P-2.1 - Act respecting payment of certain witnesses

Full text
chapter P-2.1
Act respecting payment of certain witnesses
PAYMENT OF CERTAIN WITNESSESOctober 22 1999October 22 1999
1990, c. 4, s. 619; 1999, c. 40, s. 204.
1. Subject to the conditions of section 2, when any person is subpoenaed on behalf of the prosecution, or bound by recognizance to give evidence in the Superior Court or the Court of Québec, touching any crime or offence under the Criminal Code (Revised Statutes of Canada, 1985, chapter C-46) or a federal penal law, and appears before such court in obedience to such subpoena or under such recognizance, to give evidence, such court, or a judge thereof, may order the bailiff of the district to pay to such person, out of moneys to be advanced to such bailiff for that purpose out of any unappropriated moneys in the hands of the Minister of Finance, by warrant of the Lieutenant-Governor, such sum as the court or judge certifies him to be entitled to under section 2, as a reasonable allowance for his trouble and loss of time.
The bailiff, upon the production of the said order, shall forthwith pay the said sum and enter such payment in his accounts.
The bailiff to whom any money is advanced under the authority of this Act, shall render an account thereof, with vouchers, and transmit it at such time as the Government shall direct.
R. S. 1964, c. 33, s. 1; 1974, c. 11, s. 2; 1988, c. 21, s. 106; 1990, c. 4, s. 620; 1999, c. 40, s. 204; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
2. (1)  The Government shall determine by regulation, for each district, the allowance which each prosecution witness shall receive, according to such special circumstances as it may deem it should take into account.
(2)  Such allowance and such actual travelling expenses, attested under oath, shall be paid by the bailiff on the certificate of the clerk of the Court of Québec or the clerk of the Superior Court in criminal matters, as the case may be.
R. S. 1964, c. 33, s. 2; 1992, c. 61, s. 426; 1999, c. 40, s. 204; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
3. The defendant, in any case that would formerly have been a case of felony, shall not obtain subpoenas for necessary witnesses for his defence without payment of fees, unless upon the order of some judge of the court in which the case is to be tried, or of the prosecuting officer in the case. Such order shall be granted on the sworn deposition of the defendant that he is poor and needy, and that such witnesses are necessary to the defence; and the lawful fees of the proper officer issuing such subpoenas shall then be paid; but no expenses of serving such subpoenas shall be paid out of any public money.
In cases of offences less than those formerly ranked as felonies, no expenses for subpoenas or service of subpoenas on the part of the defendant shall be paid out of any public money, in whatever court such case be tried.
R. S. 1964, c. 33, s. 3.
4. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 9 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes and regulations (chapter R-3), chapter P-4 of the Revised Statutes, in force on 1 March 1991, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter P-2.1 of the Revised Statutes.

P-2.1 - Loi sur le paiement de certains témoins

Texte complet
chapitre P-2.1
Loi sur le paiement de certains témoins
PAIEMENT DE CERTAINS TÉMOINS22 octobre 199922 octobre 1999
1990, c. 4, a. 619; 1999, c. 40, a. 204.
1. Sauf les conditions mentionnées dans l’article 2, lorsqu’une personne est assignée par le poursuivant, ou tenue, en vertu d’un cautionnement, de rendre témoignage en Cour supérieure ou en Cour du Québec, relativement à quelque crime ou délit en vertu du Code criminel (Lois révisées du Canada (1985), chapitre C-46) ou d’une loi pénale fédérale, chaque tel tribunal, ou tout juge de tel tribunal, devant lequel cette personne comparaît en vertu d’une assignation ou d’un cautionnement pour rendre témoignage, peut ordonner au shérif du district de payer à cette personne, sur les deniers avancés au shérif pour cet objet à même les deniers non affectés qui se trouvent entre les mains du ministre des Finances, et sur le mandat du lieutenant-gouverneur, telle somme d’argent que le tribunal ou l’un de ses juges lui accorde en vertu de l’article 2, comme indemnité raisonnable pour le trouble et la perte de temps que cela peut lui avoir occasionné.
Le shérif, sur la production de cet ordre, doit payer immédiatement cette somme et en inscrire le paiement dans ses comptes.
Le shérif à qui il peut être avancé des deniers en vertu de la présente loi, rend ses comptes, appuyés de pièces justificatives, et les transmet dans le temps qu’il plaît au gouvernement d’ordonner.
S. R. 1964, c. 33, a. 1; 1974, c. 11, a. 2; 1988, c. 21, a. 106; 1990, c. 4, a. 620; 1999, c. 40, a. 204.
2. 1.  Le gouvernement détermine par règlement, pour chaque district, l’indemnité que doit recevoir chaque témoin du poursuivant suivant les circonstances spéciales dont il croit devoir tenir compte.
2.  L’indemnité et ces frais réels de déplacement attestés sous serment, sont payés par le shérif, sur certificat du greffier de la Cour du Québec ou du greffier de la Cour supérieure en matière criminelle, selon le cas.
S. R. 1964, c. 33, a. 2; 1992, c. 61, a. 426; 1999, c. 40, a. 204.
3. Dans tout cas d’infraction qui était autrefois une félonie, le défendeur ne peut obtenir de citations pour les témoins nécessaires à sa défense sans payer d’honoraires, excepté sur l’ordre de quelque juge du tribunal devant lequel la cause doit être plaidée, ou de l’officier poursuivant. Cet ordre est accordé sur la déposition sous serment du défendeur établissant qu’il est pauvre et nécessiteux, et que ces témoins sont nécessaires à sa défense, et les honoraires légitimes de l’officier qui émet ces citations sont alors payés; mais aucuns frais de signification de citations ne doivent être payés à même les deniers publics.
Dans les cas d’infractions moindres que celles qui étaient autrefois des félonies, aucuns frais pour citations ou pour leur signification de la part du défendeur ne sont payés à même les deniers publics, quel que soit le tribunal devant lequel la cause est plaidée.
S. R. 1964, c. 33, a. 3.
4. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 9 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois et des règlements (chapitre R-3), le chapitre P-4 des Lois refondues, tel qu’en vigueur le 1er mars 1991, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre P-2.1 des Lois refondues.