionnaires ou employés du gouvernement, de la société publique, de la corporation publique ou de l’organisme public désignés par le Conservateur des archives nationales du Québec.
S. R. 1964, c. 280, a. 2; 1969, c. 26, a. 68; 1983, c. 38, a. 74.
3. Les personnes qui ont assisté à une opération de reproduction ou de destruction de document visée par l’article 2 doivent, immédiatement après, en attester l’accomplissement au moyen d’une déclaration faite sous serment en duplicata, signée de leur main, mentionnant l’autorisation reçue de l’institution intéressée et, dans le cas d’une reproduction de document, certifiant la fidélité de cette reproduction.
S’il s’agit d’un document en la possession du gouvernement, un exemplaire de cette déclaration est remis au ministre qui a la garde du document et l’autre au Conservateur des archives nationales du Québec; dans tout autre cas, un exemplaire est conservé par l’institution intéressée et l’autre est déposé en l’étude d’un notaire exerçant au Québec.
S. R. 1964, c. 280, a. 3; 1969, c. 26, a. 69; 1983, c. 38, a. 75.
4. La preuve d’un document photographié et détruit conformément à la présente loi se fait au moyen de la déclaration visée à l’article 3 et d’une épreuve tirée de la pellicule contenant la reproduction fidèle du document photographié.
Peut être admis en preuve au même titre que l’original tout extrait ou copie de la déclaration certifiés conformes par le Conservateur des archives nationales du Québec ou la personne qu’il autorise spécialement à cette fin dans le cas de documents sous la garde ou en la possession du gouvernement, d’une société publique, d’une corporation publique ou d’un organisme public ou, dans tous les autres cas, par le notaire dans le greffe duquel un exemplaire a été déposé au Québec ou, le cas échéant, par le notaire à qui ce greffe a été cédé ou transmis.
S. R. 1964, c. 280, a. 4; 1969, c. 26, a. 70; 1983, c. 38, a. 76.
5. La présente loi ne s’applique pas à un document sous la garde ou en la possession d’une institution mais qui appartient à un tiers et doit lui être remis.
S. R. 1964, c. 280, a. 5.
6. Le gouvernement peut statuer que la présente loi sera applicable à toute association, société ou corporation, publique ou privée, non comprise dans l’énumération contenue au paragraphe b de l’article 1.
Les arrêtés en conseil qui seront adoptés en vertu de cette disposition devront être publiés avec diligence dans la Gazette officielle du Québec et seront, à compter de cette publication, réputés faire partie de la présente loi.
S. R. 1964, c. 280, a. 6; 1968, c. 23, a. 68.
7. Nonobstant l’abrogation du chapitre 44 des lois de 1948, du chapitre 43 des lois de 1950-1951, et du chapitre 12 des lois de 1954-1955, la preuve pourra être faite suivant ces lois des documents reproduits photographiquement et détruits suivant leurs dispositions.
S. R. 1964, c. 280, a. 7.
8. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 280 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre P-22 des Lois refondues.