P-20 - Farm Loan Act

Full text
chapter P-20
Farm Loan Act
FARM LOANDecember 18 1987August 11 1988
Chapter P-20 is replaced by the Act respecting farm financing (chapter F-1.2). (1987, c. 86, s. 153).
1987, c. 86, s. 153.
1. In this act:
(1)  Board means the Canadian Farm Loan Board established under the Canadian Farm Loan Act (Revised Statutes of Canada, 1952, chapter 36);
(2)  borrower means a farmer of Québec who has obtained one or more loans under the provisions of the said Act of Canada;
(3)  farm loan bond means a bond issued under the authority of the said Act of Canada;
(4)  loan means any loan made under the authority of the said Act of Canada;
(5)  Corporation means the Farm Credit Corporation established by chapter F-2 of the Revised Statutes of Canada, 1970;
(6)  Bureau means the Office du crédit agricole du Québec established by the Farm Credit Act (chapter C-75).
R. S. 1964, c. 111, s. 1; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
2. The Government shall pay, during the period of the loan, the difference, not exceeding three per cent (3%), between the annual interest of three per cent (3%) and that charged by the Board to the farmers of Québec on the capital of loans made to them before 8 November 1950 under the Canadian Farm Loan Act.
The Minister of Finance shall pay the Government’s contributory share of such payments to the persons entitled thereto, out of the consolidated revenue fund.
R. S. 1964, c. 111, s. 2; 1977, c. 5, s. 14.
3. The Government, on such conditions as it shall determine, may authorize the Bureau to pay, as from 1 May 1962, on hypothecary loans made by the Corporation or the Board to farmers of Québec, after 8 November 1950 until 1 October 1972, the difference between the annual interest of 21/2% and that owing to the Corporation.
The Government may, on such conditions as it determines, authorize the Bureau to pay on the account of any farmer of Québec who obtains a hypothecary loan from the Corporation from 1 October 1972, the difference between the annual interest he owes the Corporation and the annual interest computed on the equivalent capital of a hypothecary loan which the Bureau may grant at the rate fixed under section 22 of the Farm Credit Act (chapter C-75); any change in the annual interest rate fixed under the said section 22 shall only apply to loans of the Corporation subsequent to the coming into force of such change.
Such difference contemplated in the first and second paragraphs shall be paid only on a loan not exceeding $15 000, and if the loan exceeds such amount it shall be paid only on a portion of the interest proportionate to the fraction of the loan corresponding to $15 000.
In applying the third paragraph to loans made before 1 May 1962, the balance of the principal on that date shall be considered as being the amount of the loan.
R. S. 1964, c. 111, s. 3; 1972, c. 35, s. 1.
4. The Government, on such conditions as it shall determine, may authorize the Bureau to assume, before 1 January 1970, up to an amount of $3 000, one-third of the debt owed to the Corporation by a borrower who has obtained from the Corporation after 1 May 1962 a loan similar to a settlement loan from the Bureau.
To be entitled to such advantage, the borrower must prove to the satisfaction of the Bureau that he has lived on his farm and has cultivated it, without interruption during the ten years following the date of signature of the deed of loan. Such advantage shall be granted only once to any one person.
In the case of death before the expiration of the ten years above mentioned, the advantage may be granted to any person whom the Bureau recognizes as having continued to discharge the obligations of the borrower.
R. S. 1964, c. 111, s. 4; 1969, c. 44, s. 25.
5. The Government, on such conditions as it shall determine, may authorize the Bureau to pay, as from 1 May 1964, on loans made to veterans as full-time farmers of Québec, after 26 June 1954 until 1 October 1972, under Part III of the Veterans’ Land Act (Revised Statutes of Canada, 1970, chapter V-4), the difference between the annual interest of 21/2% and that owing on such loans.
The Government may, on such conditions as it determines, authorize the Bureau to pay on any loan granted after 1 October 1972 to a veteran as a full-time Québec farmer under Part III of the Veterans’ Land Act (Revised Statutes of Canada), the difference between the annual interest which he owes on such loan and the annual interest computed on the equivalent capital of hypothecary loan which the Bureau may make at the rate fixed under section 22 of the Farm Credit Act (chapter C-75); any change in the annual interest rate fixed under the said section 22 shall only apply to the loans granted under the Veterans’ Land Act from the coming into force of such change.
Such difference, contemplated in the first and second paragraphs, shall be paid only on a loan not exceeding $15 000 and, if the loan exceeds such amount, it shall be paid only on a portion of the interest proportionate to the fraction of the loan corresponding to $15 000.
In applying the third paragraph to loans made before 1 May 1964, the balance of the principal on that date shall be considered as being the amount of the loan.
R. S. 1964, c. 111, s. 5; 1972, c. 35, s. 2.
6. From 1 November 1975, sections 3 and 5 apply only to the extent and for the period that the loans contemplated therein meet the requirements for the obtaining of a hypothecary loan under the Farm Credit Act (chapter C-75) and the regulations made thereunder.
From the same date, where a loan provided for in section 3 is granted to an individual whose principal occupation is not farming, in accordance with Part IV of the Farm Credit Act (Revised Statutes of Canada, 1970, chapter F-2), the said section does not apply, moreover, until such time as that individual furnishes to the Bureau proof deemed satisfactory that the individual has made farming his principal occupation within the same delays and on the same conditions as those fixed for an aspiring farmer to make farming his principal occupation under paragraph d of section 1 of the Farm Credit Act.
1975, c. 36, s. 1 (part).
7. The hypothec securing the loans made to farmers under this act shall be effected by deed before a notary.
R. S. 1964, c. 111, s. 6.
8. The hypothec securing a hypothecary loan made by the Corporation to a farmer of Québec after 1 May 1964 shall not be invalidated by failure to obtain or to register a certificate of the Minister of Revenue of Québec.
R. S. 1964, c. 111, s. 7.
9. Every person in continuous, peaceable, public and unequivocal possession, as proprietor, by himself or through his predecessors in title, for at least ten years, of an immoveable situated in the electoral districts of Bonaventure, Gaspé-Nord, Gaspé-Sud and the Îles-de-la-Madeleine, shall, for the purposes of a loan made by the Corporation, be deemed to be the owner of such immoveable and may validly hypothecate it as security for such loan.
R. S. 1964, c. 111, s. 8.
10. Notwithstanding article 1029 of the Civil Code, every stipulation for the benefit of the Corporation shall be irrevocable.
R. S. 1964, c. 111, s. 9.
11. Whenever, by the terms of the contract of loan, of sale, or of additional guarantee, the Corporation is entitled to realize upon its security, it may, instead of proceeding by an action in the ordinary way, realize upon the security by means of the proceedings hereinafter provided.
R. S. 1964, c. 111, s. 10.
12. By a notice served upon the debtor or his assigns, in the manner provided in subsection 2 of section 13, the Corporation shall require payment of the debt, in accordance with the terms of the contract, within a delay of thirty days.
Such notice may also be given by registered or certified letter mailed within the same delay to the last address known to the Corporation.
R. S. 1964, c. 111, s. 11; 1975, c. 83, s. 84.
13. (1)  Failing payment of the amount claimed by the Corporation, in accordance with the above notice, the latter shall present a petition to a judge of the Superior Court sitting in the district wherein the immoveable is situated, for an order enjoining the sale of the hypothecated immoveable.
(2)  Such petition shall be served by a bailiff or by the secretary-treasurer of the municipal corporation, and must be accompanied by a notice of the place, date and hour when it will be presented. The delay upon such notice shall be that of ordinary actions.
(3)  Such petition, from the time of its filing in the office of the court, shall constitute an interruption of prescription.
(4)  Proceedings upon such petition shall be summary and the judge may, at his discretion, order the debtor to reply in writing.
(5)  The judgment upon such petition shall be final and without appeal.
R. S. 1964, c. 111, s. 12.
14. If the proof upon the petition establishes that the amount claimed by the Corporation is due, the judge shall order the issue, against the immoveable property or properties which is or are security for the debt, of a writ of seizure of immoveables which might have been issued by the court having jurisdiction if judgment had been obtained for the same amount, and if the delay by law allowed between the judgment and execution had expired.
R. S. 1964, c. 111, s. 13; 1965 (1st sess.), c. 80, a. 1.
15. The writ issued under the above section 14 shall contain a description, in accordance with article 2168 of the Civil Code, of the immoveable or immoveables to be seized and sold, and shall be executed by the sheriff, and the sum owing to the Corporation by the borrower shall be levied in virtue of such writ, with costs.
Subject to the provisions of section 16, all subsequent proceedings shall be had as if judgment had in fact been obtained.
R. S. 1964, c. 111, s. 14.
16. (1)  Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary, the sheriff shall seize, at his office, the immoveable property or properties securing the debt for which a petition has been presented under this act.
(2)  A duplicate of the minutes of seizure shall be transmitted by the sheriff to the respondent, against whom the writ of seizure of immoveables has been issued, by registered or certified letter to his address known to the Corporation.
(3)  The publication and posting provided for by article 671 of the Code of Civil Procedure shall not be done by the sheriff but must be effected, at the option of the latter, by a bailiff of the place wherein the immoveable is situated or by a literate person of such place.
R. S. 1964, c. 111, s. 15 (part); 1965 (1st sess.), c. 80, a. 1; 1975, c. 83, s. 84.
17. The Government may enact:
(1)  that no duty shall be payable to the Crown on the registration of deeds setting forth a loan to a borrower, on the searches made in registration offices and on the certificates issued by the registrars, for the benefit of a farmer asking for a loan from the Corporation;
(2)  that the publications of notice in the Gazette officielle du Québec advertising the sale of an immoveable securing a loan made by the Corporation, shall be gratuitous.
R. S. 1964, c. 111, s. 16 (part).
18. The Government may, likewise, on such conditions as it may determine:
(1)  change the fees allowed by their tariffs, to registrars who receive no fixed salary;
(2)  suspend the application of the registrars’ tariff, when they receive a fixed salary.
R. S. 1964, c. 111, s. 17.
19. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 111 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter P-20 of the Revised Statutes.

P-20 - Loi sur le prêt agricole

Texte complet
chapitre P-20
Loi sur le prêt agricole
PRÊT AGRICOLE18 décembre 198711 août 1988
Le chapitre P-20 est remplacé par la Loi sur le financement agricole (chapitre F-1.2). (1987, c. 86, a. 153).
1987, c. 86, a. 153.
1. Dans la présente loi:
1°  le mot «commission» signifie et désigne la Commission du prêt agricole canadien, instituée sous l’autorité de la Loi du prêt agricole canadien (Statuts revisés du Canada, 1952, chapitre 36);
2°  le mot «emprunteur» signifie et désigne un cultivateur du Québec qui a obtenu un ou des prêts sous le régime des dispositions de ladite loi du Canada;
3°  les mots «obligation du prêt agricole» signifient et désignent une obligation émise sous l’autorité de ladite loi du Canada;
4°  le mot «prêt» signifie et désigne tout emprunt consenti sous l’autorité de ladite loi du Canada;
5°  le mot «Société» désigne la Société du crédit agricole visée au chapitre F-2 des Statuts revisés du Canada, 1970;
6°  le mot «Office» désigne l’Office du crédit agricole institué par la Loi sur le crédit agricole (chapitre C‐75).
S. R. 1964, c. 111, a. 1.
2. Le gouvernement paie pendant la durée du prêt la différence, n’excédant pas trois (3%) pour cent, entre l’intérêt annuel de trois (3%) pour cent et celui chargé par la commission aux cultivateurs du Québec sur le capital des prêts à eux faits avant le 8 novembre 1950 en vertu des dispositions de la Loi du prêt agricole canadien.
Le ministre des Finances doit payer à qui de droit, à même le fonds consolidé du revenu, la part contributive du gouvernement sur ces versements.
S. R. 1964, c. 111, a. 2.
3. Le gouvernement, peut, aux conditions qu’il détermine, autoriser l’Office à payer, à compter du 1er mai 1962 sur les prêts hypothécaires consentis par la Société ou la commission à des cultivateurs du Québec, après le 8 novembre 1950 jusqu’au 1er octobre 1972, la différence entre l’intérêt annuel de 21/2% et celui dû à la Société.
Le gouvernement peut, aux conditions qu’il détermine, autoriser l’Office à payer pour le compte de tout cultivateur du Québec qui obtient un prêt hypothécaire de la Société à compter du 1er octobre 1972, la différence entre l’intérêt annuel qu’il doit à la Société et l’intérêt annuel calculé sur le capital équivalent d’un prêt hypothécaire que l’Office peut consentir au taux fixé en vertu de l’article 22 de la Loi sur le crédit agricole (chapitre C‐75); toute modification du taux d’intérêt annuel fixé en vertu dudit article 22 ne s’applique qu’aux prêts de la Société subséquents à l’entrée en vigueur d’une telle modification.
Cette différence visée aux premier et deuxième alinéas n’est payée que sur un prêt n’excédant pas 15 000 $, si le prêt excède ce montant elle n’est payée que sur une partie de l’intérêt proportionnelle à la fraction du prêt correspondant à 15 000 $.
Pour l’application du troisième alinéa aux prêts consentis avant le 1er mai 1962, le solde du principal à cette date est considéré comme le montant du prêt.
S. R. 1964, c. 111, a. 3; 1972, c. 35, a. 1.
4. Le gouvernement peut, aux conditions qu’il détermine, autoriser l’Office à assumer avant le 1er janvier 1970, jusqu’à concurrence de 3 000 $, un tiers de la dette envers la Société d’un emprunteur ayant obtenu d’elle après le 1er mai 1962 un prêt semblable à un prêt d’établissement de l’Office.
Pour avoir droit à cet avantage, l’emprunteur doit prouver à la satisfaction de l’Office qu’il a demeuré sur sa ferme et l’a cultivée, sans interruption, pendant les dix ans suivant la date de la signature de l’acte d’obligation. Cet avantage n’est accordé qu’une seule fois à la même personne.
Au cas de décès avant l’expiration des dix ans susmentionnés, l’avantage peut être accordé à toute personne que l’Office reconnaît comme ayant continué à remplir les obligations de l’emprunteur.
S. R. 1964, c. 111, a. 4; 1969, c. 44, a. 25.
5. Le gouvernement peut, aux conditions qu’il détermine, autoriser l’Office à payer, à compter du 1er mai 1964, sur les prêts consentis à des anciens combattants à titre de cultivateurs à plein temps du Québec, après le 26 juin 1954 jusqu’au 1er octobre 1972, sous le régime de la partie III de la Loi sur les terres destinées aux anciens combattants (Statuts revisés du Canada, 1970, chapitre V-4), la différence entre l’intérêt annuel de 21/2% et celui dû sur ces prêts.
Le gouvernement peut, aux conditions qu’il détermine, autoriser l’Office à payer sur tout prêt consenti après le 1er octobre 1972 à un ancien combattant à titre de cultivateur à plein temps du Québec, en vertu de la partie III de la Loi sur les terres destinées aux anciens combattants (Statuts revisés du Canada), la différence entre l’intérêt annuel qu’il doit sur un tel prêt et l’intérêt annuel calculé sur le capital équivalent d’un prêt hypothécaire que l’Office peut consentir au taux fixé en vertu de l’article 22 de la Loi sur le crédit agricole (chapitre C‐75); toute modification du taux d’intérêt annuel fixé en vertu dudit article 22 ne s’applique qu’aux prêts accordés en vertu de la Loi sur les terres destinées aux anciens combattants à compter de l’entrée en vigueur d’une telle modification.
Cette différence visée aux premier et deuxième alinéas n’est payée que sur un prêt n’excédant pas 15 000 $ et, si le prêt excède ce montant, elle n’est payée que sur une partie de l’intérêt proportionnelle à la fraction du prêt correspondant à 15 000 $.
Pour l’application du troisième alinéa aux prêts consentis avant le 1er mai 1964, le solde du principal à cette date est considéré comme le montant du prêt.
S. R. 1964, c. 111, a. 5; 1972, c. 35, a. 2.
6. À compter du 1er novembre 1975, les articles 3 et 5 ne s’appliquent que dans la mesure et durant la période où les prêts qui y sont visés répondent aux exigences requises pour l’obtention d’un prêt hypothécaire en vertu de la Loi sur le crédit agricole (chapitre C‐75) et des règlements adoptés sous son empire.
À compter de la même date, lorsqu’un prêt visé à l’article 3 est consenti à un particulier dont l’agriculture n’est pas la principale occupation, conformément aux dispositions de la Partie IV de la Loi sur le crédit agricole (Statuts revisés du Canada, 1970, chapitre F-2), ledit article ne s’applique en outre qu’à compter du moment où ce particulier fournit à l’Office une preuve jugée satisfaisante que ce particulier a fait de l’agriculture sa principale occupation dans les mêmes délais et conditions que ceux fixés à un aspirant-agriculteur pour faire de l’agriculture sa principale occupation en vertu du paragraphe d de l’article 1 de la Loi sur le crédit agricole.
1975, c. 36, a. 1 (partie).
7. L’hypothèque garantissant les prêts faits aux cultivateurs en vertu de la présente loi doit être consentie par un acte devant notaire.
S. R. 1964, c. 111, a. 6.
8. L’hypothèque qui garantit un prêt hypothécaire consenti par la Société à un cultivateur du Québec, après le 1er mai 1964, n’est pas invalidée par le défaut d’obtention ou d’enregistrement d’un certificat du ministre du Revenu du Québec.
S. R. 1964, c. 111, a. 7.
9. Toute personne en possession continue, paisible, publique, non équivoque et à titre de propriétaire, par elle-même ou par ses auteurs, depuis au moins dix ans, d’un immeuble situé dans les districts électoraux de Bonaventure, de Gaspé-Nord, de Gaspé-Sud et des Îles-de-la-Madeleine, est, pour les fins d’un prêt consenti par la Société, réputée propriétaire de cet immeuble et peut valablement l’hypothéquer en garantie de ce prêt.
S. R. 1964, c. 111, a. 8.
10. Par dérogation à l’article 1029 du Code civil, toute stipulation au profit de la Société est irrévocable.
S. R. 1964, c. 111, a. 9.
11. Dans les cas où, suivant les termes du contrat de prêt, de vente ou de garantie additionnelle, la Société a droit de réaliser sa garantie, elle peut, au lieu de procéder par action en la manière ordinaire, réaliser la garantie au moyen des procédures ci-après prévues.
S. R. 1964, c. 111, a. 10.
12. Par un avis signifié au débiteur ou à ses ayants droit, en la manière prévue au paragraphe 2 de l’article 13, la Société requiert le paiement de la dette suivant les termes du contrat, sous un délai de trente jours.
Cet avis peut aussi être donné par lettre recommandée ou certifiée mise à la poste sous le même délai à la dernière adresse connue de la Société.
S. R. 1964, c. 111, a. 11; 1975, c. 83, a. 84.
13. 1.  À défaut de paiement du montant réclamé par la Société, suivant l’avis ci-dessus, celle-ci présente une requête à un juge de la Cour supérieure, siégeant dans le district où est situé l’immeuble, pour obtenir une ordonnance décrétant la vente de l’immeuble hypothéqué.
2.  Cette requête est signifiée par huissier ou par le secrétaire-trésorier de la corporation municipale, et doit être accompagnée d’un avis de l’heure, de la date et de l’endroit de sa présentation. Le délai de cet avis est celui des actions ordinaires.
3.  Cette requête forme, à compter de la date de sa production au greffe, une interruption de la prescription.
4.  Il est procédé sur cette requête d’une manière sommaire et le juge, à sa discrétion, peut autoriser le débiteur à y répondre par écrit.
5.  Le jugement sur cette requête est final et sans appel.
S. R. 1964, c. 111, a. 12.
14. Si la preuve sur la requête établit que le montant réclamé par la Société est dû, le juge ordonne contre le ou les biens immeubles garantissant la créance, l’émission d’un bref de saisie immobilière qui aurait pu être émis par le tribunal compétent si le jugement eût été obtenu pour le même montant, et si le délai accordé par la loi entre le jugement et l’exécution était expiré.
S. R. 1964, c. 111, a. 13; 1965 (1re sess.), c. 80, a. 1.
15. Le bref émis en vertu de l’article 14 ci-dessus contient une description suivant l’article 2168 du Code civil de l’immeuble ou des immeubles à être saisis et vendus, et il est exécuté par le shérif, et la somme due à la Société par l’emprunteur est prélevée en vertu de ce bref avec dépens.
Sous la réserve des dispositions de l’article 16, toutes procédures ultérieures se font comme si jugement avait été de fait obtenu.
S. R. 1964, c. 111, a. 14.
16. 1.  Nonobstant toute disposition à ce contraire, le shérif saisit, à son bureau, le ou les biens immobiliers garantissant la créance pour laquelle une requête a été présentée en vertu de la présente loi.
2.  Un double du procès-verbal de saisie est transmis par le shérif à l’intimé, contre lequel le bref de saisie immobilière a été émis, par lettre recommandée ou certifiée à sa dernière adresse connue de la Société.
3.  La publication et l’affichage prévus par l’article 671 du Code de procédure civile ne doivent pas être faits par le shérif, mais ils doivent l’être, au choix de ce dernier, par un huissier de la localité où est situé l’immeuble ou par une personne lettrée de cette localité.
S. R. 1964, c. 111, a. 15 (partie); 1965 (1re sess.), c. 80, a. 1; 1975, c. 83, a. 84.
17. Il est loisible au gouvernement de décréter:
1°  qu’aucun droit ne sera payable à la couronne sur l’enregistrement des actes constatant un prêt à un emprunteur, sur les recherches faites dans les bureaux d’enregistrement et sur les certificats émis par les régistrateurs, pour le bénéfice d’un cultivateur qui sollicite un prêt à la Société;
2°  que les publications d’avis dans la Gazette officielle du Québec annonçant la vente d’un immeuble garantissant un prêt fait par la Société, seront gratuites.
S. R. 1964, c. 111, a. 16 (partie); 1968, c. 23, a. 8.
18. Il est également loisible au gouvernement, aux conditions qu’il détermine:
1°  de modifier les honoraires accordés par leur tarif, aux régistrateurs qui ne sont pas à traitement fixe;
2°  de suspendre l’application du tarif des régistrateurs lorsque ceux-ci sont à traitement fixe.
S. R. 1964, c. 111, a. 17.
19. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 111 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre P-20 des Lois refondues.