O-8 - Act respecting municipal organization of certain territories

Full text
chapter O-8
Act respecting municipal organization of certain territories
MUNICIPAL ORGANIZATION OF TERRITORIESJune 17 1988January 1 1989
Repealed, 1988, c. 19, s. 258.
1988, c. 19, s. 258.
1. In this act, the words “Minister” and “municipality” used alone mean the Minister of Municipal Affairs and a municipality constituted under this act respectively.
1971, c. 54, s. 1.
2. The Government may issue letters patent to constitute as a municipality any part of the territory of Québec not comprised in a city, town, village or country municipality when, in the opinion of the Minister, it would not be immediately desirable to constitute a town or country municipality.
The letters patent issued under this section must contain a description of the territory concerned and also, in the case of amalgamation, the conditions of amalgamation.
1971, c. 54, s. 2.
3. From the coming into force of the letters patent constituting the municipality, the inhabitants of the territory of such municipality shall constitute a corporation designated under the name mentioned in the letters patent.
1971, c. 54, s. 3.
4. The Government may, by letters patent, alter the territory of the municipality by annexing to it any other contiguous territory which has no local municipal organization.
1971, c. 54, s. 4.
5. The municipality shall be governed by the Municipal Code (chapter C-27.1) or by the Cities and Towns Act (chapter C-19), as the Government determines, with the exception of such provisions as may be inconsistent with this act and of those which the Government, by letters patent, declares inapplicable in whole or in part to the municipality or to a part thereof.
1971, c. 54, s. 5.
6. The council and the officers and employees of the county corporation or regional county municipality in the territory in which the municipality is located, or would be located in section 18 did not apply, constitute the council and the officers and employees of the municipality, subject to the third paragraph of section 17.
For the purposes of this Act, only the representatives of the municipalities governed by the Municipal Code (chapter C-27.1) on the council of the regional county municipality are qualified to take part in the deliberations and to vote, except where no representative of such a municipality has a seat on the council, in which case all the members of the council are so qualified.
For the purposes of this Act, only the taxpayers of the municipality may be required to contribute to the financing of the expenditures of the county corporation or the regional county municipality, in accordance with the Municipal Code or the Cities and Towns Act (chapter C-19), as the case may be.
1971, c. 54, s. 6; 1982, c. 63, s. 228.
7. (Replaced).
1971, c. 54, s. 7; 1982, c. 63, s. 228.
8. (Replaced).
1971, c. 54, s. 8; 1982, c. 63, s. 228.
9. (Replaced).
1971, c. 54, s. 9; 1982, c. 63, s. 228.
10. (1)  The Minister may establish a local committee in the municipality; he must do so in any municipality or part of the municipality which he determines if it is permanently inhabited by at least one hundred persons; any part of the municipality shall then constitute a locality under the name designated by the Minister.
(2)  A local committee shall consist of not more than five members appointed by the Minister for four years, if there are fewer than one hundred inhabitants in the municipality; the Minister shall, instead of making the appointments, order that the members of the committee be elected for four years, at such time and according to such mode as he prescribes, if the territory in which the committee has jurisdiction is permanently inhabited by at least one hundred persons.
(3)  To be eligible to the office of member of a local committee or to be entitled to vote at the election of the members of such committee, a person must be of full age and a Canadian citizen.
(4)  The members of a local committee shall not perform their duties until they have taken the oath to discharge well and faithfully the duties of their office.
1971, c. 54, s. 10.
11. The council may delegate its powers to the local committee, but every decision of the committee requires its approval.
1971, c. 54, s. 11; 1982, c. 63, s. 229.
12. A majority of the members of a local committee shall constitute a quorum. The members of a local committee shall receive no remuneration for their services as such. However, the council may authorize payment of travelling expenses and other expenses actually incurred by a member of a local committee in the performance of his duties.
1971, c. 54, s. 12; 1982, c. 63, s. 229.
13. The office of member of the local committee shall become vacant:
(a)  by death;
(b)  by failure to take the oath within thirty days of the appointment or election;
(c)  by the expiry of the term of office for which the member was appointed or elected.
The office of member of the local committee shall also become vacant on the date when the secretary-treasurer receives the resignation of the incumbent.
The secretary-treasurer shall forthwith notify the Minister of the vacancy.
1971, c. 54, s. 13; 1982, c. 63, s. 230.
14. Every vacancy in the local committee shall be filled by following the procedure for appointment or election, as the case may be, and the member so appointed or elected shall hold office only for the unexpired portion of the term of his predecessor.
1971, c. 54, s. 14.
15. The municipality or any part of it may be constituted a town municipality or a country municipality, according to the procedure provided in the Cities and Towns Act (chapter C-19) or the Municipal Code (chapter C-27.1), as the case may be. From the time of such constitution, the municipality or the part concerned shall cease to be governed by this act.
The orders, acts, resolutions, by-laws or other municipal proceedings in force in the municipality when this act ceases to apply to it shall remain in force until amended, replaced or set aside by the council of the town or country municipality.
1971, c. 54, s. 15.
16. The Government may decide that any city, town, village or country municipality, by whatever law governed, which no longer fulfils the conditions that enabled it to be constituted, shall become a municipality.
It may also do so if the members of the council of a municipality mentioned in the first paragraph can no longer be elected or appointed under the law governing it.
The Minister shall give notice of such decision in the Gazette officielle du Québec and such decision shall take effect from the date mentioned in the notice.
In addition to the powers contemplated in section 5, the Government may, by letters patent, declare applicable to a municipality contemplated in section 16, certain provisions of any special act governing it.
1971, c. 54, s. 16.
17. In the cases contemplated in section 16, the municipality succeeds to the rights, obligations and charges of the city, town, village or country municipality; it becomes, without proceedings in continuance of suit, a party to every suit, in the place and stead of such municipality.
The by-laws, resolutions, procès-verbaux, valuation rolls, collection rolls, existing collective agreements and other acts of such municipality shall remain in force until amended, set aside or repealed.
The officers and municipal employees of such municipality shall continue to be in the employ of the municipality until their resignation or replacement.
Furthermore, in the case contemplated in the first paragraph, the term of office of the members of the council shall end on the day when the decision of the Government takes effect.
1971, c. 54, s. 17.
18. A municipality shall not form part of any county municipality; in addition to the functions and powers of a local corporation, it shall have those conferred upon a county corporation.
1971, c. 54, s. 18.
19. The letters patent issued under this Act shall be published in the Gazette officielle du Québec and shall come into force on a date determined by the Government.
1971, c. 54, s. 19.
20. (Repealed).
1971, c. 54, s. 20 (part); 1982, c. 63, s. 231.
21. The expenses incurred by the Minister for the benefit of a municipality, before or after it is constituted, must be repaid by such municipality to the extent and in the manner determined by the Government.
1971, c. 54, s. 21; 1982, c. 63, s. 232.
22. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 54 of the statutes of 1971, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed, except sections 20 (part) and 22, effective from the coming into force of chapter O-8 of the Revised Statutes.

O-8 - Loi sur l’organisation municipale de certains territoires

Texte complet
chapitre O-8
Loi sur l’organisation municipale de certains territoires
ORGANISATION MUNICIPALE DE TERRITOIRES17 juin 19881er janvier 1989
Abrogée, 1988, c. 19, a. 258.
1988, c. 19, a. 258.
1. Dans la présente loi, les mots «ministre» et «municipalité» employés seuls désignent respectivement le ministre des Affaires municipales et une municipalité constituée en vertu de la présente loi.
1971, c. 54, a. 1.
2. Le gouvernement peut délivrer des lettres patentes pour constituer en municipalité toute partie du territoire du Québec qui n’est pas comprise dans une municipalité de cité, de ville, de village ou de campagne et où, de l’opinion du ministre, il ne serait pas souhaitable de constituer, dans l’immédiat, une municipalité de ville ou de campagne.
Les lettres patentes délivrées en vertu du présent article doivent contenir la description du territoire concerné et en outre, dans le cas d’une fusion, les conditions de la fusion.
1971, c. 54, a. 2.
3. À compter de l’entrée en vigueur des lettres patentes constituant la municipalité, les habitants du territoire de cette municipalité forment une corporation désignée sous le nom que mentionnent les lettres patentes.
1971, c. 54, a. 3.
4. Le gouvernement peut, par lettres patentes, modifier le territoire de la municipalité en lui annexant tout autre territoire contigu qui ne possède pas d’organisation municipale locale.
1971, c. 54, a. 4.
5. La municipalité est régie par le Code municipal (chapitre C‐27.1) ou par la Loi sur les cités et villes (chapitre C‐19) selon que le détermine le gouvernement, à l’exception des dispositions inconciliables avec celles de la présente loi et de celles que le gouvernement, par lettres patentes, déclare inapplicables en tout ou en partie à la municipalité ou à une partie de celle-ci.
1971, c. 54, a. 5.
6. Le conseil et les fonctionnaires et employés de la corporation de comté ou de la municipalité régionale de comté dans le territoire de laquelle la municipalité est située, ou le serait si l’article 18 ne s’appliquait pas, constituent le conseil et les fonctionnaires et employés de la municipalité, sous réserve du troisième alinéa de l’article 17.
Aux fins de la présente loi, seuls les représentants des municipalités régies par le Code municipal (chapitre C‐27.1) au sein du conseil de la municipalité régionale de comté sont habilités à participer aux délibérations et à voter, sauf si le conseil ne comprend aucun représentant d’une telle municipalité, auquel cas tous les membres du conseil sont ainsi habilités.
Aux fins de la présente loi, seuls les contribuables de la municipalité peuvent être tenus de contribuer au financement des dépenses de la corporation de comté ou de la municipalité régionale de comté, conformément au Code municipal ou à la Loi sur les cités et villes (chapitre C‐19), selon le cas.
1971, c. 54, a. 6; 1982, c. 63, a. 228.
7. (Remplacé).
1971, c. 54, a. 7; 1982, c. 63, a. 228.
8. (Remplacé).
1971, c. 54, a. 8; 1982, c. 63, a. 228.
9. (Remplacé).
1971, c. 54, a. 9; 1982, c. 63, a. 228.
10. 1.  Le ministre peut instituer un comité local dans la municipalité; il doit le faire dans toute municipalité ou partie de la municipalité qu’il détermine si elle est habitée en permanence par au moins cent personnes; toute partie de municipalité forme alors une localité sous le nom que désigne le ministre.
2.  Un comité local est composé d’au plus cinq membres, nommés par le ministre pour quatre ans, s’il y a moins de cent habitants dans la municipalité; ce dernier doit, au lieu de faire les nominations, ordonner que les membres du comité soient élus pour quatre ans, à l’époque et selon le mode qu’il prescrit si le territoire où le comité a juridiction est habité en permanence par au moins cent personnes.
3.  Pour être éligible à la charge de membre d’un comité local ou avoir droit de voter à l’élection des membres d’un tel comité, il faut être majeur et citoyen canadien.
4.  Les membres d’un comité local ne peuvent exercer leurs fonctions avant d’avoir prêté serment de bien et fidèlement remplir les devoirs de leur charge.
1971, c. 54, a. 10.
11. Le conseil peut déléguer ses pouvoirs au comité local, mais toute décision du comité requiert son approbation.
1971, c. 54, a. 11; 1982, c. 63, a. 229.
12. La majorité des membres d’un comité local constituent le quorum. Les membres d’un comité local ne reçoivent aucune rémunération pour leurs services comme tels. Cependant, le conseil peut autoriser le paiement des dépenses de voyages et des autres dépenses réellement faites par un membre d’un comité local dans l’exercice de ses fonctions.
1971, c. 54, a. 12; 1982, c. 63, a. 229.
13. La charge de membre du comité local devient vacante:
a)  par décès;
b)  par défaut de prêter serment dans les trente jours de la nomination ou de l’élection;
c)  par l’expiration du mandat par lequel le membre a été nommé ou élu.
Le poste de membre du comité local devient également vacant à la date de la réception par le secrétaire-trésorier de la démission du titulaire.
Le secrétaire-trésorier doit sans délai aviser le ministre de la vacance.
1971, c. 54, a. 13; 1982, c. 63, a. 230.
14. Toute vacance au sein du comité local est remplie en suivant la procédure de nomination ou d’élection, selon le cas, et le membre ainsi nommé ou élu ne détient sa fonction que pour la partie non écoulée du mandat de son prédécesseur.
1971, c. 54, a. 14.
15. La municipalité ou toute partie de celle-ci peut être constituée en municipalité de ville ou en municipalité de campagne, selon la procédure prévue par la Loi sur les cités et villes (chapitre C‐19) ou le Code municipal (chapitre C‐27.1), selon le cas. À compter de cette constitution, la municipalité ou la partie concernée cesse d’être régie par la présente loi.
Les ordonnances, actes, résolutions, règlements ou autres procédures municipales en vigueur dans la municipalité lorsque la présente loi cesse de s’y appliquer, demeurent en vigueur jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient modifiés, remplacés ou annulés par le conseil de la municipalité de ville ou de campagne.
1971, c. 54, a. 15.
16. Le gouvernement peut décider que toute municipalité de cité ou de ville, de village ou de campagne, quelle que soit la loi qui la régit, qui ne remplit plus les conditions qui en ont permis la constitution devient une municipalité.
Il peut également le faire si les membres du conseil d’une municipalité mentionnée au premier alinéa ne peuvent plus être élus ou nommés en vertu de la loi qui la régit.
Le ministre donne avis de cette décision dans la Gazette officielle du Québec et telle décision prend effet à compter de la date mentionnée dans l’avis.
Outre les pouvoirs prévus à l’article 5, le gouvernement peut, par lettres patentes, déclarer applicables à une municipalité visée à l’article 16 certaines dispositions de toute loi spéciale qui la régit.
1971, c. 54, a. 16.
17. Dans les cas visés à l’article 16, la municipalité succède aux droits, obligations et charges de la municipalité de cité, de ville, de village ou de campagne; elle devient, sans reprise d’instance, partie à toute instance, aux lieu et place de cette municipalité.
Les règlements, résolutions, procès-verbaux, rôles d’évaluation, rôles de perception, conventions collectives existantes et autres actes de cette municipalité, demeurent en vigueur jusqu’à ce qu’ils soient modifiés, annulés ou abrogés.
Les fonctionnaires et employés municipaux de cette municipalité continuent d’être au service de la municipalité jusqu’à leur démission ou remplacement.
En outre, dans le cas visé au premier alinéa, le mandat des membres du conseil prend fin à compter du jour où la décision du gouvernement prend effet.
1971, c. 54, a. 17.
18. Une municipalité ne fait partie d’aucune municipalité de comté; elle possède, outre les attributions et pouvoirs d’une corporation locale, ceux conférés à une corporation de comté.
1971, c. 54, a. 18.
19. Les lettres patentes délivrées en vertu de la présente loi sont publiées dans la Gazette officielle du Québec et entrent en vigueur à la date que détermine le gouvernement.
1971, c. 54, a. 19.
20. (Abrogé).
1971, c. 54, a. 20 (partie); 1982, c. 63, a. 231.
21. Les dépenses encourues par le ministre pour le bénéfice d’une municipalité, avant ou après sa constitution, doivent être remboursées par cette municipalité dans la mesure et de la manière que détermine le gouvernement.
1971, c. 54, a. 21; 1982, c. 63, a. 232.
22. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 54 des lois de 1971, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, à l’exception des articles 20 (partie) et 22, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre O-8 des Lois refondues.