J-1.02 - Act to proclaim Nelson Mandela Day

Full text
chapter J-1.02
Act to proclaim Nelson Mandela Day
NELSON MANDELA DAYJune 12 2015June 12 2015
AS Nelson Mandela was President of the Republic of South Africa from 9 May 1994 to 14 June 1999;
AS Nelson Mandela courageously fought apartheid, a political system of institutional racial segregation, during his 27 long years in prison;
AS, over the course of his entire life, Nelson Mandela showed his great determination to promote the fundamental values of liberty, justice, equality and fraternity between peoples, and as these universal values should be central to all decisions and actions by civil society and government institutions;
AS Nelson Mandela played a decisive, historic role in the fields of conflict resolution, reconciliation and human rights protection;
AS Nelson Mandela received concrete support in his fight against apartheid from four Quebecers who were high-ranking political officials: former Canadian Prime Minister Brian Mulroney, former Québec Premiers René Lévesque and Robert Bourassa and former Montréal Mayor Jean Doré;
AS the National Assembly of Québec wishes to honour Nelson Mandela and pay tribute to this exemplary humanist in Québec, an open nation and safe haven for all citizens regardless of their origin, by designating 11 February, the day he was freed in 1990, Nelson Mandela Day;
THE PARLIAMENT OF QUÉBEC ENACTS AS FOLLOWS:
1. The eleventh day of February is proclaimed Nelson Mandela Day.
2015, c. 19, s. 1.
2. (Omitted).
2015, c. 19, s. 2.

J-1.02 - Loi proclamant la Journée Nelson Mandela

Texte complet
chapitre J-1.02
Loi proclamant la Journée Nelson Mandela
JOURNÉE NELSON MANDELA12 juin 201512 juin 2015
ATTENDU que Nelson Mandela a été le président de la République d’Afrique du Sud du 9 mai 1994 au 14 juin 1999;
Que Nelson Mandela a mené durant ses 27 longues années d’incarcération un combat courageux contre le système politique institutionnel de ségrégation raciale qu’était l’apartheid;
Que Nelson Mandela a démontré toute sa vie sa grande détermination à promouvoir les valeurs fondamentales de la liberté, de la justice, de l’égalité et de la fraternité entre les peuples et que ces valeurs universelles doivent être au coeur de toutes les décisions et actions émanant de la société civile et des institutions gouvernementales;
Que Nelson Mandela a joué un rôle historique et déterminant dans le domaine du règlement des conflits, de la réconciliation et de la protection des droits de l’homme;
Que Nelson Mandela a reçu l’appui dans sa lutte contre l’apartheid, par des gestes concrets, de quatre Québécois qui ont occupé les plus hautes fonctions politiques, à savoir l’ancien premier ministre du Canada, Brian Mulroney, les anciens premiers ministres du Québec, René Lévesque et Robert Bourassa et l’ancien maire de Montréal, Jean Doré;
Que l’Assemblée nationale du Québec souhaite honorer Nelson Mandela et le reconnaître comme modèle d’humanisme au Québec, nation ouverte et terre d’accueil pour tous les citoyens et citoyennes de toutes les origines, en désignant le 11 février, date de sa libération en 1990, Journée Nelson Mandela;
LE PARLEMENT DU QUÉBEC DÉCRÈTE CE QUI SUIT:
1. Le 11 février est proclamé Journée Nelson Mandela.
2015, c. 19, a. 1.
2. (Omis).
2015, c. 19, a. 2.