I-10 - Forest Engineers Act

Table of contents
Full text
chapter I-10
Forest Engineers Act
FOREST ENGINEERSDecember 31 1977
The Minister of Justice is responsible for the application of this Act. Order in Council 385-2019 dated 10 April 2019, (2019) 151 G.O. 2 (French), 1420.
1. All the persons qualified to practise the profession of forest engineer in Québec constitute a professional order called the “Ordre professionnel des ingénieurs forestiers du Québec” or the “Ordre des ingénieurs forestiers du Québec”.
R. S. 1964, c. 264, s. 1; 1973, c. 62, s. 1; 1977, c. 5, s. 229; 1994, c. 40, s. 349.
2. The following expressions used in this Act and the regulations made thereunder shall have the meaning given hereinafter, unless the text contains something inconsistent with such interpretation:
(1)  the expression board of directors means the board of directors of the Ordre des ingénieurs forestiers du Québec;
(2)  the expression member of the Order means a member in good standing of the said Order;
(3)  the expression the Order means the Ordre des ingénieurs forestiers du Québec;
(4)  the expression forest engineer means any person practising the profession of engineer and qualified to give advice upon or supervise, execute, or direct the execution of the following works: the inventory, classification and valuation of the soil and crops of forest, the preparation of maps and topographical plans of forests; the management, maintenance, conservation, lumbering, reforestation and protection of woods and forests, sylviculture; forest photogrammetry; logging and transportation of woods, the exploitation of forests and other forest resources; the application of forest engineering sciences to economical wood utilization; the preparation of maps, estimates and specifications, working plans and reports concerning forest management and any engineering work relating to the execution of the above-mentioned purposes and the preparation of plans in connection with such works;
(5)  (paragraph repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 264, s. 2; 1973, c. 62, s. 2; 1974, c. 65, s. 50; 1977, c. 5, s. 229; 1994, c. 40, s. 350; 2008, c. 11, s. 212.
3. Notwithstanding the foregoing provisions, the members of the Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec and of the Ordre des ingénieurs forestiers shall have common jurisdiction as to the engineering works mentioned in the Engineers Act (chapter I-9) and comprised in the expression “engineering work” used in this Act. The execution as contractor, foreman or artisan of any of the above-mentioned works, projects, developments prepared or directed by a member of the Ordre des ingénieurs forestiers shall not be considered as acting or practising as a forest engineer. This Act shall not apply to farmers with respect to the cutting, felling, floating and transportation of timber for forestry operations.
R. S. 1964, c. 264, s. 3; 1973, c. 60, s. 31; 1973, c. 62, s. 3; 1977, c. 5, s. 229.
4. Subject to this Act, the Order and its members shall be governed by the Professional Code (chapter C-26).
R. S. 1964, c. 264, s. 4; 1973, c. 62, s. 4.
5. The Order shall be governed by a board of directors constituted in accordance with the Professional Code (chapter C-26).
R. S. 1964, c. 264, s. 6; 1973, c. 62, s. 6; 2008, c. 11, s. 212.
6. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 264, s. 7; 1973, c. 62, s. 7; 1994, c. 40, s. 351.
7. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 264, s. 8; 1970, c. 57, s. 18; 1973, c. 62, s. 8; 1994, c. 40, s. 351.
8. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 264, s. 9; 1973, c. 62, s. 9; 1994, c. 40, s. 351.
9. The annual meeting of the Order shall be held within nine months from the end of its fiscal year.
R. S. 1964, c. 264, s. 11; 1973, c. 62, s. 11; 1994, c. 40, s. 352.
10. No person may take the title of forest engineer in Québec, or use any name, title or designation which may cause it to be understood that he is a forest engineer nor advertise himself as an expert or a professional in the matters within the competence of the forest engineer nor execute works within the competence of the forest engineer unless he be or become under the provisions of this Act a member of the Ordre des ingénieurs forestiers du Québec.
No person shall practise or exercise, in Québec, the profession of forest engineer within the meaning of section 2 unless he is a member of the Ordre des ingénieurs forestiers du Québec or becomes a member under the provisions of this Act.
No one acts contrary to the provisions of this Act when, without assuming the title of Forest Engineer and without doing work required for purposes of inventory or forest management or any other works the execution whereof requires the knowledge of the sciences of engineering he carries out or causes to be carried out forest fire protection work or the work of laying out logging areas or of organizing lumbering therein, or exploration work required for that purpose, or other exploitation works from and including the felling of the trees.
Every person who contravenes this section is liable to the penalties provided in section 188 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26).
R. S. 1964, c. 264, s. 12; 1973, c. 62, s. 12; 1977, c. 5, s. 229; 1990, c. 4, s. 495.
11. No person practising the profession of forest engineer as defined in section 2 without having the right to do so under this Act may claim before any court any sum of money for professional services rendered in such capacity.
Actions taken by forest engineers to recover sums of money due them for professional services are matters to be tried and decided by preference in accordance with the Code of Civil Procedure (chapter C-25.01).
R. S. 1964, c. 264, s. 13; 1973, c. 62, s. 13; 1992, c. 61, s. 347; 1999, c. 40, s. 152; I.N. 2016-01-01 (NCCP).
12. (Repealed).
R. S. 1964, c. 264, s. 14; 1973, c. 62, s. 14; 1992, c. 61, s. 348.
13. The secretary shall keep, in accordance with the Professional Code (chapter C-26), a roll containing the names of all the members of the Order.
R. S. 1964, c. 264, s. 15; 1973, c. 62, s. 15; 1994, c. 40, s. 353.
14. Nothing in this Act shall be considered as affecting the rights and privileges conferred upon the members of the Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec, the members of the Ordre des arpenteurs-géomètres du Québec, upon any university of the Province of Québec or upon the Montréal Polytechnic School.
Nothing in this Act shall prevent a person from performing acts reserved for members of the Order, provided he performs them in accordance with the provisions of a regulation adopted pursuant to paragraph h of section 94 of the Professional Code (chapter C-26).
R. S. 1964, c. 264, s. 16; 1973, c. 62, s. 16; 1977, c. 5, s. 229; 1994, c. 40, s. 354.
15. (This section ceased to have effect on 17 April 1987).
1982, c. 21, s. 1; U. K., 1982, c. 11, Sch. B, Part I, s. 33.
REPEAL SCHEDULE

In accordance with section 17 of the Act respecting the consolidation of the statutes (chapter R-3), chapter 264 of the Revised Statutes, 1964, in force on 31 December 1977, is repealed effective from the coming into force of chapter I-10 of the Revised Statutes.

I-10 - Loi sur les ingénieurs forestiers

Table des matières
Texte complet
chapitre I-10
Loi sur les ingénieurs forestiers
INGÉNIEURS FORESTIERS31 décembre 1977
La ministre de la Justice est responsable de l’application de la présente loi. Décret 919-2019 du 4 septembre 2019, (2019) 151 G.O. 2, 3975.
1. L’ensemble des personnes habilitées à exercer la profession d’ingénieur forestier au Québec constitue un ordre professionnel désigné sous le nom de «Ordre professionnel des ingénieurs forestiers du Québec» ou «Ordre des ingénieurs forestiers du Québec».
S. R. 1964, c. 264, a. 1; 1973, c. 62, a. 1; 1977, c. 5, a. 229; 1994, c. 40, a. 349.
2. Les expressions suivantes employées dans la présente loi et dans les règlements adoptés sous son autorité, ont le sens qui leur est donné ci-après, à moins que le texte ne renferme quelque chose d’incompatible avec cette interprétation:
1°  l’expression «Conseil d’administration» signifie le Conseil d’administration de l’Ordre des ingénieurs forestiers du Québec;
2°  l’expression «membre de l’Ordre» signifie un membre en règle dudit Ordre;
3°  l’expression «l’Ordre» signifie l’Ordre des ingénieurs forestiers du Québec;
4°  l’expression «ingénieur forestier» signifie une personne exerçant les fonctions d’ingénieur et compétente à donner des conseils sur ou à surveiller, exécuter ou diriger l’exécution de tous les travaux suivants: l’inventaire, la classification et l’évaluation du fonds et de la superficie des forêts, la préparation des cartes et plans topographiques des forêts, l’aménagement, l’entretien, la conservation, la coupe, le reboisement, la protection des bois, des forêts, la sylviculture; la photogrammétrie forestière; l’exploitation, la vidange des bois, l’exploitation des forêts et autres ressources forestières; l’application des sciences du génie forestier à l’utilisation économique des bois; la préparation des cartes, devis, cahiers de charge, rapports et procès-verbaux se rapportant à l’aménagement de la forêt; tous les travaux de génie se rapportant à l’accomplissement des fins précitées et la préparation des plans relatifs à ces travaux;
5°  (paragraphe abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 264, a. 2; 1973, c. 62, a. 2; 1974, c. 65, a. 50; 1994, c. 40, a. 350; 2008, c. 11, a. 212.
3. Nonobstant ce qui précède, les membres de l’Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec et de l’Ordre des ingénieurs forestiers auront une compétence commune quant aux travaux de génie mentionnés dans la Loi sur les ingénieurs (chapitre I-9) et compris dans l’expression «travaux de génie» employée dans la présente loi. L’exécution, à titre d’entrepreneur, de contremaître ou d’artisan, de tout travail, projet, développement ci-dessus mentionnés, élaborés, ou dirigés par un membre de l’Ordre des ingénieurs forestiers, n’est pas considéré comme agir ou pratiquer comme ingénieur forestier. En ce qui concerne la coupe, l’abattage, le flottage et le transport des bois relatifs aux opérations forestières, la présente loi ne s’applique pas aux cultivateurs.
S. R. 1964, c. 264, a. 3; 1973, c. 60, a. 31; 1973, c. 62, a. 3; 1999, c. 40, a. 152.
4. Sous réserve des dispositions de la présente loi, l’Ordre et ses membres sont régis par le Code des professions (chapitre C-26).
S. R. 1964, c. 264, a. 4; 1973, c. 62, a. 4.
5. L’Ordre est administré par un Conseil d’administration formé conformément au Code des professions (chapitre C-26).
S. R. 1964, c. 264, a. 6; 1973, c. 62, a. 6; 2008, c. 11, a. 212.
6. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 264, a. 7; 1973, c. 62, a. 7; 1994, c. 40, a. 351.
7. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 264, a. 8; 1970, c. 57, a. 18; 1973, c. 62, a. 8; 1994, c. 40, a. 351.
8. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 264, a. 9; 1973, c. 62, a. 9; 1994, c. 40, a. 351.
9. L’assemblée annuelle de l’Ordre est tenue dans les neuf mois qui suivent la fin de son année financière.
S. R. 1964, c. 264, a. 11; 1973, c. 62, a. 11; 1994, c. 40, a. 352.
10. Nul ne peut au Québec prendre le titre d’ingénieur forestier, ni se servir d’un nom, titre ou désignation pouvant faire comprendre qu’il est ingénieur forestier, ni s’annoncer comme expert ou professionnel dans les matières de la compétence de l’ingénieur forestier, ni exécuter des travaux du ressort de l’ingénieur forestier à moins qu’il ne soit ou ne devienne, en vertu des dispositions de la présente loi membre de l’Ordre des ingénieurs forestiers du Québec.
Nul ne peut, au Québec, pratiquer ou exercer la profession d’ingénieur forestier dans le sens de l’article 2, à moins qu’il ne soit membre de l’Ordre des ingénieurs forestiers du Québec ou ne le devienne en vertu des dispositions de la présente loi.
Nul n’agit contrairement aux dispositions de la présente loi, lorsque, sans prendre le titre d’ingénieur forestier et sans faire des travaux requis pour fins d’inventaire ou d’aménagement ou autres travaux dont l’exécution requiert la connaissance des sciences du génie, il exécute ou fait exécuter des travaux de protection des forêts contre les incendies ou des travaux de délimitation ou d’établissement des chantiers d’exploitation, ou des travaux d’exploration requis à cette fin ou d’autres travaux d’exploitation depuis et y compris l’abattage des arbres.
Toute personne qui contrevient au présent article est passible des peines prévues à l’article 188 du Code des professions (chapitre C-26).
S. R. 1964, c. 264, a. 12; 1973, c. 62, a. 12; 1990, c. 4, a. 495.
11. Nulle personne, exerçant la profession d’ingénieur forestier telle que définie à l’article 2 sans en avoir le droit en vertu de la présente loi, ne peut réclamer devant un tribunal aucune somme d’argent pour services professionnels rendus en cette qualité.
Les actions intentées par les ingénieurs forestiers en recouvrement des sommes d’argent à eux dues pour services professionnels sont des matières qui doivent être instruites et jugées d’urgence conformément au Code de procédure civile (chapitre C-25.01).
S. R. 1964, c. 264, a. 13; 1973, c. 62, a. 13; 1992, c. 61, a. 347; 1999, c. 40, a. 152; N.I. 2016-01-01 (NCPC).
12. (Abrogé).
S. R. 1964, c. 264, a. 14; 1973, c. 62, a. 14; 1992, c. 61, a. 348.
13. Le secrétaire tient, conformément au Code des professions (chapitre C‐26), un tableau contenant les noms de tous les membres de l’Ordre.
S. R. 1964, c. 264, a. 15; 1973, c. 62, a. 15; 1994, c. 40, a. 353.
14. Rien de contenu dans la présente loi ne doit être interprété comme portant atteinte aux droits et privilèges conférés aux membres de l’Ordre des ingénieurs du Québec, aux membres de l’Ordre des arpenteurs-géomètres du Québec, aux universités du Québec et à l’École polytechnique de Montréal.
Rien dans la présente loi ne doit empêcher une personne de poser des actes réservés aux membres de l’Ordre pourvu qu’elle les pose en conformité avec les dispositions d’un règlement pris en application du paragraphe h de l’article 94 du Code des professions (chapitre C‐26).
S. R. 1964, c. 264, a. 16; 1973, c. 62, a. 16; 1994, c. 40, a. 354.
15. (Cet article a cessé d’avoir effet le 17 avril 1987).
1982, c. 21, a. 1; R.-U., 1982, c. 11, ann. B, ptie I, a. 33.
ANNEXE ABROGATIVE

Conformément à l’article 17 de la Loi sur la refonte des lois (chapitre R‐3), le chapitre 264 des Statuts refondus, 1964, tel qu’en vigueur au 31 décembre 1977, est abrogé à compter de l’entrée en vigueur du chapitre I-10 des Lois refondues.