I-14.1 - Act to prohibit the establishment or enlargement of certain waste elimination sites

Full text
chapter I-14.1
Act to prohibit the establishment or enlargement of certain waste elimination sites
WASTE ELIMINATION SITESDecember 6 2005January 19 2006
Repealed, 2005, c. 33, s. 5.
2005, c. 33, s. 5.
1. From 1 December 1995, the establishment or enlargement of the following waste elimination sites is prohibited:
(1)  sanitary landfill sites;
(2)  dry materials disposal sites;
(3)  solid waste incinerators.
For the purposes of this Act, the waste elimination sites referred to in subparagraphs 1, 2 and 3 above are the sites to which the Regulation respecting solid waste (R.R.Q., 1981, chapter Q-2, r. 14) applies. In addition, the term enlargement means any modification resulting in an increase of the landfill, disposal or incineration capacity of the site concerned.
1995, c. 60, s. 1.
2. Notwithstanding the provisions of section 1, the Government may lift the prohibition set out therein if, in its opinion, the situation in a particular region requires the establishment or enlargement of a waste elimination site referred to in that section.
If, in the opinion of the Government, the situation further requires expeditious action, the Government may also, notwithstanding any provision to the contrary in the Act respecting the establishment and enlargement of certain waste elimination sites (chapter E-13.1) or in the Environment Quality Act (chapter Q-2), exempt a project from some or all of the environmental impact assessment and review procedure provided for in Division IV.1 of Chapter I of the Environment Quality Act; in such a case, the decision of the Government must include a description of the situation justifying such exemption.
Where a project is totally exempted from the environmental impact assessment procedure pursuant to the preceding paragraph, the Government shall issue the certificate provided for in section 31.5 of the Environment Quality Act subject to the conditions determined by the Government; moreover, in the case of waste elimination sites to which the Act respecting the establishement and enlargement of certain waste elimination sites applies, section 3 of the Act remains applicable.
1995, c. 60, s. 2.
3. The prohibition imposed by section 1 does not apply to
(1)  waste elimination site establishment or enlargement projects in respect of which a certificate was issued under section 31.5 or 54 of the Environment Quality Act (chapter Q-2) before 1 December 1995; or
(2)  waste elimination site establishment or enlargement projects in respect of which the notice required by section 31.2 of the said Act or an application for the certificate referred to in section 54 of the said Act was filed before 1 December 1995, and in respect of which the decision of the Government or of the Minister to grant or refuse the certificate of authorization or of conformity applied for has yet to be made on that date.
1995, c. 60, s. 3.
4. Any contravention of the provisions of section 1 renders the offender liable to the penalties set out in section 106 of the Environment Quality Act (chapter Q-2).
The provisions of the first paragraph of section 109.1.1 and of sections 109.1.2, 109.2, 110, 110.1, 112, 114, 115 and 116.1 of the said Act are applicable.
1995, c. 60, s. 4.
5. The provisions of this Act are not applicable to the territories referred to in the second paragraph of section 31.9, section 133 and section 168 of the Environment Quality Act (chapter Q-2).
1995, c. 60, s. 5.
6. (Omitted).
1995, c. 60, s. 6.
7. (Omitted).
1995, c. 60, s. 7.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 9 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes and regulations (chapter R-3), chapter 60 of the statutes of 1995, in force on 1 March 1996, is repealed, except section 7, effective from the coming into force of chapter I-14.1 of the Revised Statutes.

I-14.1 - Loi portant interdiction d’établir ou d’agrandir certains lieux d’élimination de déchets

Texte complet
chapitre I-14.1
Loi portant interdiction d’établir ou d’agrandir certains lieux d’élimination de déchets
LIEUX D’ÉLIMINATION DE DÉCHETS6 décembre 200519 janvier 2006
Abrogée, 2005, c. 33, a. 5.
2005, c. 33, a. 5.
1. À compter du 1er décembre 1995, est interdit tout établissement ou agrandissement des lieux d’élimination de déchets suivants:
1°  les lieux d’enfouissement sanitaire;
2°  les dépôts de matériaux secs;
3°  les incinérateurs de déchets solides.
Pour les fins de la présente loi, les lieux d’élimination de déchets visés aux paragraphes 1°, 2° et 3° ci-dessus doivent s’entendre de ceux auxquels s’applique le Règlement sur les déchets solides (R.R.Q., 1981, chapitre Q-2, r. 14). En outre, le terme «agrandissement» comprend toute modification ayant pour effet d’augmenter, selon le cas, la capacité d’enfouissement, de dépôt ou d’incinération du lieu considéré.
1995, c. 60, a. 1.
2. Malgré les dispositions de l’article 1, le gouvernement peut lever l’interdiction qui y est énoncée s’il estime que, dans une région donnée, la situation nécessite qu’il soit procédé à l’établissement ou à l’agrandissement d’un lieu d’élimination de déchets mentionné audit article.
Si la situation est telle que, selon le gouvernement, il y a également nécessité d’agir vite, ce dernier pourra aussi, malgré toute disposition contraire de la Loi sur l’établissement et l’agrandissement de certains lieux d’élimination de déchets (chapitre E‐13.1) et de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement (chapitre Q‐2), soustraire un projet à l’application de la totalité ou d’une partie de la procédure d’évaluation et d’examen des impacts sur l’environnement prévue à la section IV.1 du chapitre I de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement; la décision du gouvernement devra, dans ce cas, faire état de la situation qui justifie une telle soustraction.
Lorsqu’un projet est totalement soustrait à la procédure d’évaluation environnementale en application de l’alinéa précédent, le gouvernement délivre le certificat prévu à l’article 31.5 de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement aux conditions qu’il détermine; en outre, s’il s’agit de lieux d’élimination visés par la Loi sur l’établissement et l’agrandissement de certains lieux d’élimination de déchets, l’article 3 de cette dernière loi demeure applicable.
1995, c. 60, a. 2.
3. Ne sont pas visés par l’interdiction énoncée à l’article 1:
1°  les projets d’établissement ou d’agrandissement de lieux d’élimination de déchets pour lesquels il y a eu, avant le 1er décembre 1995, délivrance du certificat prévu à l’article 31.5 ou 54 de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement (chapitre Q‐2);
2°  les projets d’établissement ou d’agrandissement de lieux d’élimination de déchets pour lesquels il y a eu, avant le 1er décembre 1995, soit un dépôt de l’avis exigé par l’article 31.2 de la loi précitée, soit une demande visant à obtenir le certificat mentionné à l’article 54 de la même loi, et qui, à cette date, n’ont pas encore fait l’objet d’une décision du gouvernement ou du ministre accordant ou refusant le certificat d’autorisation ou de conformité demandé.
1995, c. 60, a. 3.
4. Toute infraction aux dispositions de l’article 1 rend le contrevenant passible des peines prévues à l’article 106 de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement (chapitre Q‐2).
Les dispositions du premier alinéa de l’article 109.1.1 et des articles 109.1.2, 109.2, 110, 110.1, 112, 114, 115 et 116.1 de la loi susmentionnée sont applicables.
1995, c. 60, a. 4.
5. Les dispositions de la présente loi ne sont pas applicables aux territoires visés au deuxième alinéa de l’article 31.9 ainsi qu’aux articles 133 et 168 de la Loi sur la qualité de l’environnement (chapitre Q‐2).
1995, c. 60, a. 5.
6. (Omis).
1995, c. 60, a. 6.
7. (Omis).
1995, c. 60, a. 7.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 9 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois et des règlements (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 60 des lois de 1995, tel qu’en vigueur le 1er mars 1996, à l’exception de l’article 7, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre I-14.1 des Lois refondues.